April 26, 2024, 08:36:33 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.  (Read 84460 times)

Re: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.
« Reply #270 on: July 10, 2009, 09:49:50 PM »
Combined with the restrained physicality JA showed (relative to some past ignorance),
ya think so, man? :o
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #271 on: July 10, 2009, 10:03:04 PM »
jamaica almost get poison like us yes with the last minute freekick...either way they out i believe..el salvador have a better goal difference to clinch third... hope we were taking notes...

Jamaica could have resolved the goal difference situation in the final 5-10 minutes.
I know..they had a 4 on 3 where they should have scored...but i hope there win shows us that we can beat el salvador..especially at home..hell we shoulda beat them away...

Let's get a lil more analytical ... although not exhaustive

Jamaican deficiencies in this game: poor rendition on ALL dead-ball situations bar possibly one; failure to take advantage of the height disparity presented; a lack of coordination on the final ball

Strengths: competent addressing of the aerial ball defensively; not bad in transition; got width through Demar Phillips and Campbell-Ryce (but didn't capitalize on it); the level of organization showed promise buh yuh hadda say still very reliant on individuality; good defensive posture

Take from the above and what you saw of the game and figure out why we can't extrapolate too much for a TRI v ELS match-up. For one thing, I think when they adjusted their rhythm (injection of William Reyes) they reminded that they know how to counter-attack ... looks like Tappa was mindful of that right through.

Combined with the restrained physicality JA showed (relative to some past ignorance), place a Trini squad in that game and I eh too sure we would be completely happy campers.

hard to say because T&T and Jamaica don't play similar games...and I really can't delve into fairly deep analysis bcuz i missed alot of this game...

but good point on the counter attack tho..since before beenie..we've been very poor at counter attacking..even with speedy players like cornell, carlos and jones and we don't change ur game speed very often so when the oppostion does it we're usually two steps behind..

The one thing JA has..and has always had over Trinidad apart from stronger physical intensity is defensive discipline..this more than anything has been Trinidad's achilles heel..we gift to many goals to our opponents

« Reply #272 on: July 10, 2009, 10:22:50 PM »
hard to say because T&T and Jamaica don't play similar games

Although both teams don't adopt a common approach, the approach of both teams under Latas and Tappa has shown some positive tangibles that are useful enough for comparison ... We don't need a a common approach to identify that both squads have some deficiencies in common ... for instance, we could spend a LOT of time talking about set-plays and corner kicks ...

Also, ah feel yuh could geh some info from Campbell-Ryce that could easily apply to Carlos ...

Similarly, playing through Gardner offers lessons fuh us in a role we don't have a player who has stamped his authority on.

Then, on a tactical level, some of the dying minute decision-making just seem stereotypically West Indian ... it's what we selling so dahis how it's being branded.

« Reply #273 on: July 10, 2009, 10:24:46 PM »
Combined with the restrained physicality JA showed (relative to some past ignorance),

Maybe that was because Claude Davis didn't play ... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #274 on: July 11, 2009, 09:17:49 AM »

Maybe that was because Claude Davis didn't play ... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
them Jamrockers were man handling dem ElSalvos all over the field whole match and no cards by de ref :D
Ragga fart owe we one ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #275 on: July 11, 2009, 09:49:53 AM »
Though both Jamaica and El Salvador finished with identical records, El Salvador was eliminated having lost to Jamaica.The Reggae Boyz will now have to wait for the results the results of the final Group B and C matches tomorrow and Saturday to determine whether they advance.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #276 on: July 11, 2009, 11:23:30 AM »
Though both Jamaica and El Salvador finished with identical records, El Salvador was eliminated having lost to Jamaica.The Reggae Boyz will now have to wait for the results the results of the final Group B and C matches tomorrow and Saturday to determine whether they advance.

Jamaica's faith is in the hands of Haiti and Panama. Jamaica will advance if any one of the two below scenarios play out:

1) Panama fail to beat Nicaragua

OR

2) USA beat haiti by 3 clear goals

The most likely of the two scenarios would be a USA 3-0 win over the USA.

« Last Edit: July 11, 2009, 11:30:17 AM by reggae-fan »

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #277 on: July 11, 2009, 11:27:23 AM »
them Jamrockers were man handling dem ElSalvos all over the field whole match and no cards by de ref :D
Ragga fart owe we one ;D

Of all the central american nations, El Salvador have hardest time coping with the natural physical nature of Jamaica's game. In fact, the Salvadorians go into the game with a mental fixation that they are going to dive around and play girlie men for the entire 90 minutes.  The Mexicans do the same thing.

Great game by the refs.

« Reply #278 on: July 11, 2009, 11:30:48 AM »

Jamaica's faith is in the hands of Haiti and Panama. Jamaica will advance if any one of the two below scenarios play out:

OR

2) USA beat haiti by two 3 clear goals

Yuh could tell RF was in a hurry to spread the gospel of survival that he type all kinda madness.

« Reply #279 on: July 11, 2009, 11:34:55 AM »
OR
2) USA beat haiti by two 3 clear goals
Yuh could tell RF was in a hurry to spread the gospel of survival that he type all kinda madness.
ah tell ya
is tizick de man Tizick ;D ;D
« Last Edit: July 11, 2009, 11:39:43 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #280 on: July 11, 2009, 03:00:39 PM »
Ragga fart owe we one ;D

Of all the central american nations, El Salvador have hardest time coping with the natural physical nature of Jamaica's game. In fact, the Salvadorians go into the game with a mental fixation that they are going to dive around and play girlie men for the entire 90 minutes.  The Mexicans do the same thing.

Great game by the refs.

None sense! they could cope, but they choose tuh roll around the field and play pussy ah mean pussum tuh slow down the game and look for the refs sympathy or a possible red carding.

It's not just jamaica!! dem spanish does play the victims with, USA, T&T, haiti, and hunduras as well, as a matter of fact, i believe they does act like that with whom ever they play, and it's oh so sickening tuh watch!

BTW reggae fan, the U.S. is ah much tougher physical team than JA could ever be, with much more finest.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #281 on: July 11, 2009, 03:26:12 PM »

OR

2) USA beat haiti by 3 clear goals

Well, what about a victory of Grenada over Honduras? If USA fails to beat Haiti 3-0, But Grenada beat Honduras , Jamaica will advance at the expense of Honduras.

RF, it's not really our fault if you're no longer in control of your own fate, you know? 
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #282 on: July 11, 2009, 05:30:34 PM »
USA score after 5 minutes looks like Jam may go thru.

« Reply #283 on: July 11, 2009, 06:03:43 PM »
Haiti playing good ball- Nearly scored

« Reply #284 on: July 11, 2009, 06:11:01 PM »
Haiti come out stronger 2nd half
1-1

« Reply #285 on: July 11, 2009, 06:13:24 PM »
Haiti come out stronger 2nd half
1-1

this game easier on the eyes to watch. haiti real exciting to watch 2-1 now

« Reply #286 on: July 11, 2009, 06:13:34 PM »
now 2-1 Haiti  :rotfl: that US gk jokey , he not owning his territory

« Reply #287 on: July 11, 2009, 06:13:49 PM »
Another quality cross... go Haiti

« Reply #288 on: July 11, 2009, 06:15:09 PM »
WOW... Mon cheri!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #289 on: July 11, 2009, 06:15:38 PM »
What a cracking shot for the 2nd goal.  

« Reply #290 on: July 11, 2009, 06:16:05 PM »
Tres Bon!!
aye Zeppo where ya ;D

oh, right...is de "B" team :D
look de "offwhite" rasta come orn..leh we see wha he could do
« Last Edit: July 11, 2009, 06:31:46 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #291 on: July 11, 2009, 06:17:30 PM »
What a Birchallesque goalaaaasssooooo!   :devil:

« Reply #292 on: July 11, 2009, 06:55:27 PM »
Orrite Haiti
"D"    ;D ;D

OH SHYTEEEEEEE GOAL!!!!!
Zeppo, ya could take a breath now ;D

« Reply #293 on: July 11, 2009, 06:56:07 PM »
what a goal usa

« Reply #294 on: July 11, 2009, 07:00:27 PM »
I want to know what the Haiti goalie doing on he goal line  ,,, steups

« Reply #295 on: July 11, 2009, 07:02:23 PM »

Come nah man College, Gordon Banks, Dino Zoff, Buffon, Casillas could not save dat

Touissant, take a bow man, yuh team make meh proud

« Reply #296 on: July 11, 2009, 07:03:17 PM »
Come nah man College, Gordon Banks, Dino Zoff, Buffon, Casillas could not save dat
yeah, I feel so too
dat was a "String Up" :o
« Last Edit: July 11, 2009, 07:07:01 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #297 on: July 11, 2009, 07:04:00 PM »

ah fix it

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #298 on: July 11, 2009, 07:04:19 PM »
Wow! USA once again escaped!
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #299 on: July 11, 2009, 07:06:29 PM »
ah fix it
no bias atall eh ?