April 26, 2024, 10:24:51 AM

Author Topic: Confederations Cup Thread  (Read 121880 times)

Re: Confederations Cup Thread
« Reply #690 on: June 25, 2009, 12:51:50 PM »

seems like yuh mixing perspectives here: fan's vs. coach's. what coach get hired to build a brand? a brand is more of a fan percept. ah doubt a coach looking at brand.

Not mixing anything...speaking strictly from the fan perspective.

« Reply #691 on: June 25, 2009, 12:53:34 PM »

seems like yuh mixing perspectives here: fan's vs. coach's. what coach get hired to build a brand? a brand is more of a fan percept. ah doubt a coach looking at brand.

a fan with plenty coaching "opinons"  ;D

« Reply #692 on: June 25, 2009, 12:54:57 PM »
south africa nearly bore yes..

« Reply #693 on: June 25, 2009, 12:56:20 PM »

a fan with plenty coaching "opinons"  ;D

lol ent  :D

« Reply #694 on: June 25, 2009, 12:58:18 PM »
south africa nearly bore yes..

South Africa playing some good ball as Toppa say. The Brazilian coach have dem looking good.

« Reply #695 on: June 25, 2009, 01:02:53 PM »
Allyuh know who fault it is if Brazil lorse today right?

Goat-mouth Kicker.

« Reply #696 on: June 25, 2009, 01:03:07 PM »
South Africa with the better looks on goal so far...

« Reply #697 on: June 25, 2009, 01:03:43 PM »

Goat-mouth Kicker.

ah watching... and ah waiting....  :waiting:

« Reply #698 on: June 25, 2009, 01:04:21 PM »

Goat-mouth Kicker.

« Reply #699 on: June 25, 2009, 01:05:12 PM »
what coach get hired to build a brand?

1. Arsene Wenger
2. Any Real Madrid coach.

Though Real Madrid really illustrates the concept of a coach getting fired b/c the team doesn't have a brand.

In the end you have 2 camps.
Results vs Entertainment.

Ideally we want both. in other words, we all want to be Brazil and Barca.

As a supporter of a team you will accept Results over entertainment - to a point.
As a coach of a team you getting paid to win (unless you coaching, Real Madrid, or Brazil)

I does never hear anybody talking about that great Euro 2004 Greek team.

NOBODY except Greeks and Portugal haters EVER want to see that final again.

« Reply #700 on: June 25, 2009, 01:10:22 PM »

Goat-mouth Kicker.

lol wha bout I want Brazil tuh win, one part because daz meh squad, and one part because I eh bong fuh de goat mouth pong  ;D

« Reply #701 on: June 25, 2009, 01:11:21 PM »
Yuh know...ah wouldn't mind so much if South Africa wins today.

Signal a new world order.

All the big teams sent home.

Two unlikely teams in the final.

Kinna bodes well for the WC...if you're not European or South American.

« Reply #702 on: June 25, 2009, 01:11:55 PM »
9 times outta 10 Kaka put away da curlers...

« Reply #703 on: June 25, 2009, 01:12:08 PM »
what coach get hired to build a brand?

1. Arsene Wenger
2. Any Real Madrid coach.

Though Real Madrid really illustrates the concept of a coach getting fired b/c the team doesn't have a brand.

In the end you have 2 camps.
Results vs Entertainment.

Ideally we want both. in other words, we all want to be Brazil and Barca.

As a supporter of a team you will accept Results over entertainment - to a point.
As a coach of a team you getting paid to win (unless you coaching, Real Madrid, or Brazil)

I does never hear anybody talking about that great Euro 2004 Greek team.

NOBODY except Greeks and Portugal haters EVER want to see that final again.

ah meant in the thread's context - i.e. national teams

« Reply #704 on: June 25, 2009, 01:14:47 PM »
wait nuh.. tell me i didnt just see what i thought i saw..

someone holding a sign up saying, "Bafana, hold on to Kaka like -" and was that pampers stick on to the sign ??? :rotfl:

Anybody realise jes how cold it is in de Confederations Cup?
« Reply #705 on: June 25, 2009, 01:17:44 PM »
Spectators wearin sweater, jackets, toques, and gloves.

This will be the first World Cup in history (I believe) where the teams will be playing in such temperatures.

How will it affect the balance of play?

Do the European teams have a bigger advantage?

« Reply #706 on: June 25, 2009, 01:19:16 PM »
haven't seen much of south africa's confed cup games, but one thing i like about the goalkeeper from what i've seen is that he holding the ball. :beermug:

Re: Anybody realise jes how cold it is in de Confederations Cup?
« Reply #707 on: June 25, 2009, 01:20:25 PM »

This will be the first World Cup in history (I believe) where the teams will be playing in such temperatures.

Argentina 78 ??

« Reply #708 on: June 25, 2009, 01:26:32 PM »
I believe that this is considered South Africa's winter and that it can get fairly chilly there, although no where as frigid as winters in the northeastern U.S states or Canada.

Having said that, I think South Africa had a freak snow storm one year.

I can't remember which year it was.

« Reply #709 on: June 25, 2009, 01:27:59 PM »
Walk wit yuh snuggy next yr when u go 2 support Latas bois.

« Reply #710 on: June 25, 2009, 01:29:45 PM »

Argentina 78 ??

Good point.

« Reply #711 on: June 25, 2009, 01:30:06 PM »

Argentina 78 ??

Chile '62?

« Reply #712 on: June 25, 2009, 01:30:59 PM »
"The US advances to the Championship game"

::)

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #713 on: June 25, 2009, 01:31:57 PM »

July is typically peak winter in South Africa, in cape town for instance, average lows in July is mid 40's average highs is around 62 degrees. 62 degrees in sunlight is very pleasant, so there shouldnt be a problem there. 45 degrees at night can feel much colder.

« Reply #714 on: June 25, 2009, 01:40:19 PM »

July is typically peak winter in South Africa, in cape town for instance, average lows in July is mid 40's (7 degrees) average highs is around 62 degrees (17 degrees). 62 degrees in sunlight is very pleasant, so there shouldnt be a problem there. 45 degrees at night can feel much colder.

I was studying that same thing the minute I hear the WC was in SA....that still doh give Europe advantage..

p.s ..need to covert the temperatures for the ppl on the forum living Trinidad, Canada, Europe, Carribbean etc...

« Reply #715 on: June 25, 2009, 01:56:52 PM »
South Africa has been the better team this half...

« Reply #716 on: June 25, 2009, 01:57:59 PM »
Brazil must be get they hotel room rob like Egypt and Spain  :devil:

« Reply #717 on: June 25, 2009, 02:12:11 PM »
South Africa is outworking Brazil- simple...working harder off the ball in attack, and harder on defense when they lose it...

Brazil looks flat, and their wing backs are not getting into the attack...they're void of ideas and Andre Santos is either tired or carrying an injury.

« Reply #718 on: June 25, 2009, 02:15:59 PM »
South Africa is outworking Brazil- simple...working harder off the ball in attack, and harder on defense when they lose it...

Brazil looks flat, and their wing backs are not getting into the attack...they're void of ideas and Andre Santos is either tired or carrying an injury.

Is Dunga with he own version of the Corbeaux Brand.

« Reply #719 on: June 25, 2009, 02:17:43 PM »
Brazi is mediocre when they aren't playing on the break. The center circle is empty when they are on the ball because they have no skilful midfield organizer on the pitch. Brazil has no ideas on the ball and just walk to back and forth until they can get it to Robinho or Kaka, and pray for them to do something with their individual ability. Every once in a while Brazil puts down a stinker like this....

On the contrary, South Afrtica has plenty of purpose and ideas on the ball. Dey just need Benny up top