April 24, 2024, 02:59:53 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.  (Read 84346 times)

Re: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.
« Reply #360 on: July 18, 2009, 07:34:21 PM »
These men on FSC real crying for fouls.

« Reply #361 on: July 18, 2009, 07:42:14 PM »
These USA reservess missing some Africans, Asians and Latinos.  I cyah believe all the next best are all white.  In America come on.

« Reply #362 on: July 18, 2009, 07:45:25 PM »
These men on FSC real crying for fouls.

Ref aint see that foul?   >:(

« Reply #363 on: July 18, 2009, 07:46:13 PM »
These USA reservess missing some Africans, Asians and Latinos.  I cyah believe all the next best are all white.  In America come on.

Yuh need papers to play for the USA  :devil:

« Reply #364 on: July 18, 2009, 07:49:45 PM »
Yuh mean money!!!!  ;D

« Reply #365 on: July 18, 2009, 07:50:58 PM »
Ching always falling down.     >:(

« Reply #366 on: July 18, 2009, 07:56:44 PM »
Yuh mean money!!!!  ;D

Allyuh want them to pick a squad from outside Home Depot?

Ah need 2 Midfielders and a Defender!
You and You, jump in de truck!

« Reply #367 on: July 18, 2009, 07:59:21 PM »
Yuh mean money!!!!  ;D

;D   Boy you know countries have been exporting their best minds for over 25 years to the USA.  Not only illegals have kids that can play.

« Reply #368 on: July 18, 2009, 07:59:35 PM »
right
end of regulation
Panama looking good

Yuh mean money!!!!  ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #369 on: July 18, 2009, 08:05:17 PM »
That ref guess calling.

« Reply #370 on: July 18, 2009, 08:11:28 PM »
cyah beat Buffon with that.  This look like the same Panama team from 5+ years ago.

« Reply #371 on: July 18, 2009, 08:16:23 PM »
Hard luck dey Panama

« Reply #372 on: July 18, 2009, 08:18:41 PM »
Hard luck dey Panama

yeah boy!!!  they got 15 more minutes.   :-\

« Reply #373 on: July 18, 2009, 08:22:18 PM »

yuh know dem will organize papers if necessary.

« Reply #374 on: July 18, 2009, 08:24:58 PM »

Ent?!!!   ;)

« Reply #375 on: July 18, 2009, 08:38:45 PM »
plenty of reds after the match

« Reply #376 on: July 18, 2009, 08:42:12 PM »
plenty of "reds" after the match

in de stands :D
« Last Edit: July 18, 2009, 08:52:21 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #377 on: July 18, 2009, 09:42:16 PM »

Ent?!!!   ;)

america aint naturalizing any scrubs from other countries. is top first generation stars that might have a potential to start for other countries like Finley, Onyewu, Adu, or Altidore (could've go play for Haiti)

« Reply #378 on: July 18, 2009, 10:02:22 PM »
Yuh mean money!!!!  ;D

LOL...

« Reply #379 on: July 19, 2009, 08:57:24 AM »
Ah hoping the Guadeloupe and Costa Rica match-up proves entertaining. Last time around, it was no walk in the park for the Ticos ... although they won 1-love on the basis of an early goal.

With the help of some excellent insight provided by Rodrigo Calvo what we have is:

*6 holdover Guadeloupe players from the 2007 campaign: Vertot and Tacalfred in the defence, Auvray and Capoue in the middle, and Fleurival and Loval up top

* only 3 Costa Rican returnees from the 2007 edition of the GC: Harold Wallace, skipper Walter Centeno (scorer of the item that eliminated Guadeloupe), and Alvaro Saborío

* the same Guadeloupe coach (Salnot has been in the position since 2001); Kenton in for Hernan Medford

*Angloma on the sideline as an assistant

*new Guadeloupe keeper, Fausta ... not doing badly at 36

Should be very interesting ... especially b/c they'll be without the creative efforts of skipper Centeno due to a knee injury sustained on Friday ... Whatever? He's the most capped tico (131), the defensive mid with the most goals (22), and as of last week, he is the leading Costa Rican goal scorer in Gold Cup history (9).

BTW ... training activities in hotel ballrooms seem not to be unique to us as the ticos went about their paces indoors in Dallas the other day  ::) ... didn't seem to create a stir though  :devil:

« Reply #380 on: July 19, 2009, 12:35:41 PM »
U.S. 2-1 Panama: Cooper the hero in OT

With just one regular in the starting lineup, the United States rallied past Panama into the semifinals of the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Kenny Cooper converted a penalty kick in the 105th minute, giving the two-time defending champions a 2-1 victory and a semifinal berth against Honduras, which beat Canada 1-0 in the opener of Saturday's doubleheader.

"It was ideal to finish it off in regulation, but it took 30 extra minutes and that still says something about this group," U.S. coach Bob Bradley said.

(continue)

« Reply #381 on: July 19, 2009, 01:22:01 PM »

that isn't so surprising. most of the people who play soccer in the US at the highest level are white, and let's not forget, the US is a predominantly white country. the game is becoming more integrated as can be seen in the US Confed Cup and youth squads. the USSF is making some moves to recruit talent that would not usually go through the 'usual channels'. but it's not like the US is overlooking a bunch of better non-white players. if you were to pick a US basketball B team or C team it would probably be mostly black players. why aren't there more Whites, Latinos and Asians? It seems like you can ask that question of almost any sport..just change the races depending on which sport you are discussing..and it's not a US thing either. We ask the same thing in T&T about white and Indian footballers. Right now, when it comes to soccer, most of the reserves are white in the US. Used to be the same with the A team, but that is getting more mixed..so with time, maybe that will be the case at all levels.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #382 on: July 19, 2009, 01:45:42 PM »
CFU is playing its last cards tonight.

Hopefully, both Haiti and Guadeloupe move on to the semi tonight.

An nou ale!
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #383 on: July 19, 2009, 02:10:32 PM »
Guad leading 1-0 in the third minute.

FANTASTIC bicycle kick.

« Reply #384 on: July 19, 2009, 02:15:30 PM »

FANTASTIC bicycle kick.

Yuh sure about that? I am seeing that is Costa Rica that is a goal in front.

« Reply #385 on: July 19, 2009, 02:16:39 PM »

FANTASTIC bicycle kick.

My mistake...

« Reply #386 on: July 19, 2009, 02:21:18 PM »

FANTASTIC bicycle kick.

My mistake...

no problem

« Reply #387 on: July 19, 2009, 02:23:37 PM »
So what allyuh think CR for Gold Cup Champs?

« Reply #388 on: July 19, 2009, 02:24:27 PM »
CR leading 2-0.

They have these men looking like little boys.

Must say I am surprised to see Guad dominated like this.

« Reply #389 on: July 19, 2009, 02:30:41 PM »
What happened in the Mex match did they play yet?