September 07, 2024, 02:23:47 PM

Author Topic: 10 yr old Vanished  (Read 14440 times)

Re: 10 yr old Vanished
« Reply #60 on: June 19, 2009, 07:07:32 AM »
Fire destroys murder suspect’s house
By Alexander Bruzual Friday, June 19 2009

Marva Hovell holds her cellphone, the only possession she saved after fire destroyed her home in Laventille yesterday. ...« prev photo next photo »Twenty four hours after the body of ten-year-old Tecia Henry was discovered a stone’s throw away from her home at Essex Road, Cook Street, Laventille, fire destroyed two houses, one of which belonged to a suspect in her murder.

The suspect’s house, and a neighbour’s house next door, were located at lower Plaisance Terrace, which is downhill of Cook Street. A third house was damaged by water as firemen put out the blaze that threatened to spread. Residents said they heard a loud explosion, at about 9 am yesterday, followed by gunshots. Shortly after the murder suspect’s house was on fire. Fanned by a strong breeze, residents said the flames spread quickly to a second house owned by Andrew and Marva Hovell, and was close to razing a third house owned by the Sankar family. However, residents said the quick response of the police and fire officials prevented the blaze from reaching any further.

“I was just home watching TV when I hear something loud go off, and I feel the house shake slightly. Before I have chance to react I see my roof on fire. All I could do is grab my phone, because by the time I ran out I see parts of my wall start to cave in. We didn’t get the chance to save anything,” said Marva Hovell, one of the residents who was displaced by the blaze. Hovell, with teary eyes, said she and her family of seven were a “casualty of (the) circumstance (of) living in Laventille.”

Hovell said her family had lost everything and she was concerned about where they would be spending the next few nights.

“People here working hard to make a living and yet people come out of the blue and reckless with they self and their actions. We didn’t do anybody anything, so why we have to suffer? Where will my children rest their heads? This isn’t right,” Hovell said.

Her distraught husband did not say much except to repeat, “Fox have hole, birds have nest but the son of man have no place to rest.”

Although the home of Marmin Sankar and her two daughters Rhondor and Rhea was saved by the fire officers, they were not spared the anguish. Rhondor said as soon as the family had heard about the arrest of the suspect on Wednesday, they prepared themselves for a fiery retaliation.

“We had our hose and everything ready since the night before. We thought they were coming with something like pitch oil, something we could have controlled but instead it’s like high-end explosives they use because that fire spread so fast,” Sankar said.

She added as soon as her family heard the explosion they began to wet the roof of their house. They even attempted to douse the flames on the other houses, but they were stopped by Besson Street police officers who ordered them to evacuate.

For over an hour, the Sankar family waited anxiously and were relieved when fire officials advised them their house was only scorched and sustained water damage.

Divisional Fire Officer Eugene Serville, of the Northern Fire Service Division, confirmed the minor damage to the Sankar family’s house and that two houses were destroyed.

“Appliances from both the Belmont Fire Station and the Wrightson Road Fire Station were sent in to contain the blaze, and so far there have been no reports of casualties,” Serville said.

He could not say what caused the fire as investigations were ongoing.

« Reply #61 on: June 19, 2009, 08:07:28 PM »
they believe in de old testament boy.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #62 on: June 21, 2009, 08:23:25 PM »
wonder if street justice will be dealt?

Suspects released
Tecia Henry investigation
Denyse Renne

Monday, June 22nd 2009

The five suspects held in connection with the murder of ten-year-old Tecia Henry have been released from custody pending further investigations.

The suspects were released by Homicide detectives on Saturday night, following an intensive three-day interrogation. Sources said although the men have been released, investigations are still ongoing.

The men, who hail from the Laventille area, were held by law enforcement officers shortly after the bloated body of Henry was found on Wednesday morning. Police said the men were uncooperative during their time in custody, and since they have not received any eyewitness statements from residents in the John John area the men had to be released. DNA samples were also taken from the men and sent for testing abroad, sources added, and the results will be known within the next few weeks.

Henry, of Cook Street, Laventille, was a Standard Four pupil of St Rose's Girls' Primary School in Port of Spain. She disappeared after being sent on an errand to purchase items at a nearby shop in John John, by her mother on June 13. On June 17, the child's body was found stuffed in a hole below an abandoned house.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #63 on: June 21, 2009, 08:50:33 PM »

Suspects released
Denyse Renne

Monday, June 22nd 2009

The five suspects held in connection with the murder of ten-year-old Tecia Henry have been released from custody pending further investigations.

The suspects were released by Homicide detectives on Saturday night, following an intensive three-day interrogation. Sources said although the men have been released, investigations are still ongoing.

The men, who hail from the Laventille area, were held by law enforcement officers shortly after the bloated body of Henry was found on Wednesday morning. Police said the men were uncooperative during their time in custody, and since they have not received any eyewitness statements from residents in the John John area the men had to be released. DNA samples were also taken from the men and sent for testing abroad, sources added, and the results will be known within the next few weeks.

Henry, of Cook Street, Laventille, was a Standard Four pupil of St Rose's Girls' Primary School in Port of Spain. She disappeared after being sent on an errand to purchase items at a nearby shop in John John, by her mother on June 13. On June 17, the child's body was found stuffed in a hole below an abandoned house.

Well...somebody gonna die tonight...
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #64 on: June 21, 2009, 09:26:25 PM »
Block 8 dads want mobile unit to stay
Akile Simon

Fathers of Block Eight in John John, Port-of-Spain, spent most of yesterday liming outdoors—an experience they were deprived of in the past by gunmen. As they gathered in groups around the community, relaxing under the shade of trees and nearby parlours, they all asked for one thing: They want the mobile police unit to remain in their community.

“This is the first Father’s Day in a very long time we are able to enjoy ourselves. Time was long overdue. We needed something like this up here a long time ago,” said a father, as he ate a Sunday meal of dumplings, saltfish and vegetables.

The man who, like the other villagers, asked not to be identified, said even though he sympathised with Tecia’s relatives, the incident was able to bring a lot of issues into the light. Another man said: “I was on the verge of packing up and getting out of here. But when I saw the Commissioner sent in the post I decided to stay, because I know the area would be much safer.

“Many persons who could not come into the area and visit their relatives could now do so in peace and comfort. “I lie down on my bed already and bullets came through my roof. I mean, look how happy I am now. We are free from having to duck and run from bullets. “Nobody should run the block other than the police. It was too much bloodshed up here over who should run the block.”

Ten-year-old Tecia Henry was reported missing from her home on Essex Street, Laventille, around 7.30 am, two Saturdays ago, when she was sent to a nearby mini-mart at the lower end of John John to make some purchases. Tecia, who attended St Rose’s Girls’ Primary School, is expected to be buried on Thursday, the day she would have celebrated her 11th birthday.

« Reply #65 on: June 21, 2009, 10:12:54 PM »
Now studying it...if dem men go back..dey dotish. Dis is de best time fuh dem and dey family to buss out and lay low.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #66 on: June 22, 2009, 05:45:53 AM »
Now studying it...if dem men go back..dey dotish. Dis is de best time fuh dem and dey family to buss out and lay low.

They just might be stupid enough to think they could go back an survive.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #67 on: June 22, 2009, 05:32:33 PM »

They just might be stupid enough to think they could go back an survive.
is just ah matter ah time somebody reek havoc and start to shed some warm blood.

« Reply #68 on: June 23, 2009, 02:43:06 PM »
Tecia’s mom demands apology from PM
Geisha Kowlessar
Published: 23 Jun 2009
Geisha Kowlessar
Diane Henry, mother of ten-year-old Tecia who was strangled to death, is demanding an apology from Prime Minister Patrick Manning. Speaking at her home at Essex Street, John John, Henry also called on Manning to explain his statements.

Referring to Tecia’s killing Manning, speaking at the PNM’s Special Convention held on Sunday at Chaguaramas, told supporters not to take the killing at “face value.” He said, “There is more to it than that, but I am not at liberty to say.” His statement has provoked Henry to deny claims that her child’s murder was drug related. “What drugs? Is nothing like drugs and I sure is not cocaine. “Manning needs to apologise and he needs to apologise to the John John people,” Henry said.

She insisted Tecia was killed because of “envy.” Henry said, “Is just natural envy and jealousy. That is why they take my child life. I is a single parent.” Tecia, a Standard Four pupil of the Rose’s Primary School in Port-of-Spain went missing two Saturdays ago, around 7.30 am. The child was sent to the nearby K and G mini mart at the lower end of John John to make purchases. Her bloated body was found crammed into a hole under a house on Wednesday morning, two houses away from her home.

« Reply #69 on: June 23, 2009, 03:24:04 PM »
Envy of what exactly?

« Reply #70 on: June 23, 2009, 04:08:53 PM »
Envy of what exactly?

When u figure it out let meh know. LOUD STEUPS

« Reply #71 on: June 23, 2009, 04:35:30 PM »
Envy of what exactly?

from wat her sister twiggy say, ppl envious of her because she improving herself and doin better for herself in society  :-\

« Reply #72 on: June 23, 2009, 04:42:28 PM »
Envy of what exactly?

from wat her sister twiggy say, ppl envious of her because she improving herself and doin better for herself in society  :-\

By doing what exactly?

« Reply #73 on: June 23, 2009, 05:17:57 PM »
Envy of what exactly?

By doing what exactly?

She either in school, just get a big wuk, or running a 'business'

The more she talk the more she will hang herself....assuming the police are competent enough to uncover the nonsense

« Reply #74 on: June 23, 2009, 05:43:01 PM »
Envy of what exactly?

TWIGGY now I am convince dey jealous she.

« Reply #75 on: July 06, 2009, 09:55:13 AM »

Suspects released
Denyse Renne

Monday, June 22nd 2009

"Ricardo Mc Carty aka Docks have been shot dead in Belle View long circular... he was one of the suspects that was held for the murder of Tecia Henry"

« Reply #76 on: July 06, 2009, 11:38:55 AM »

Suspects released
Denyse Renne

Monday, June 22nd 2009

"Ricardo Mc Carty aka Docks have been shot dead in Belle View long circular... he was one of the suspects that was held for the murder of Tecia Henry"

If he eh do dat he do sumting so adios.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #77 on: July 06, 2009, 12:04:06 PM »

Suspects released
Denyse Renne

Monday, June 22nd 2009

If he eh do dat he do sumting so adios.

One down 4 to go

« Reply #78 on: July 06, 2009, 09:34:23 PM »
Strains of Michael Jackson’s “Beat It” blared from large speaker boxes placed at almost every corner of John John and Beverly Hills in Laventille yesterday. The scene on St Paul Street in Port-of-Spain was no different. Residents—with beer bottles and plastic cups of rum and Coca-Cola in hand—danced. They were “celebrating” the murder of Ricardo “Docs” McCarthy, 49, who was shot dead on Sunday night. McCarthy, who police claimed controlled the Block Eight Gang in Laventille, was the prime suspect in the killing of ten-year-old Tecia Henry.

A few hours after Tecia’s bloated body was found stuffed in a hole under a house at Plaisance Terrace in Laventille, McCarthy and five other men of Block Eight were detained by police. Police believe McCarthy “was put in place” to be killed. His body was found in a track off Belle Vue Road in Long Circular, St James. Police said they were told by residents that several loud explosions were heard around 10.30 pm on Sunday.

But it was only around 6.30 am yesterday that McCarthy’s body was found in a bushy track leading to Dundonald Hill. Investigators said he was shot several times at close range to the head. McCarthy, who was released recently from police custody, may have been hiding out in the Belle Vue area, investigators believe.

Justice served

Sitting on red concrete steps at her home on Essex Street in Laventille, Tecia’s mother, Diane, propped her chin with her hands.
She, too, rejoiced that McCarthy was dead. “I must feel happy about that. I get justice from the people, because they working,” Diane said. But her joy was evidently shadowed by sadness. Tears flowed from her pale, sunken eyes as she cried out for her murdered child. “I still have all Tecia things...her clothes, her books, everything. I not throwing nothing away. “Nothing could bring back my child. Is every day I suffering. I wish I could get she back.”

Scoffing at claims that Tecia’s death was linked to a drug deal gone sour, Diane lashed out against her detractors, insisting: “They know nothing. Them people don’t know what they saying. They talking all kind of wrong thing about me.” Spending her days locked away in her burglar-proofed home, except for the company of her 12-year-old twin daughters, Tia and Tamara, and a few close relatives, Diane said she wanted to be left alone. “I just want some peace. I keeping by myself,” she said softly.

At his apartment on St Paul Street, Tecia’s father, Lynton James, with a beer bottle in hand, embraced friends. “Is a relief, because any parent would want to get that man off the face of the earth. “Docs was a real threat. Them fellas do thing to hurt plenty other people and they accustom doing these things,” James said.
Touched the wrong child

James’ mother and Tecia’s paternal grandmother, Patricia, said the perpetrator who lured Tecia to her death touched the wrong child.
“It was really an injustice to this little child, but God don’t sleep. “When they take Tecia they touch the wrong child, and is obvious they have to pay,” Patricia said. Echoing her sentiments was Tecia’s aunt, Marlene Grant, who declared yesterday as “the happiest” day in her life. “I, for one, damn happy. Is not Docs alone, but all of them have to go,” Grant said.

Referring to statements made by Prime Minister Patrick Manning that Tecia’s killing must not be taken “at face value,” Grant said Manning was “wrong.” Manning made the statements during his party’s special convention recently at Chaguaramas Convention Centre. “I know Manning wrong when he say that. But I know he would apologise someday,” Grant said. Asked what was her reaction on hearing of McCarthy’s killing, Grant replied: “I take a big drink and then I wine like a windmill.”

“Satan” dead

At Plaisance Terrace, 58-year-old Reynold Johnson shouted: “Retribution come.” According to Johnson, his 27-year-old son, Darren Pompey, was killed four years ago by McCarthy. “I celebrating; I feel good, because this man was a pest in my life,” Johnson said. At John John, shopkeeper Carlton “Big Shines” Gibbons described McCarthy as “Satan himself.” Gibbons said he, too, was subjected to McCarthy’s terror when, a few years ago, he was held-up at gunpoint.

Good out of evil

Tecia was killed five days before her 11th birthday. Her tragic death, which touched the lives of many, has reunited warring factions, bringing a sense of peace in the crime-infested community. “Out of every evil come a good. People from John John, Beverly Hills and St Paul Street used to be fighting. “But now people could walk the road again,” Gibbons said. Other weeping residents said Tecia was the “sacrificial lamb,” who restored the “good old” days in Laventille.

Tecia went missing after leaving her mother’s home on Essex Street, John John, around 7.30 am on June 14. The child, a former pupil of St Rose’s Girls’ Primary School in Port-of-Spain, was reportedly sent to K and G Mini-mart, at the lower end of John John, to purchase a phone card and other items. She never made it to the shop. An autopsy revealed she was strangled the day she went missing.

« Reply #79 on: July 06, 2009, 10:59:53 PM »
Sando was asking if i would think to open a business here. Look a perfect business idea...a funeral home in dat area.

« Reply #80 on: July 07, 2009, 07:18:07 AM »
Boy dat man picture in all the papers today. Front Page

D man have a serious Radio Face

« Reply #81 on: July 07, 2009, 07:44:30 AM »
Look at some of the comments from the guardian..i agree with them.

* Login or register to post comments

* EmailEmail
    * PrintPrint

So this suspect is dead and
Submitted by leeza7 on 6 July 2009 - 10:49pm.

So this suspect is dead and these people celebrate.And knowing he was a suspect for other murders they remained silent and the killing scourge continued. Wow sorry to burst their bubbles but when the head dies the minions will soon be seeking to have their place at the helmn, to me this death means the beginging of a fresh war and more bloodshed unless these residents take a stance and denounce crime within their community. By the man was it established that this man did in fact kill the child...if not then that means the killer is still roaming out there.
Then there is the father of the child who is saying the suspect did real things, so is only when it hits home that he is saying all these things. I am sorry but I do not feel sorry for some of these people living in crime communities.....think of how many lives could have been saved had these same residents given info to the relevent authorities...just a thought

* Report this comment

So was he killed for being
Submitted by marandcar2005 on 7 July 2009 - 12:27am.

So was he killed for being the actual murderer of Tecia, or was it because he controlled block 8 and he was good enough to kill for Tecia's death?
Did the police kill him or did the residents? (not to p'off anyone, but this would also be murder, and who is going to pay for this. I'm sure the dead man's family and friends will find out who did it and do the same.)
Like leeza7, I hope this is the actual killer, so that there isn't the real one lurking around to do that to another innocent.

* Report this comment

All the talk I still can’t
Submitted by ryan4party on 7 July 2009 - 12:52am.

All the talk I still can’t go to John John, so what next.

* Report this comment

Wow... so this is Trinidad.
Submitted by Ram on 7 July 2009 - 2:55am.

Wow... so this is Trinidad. sounds to me like we live in a jungle, rejoice when someone dies, gangs and block, an area that only certain people can go to and if your young daughter dies at the hands of someone who is a known gangstar, the Government steps in to give financial and other assistance. Now, ladies and gents, is this man family going to get financial assistance as well for the senario is the same. He is from lavantille, he was murdered, he was a suspect in criminal activities but careful ladies and gents, we must not take everything at face value, Mr. Manning own words.

* Report this comment

Anarchy has taken over
Submitted by Wiggins_JP on 7 July 2009 - 6:16am.

Anarchy has taken over Levantille and it will get worse before it gets better . "Sweet T&T" is now the #2 killing field of the Caribbean , Jamaica is still #1 but the gap is narrowing . Laventille cannot remain ungovernable by the state and while the Prime Minister is talking about uniting the Eastern Caribbean States with T&T , he should be advised to sanitise the districts which are comfort zones for criminals . The law of the jungle is the norm in some of these districts where criminals are enforcing their type of "justice" . This type of criminal behaviour is not good for "Sweet T&T" - nor the Caribbean .
"Where there is no VISION ; the people PERISH" .

* Report this comment

I have never seen so much
Submitted by Terriq97 on 7 July 2009 - 7:08am.

I have never seen so much names called and people quoted in an article where a killing has occurred. Usually people are afraid to give their names or it is withheld at the reporter's discretion. WOW. Anyway, why was this man on the streets? Was he held by the authorities and then released to be the ultimate victim of street justice? Seems like everyone knew he was a menace and maybe he was killed by the neighborhood because the police wouldn't take him off the streets. Either way if the streets are safer, all the better.

* Report this comment

This should not be a
Submitted by Sarah-Ann on 7 July 2009 - 7:34am.

This should not be a celebration, nor should these people have been given this type of coverage as it can only be sending a message,do not help the police but take the law into your own hands.
How do we know that this is the right person, no one saw who took the child the man was held for five days, the police may not arrest a person without evidence or witnesses, so if all these people knew who the man was why did'nt they help the police, and do it the lawful way. In gangs there is always someone waiting to take over so the celebration may be premature for several reasons. That he was set up that looks obvious, but what is the real reason and will this start a new revenge warfare up there because he was murdered.

* Report this comment

« Reply #82 on: July 07, 2009, 07:48:53 AM »
Dey "touch de wrong chile." aight... :-\

All dem comments in de guardian doh....it doh make sense trying to explain dat to dem nah. Dah logic doh get through. Dis go just be one massive tit for tat.......and dis is wha does cause police to leave it alone...yuh eh getting no help when yuh trying to investigate...people know..buh dey eh tellin yuh nuttin for whaever reason. So dey jus leave dem to kill out each other.

Express Article taken from here

There was not much surprise after word crept out that McCarthy had been killed.

Back in March 2005, McCarthy, his wife and their then two-year-old daughter came under heavy gunfire moments after McCarthy collected a URP cheque at a field office near the Police Traffic Branch in Port of Spain.

McCarthy was shot twice-in the shoulder and ankle. His daughter, Abina, was shot in the chest and, now eight, is paralysed as a result of the injuries she received that day.

Back in April 2005, McCarthy's son, Oba Jones, was shot dead on the Brian Lara Promenade in broad daylight after he left a bank.

In May 2006, McCarthy's brother, Anthony McCarthy, a foreman with the URP, was shot dead while returning to his Plaisance Terrace, John John apartment. That case was solved as well.

Yesterday morning, three women were at the Forensic Science Centre in St James in the interest of McCarthy, but none of them had anything to say.

Look nigga, don't think you safe cause you moved out the hood
Cuz ya momma still around dog, and daddy ain't good
If you was smart you'd be shook of me
Cuz I'd get tired of lookin for ya, spray ya momma crib, and let ya ass look
for me

Will good sense prevail.......or would the bodies keep dropping? Stay tuned for our next episode of "Block 8".
« Last Edit: July 07, 2009, 07:59:13 AM by Bourbon »

« Reply #83 on: July 07, 2009, 11:34:14 AM »
Docs is/was a menace from long time.

Anybody who around could tell you dat.

Is only because he was in jail for a good while that we eh really hear bout him.

« Reply #84 on: July 07, 2009, 11:14:38 PM »
Mother Molly sheds no tears
Geisha Kowlessar
Published: 8 Jul 2009

On the second floor of an apartment building at Plaisance Terrace in Laventille, Molly McCarthy sat on a couch peeling pumpkin. As she was putting together ingredients for a pelau, her 49-year-old son Ricardo McCarthy, also known as “Docs”, was laid to rest under Muslim rites yesterday.

Molly, a mother of five - three of whom are dead - shed no tears for her murdered son. Instead, the 66-year-old woman sent a stern warning to those who revelled in Ricardo’s demise, insisting “their time will come.”

Ricardo, of Block Eight, Laventille, was found with multiple gunshot wounds to the head in a bushy track at Belle Vue at Long Circular Road in St James early Monday morning. Police and Laventille residents alike, described Ricardo as a “menace” who rained terror in the community with brazen gun attacks.

Describing her son as “miserable from small” Molly admitted to Ricardo having flaws, but she was quick to defend his name, saying he played no part in the disappearance and murder of 10-year-old Tecia Henry. Three years ago, an attempt was made on Ricardo’s life. The bullet missed, hitting instead his three-year-old daughter Abeda, leaving her crippled. In April, 2005 Ricardo’s son, 25-year-old Oba Jones was shot dead at the Brian Lara Promenade in Port-of-Spain.

Time will come

Molly easily admitted to her son’s murky past saying, “I’m not a deceitful mother. If they say Ricardo put down robberies...rob banks and so forth I will say yes.”

Asked about Ricardo’s involvement in illegal arms Molly said she had “heard” about it. “Probably if he had a gun he would keep it hidden. I never saw him with it. But I can’t say he never had a gun,” Molly said. Questioned whether her son was the leader of the Block Eight gang Molly said, “I know them fellas had respect for him. If that is control well then...” Words of caution from a worried mother to a seemingly wayward son went repeatedly unheeded.

“I used to speak to Ricardo, the words I use nobody would want to hear,” Molly said. The motive for her son’s killing, she believed, was simply because of “grudge.” “It have a lot of grudge, a sort of jealousy that was happening. “Ricardo is a boy always up to mark,” Molly said. Unperturbed by the revelry in Laventille over Ricardo’s death, Molly warned that everyone who rejoiced would “get their share.”

“What goes around, comes around. Every man to their order,” Molly said. Saying Ricardo was “appreciated” in the Block Eight community, Molly scoffed that those whom her son once helped, were now celebrating his death. “When he put down he little robbery and he know you, he would come and give you things. “People singing and dancing that my son dead, but it don’t bother me,” Molly insisted.

Paid for his days

Ricardo was implicated as the primary suspect in Tecia’s murder. John John residents theorised that even if Ricardo did not personally carry out the heinous act, he “sanctioned” the killing of the little girl. But according to his mother, her son played no part in Tecia’s murder.

“That what they put my son in totally wrong. He used to call the little children and carry them to the parlour and buy snacks for them. “As a mother, I would say Ricardo do what he do, but what happen with the little girl, he was innocent,” Molly said. She said her son left home at a very early age and since then he lived his life the way he wanted.

“He live his life how he wanted. I never really mix up with him,” Molly said. Holding to the belief that her son’s time had come Molly said “despite what” Ricardo was with the Lord. “Probably he pay for his days, but right now Ricardo is happy. “I hope Jesus make peace with him because it was time for him to go, “Molly said.

« Reply #85 on: July 08, 2009, 08:20:44 AM »
Mother Molly sheds no tears
Geisha Kowlessar
Published: 8 Jul 2009

On the second floor of an apartment building at Plaisance Terrace in Laventille, Molly McCarthy sat on a couch peeling pumpkin. As she was putting together ingredients for a pelau, her 49-year-old son Ricardo McCarthy, also known as “Docs”, was laid to rest under Muslim rites yesterday.

Molly, a mother of five - three of whom are dead - shed no tears for her murdered son. Instead, the 66-year-old woman sent a stern warning to those who revelled in Ricardo’s demise, insisting “their time will come.”

Ricardo, of Block Eight, Laventille, was found with multiple gunshot wounds to the head in a bushy track at Belle Vue at Long Circular Road in St James early Monday morning. Police and Laventille residents alike, described Ricardo as a “menace” who rained terror in the community with brazen gun attacks.

Describing her son as “miserable from small” Molly admitted to Ricardo having flaws, but she was quick to defend his name, saying he played no part in the disappearance and murder of 10-year-old Tecia Henry. Three years ago, an attempt was made on Ricardo’s life. The bullet missed, hitting instead his three-year-old daughter Abeda, leaving her crippled. In April, 2005 Ricardo’s son, 25-year-old Oba Jones was shot dead at the Brian Lara Promenade in Port-of-Spain.

Time will come

Molly easily admitted to her son’s murky past saying, “I’m not a deceitful mother. If they say Ricardo put down robberies...rob banks and so forth I will say yes.”

Asked about Ricardo’s involvement in illegal arms Molly said she had “heard” about it. “Probably if he had a gun he would keep it hidden. I never saw him with it. But I can’t say he never had a gun,” Molly said. Questioned whether her son was the leader of the Block Eight gang Molly said, “I know them fellas had respect for him. If that is control well then...” Words of caution from a worried mother to a seemingly wayward son went repeatedly unheeded.

“I used to speak to Ricardo, the words I use nobody would want to hear,” Molly said. The motive for her son’s killing, she believed, was simply because of “grudge.” “It have a lot of grudge, a sort of jealousy that was happening. “Ricardo is a boy always up to mark,” Molly said. Unperturbed by the revelry in Laventille over Ricardo’s death, Molly warned that everyone who rejoiced would “get their share.”

“What goes around, comes around. Every man to their order,” Molly said. Saying Ricardo was “appreciated” in the Block Eight community, Molly scoffed that those whom her son once helped, were now celebrating his death. “When he put down he little robbery and he know you, he would come and give you things. “People singing and dancing that my son dead, but it don’t bother me,” Molly insisted.

Paid for his days

Ricardo was implicated as the primary suspect in Tecia’s murder. John John residents theorised that even if Ricardo did not personally carry out the heinous act, he “sanctioned” the killing of the little girl. But according to his mother, her son played no part in Tecia’s murder.

“That what they put my son in totally wrong. He used to call the little children and carry them to the parlour and buy snacks for them. “As a mother, I would say Ricardo do what he do, but what happen with the little girl, he was innocent,” Molly said. She said her son left home at a very early age and since then he lived his life the way he wanted.

“He live his life how he wanted. I never really mix up with him,” Molly said. Holding to the belief that her son’s time had come Molly said “despite what” Ricardo was with the Lord. “Probably he pay for his days, but right now Ricardo is happy. “I hope Jesus make peace with him because it was time for him to go, “Molly said.

::)