April 18, 2024, 04:29:42 PM

Author Topic: Bahrain qualify for World Cup Asian playoff  (Read 18424 times)

Bahrain qualify for World Cup Asian playoff
« on: June 17, 2009, 03:30:35 PM »
Bahrain qualify for World Cup Asian playoff
Soccernet.com

Bahrain defeated Uzbekistan 1-0 at the National Stadium on Wednesday to book a place in the World Cup Asian playoffs.

Bahrain only needed a draw to make the playoffs but grabbed all three points after Mahmood Abdulrahman scored from a stunning free kick in the 74th minute.

The hosts then had Abdulla Marzooq sent off four minutes later but held on for victory.

Bahrain finished third in Group A behind Australia and Japan, who had already qualified automatically for South Africa in 2010.

Bahrain next play the third-placed team in Group B, still to be determined, over two legs in September.

The winners advance to a home and away playoff against Oceania winners New Zealand in October and November for a place in South Africa.

Bahrain, one of the most improved sides in Asia in recent times, have never qualified for the World Cup finals but came close four years ago.

They won the Asian playoff against Uzbekistan before being beaten by Trinidad and Tobago in an inter-confederation playoff.

Re: Bahrain qualify for World Cup Asian playoff
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2009, 03:35:01 PM »
If they make it, then they deserve to be there. That pain of 4 yrs ago have them hungry.

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2009, 03:40:04 PM »
Good luck to them.

I sympathize with their pain, after all we had Nov. 19th.

Peace,

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2009, 03:40:17 PM »
They will beat New Zealand and replace us as the smallest country to have ever qualified for the WC.  

There goes our legacy...

« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2009, 03:54:42 PM »
kicker where u get they playing NZ?
as far as i kno they have to play Saudi Arabia as the other third place team in asia

« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2009, 03:55:54 PM »
as far as i kno they have to play Saudi Arabia as the other third place team in asia

yeah and the winner of that goes on to play NZ, so they are still 2 steps away.

« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2009, 04:22:44 PM »

Oh ok...thought they already crossed that hurdle- Didn't read the article nor was I following their quals that closely- just know that the playoff team from that region plays the Oceania winner (NZ)- thought they were there already...

Ah rush de brush  :D

« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2009, 04:23:29 PM »
If they make it, then they deserve to be there. That pain of 4 yrs ago have them hungry.

wha about the pain we going through NOW ??

« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2009, 04:25:53 PM »
We don't have pain. We have stupity!!!!!!!

« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2009, 04:26:42 PM »
stupity? that a disease related to stupidity?  ;D

« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2009, 04:31:31 PM »
NY,
        my stupid brain make meh mistype.!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #11 on: June 17, 2009, 05:25:05 PM »
F00ck Bahrain... I cant forget that de Tallman try to break Yorke foot for doing them de same thing they did to us in POS.... kill time....

« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2009, 06:09:42 PM »
F00ck Bahrain... I cant forget that de Tallman try to break Yorke foot for doing them de same thing they did to us in POS.... kill time....
Yuh eh lie! they treat we forked up when we went there for the 2nd leg! they spit on man one push yorke by his throat, and they fans was throwing missiles on the field.

they also tried tuh appeal the decision when the dope kick the ball out jack's hand. fork dem!! saudi go buss they arse any way. saudi is ah very strong team and they have more skillas than bahrain.

« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2009, 06:10:46 PM »
GOOOOOOOOOOOOO SAUDIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2009, 06:16:28 PM »
But they hungrier than TT!!!!

« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2009, 06:51:56 PM »

COOOOOOOSSSSSIIIIIGGGGGNNNN!!!!!!!......and is long time I like Saudi Arabia eh....so is now self I rooting for them....

« Reply #16 on: June 17, 2009, 07:01:55 PM »
Good luck to them.

Peace,

nah jed, we win that playoff against Bahrain...they were never robbed like us Nov 19th

« Reply #17 on: June 17, 2009, 07:23:56 PM »
Good luck to them.

Peace,

nah jed, we win that playoff against Bahrain...they were never robbed like us Nov 19th

Who rob oui nov 19th? D sun dat was in Maurice eye?

« Reply #18 on: June 17, 2009, 07:36:30 PM »

Oh ok...thought they already crossed that hurdle- Didn't read the article nor was I following their quals that closely- just know that the playoff team from that region plays the Oceania winner (NZ)- thought they were there already...

Yuh need to brush-up on yuh brushin'!

« Reply #19 on: June 17, 2009, 08:08:42 PM »

daiz a word to put een d socawarriors dictionary

« Reply #20 on: June 17, 2009, 08:10:44 PM »

daiz a word to put een d socawarriors dictionary

FUH REAL

« Reply #21 on: June 17, 2009, 08:13:25 PM »
forget bahrain.they could suck salt some more.

« Reply #22 on: June 17, 2009, 08:18:49 PM »
forget bahrain.they could suck salt some more.

COSIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

« Reply #23 on: June 17, 2009, 08:18:56 PM »
Guys,
           Do like the position we in right now(last) or you all  rather we be in Bahrain position?

« Reply #24 on: June 17, 2009, 08:20:56 PM »
Guys,
           Do like the position we in right now(last) or you all  rather we be in Bahrain position?

6 of 1 and 1/2 a dozen of d other

« Reply #25 on: June 18, 2009, 04:30:39 AM »

COOOOOOOSSSSSIIIIIGGGGGNNNN!!!!!!!......and is long time I like Saudi Arabia eh....so is now self I rooting for them....

I used to be on that sentimental boat.

Saudi Arabia in the WC is a waste of a spot. They arrive consistently, yet demonstrate little or no collective invention upon arrival.

The Koreans and Japanese and Australians have put them to shame. They cyah even argue lack of resources too tough.

What would the world look like if Egypt or Tunisia were considered Asian?
« Last Edit: June 18, 2009, 04:38:14 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #26 on: June 18, 2009, 07:10:58 AM »

lol ...as dey say doh rush de brush, yuh might get dab....

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #27 on: June 18, 2009, 07:25:57 AM »
They will beat New Zealand and replace us as the smallest country to have ever qualified for the WC.  

There goes our legacy...

I believe T&T also replaced Ja as the smallest country to have qualified. There went our legacy :)

« Reply #28 on: June 18, 2009, 07:32:22 AM »

There goes our legacy...

I believe T&T also replaced Ja as the smallest country to have qualified. There went our legacy :)

JA legacy lost gr8 :thumbsup:

« Reply #29 on: June 18, 2009, 07:57:41 AM »

lol ...as dey say doh rush de brush, yuh might get dab....

...or yuh cyah go Brazil in '14!  ;D