April 28, 2024, 02:40:30 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.  (Read 84587 times)

Re: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.
« Reply #390 on: July 19, 2009, 03:11:13 PM »
CR CLINICAL!!!!!!!!

« Reply #391 on: July 19, 2009, 03:19:28 PM »
yes costa rica love them artificial grounds.

« Reply #392 on: July 19, 2009, 03:23:35 PM »
yes costa rica love them artificial grounds.

:rotfl: ... how ironic it would be for CR and USA to have a rematch on one of these artificial turfs.

« Reply #393 on: July 19, 2009, 03:35:19 PM »
Hand ball.!!!

« Reply #394 on: July 19, 2009, 04:12:37 PM »
And to think some of us think that our defense is crap,what is worse some of us thought that Guadeloupe stood a good chance of winning theGC,including me.That is football man. ???

« Reply #395 on: July 19, 2009, 05:54:34 PM »
Mexico up 2-0 at the half on Haiti.

Haiti was looknig good, but a penatly and a great shot by dos Santos and it looking bleak for the 2nd half

« Reply #396 on: July 19, 2009, 06:38:45 PM »
all dude have to do is deflect the ball he try to strike.  steeeuuppss>

« Reply #397 on: July 19, 2009, 06:51:02 PM »
wish T&T had the grit and fight like is Haitian team...

« Reply #398 on: July 19, 2009, 06:51:23 PM »
Haiti ain't have no plan.   :-\   We don't look that bad do we?

« Reply #399 on: July 19, 2009, 06:51:33 PM »
The caribbean region in ah real mess. ssttuueepppsss.

that ref is ah real a$$! he only cheating for mexico.

« Reply #400 on: July 19, 2009, 06:57:40 PM »
Ball watching and not blocking off rebounders during a penalty kick? i dont think i want attitude near TnT

« Reply #401 on: July 19, 2009, 06:58:40 PM »
Basically the top 4 concacaf teams as predicted in the semis.  Costa Rica, US, Hunduras, and Mexico

« Reply #402 on: July 19, 2009, 07:03:13 PM »
Ball watching and not blocking off rebounders during a penalty kick? i dont think i want attitude near TnT

They are a bit naive and tactically unaware. Im not referring to the head part of the game but the heart! .. they are committed to winning every 1st and 2nd ball .. the stats at the end of the game show this...

« Reply #403 on: July 19, 2009, 07:07:23 PM »
Basically the top 4 concacaf teams as predicted in the semis.  Costa Rica, US, Hunduras, and Mexico
A TT team with all its first choice players would have made it to the semis.Had we got rid of Mats after that upset against Bermuda things would have been different. ::)

« Reply #404 on: July 19, 2009, 08:50:37 PM »
Both Haiti and Guadeloupe showed flashes of  brillance and some nice touches but their defences were bad, naive or both. But to be honest I really don't know how TT would have performed. Maybe that is the reason we did not qualify.

« Reply #405 on: July 20, 2009, 05:45:13 AM »
The caribbean region in ah real mess. ssttuueepppsss.

that ref is ah real a$$! he only cheating for mexico.

What allyuh think about the level of officiating during this tournament? Ah cyah wait to read the post-tournament report.

« Reply #406 on: July 20, 2009, 06:03:13 AM »
... and yeah, who is yuh pick fuh wickedest or most influential baller on display in the Gold Cup?

Gold Cup SemiFinals roll call
« Reply #407 on: July 20, 2009, 12:38:11 PM »
Me and One of my sons will be attending the games in Chicago .. hit me up if any of you guys will be there..
I be there with my  Soca warriors shirt and a big f**kin American flag for dem Mexicans . I just wish if USA was playing them instead of Honduras!!!!!!!!!!!
War
« Last Edit: July 20, 2009, 01:22:50 PM by Tallman »

Re: SemiFinals roll call
« Reply #408 on: July 20, 2009, 12:40:24 PM »
they go beat yuh ass war.

« Reply #409 on: July 20, 2009, 01:17:59 PM »
walk with flavine

« Reply #410 on: July 21, 2009, 12:31:37 PM »
they go beat yuh ass war.
I eh guh doubt it since dey all think mi look mexican lol  ..but I ready fi dem!!!!!!!!!

Re: Gold Cup SemiFinals roll call
« Reply #411 on: July 21, 2009, 01:19:54 PM »
I'd have been there if Guadeloupe or Haiti had won Sunday, but I'm not wasting $30 now

« Reply #412 on: July 22, 2009, 11:16:35 AM »
I'd have been there if Guadeloupe or Haiti had won Sunday, but I'm not wasting $30 now
wasting?  worm this is two of the best games Chicago have ever hosted , trust mi .. 

« Reply #413 on: July 22, 2009, 12:30:01 PM »
Kenton: We can match Mexico
22 July 2009

When Rodrigo Kenton took hold of the reins, Costa Rica were mired in a deep and troubling crisis. Nearly knocked out of 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ qualifying by lowly Grenada, his predecessor Hernan Medford welcomed the opportunity to vacate the increasingly hot seat. However, in the 13 months since taking over, the new man has sparked a remarkable turnaround, guiding the Ticos to top spot in the final round of qualifying, unearthing a raft of new and exciting talent and re-capturing the imagination of a football-crazy Central American nation.

On Thursday, Kenton and Co meet long-time rivals Mexico in Chicago for the semi-finals of the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup. FIFA.com caught up with the boss to gauge his feelings.

FIFA.com: There are a lot of new faces in this Costa Rica squad at the Gold Cup. Did you have to make some tough decisions?

Rodrigo Kenton: This is what I like to call our intermediate team. There are some big names missing, but I tried to find a good balance between experience and youth. I've included some guys that maybe didn't have the right rhythm yet and maybe needed a few more games.

You didn't have the best start to the tournament here in the USA, losing your first game to El Salvador.

In the first few games we didn't look too bright, it's true, but that's the way it is sometimes when you're using new players. We were unlucky in our loss to El Salvador. Now, though, we've righted the ship. Every game is life or death and the players have responded to the challenge very well.

Things certainly seemed to come together in the quarter-final when you beat Guadeloupe 5-1. Were you surprised by the high-octane performance?

I'm not surprised that we managed to score goals in the game against Guadeloupe, but you can never expect to score that many! To be fair, we'd been creating a lot of chances in our previous games, against Canada and Jamaica and El Salvador too. We should have scored a lot more before, but things weren't quite clicking with our final touch. We made up for it last time out, though. we couldn't stop scoring.

Would you say Costa Rica are improving with every game?

I would. And that's the best thing in a short tournament like this. Maybe it's not so bad to start off a little sluggish, because then you can really improve with every game. You have the room to get better, and I think we've built up our self belief.

Speaking of belief, it's bound to be high in your frontline after that 5-1 win.

As a striker you live and die on your confidence and my guys up front should be feeling confident after coming to life in the quarter-final.

The rivalry between Costa Rica and Mexico goes a long way back. What do you expect on Thursday in Chicago?

The biggest problem is going to be the crowd. It's going to be like a home game for Mexico here in Chicago. We will be the away team, no doubt about it. We just need to get past those first 15 or 20 minutes when they will be flying at us and getting pushed on by the fans. After that, if we can survive, we will be able to settle down and play our game. We can match them in every department on the field, but that crowd worries me. It will be like they're playing at the Azteca.

It's a new-look Mexican squad. Have you had a chance to sit down and watch them play?

I have. There are some new players, but it's the same old Mexican style really. [Javier] Aguirre is back in charge and he is trying out some new things, but there won't be any surprises on the field. They have tricky little attackers like Gio dos Santos, they move well up the flanks, they're strong and have good speed. They have a lot of weapons, but so do we.

« Reply #414 on: July 22, 2009, 02:38:26 PM »
Wait, how long now this tournament going on? It seems like forever.

« Reply #415 on: July 22, 2009, 03:04:06 PM »
When ah went in mih bed last night USA and Panama was tied at 1 -1 in the 90th min....anybody knows how it ended?  I feel the US lose cuz if was the other way around, Zeppo woulda reach already.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #416 on: July 22, 2009, 03:08:29 PM »
8pm tonight - USA vs Canada

« Reply #417 on: July 22, 2009, 03:12:17 PM »
8pm tonight - USA vs Canada

So the US playing 2 games back to back??   ???

« Reply #418 on: July 22, 2009, 03:15:12 PM »
When ah went in mih bed last night USA and Panama was tied at 1 -1 in the 90th min....anybody knows how it ended?  I feel the US lose cuz if was the other way around, Zeppo woulda reach already.... :devil: ;D
Brown sugar yuh joking right?

in case yuh serious girl fren, the game was days ago , and the U.S. won. i think tonight the U.S. will take on honduras and mexico VS el ticos.

« Reply #419 on: July 22, 2009, 03:54:32 PM »
wasting?  worm this is two of the best games Chicago have ever hosted , trust mi .. 
Come on now, even if 3 of these 4 teams hadn't brought their B squads it still wouldn't be one of the games Chicago has hosted

Hell I'd argue that the majority of the better games Chicago has hosted didn't even involve the US, but then again I can't stand the bastards so take it for what its worth.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2009, 03:58:39 PM by theworm2345 »