April 27, 2024, 05:03:52 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.  (Read 84555 times)

Re: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.
« Reply #540 on: July 26, 2009, 05:18:05 PM »
why people quarreling boutr b and c side now?
EVERY BIG team in Concacaf - Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico and the US all of them send B/C side and fringe player to this cup..only El Salvador outta of the Hex send a side truly resembling their full strength team...

This Gold Cup was for match practice and not much else for most of them...
The US has no excuse..they get beat up at home..

I hardly think anyone was making excuses for the US... a few were accusing them of arrogance for not fielding a stronger team.  Try and keep de riddim.

As for the commentators... http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/07/24/an-american-voice-in-the-worlds-game/
Nah bro!!!

Lots of excuses about not fielding their strongest team without mentioning the same for Mexico and most other countries.

« Reply #541 on: July 26, 2009, 05:21:36 PM »
I eh mean to rub salt in dey wound eh, but I just realize de US lose by de biggest goal margin in de whole tournament.   :o
« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 05:23:50 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #542 on: July 26, 2009, 05:25:20 PM »
Didn't even know dosantos had brazilian parents until the commentators said so.
ohhhhhh  :o That's why he have that brazilian style to his game. Is it just me, or does this kid have a Ronaldinhoisque style about him?

« Reply #543 on: July 26, 2009, 05:34:54 PM »
ohhhhhh  :o That's why he have that brazilian style to his game. Is it just me, or does this kid have a Ronaldinhoisque style about him?

Before and early days at barca he was being touted as the 'next Ronaldinho'. He was sheening at those youth tournaments. Maybe it went to his head and eventually led to him leaving Barca.

« Reply #544 on: July 26, 2009, 05:48:51 PM »
why people quarreling boutr b and c side now?
EVERY BIG team in Concacaf - Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico and the US all of them send B/C side and fringe player to this cup..only El Salvador outta of the Hex send a side truly resembling their full strength team...

This Gold Cup was for match practice and not much else for most of them...
The US has no excuse..they get beat up at home..

I hardly think anyone was making excuses for the US... a few were accusing them of arrogance for not fielding a stronger team.  Try and keep de riddim.

As for the commentators... http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/07/24/an-american-voice-in-the-worlds-game/
Nah bro!!!

Lots of excuses about not fielding their strongest team without mentioning the same for Mexico and most other countries.

Dumpers... go back and check the comments in this thread about today's game.  No one was making excuses for the US.  In fact no one was talking about the caliber of players (A, B, C... etc.) but the one or two who started giving the US flack for "disrespecting" the tournament.  As you pointed out, everyone hex team brought their "B" sides to this tournament save for El Sal as some argue.  The only thing that remotely qualifies as an "excuse" is where a couple have said that the US have nothing to be worried about they will field a different team in a couple weeks.

As for Gio... his dad is Brazilian, his moms is Mexican.

« Reply #545 on: July 26, 2009, 05:50:30 PM »
Gio's father use play in the Mex. league and was a top scorer at one time. So obviously the father did pass on some skills to his son. Other Mex. player with Brazilian roots was Zague.

« Reply #546 on: July 26, 2009, 06:03:42 PM »
Mexico 5-0 U.S.: El Tri run rampant

Vindication. Satisfaction. Domination.

After finally earning a win against the Americans on U.S. soil, Mexico's players used all of those words Sunday to describe the 5-0 romp that gave them their fifth Gold Cup championship.

Oh, and one other noun: pride.

"I believe this is a great win for Mexico because we showed the pride we have in our hearts today," Giovani Dos Santos said. "This is a huge step for us in the process."

(continue)

« Reply #547 on: July 26, 2009, 06:14:39 PM »
Zeppo...serve your side right for carrying a B squad to the regions premier tournament, like if allyuh all that. Such disrespect deserves the trouncing in progress....hope it goes to 20-0.

There was no way we were ever going to bring the same squad that competed in the Confederations Cup to this tournament, that started only days after our final against Brazil.

Two years ago it was almost the reverse situation; we took the full squad and won the Gold Cup but were criticized for taking the reserves and playing poorly in the Copa America.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't...

« Reply #548 on: July 26, 2009, 06:38:47 PM »
Congrats to the Mex. on their win. The argument of A, B. C team is mute. Their is no rule to say you have to bring your socalled A team. Each country makes that decision based on their plan for their national team. So if the US bring a socalled C team to blood players and get 5, that is not Mex. fault.

The is a real psychological relieve for Mex. They used to walk in the US and beat them long ago. That ain't happening again. Today was an exception to th recent trend of nine US victories. I was not feeling sorry for the Mex. when the US , CR, Honduras would beat them. They complained that our group was weak and they asked CONMEBOL for their clubs and national team to play in the South American competitions. So when they get started gettin constant cut-arse from the US, that bust their pride. It brought them back to earth, so to say.

« Reply #549 on: July 26, 2009, 06:59:50 PM »
Pride goes before a FALL

« Reply #550 on: July 26, 2009, 07:34:10 PM »
Check out the Silverlining on the US website nah. Got to love them.

Offline lucky4life

« Reply #551 on: July 26, 2009, 07:44:58 PM »
even doe i don't like the MEX or the USA i am glad that the MEX win and the reason why if the USA did win you would not hear the last of it,them would been saying that they win the goal cup with a C team and that the teams in concacaf are weak,sorry it was not 6 them pic up but 5 is OK,and i know that it is going to be a lot of excuse for the USA, i notice in today game the Mex did not throw drink,beer and other thing on the USA players on the field,i wonder if their was a other team if them would have done it,but anyway will done Mex

« Reply #552 on: July 26, 2009, 07:46:04 PM »
serious cutarse ... lol

« Reply #553 on: July 26, 2009, 08:54:30 PM »
dat could have been the US  C team ,we still cant beat that squad.

anyway, stuart holden look real good in de Gold Cup, i would be happy if we have  aplayer like him on our team, he is no latas in his prime but holden is very solid.

« Reply #554 on: July 26, 2009, 09:12:36 PM »

anyway, stuart holden look real good in de Gold Cup, i would be happy if we have  aplayer like him on our team, he is no latas in his prime but holden is very solid.

Yeah man ... like this player ... especially the maturity he's demonstrated since Olympic qualifying.

« Reply #555 on: July 26, 2009, 09:30:45 PM »
It's official! The Gold Cup's Technical Study Group (which includes Keith Look Loy) has selected Gio dos Santos as tournament MVP.

Award Winners

Most Valuable Player Award: Giovani dos Santos (MEX)
Golden Boot Award: Miguel Sabah (MEX)
Best Goalkeeper Award: Keilor Navas (CRC)
Fair Play Award: United States

All-Tournament Team

Goalkeepers
Keilor Navas (CRC)
Guillermo Ochoa (MEX)

Defenders
Mike Klukowski (CAN)
Jose Fernandez (CRC)
Fausto Pinto (MEX)
Luis Moreno (PAN)
Clarence Goodson (USA)
Chad Marshall (USA)

Midfielders

Julian de Guzman (CAN)
Celso Borges (CRC)
Stephane Auvray (GLP)
Gerardo Torrado (MEX)
Giovani dos Santos (MEX)
Stuart Holden (USA)

Forwards

Alvaro Saborio (CRC)
Walter Martinez (HON)
Miguel Sabah (MEX)
Kenny Cooper (USA)
« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 11:33:04 PM by asylumseeker »

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #556 on: July 26, 2009, 10:34:04 PM »

We beating that squad, we beat the b squad already this year. Wish they bring that squad to play us so we could get 3pts... but ofc that not gone happen...
« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 11:06:22 PM by Trinidogg »

« Reply #557 on: July 26, 2009, 11:13:00 PM »
How come the Yankee dread ain't make that team. That guy played good throughout the whole tournament. Today he was okay though.

« Reply #558 on: July 26, 2009, 11:20:24 PM »

We beating that squad, we beat the b squad already this year. Wish they bring that squad to play us so we could get 3pts... but ofc that not gone happen...

If they bring that squad dem ain't go qualify.  The USA ain't have no depth and this game prove it.  They very lucky though they could have been out earlier.  good win Mex. 

« Reply #559 on: July 26, 2009, 11:29:28 PM »
How come the fella who coulda play for T&T and choose to play for the US and get 15 minutes in a game. Not Maund the older fella?

« Reply #560 on: July 27, 2009, 12:42:29 AM »

That's what I was thinking too.

« Reply #561 on: July 27, 2009, 04:08:56 AM »
How come the fella who coulda play for T&T and choose to play for the US and get 15 minutes in a game. Not Maund the older fella?

Kirk?

« Reply #562 on: July 27, 2009, 08:07:21 AM »
We beating that squad, we beat the b squad already this year.

A b-squad that had already qualified for the next round.

Important to remember that.

« Reply #563 on: July 27, 2009, 08:20:38 AM »
Whatever Team USA bring to the Hasley Crawford - We beating. Licks start to share on the 12th August.
 From now on noone comes to mi casa and leaves without a beating.

Dos Santos chosen as Gold Cup MVP.
« Reply #564 on: July 27, 2009, 09:25:34 AM »
CONCACAF.COM

7/26/2009 - NEW YORK - Giovani dos Santos, who scored two goals including one in Mexico's title winning 5-0 victory over the United States, was selected as the Most Valuable Player for the 2009 Gold Cup and one of five members of El Tri chosen for the All-Tournament Team.

Teammate Miguel Sabah claimed the Golden Boot Award as the Gold Cup's leading scorer with four goals while Costa Rica's Keilor Navas was chosen as the tournament's best goalkeeper.

Dos Santos was joined in the 18-man All-Tournament side by teammates Guillermo Ochoa, Fausto Pinto, Gerardo Torrado and Sabah.

The United States, which won the Fair Play Award, and Costa Rica each placed four players on the All-Tournament Team, which was selected by the Technical Study Group, who also chose the MVP and goalkeeper award winner.

Navas was joined by teammates Jose Fernandez, Celso Borges and Alvaro Saborio, while U.S. defenders Clarence Goodson and Chad Marshall were joined by midfielder Stuart Holden and forward Kenny Cooper.

Award Winners
Most Valuable Player Award: Giovani dos Santos (MEX)
Golden Boot Award: Mighel Sabah (MEX)
Best Goalkeeper Award: Keilor Navas (CRC)
Fair Play Award: United States

All-Tournament Team

Goalkeepers
Keilor Navas (CRC)
Guillermo Ochoa (MEX)

Defenders
Mike Klukowski (CAN)
Freddy Fernandez (CRC)
Fausto Pinto (MEX)
Luis Moreno (PAN)
Clarence Goodson (USA)
Chad Marshall (USA)

Midfielders
Julian de Guzman (CAN)
Celso Borges (CRC)
Stephane Auvray (GLP)
Gerardo Torrado (MEX)
Giovani dos Santos (MEX)
Stuart Holden (MEX)

Forwards
Alvaro Saborio (CRC)
Walter Martinez (HON)
Miguel Sabah (MEX)
Kenny Cooper (USA)

« Reply #565 on: July 30, 2009, 09:55:40 AM »
Look how CONCACAF is eh, their biggest finals just got finished and there is very little reporting or celebrating the winners, it so funny. ESPNSoccernet hide it some where, USSoccer had it up on their site for a couple hours, you hardly see highlights on ESPN networks like you did for the Confederation Cup. Other countries should start backing out, cause if the US don't win it is not important.

At the same time, did you all hear that Blanco is rejoining the Mexican team cause after the 5-0 whipping the US sports intellects keep reiterating that is a US B/C team that Mexico played. He said that that pissed him off.

« Reply #566 on: July 30, 2009, 02:15:43 PM »
Look how CONCACAF is eh, their biggest finals just got finished and there is very little reporting or celebrating the winners, it so funny. ESPNSoccernet hide it some where, USSoccer had it up on their site for a couple hours, you hardly see highlights on ESPN networks like you did for the Confederation Cup. Other countries should start backing out, cause if the US don't win it is not important.

At the same time, did you all hear that Blanco is rejoining the Mexican team cause after the 5-0 whipping the US sports intellects keep reiterating that is a US B/C team that Mexico played. He said that that pissed him off.
Where you was fella? blanco been rejoined the mex team, he even played against us in azteca on june 10th.

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
Re: Dos Santos chosen as Gold Cup MVP.
« Reply #567 on: July 30, 2009, 07:30:56 PM »
CONCACAF.COM

All-Tournament Team

Goalkeepers
Keilor Navas (CRC)
Guillermo Ochoa (MEX)

Defenders
Mike Klukowski (CAN)
Freddy Fernandez (CRC)
Fausto Pinto (MEX)
Luis Moreno (PAN)
Clarence Goodson (USA)
Chad Marshall (USA)

Midfielders
Julian de Guzman (CAN)
Celso Borges (CRC)
Stephane Auvray (GLP)
Gerardo Torrado (MEX)
Giovani dos Santos (MEX)
Stuart Holden (MEX)

Forwards
Alvaro Saborio (CRC)
Walter Martinez (HON)
Miguel Sabah (MEX)
Kenny Cooper (USA)

really?  :)

« Reply #568 on: July 30, 2009, 08:58:54 PM »

Where you was fella? blanco been rejoined the mex team, he even played against us in azteca on june 10th.

That's what ah thought, but last night watching the Everton v MLS All-Stars tiddle wink game, one of the Commentators said that. Apparently he was not gonna try to be active in terms of fighting for a spot, be they said he said that he was pissed off so he comig real "hard"  :o vs USA.