April 25, 2024, 01:48:30 AM

Author Topic: T&T go down in Mexico but still in the race.  (Read 5680 times)

T&T go down in Mexico but still in the race.
« on: June 10, 2009, 08:36:37 PM »
T&T go down in Mexico but still in the race.
By: Inshan "Flex" Mohammed.

If it was one time T&T ever had a chance of stealing a point in Mexico it would have been tonight as Mexico was very venerable in defence, didn't put away their chances and didn't look to confident. But on the other hand, so too was T&T...

The "hexagonal" has reached its midpoint and Trinidad and Tobago will have to recap and come a lot better if they are to keep their World Cup 2010 hopes alive. At this moment the Soca Warriors is hanging by a thread and it looks impossible for them to reach South Africa. But as the Adidas commercial goes, Impossible is Nothing.

T&T remains in cellar-place of the 2010 CONCACAF World Cup qualifying series after a 2-1 defeat to Mexico at the Azteca Stadium in Mexico, on Wednesday night. A game that was all one-way traffic by the host, but- there was a few bright moments for Latapy's men. At half time T&T must have counted themselves lucky to be heading into their locker-room with a surprising 1-1 tie.

Striker Guillermo Franco took advantage of a T&T defensive blunder to send his side up 1-0 as early as the first minute of the game. From there on it was all Mexico, they piled attack on-top off attack on T&T's goal but the heroics of Clayton Ince kept the Mexican at bay and the scoreline a respectable one.

T&T defence was suspicious and nerve wrecking for most parts and Mexico took full advantage of that. Surprisingly the more experienced Keyeno Thomas was left on the bench and Makan Hislop along with newcomer Radanfah Abu-Bakr was caught in no man's land on many occasions. Though, both made some good close up saves they just couldn't keep up with the wing play of the Mexican team. Cuauhtemoc Blanco and Israel Castro was having a field day with T&T defence. While Alberto Medina was having target practice on Clayton Ince.

The Mexicans saw the inexperienced and slow pace in T&T's defensive duo and throughout the game they would attack down the wing especially down the left side (T&T's right side) finding huge gaps in T&T defence. But, the men in green did everything right except get on the score-sheet and it almost cost them as the visitors equalised on the stroke of half time.

Seconds before the halftime whistle blew T&T got a lifeline and from a source no one probably expected. Joe Public midfielder Hayden Tinto picked up on a loose ball and made no mistake as the former Malick winger slip pass two Mexican defenders before unleashing a right-footed blast inside the 18 that eluded goalkeeper Oscar Perez into the upper right corner to send T&T into the half with a 1-1 tie and Mexicans in disbelief.

Tinto's goal was not only refreshing but it will go down into the history books for T&T as it's the first ever goal scored by that nation in the Azteca. The former Caledonia AIA winger had more shots on goal than his £20million rated teammate Kenwyne Jones, who, by the way should have buried one pass Perez in the 37th minute when he got a clean pass from Keon Daniel who eluded his man with ease. Jones had the goal at his mercy but Oscar Perez managed to get his finger-tip on the ball before the big Sunderland striker could take a shot, the ball ricocheted off Jones and was heading into an open net, but goalscorer Oscar Rojas got there before the onrushing Tinto to stop the ball from entering into the goal.

The second half resumed and it was more or less the same, Mexico got of to a brilliant start again, and it took them only three minutes this time to get on the scoreboard. Midfielder Oscar Rojas scored with a 35-yard blast that eventually gave the Mexicans a 2-1 victory over the Soca Warriors and a win that revived El Tri’s World Cup hopes after a disappointing 2-1 defeat to T&T's next opponent El Salvador four days earlier.

After the match Mexican striker Nery Castillo told FIFA.COM - "I think we improved our performance from the last time out," said Castillo after the final whistle. "It's too bad we couldn't score more goals, but overall I am a happy man. We're not playing that badly and we won the game. That's all that matters, no matter what the journalists say."

As for T&T, in the early stages of the game Dwight Yorke had to work extra hard in bailing out his defence with many important tackles. The T&T captain was running on empty and started to fall off a bit coming to the end, but, the former Manchester United man still managed to be one of T&T's better midfielders of the night as Trent Noel was having an awful game, Keon Daniel held the ball too long and didn't make full use of the few chances he got. Christopher Birchall had some lost moments and could not contain his man.

Carlos Edwards was hesitant in his tackles and quite often escorted his marker into T&T defence. Marvin Andrews got beat for pace every time Mexico came forward, he looked a shadow of his old self but was still T&T's best defender of the night. Kenwyne Jones has an athletic built and at 6' - 2"- he could not escape his midget marker to even get a shot on goal.

Despite scoring the goal in only his second start for T&T, Tinto still needs to learn how to play the wing more effectively, but for a newcomer he can surely teach some of the older players a trick or two. On the other hand, Clayton Ince has gotten my vote for T&T's man of the match for saving us on numerous occasions - the score could have easily be in the double digits.

T&T did deserve some credit though as they fought to the end. They kept the result respectable and could have scored if they took advantage of the few opportunities that were created. But results are what really matter and the Soca Warriors will have two months to prepare (yes Latapy, a friendly or two might do T&T some good) and possibly find a solution to plug their leaky defence.

Coming off its first World Cup appearance, the Soca Warriors have three home games left, but included are meetings with the United States (Sept. 9) and Mexico (Oct. 14). The top three teams qualify, and forth-place meets the fifth-place nation from South America in a playoff.

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: 1.Clayton Ince; 11.Carlos Edwards, 4.Marvin Andrews, 2.Makan Hislop, 3.Radanfah Abu-Bakr; 10.Hayden Tinto, 17.Dwight Yorke (capt), 7.Christopher Birchall, 8.Trent Noel (16.Silvio Spann 72nd), 9.Keon Daniel (13.Kerry Baptiste 80th); 15.Kenwyne Jones (6.Devon Jorsling 54th).

Subs not used: 14.Collin Samuel, 5.Keyeno Thomas, 21.Marvin Phillip, Densill Theobald, Khaleem Hyland.

Trinidad & Tobago Coach: Russell Latapy.

Mexico: 1.Oscar Perez, 2.Francisco Rodriguez, 3.Carlos Salcido, 5.Ricardo Osorio, 6.Oscar Rojas, 8.Israel Castro, 16.Carlos Esquivel (7.Alberto Medina 53rd), 18.Andres Guardado, 9.Nery Castillo (14.Miguel Sabah 35th), 10.Cuauhtemoc Blanco, 11.Guillermo Franco (17.Giovani Dos Santos 77th).

Mexico Coach: Javier Aguirre.

Final Score: - MEX 1 (Guillermo Franco 1st, Oscar Rojas 48th) v T&T 1 (Hayden Tinto 45th)
Player Ratings: Mexico 2-1 Trinidad

Mexico scored early in each half but failed to do much of anything else positive in a 2-1 win over Trinidad. Goal.com's Joel Aceves rates the players from both sides.

Perez – (5) El Conejo, aside from Tinto’s non-stop shot at goal, was rarely forced into action. 

Rojas – (7) El Kevin showed great improvement from his previous match perhaps because he seemed to have been prohibited to cross the ball. Still, Rojas was very active constantly linking up to the attack. Kevin rounded up his display with a GOLAZO that gave Mexico a very valuable three points.

Rodriguez – (5) A regular display from Maza Rodriguez who was rarely challenged by the Trinitarians. The PSV defender did well to filter passes from the back but came close to committing two costly mistakes which fortunately for him went unpunished.

Salcido – (5) Salcido’s once dangerous runs into attack seem to be a thing of the past.  The PSV defender was imprecise and benefited from a mediocre opponent.

Osorio – (5) The Stuttgart defender did not seem conformable when playing in center defense.  Given T&T’s lack of scoring opportunities Osorio did not have much to worry about.

Castro – (6) Took over the defensive midfield and did an overall good job containing the Trinidadians. 

Guardado – (4) Despite continuously beating his mark, failed to make the best of his chances. Allowed T&T to level the match with an awful back pass that set up Tinto.

Esquivel – (4) The Toluca midfielder proved to be too inexperienced, internationaly, to suit up for the Tricolor in a must win match at home. Esquivel was overcome by nerves and failed to show why he was one of the best players of the Claususra 09 season.

Blanco – (7) Showed his leadership skills with a very good work ethic. Blanco proved he still has what it takes to play a full 90 and was Mexico’s most consistent player. Failed to cap his performance with a goal but did well to fuel the Tricolor’s lackluster attack.

Castillo – (6) Set up Franco with a nice through pass to open the scoring. Unfortunately, a 35th minute injury forced Nery to abandon the field. A shame as he was beginning to look like he had regained his form.

Franco – (6) Scored on his first attempt at goal and then fizzled out. Guille, aside from one good pass to Blanco, spent too much time flopping on the ground. Proved why he is no longer needed at Villarreal.

Sabah – (4) The top Mexican scorer in the Clausura 09 season proved to be the worst striker in the Tricolor. Sabah, along with Ince, turned what should have been a lopsided score into a close match. This was Sabah’s moment to shine and he failed to live up to expectations.

Medina – (6) The speedy midfielder replaced Esquivel early in the second half giving Mexico a much needed boost in attack. El Venado seemed to ball-hog at times but was given very little option as Mexico’s attack was poor, could have done a better job shooting at goal.   

Giovani – (5) Gio had one good shot at goal and then that was it. Perhaps, twenty minutes in the field were not enough for him to get into rhythm.

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Ince – (8]  Kept T&T from being ran to the ground with two key saves against Nery and Franco and then denied Blanco a much-deserved goal allowing the Soca Warriors to level the match. In the second-half Ince rose to the occasion with two more brilliant saves against Blanco and Giovani.

Abu – (4) Abu allowed the nervous Esquivel to go by him on at least three occasions and was later forced to run circles by second-half sub Medina. Abu received the only yellow card of the match; ruining what could have been T&T’s most clean game ever at the Azteca stadium.

Andrews – (5) Was burned early in the match by Nery’s no-look pass to Franco. Still, Andrews managed to hold down a very shaky defensive line that would have crumbled to pieces had it not been for an on-fire Ince and a very inaccurate Mexican offense.

Hislop – (5) Had a difficult time with Franco and Sabah, benefiting the most from their inaccuracy, but did not allow the Tricolor strikers to take better aim.

Birchall – (5) Defended to the best of his abilities and still managed to join the attack on a few occasions including a memorable shot straight to the Azteca stadium rafters.

Tinto – (6) The always lurking Tinto took advantage of Guardado’s terrible back pass to level the match.

Daniel – (5) Failed to take command in the middle of the field.

Jones – (5) Far from his usual strong self; a better performance by Jones could have helped Trinidad pull out historic draw.

Noel – (4) Failed to contain Guardado who was not even having a good game. Coach Latappy could have easily replaced him with an orange practice cone and it would have not made much difference.

Yorke – (4) The former Manchester United striker is now a shadow of the player he once was. The time has come for “the smiling assassin” to hang up his boots.

Edwards – (4) Seemed to lack faith in himself and was not as dangerous with the ball as he should have been.

Jorsling – (5) Virtually nonexistent in more than half-hour of action.

Spann – (5) Replaced Noel in the 71st minute and did a better job. Gave the Tricolor a few fits with his scrappy field play.

Baptiste – (5) Was non-factor in final 12 minutes as Mexico held the ball for most of that time.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2009, 07:36:12 PM by Flex »

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
Re: Half Time report.
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 08:42:13 PM »
Brilliantly done by tinto in the first half. we 2-1 down now but we winning still. 4-3 or 3-2 we will win. Baptiste to replace kenwyne bcuz he playing SHIT

Mexico ends skid, beats Trinidad 2-1 on Rojas goal
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2009, 09:39:24 PM »
Mexico ends skid, beats Trinidad 2-1 on Rojas goal.
concacaf.com

MEXICO CITY – Oscar Rojas scored with a 35-yard blast three minutes into the second half and gave Mexico a 2-1 victory over Trinidad & Tobago on Wednesday that revived El Tri’s World Cup hopes.

The win was Mexico’s second in five games in the final round of CONCACAF qualifying, and climbed it past El Salvador into fourth place with six points at the midpoint of the “hexagonal”. Trinidad remained winless with two points and in last, further damaging its chances of returning to the World Cup after becoming the smallest nation to qualify in 2006.

Three teams from CONCACAF will qualify automatically for the 32-team field in South Africa, while the fourth-placed team will earn a second chance in a two-leg playoff with the fifth-placed team from South America.

Mexico had won only three of its previous 11 games, and two of those were friendlies. It was playing its second match since Javier Aguirre replaced Sven-Goran Eriksson as manager and saw the return of Chicago Fire forward Cuatehmoc Blanco to the starting lineup since he announced his retirement from international play in September.

Rojas scored by volleying a ball dropped back into the midfield, running onto and striking a right-footed shot that just cleared under the crossbar and right post.

El Tri pressed from the opening kickoff and scored after only 59 seconds. Francisco Rodriguez sent a ball out of midfield to Nery Castillo just outside the area. Castillo turned and fed a pass between and behind Trinidad defenders Carlos Edwards and Martin Edwards to a streaking Guillermo Franco, who chipped it over sprawled goalkeeper Clayton Ince.

Mexico continued to dominate Trinidad for the next 10 minutes, forcing Ince to come off his line twice to thwart Israel Castro and blocking Franco on another foray in the area. Trinidad remained on the defensive for nearly the entire half, rarely creating anything dangerous and not getting a shot on goal until Hayden Tinto managed a slow rolling effort from distance in the 26th minute.

El Tri had another period of repeated danger late in the half, forcing Ince into a series of saves and having him watch Franco put an unmarked header just wide in the 39th.

But Tinto gave Trinidad life 21 seconds into injury time, intercepting a poor backpass from Andres Guardado at the top of Mexico’s defensive third and taking two touches before unleashing a right-footed blast one stride inside the 18 that eluded goalkeeper Oscar Perez into the upper right corner.

Mexico continued to be the far more dangerous team in the second half, creating numerous chances including a run by Blanco that Ince frustrated with a reaction save in the 78th minute.

Trinidad has three of its remaining five matches at home, but trails fifth-placed El Salvador by three points. It’s only win in seven games since the Caribbean Championship in December was a 1-0 friendly victory over Panama in March. It next will play El Salvador at home on August 12.

Mexico heads to next month’s CONCACAF Gold Cup before resuming World Cup qualifying on August 12 at home against arch-rival the United States.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 09:41:51 PM by E-man »

Offline Swima

THe side playing ball
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 09:41:12 PM »
Really proud of the team and the guts displayed throughout the game. The defensive lapses decreased in the second half and but for the fatigue caused by the altitude, we may have created more in the second half.

For all the Ince doubters, I repeat, even when Shaka was playing, we have no better shot stopper in our ranks!

Radanfah finally came into his own after an early mistake caused the first goal. He did well IMHO.

A win at home against El Salvador and we are back in it. First half over, but the dream isn't!
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline Trini boi

Re: THe side playing ball
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2009, 09:43:00 PM »
a lot of ppl blaming defense, but we didn't have ANY midfield to talk bout, much less offense so they under CONSTANT pressure, IN Mexico, UP IN DE FRIGGING SKY  >:(

Taking ah break......
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2009, 09:43:59 PM »
forumites ah taking ah break for a while,I've noticed for the past couple months that whenever we have a game ah does get to stressed an engrossed in de game and it's good for my health so keep up the good work guys and stay blessed......   

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2009, 09:44:41 PM »
How de side playing ball and we jus lorse two game back to back. Wah is tha one?  ???

Re: Taking ah break......
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2009, 09:47:01 PM »
Man taking on real presshah wit' dis football an' han' in de towel oui

Offline cm103

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2009, 09:47:02 PM »
Every attack went through Blanco and he either drew the extra defender then swung to the wing or tried to flick it on the overlap. We didn't have an answer there.

We miss Avery this rounds although I feel he would have been taking an early shower with the way dem Mexicans does sell dey hits.

Offline Swima

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2009, 09:47:13 PM »
I didn't see the CR game, had to work. But this is the best I have seen us play in Mexico, and that includes the game played under Leo, and that game was not at altitude. We have to take the positives and move forward if we want to get anything out of the rest of the matches or else we might as well done d whole scene for this rounds.
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline CarenageBoy

Re: Mexico ends skid, beats Trinidad 2-1 on Rojas goal
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2009, 09:50:37 PM »
T&T played a great game away in Mexico, but could get it going in the second half. It's that simple.

Offline Peter

Re: Mexico back on track after a 2-1 victory over T&T.
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2009, 10:11:28 PM »
Ince was absolutely BRILLIANT! Tinto was great, showed our strikers how you finish. Once again, our heads should be held high after this loss. No way Yorke should have played 90 mins AT ALL, but he gave his all, and the team really defended with heart in sections of the match.

Latapy have a full 2 months now to look at players and teach the team passing, retaining possession, off ball work- like the improvement in those aspects that we've seen in the team since his young tenure began. I look forward to the next set of qualifiers beginning in August, with OPTIMISM really. Everyone must not forget- we played prob 2 of the hardest qualification matches that we can ever play, and we played a weakened team in the Azteca, but still looked visibly better  and like if they could actually create scoring opportunities(less so in Mexico) and get results from both matches. Latapy will impart into them the skills they need, and find the best players and put forward the best team, I'm confident of that still. If he can make this big an improvement in a month(I think), it bodes very well for what he can do in 2 months with the tremendous insight these matches brought and with all the players available.

HOLD YOUR HEADS HIGH FELLAS, YOU ALL FOUGHT ADMIRABLY.

Re: Mexico back on track after a 2-1 victory over T&T.
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2009, 10:16:48 PM »
Mexico ends skid, beats Trinidad 2-1 on Rojas goal.
The win was Mexico’s second in five games in the final round of CONCACAF qualifying, and climbed it past El Salvador into fourth place with six points at the midpoint of the “hexagonal”. Trinidad remained winless with two points and in last, further damaging its chances of returning to the World Cup after becoming the smallest nation to qualify in 2006.

this is our biggest problem....the other teams are all beating up each other and collecting 3 points at home. everyone except us!!  We need all these sides like El Salv, Honduras and Mexico to start drawing all their matches so we can keep them within striking distance

Our ship has sailed.
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2009, 04:45:29 AM »
Not too long ago i was driving in from the city and saw ah fat oman singing que sera sera in the middle of the side walk, ah thought she looked familiar , but i had tuh do and 2nd take.

could it be the fat lady we were all expecting? regretably fellas, but i think so!

i personally believe last night was the end of our south africa's WC campaign!

our football administration has dug ah huge hole for our boys , and i'm afraid they were not resilient enough to claw their way out of it.

this whole 3 yrs has reassured me of something that i hate tuh repeat, 3rd world leaders have no pride in their existence and shame is a foreign concept too them.

this is the 2nd time in 3 yrs that i've felt so embarrass tuh admitt that T&T is a footballing nation!! now and during 07 gold cup.

the truth is ppl, our players truly have a long way too go and don't deserve to be in another WC. these men are not ready, they truly lack the quality to compete amongst the world's elite.

i also believe that clayton ince is ah liability together with dennis lawrence and marvin andrews. ince conceded 10 goals in the hex so far! that folks is the sign of a butter fingers goal keeper!

the man shoulda save both goals, theres simply no reason he didn't. other than he lack quality. marvin andrews was caught ball watching in the very 1st minute of the game causing ah goal.

we truly lack the quality that it takes too get to the WC, and between allyuh and me i'm glad we failed to cut it,BC it would've been catastrophic to behold. this time we would've been the laughing stock of the tournament.

i could see latas leading us to brazil, only without the interference and the meddling of jack warner. in ah way i'm glad we failed! jack don't deserve another WC wid the BS he was doing for three yrs.

i'm also happy we failed BC he still didn't accept PFATT!! ah sorry tuh be so weired forumites, yuh know we all love we warriors , and failure and disappointment is never ah pleasant thing, but jack have tuh fail!! BC god doh like UGLY!!

we have a lot of work to do. best of luck latas, tinto was ah good find.                                     positive.

Re: Our ship has sailed.
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2009, 05:30:50 AM »
Not too long ago i was driving in from the city and saw ah fat oman singing que sera sera in the middle of the side walk, ah thought she looked familiar , but i had tuh do and 2nd take.
why yuh treatin bajanscout woman so? at least give she a ride nah man.... :) :)

Seriously though..the second half of the qualifiers would be more interesting..the team looks better but ultimately it is how badly do the players want it.

Re: T&T go down in Mexico but still in the race.
« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2009, 06:12:39 AM »
Arrow,
          Good Luck!!!!

« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2009, 06:31:51 AM »
Come on Latapy scout defenders. Ask Jack to get Lloyd Samuel. Have a look at Julius and I hear Yohance playing good ball. Yorke has to be sub in the early second half. Samuel is the man for the left midfield. You cant go wrong by giving Sancho a look in either, he will give you heart and soul and we need that in defence. If we can sustain the attitude we displayed against C/R in the first half, we can make it but 3points against El Salvador is a must.

« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2009, 06:37:50 AM »
You'll think if we beat Mexico and El Salvador,tie with US and Honduras and loose to Costa Rica we could make it?That will give us 10pts.

« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2009, 06:46:43 AM »
WAIT WAIT WAIT !! I see some men say we play a good game ?? This game compared to the Costa Rica game in terms of tactics and playing was like nite and day !! We play level SHAT from kickoff, yes I understand the Azteca is 8,000 feet above ground .......so men will ge buN quick, but I aint see anything from them. Dem Mexicans had FREE reign whole night...... We were slow to the ball, escorting players, ball watching!! We had like 3 shots for the entire game an 2 came from Tinto !! God bless his effort as he was energetic and is pure hussle from himself that made that goal !! So bigup Tinto..... I feeel the formation let us down bad bad bad...... not gonna talk bout defense as this is a known short coming , but the mids aint help out at all...... men chasing shadows whole game !!

« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2009, 06:54:02 AM »
Ah know he fast, but is Peltier in any way similar to Tinto. If we could get that kinda energy down both wings...

« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2009, 06:57:55 AM »
I like the idea of ushering the opponents out the box, that was done at its best last night. They didn't commit highly unnecessary tackles to give away free kicks. I applaud the defense on that. But they will have to understand man marking a little better as they allowed to many green shirts freedom in the centre.

« Reply #21 on: June 11, 2009, 08:00:01 AM »
You'll think if we beat Mexico and El Salvador,tie with US and Honduras and loose to Costa Rica we could make it? That will give us 10pts.

In the Hexagonal for the 2006 WC T&T qualified for the 4th place playoff spot with 13 points. Guatemala finished in fifth place and they had 11 points.

In the 2002 Hexagonal the 4th place finisher (before there was a playoff spot) was Honduras with 14 points. In 5th place was Jamaica with 8.

In the 1998 Hexagonal the 4th place finisher (before there was a playoff spot) was Costa Rica with 12 points. In 5th place was El Salvador with 10.

So basically, finishing with 10 points is almost certain to see you miss out on the whole thing.

Offline reggae-fan

Mexico vs 5th Place CONMEBOL team
« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2009, 12:22:07 PM »
Mexico is in serious danger of not taking one of the three automatic qualifying spots from CONCACAF. If it werent for home-filed advantage, I'd also not give them much chance of taking the 4th spot.

The ironic thing about it all is that we stand a better shot at beating the 5th place CONMEBOL team if Mexico finishes in the 4th spot. something tells me they match up better against the Aouth American teams than any other CONCACAF team..

I expect Costa Rica, USA to take the top 2, Honduras/Mexico to battle it out for the 3rd spot, and Mex/Hon/T&T to battle it out for the 4th spot. El salvador is as good as done.

Re: Mexico vs 5th Place CONMEBOL team
« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2009, 12:30:06 PM »

El salvador is as good as done.

How you figure?

They still haven't lost at home yet and their two toughest home games are out of the way.

That has to count for something.

Offline reggae-fan

Re: Mexico vs 5th Place CONMEBOL team
« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2009, 01:29:04 PM »

El salvador is as good as done.

How you figure?

They still haven't lost at home yet and their two toughest home games are out of the way.

That has to count for something.

El Salvador have dropped a total of 4 points at home so far (2-2 ties with USA and T&T). The only way they can make up for those points is to win away I dont fancy them winning on the road to the USA or Mexico, the best I see them doing against T&T is a tie in POS.  Who knows, they way Mexico is playing these days, it could very well end up being a toss-up between Mex,T&T, El Sal for the 4th spot.

I like Honduras chances of grabbing the third automatic spot. In fact, I think they will either tie or beat Mexico in Mexico City.

« Last Edit: June 11, 2009, 01:32:44 PM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2009, 07:02:44 PM »
Bobby Zamora

"I would be very interested in playing for Trinidad and Tobago if I could get past all the hurdles. The rules make it very hard, which is a little unfair. I made a handful of appearances for England Under 21s, which included the European Championships, so that closes the door on any one else. However, I am hoping for a bit of luck or a loophole. My dad is from Trinidad and I have a passport, so we are looking into it.

Jlloyd Samuel

"I've played for the England Under-21s and I'm sure some people will accuse me of jumping on the bandwagon but I feel Trinidadian and want to play for them," said Samuel. "I was born in Trinidad and it would make me proud to play for them."

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2009, 07:24:39 PM »
so, as a mathematician, win umpteen games and lose umpteen games and d worriers are................what?????

in

or

out

« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2009, 07:38:09 PM »
start preparations fuh brazil forget south africa.

« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2009, 07:50:41 PM »
Royal,
          We have to beat the US and Mex. at home. I don't know how, but it has to be done. We have to make up for the loss in Tobago. We have to win all our home games. And pull off some ties away from home. We probaly can lose one more, but not at home.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2009, 07:59:14 PM »
You'll think if we beat Mexico and El Salvador,tie with US and Honduras and loose to Costa Rica we could make it? That will give us 10pts.

In the Hexagonal for the 2006 WC T&T qualified for the 4th place playoff spot with 13 points. Guatemala finished in fifth place and they had 11 points.

In the 2002 Hexagonal the 4th place finisher (before there was a playoff spot) was Honduras with 14 points. In 5th place was Jamaica with 8.

In the 1998 Hexagonal the 4th place finisher (before there was a playoff spot) was Costa Rica with 12 points. In 5th place was El Salvador with 10.

So basically, finishing with 10 points is almost certain to see you miss out on the whole thing.

there are 15 points remaining  for us to get..9 of them are home points..we win at home  and we get 11
sneaking a win against honduras has to be the main focus and getting a point in costa rica is possible is likely they'd already be qualified by the time we come to play them

the key for us is mexico's form -mexico has three games to play at home again - the us, el salvador and honduras..if mexico remain perfect at home it sets those 2 back
el salvador has to travel to POS, the US and mexico...tha's 9 points that they SHOULD not be able to get while there fixture at home against honduras could work out in our favour
honduras is home to costa rica next game..costa rica CAN beat honduras in tegucigalpa  and would be eager too to seal qualification before playing the US or Mexico again..
honduras also have to play the US at home - again this game could go either way..and it might swing for us..

I think we can get 14 points