April 19, 2024, 02:43:23 AM

Author Topic: Warriors stars ‘bigger and better’ with Digicel.  (Read 2983 times)

Warriors stars ‘bigger and better’ with Digicel.
« on: June 20, 2009, 03:37:59 AM »
Warriors stars ‘bigger and better’ with Digicel.
By: Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday).

Trinidad and Tobago footballers Carlos Edwards and Jason Scotland on Thursday signed autographs, posed for photographs with fans as they celebrated the start of a sponsorship relationship with Digicel Trinidad and Tobago.

Digicel had earlier announced their sponsorship of the English-based football stars at the Digicel Flagship store located at Movie Towne, Invader’s Bay on the Foreshore at Mucurapo.

The leading telecommunications network will sponsor the duo for two years and hold several clinics to bring the players closer to the local communities who follow their exploits on the field.

Niall Dorrian, CEO, Digicel TT, explained that his organisation chose Edwards and Scotland to be the face of their company as both have stood out as role models and have contributed greatly to the national team.

He noted that Digicel are closely involved with football in TT, recently sponsoring the Digicel Pro League as well as working with the La Foucade Soccer Clinic.

“We’re very much involved with football on the grass-root level,” Dorian said.

Sunderland midfielder Edwards revealed that he was elated to be on board the Digicel project and is looking forward to bigger and better things with “the bigger, better network”.

Swansea striker Scotland also expressed his joy of working with Digicel.

He revealed that he is pleased with his 24-goal haul in the 2008-2009 Coca Cola Championship season but the sky is the limit and he will be trying his best to continue improving.

He revealed a desire to play in the lucrative English Premiership but is currently weighing his options.

Scotland may get his chance this season as he is reportedly being targetted by Premiership duo Wigan Athletic and newly promoted Burnley.

Meanwhile, versatile winger Carlos Edwards expressed optimism in TT’s chances of qualifying for the 2010 World Cup despite the country being at the bottom of the standings with two points from five matches. Edwards said he is excited about the addition of midfielder Hayden Tinto to the national squad but is not “totally happy” about him claiming his position on the right side of the midfield.

“Hayden has come into the team and done really well. He scored his first international goal and I’m happy for him,” Edwards stated, “He took my position but I’m happy to play any position and even if it’s not my natural role I can do a good job,” he added.

Edwards is keeping faith with the decisions being made by national coach Russell Latapy and has called on the public to back the “Little Magician”

“Russell knows what he is doing. We need to give him time to get his blend in. He’s a young manager,” Edwards said.

Re: Warriors stars ‘bigger and better’ with Digicel.
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2009, 05:09:59 AM »
Hmmmm...ah wonder if dis go cause any fallout with bMobile like when Digicel was sponsoring de Windies and Lara, Bravo, Gayle, Sarwan etc. had personal contracts with Cable & Wireless?
« Last Edit: June 20, 2009, 05:29:11 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2009, 06:24:08 AM »
Hmmmm...ah wonder if dis go cause any fallout with bMobile like when Digicel was sponsoring de Windies and Lara, Bravo, Gayle, Sarwan etc. had personal contracts with Cable & Wireless?

Maybe bMobile will offer Jones & Tinto a sponsorship in retaliation!  :)

On second thoughts we need a few promising defenders to gain sponsorship and maybe that will focus them on being top class defenders as we need better defenders!

What allyuh think?  ;)
« Last Edit: June 20, 2009, 06:27:06 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2009, 10:01:42 AM »
WTF !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Isn't Bmobile like THE BIGGEST sponsor of the Soca Warriors
Ah guess Digicel trying to mash up we football now...............

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2009, 11:12:03 AM »

Cosign to this day me eh own a digicel phone because of d cricket nonesense

« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2009, 11:22:32 AM »

« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2009, 04:44:53 PM »
I watch both of them advertising some "me too" phone in the papers and had exactly the same thoughts...

Very confusing since the new Bmobile Warriors ads with the blackberry bold and storm have both of them featuring.

Bmobile must be real cussin...

« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2009, 05:36:25 PM »
Dis is all part of Scottie trying to score more goals!

Digicel have much better service dan b-mobile!! :devil:
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2009, 02:51:47 PM »
Digicel snaps up Edwards, Scotland
Nigel Simon
Published: 22 Jun 2009
Nigel Simon
Soca Warriors duo, Carlos Edwards of Sunderland FC and Swansea City’s Jason Scotland have joined the list of Caribbean sporting stars to be endorsed by Irish-based telecommunications company, Digicel.

This was announced on Thursday by Digicel chief executive officer, Niall Dorrian at the contract signing and autograph session held at Digicel’s Flagship Store at Movie Town, Invaders Bay, Mucurapo involving both players.

The almost two hour long event hosted by comedian Nikki Crosby featured Scotland and Edwards spending time with local football fans and signing posters, footballs and T-shirts, all courtesy of Digicel. In his brief address, Dorrian first extended a hearty welcome to Edwards and Scotland who have joined the Digicel family on a two-year contract.

“These two athletes have excelled for their country and on the world stage and we look forward to the opportunity to bring them closer to their fans across T&T.” said Dorrian “Last week Thursday, Jason alongside former England international John Barnes, spent a full morning at the Caledonia AIA of Morvant/Laventille youth club at the Morvant Recreation Ground as part of Digicel’s Kick Start Clinic Tour

“Digicel recognises the importance of the accomplishments of these positive role models to the nation’s youth. We plan to continue creating opportunities where communities can get up close and personal with these stars who hopefully will inspire them to follow through on their dreams and go on to make positive contributions to society here in T&T.

With regards to the signing, Edwards, said, I’m proud to be a brand ambassador for Digicel. This relationship has created a platform for me to spread the message to the next generation that with a combination of discipline, commitment and belief in yourself you can accomplish anything, the sky is your limit.”

« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2009, 02:56:25 PM »

allyuh eh studying how Bmobile mashing up we pocket for years now? not to mention, we cricket was shit long b4 digicel came on board, so doh blame them

« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2009, 03:03:09 PM »

allyuh eh studying how Bmobile mashing up we pocket for years now? not to mention, we cricket was shit long b4 digicel came on board, so doh blame them

Yes but thxs 2 dem we had 2 feel scabs. Lara miss 3 est so he would have gotten he 12000 runs. Dat dey gettin blame 4

« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2009, 03:19:52 PM »
ent it does have teams sponsored by Adidas and Nike does pull man from dat same team to endorse dey shoes? so wat is de big deal?

« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2009, 04:07:35 PM »
ent it does have teams sponsored by Adidas and Nike does pull man from dat same team to endorse dey shoes? so wat is de big deal?

Dem is d 1st world we is banana republic dat is d difference.

« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2009, 06:19:02 PM »

Footballers are typically allowed to choose dey own boots. It is all down to de terms of de contracts and money. For example, one of de sticky issues of Beckham's move to Real Madrid had to do wit de fact dat Siemens was dey big sponsor, but Vodafone was one of Beckham's sponsors.

« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2009, 07:01:23 PM »
WTF !!!!!!!!!!!!!

i dont agree with that

« Reply #15 on: June 23, 2009, 07:44:03 PM »
WTF !!!!!!!!!!!!!

i dont agree with that

I guess if u walk like a duck....

« Reply #16 on: June 23, 2009, 08:08:29 PM »
nothing digicel do there wrong. it happens all over the world

« Reply #17 on: June 23, 2009, 08:10:52 PM »

D 1ST WORLD

« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2009, 06:29:19 AM »

D 1ST WORLD

so we should always move like the 3rd world then?

Lara probably had free phone when all a we used to be bussing we pocket for years.

« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2009, 08:07:27 AM »

D 1ST WORLD

so why should we not strive to be 1st world

« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2009, 09:28:38 AM »

D 1ST WORLD

so why should we not strive to be 1st world

Y Digicel did not behave first world in their dealings wit oui because we 3rd world and behave like we is 3rd world. No way I eh say dohstrive 4 1st world.