March 28, 2024, 11:23:47 AM

Author Topic: ROOTSMAN  (Read 5812 times)

ROOTSMAN
« on: June 15, 2008, 02:07:47 PM »
Iwas hangin in a cultural nite spot on Flatbush last night and the announcer said that calypsonian Rootsman is very ill and need help , can

anybody confirm this .

« Last Edit: June 15, 2008, 11:36:11 PM by Quagmire »

Re: ROOTSMAN
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2008, 02:34:16 PM »
he s ah bad vincy http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/rack_me_rack_me.htm

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/parkway_rock.htm

ah love it

yeah  Rootsie is ah boss... ah was reading elsewhere that he coming out with new material, but I ent hear anything about illness though :(

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 05:41:17 PM »
Well that news about Rootsie was ah surprise to me because that was the first time hearin that , buh they had a fund raiser for him last

nite on Church Av .While hangin out on sat in the tent on Flatbush av a man was handin out fliers about him and it was sayin that he

lost a

couple toes .if ah lie ah lying after the flyer .

« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2008, 07:40:35 PM »
Yes is true ah was jus speaking to the DJ Kung Fu from Wack fm and he say it is true the man is really .

« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2008, 08:21:05 PM »
Well that news about Rootsie was ah surprise to me because that was the first time hearin that , buh they had a fund raiser for him last

nite on Church Av .While hangin out on sat in the tent on Flatbush av a man was handin out fliers about him and it was sayin that he

lost a

couple toes .if ah lie ah lying after the flyer .
Sounds like diabetes.... not to speculate though.

« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2008, 08:25:21 PM »

« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2008, 09:13:42 PM »

Zul jus for you eh....

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,78550.html

Rootsman loses toes
By LARA PICKFORD-GORDON Friday, May 9 2008

click on pic to zoom inCalypsonian Yafeu Osei, Rootsman rests at Ward 21, Port-of-Spain General Hospital from surgery on Monday in which toes were amputated....CALYPSONIAN ROOTSMAN is trying to keep the faith but on Wednesday said he was “worried” after the remaining toes on his left leg were amputated on Monday due to diabetes.

His big toe was amputated last month. Rootsman, Yafeu Osei, 57, has been hosptialised at ward 21 of the Port-of-Spain General Hospital since April 7, after an injury on his big toe did not heal and became infected.

In an interview last month, Osei admitted his diabetes was not properly managed and this contributed to his foot not healing after it was injured.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday, Osei said after the surgery to remove his big toe, his foot was left to heal but after 16 days there was no improvement and more of his foot was affected, “causing a mess.”

This led to the remaining toes being amputated.

Osei said he was praying for healing to save the rest of his foot and leg so he would be able to stand up and “step out” of the hospital. “I need that prayers and upliftment,” he said.

His condition is being monitored.

Osei said, “I am hoping the wound will heal in time. I am worried my foot is my life and balance. It’s a big wound. I don’t want to be negative but you never know. I am still a young man and active. I still have a lot of work to do.”

Osei urgently requires three pints of blood and is appealing to the public for assistance.

In an interview, president of the Diabetes Association, Calvin Philip, estimated that there were 450 foot amputations annually due to diabetes.

This figure incorporates both public and private facilities. He said 50 percent of the people who have amputations become depressed and 20 percent died within two years.

Phillip said foot amputations result when the blood sugar is not controlled. He said out of control, sugar caused diabetics to lose feeling in the feet.

« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2008, 09:43:14 PM »
he s ah bad vincy http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/rack_me_rack_me.htm

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/parkway_rock.htm

ah love it

Nice tunes...Ah forget Rootsman sing dem chunes yes
Ah doh fault yah bro ,...is only when you come away from home you really appreciate every thing jed .

« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2008, 08:40:52 PM »
Eh peps wat iz the latest wid ROOTSIE any body no

« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2008, 06:50:10 AM »
Last I heard Zul, he was out of hospital and in the studio putting lyrics to riddim :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2008, 07:27:29 AM »
Good oh,Thanks oh .

« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2008, 01:58:07 PM »
Hey peps ah jus heard that Rootsman lost a leg and iz in a nursing home in trini ,KC we local James Brown iz havin a fund raiser for him today.

« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2008, 02:54:59 PM »
Hey peps ah jus heard that Rootsman lost a leg and iz in a nursing home in trini ,KC we local James Brown iz havin a fund raiser for him today.

but Zul datz why he was in hospital recently. first it was his toes, then the infection took his leg.
bad diabetic

« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2008, 08:56:14 PM »
After four months of trauma, Rootsman (Yafei Osei) is back with a bang, his soca guns blazing. Rootsy, who was at Port-of-Spain General Hospital with diabetes (resulting in the loss of a few toes), wrote new songs while under the care of nurses and doctors at the hospital.

Tomorrow at 8.30 pm, Rootsy would launch a compact disc—Bag of Sugar—at De Nu Pub, Ariapita Avenue, Woodbrook.

An enthusiastic Rootsy said Bag of Sugar, the title of a previous song and remake, “has a little something for everyone.”

Its nine tracks are entitled Obama’s Victory, which he premiered at last Thursday’s Cott Music Awards at Queen’s Hall; Where Is The Love; Fashion Craze (under the navel); Stickman; Jam Down Styles; Rude Boy; and, remakes of the classic Ah ’Fraid To Cross The Road and Bag of Sugar. Billed to appear at the launch are Gypsy, Crazy, Luta, Bally, Mini Priest and Eric Richards.

Bag of Sugar is available at all record shops, would also be on sale tomorrow evening.

« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2008, 09:49:48 PM »
He could re release sweetness is my weakness .
« Last Edit: November 10, 2008, 09:53:31 PM by Quagmire »

Campaign mishap puts Rootsman in hospital
« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2010, 08:31:15 PM »
By Michelle Loubon (T&T Guardian)

Calypsonian Yafeu Osei, fondly known as Rootsman, is hospitalised on Ward 21 of the Port-of-Spain General Hosptial. On May 18, he had surgery on his right foot at Scarborough Hospital, Tobago. Surgeons removed three toes on his right foot. In 2008, Rootsman, a diabetic, also lost four toes and fought to keep his leg. In a telephone interview, Osei said the unfortunate incident occurred when he was campaigning with the People’s National Movement. For the election, he sang Dey Cyah Stop The Balisier. “I am not sure how it happened. The most I can say is a stone got in my shoe and the friction caused that to happen,” Osei said.

“Right after the show, I ended up in the hospital. My ankles and calves were swollen. I ended up in hospital. I had the surgery in Tobago.” Osei confessed that for the past three weeks, he had been recuperating. He said: “It is a painful process. I am going through the process. The wound has to heal. It’s not easy. But he is confident he would not have to use a wheelchair. “Once it heals, I would be able to get around,” he said. “I am battling. This one is tough. But with the grace of God I will get through.” To date, fellow calypsonians from the North Zone, De Fosto and Crazy have been supportive. “A lot of them don’t even know I have been in the hospital for the past three weeks,” he said.

Re: Campaign mishap puts Rootsman in hospital
« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2010, 09:23:20 PM »
By Michelle Loubon (T&T Guardian)

Calypsonian Yafeu Osei, fondly known as Rootsman, is hospitalised on Ward 21 of the Port-of-Spain General Hosptial. On May 18, he had surgery on his right foot at Scarborough Hospital, Tobago. Surgeons removed three toes on his right foot. In 2008, Rootsman, a diabetic, also lost four toes and fought to keep his leg. In a telephone interview, Osei said the unfortunate incident occurred when he was campaigning with the People’s National Movement. For the election, he sang Dey Cyah Stop The Balisier. “I am not sure how it happened. The most I can say is a stone got in my shoe and the friction caused that to happen,” Osei said.

“Right after the show, I ended up in the hospital. My ankles and calves were swollen. I ended up in hospital. I had the surgery in Tobago.” Osei confessed that for the past three weeks, he had been recuperating. He said: “It is a painful process. I am going through the process. The wound has to heal. It’s not easy. But he is confident he would not have to use a wheelchair. “Once it heals, I would be able to get around,” he said. “I am battling. This one is tough. But with the grace of God I will get through.” To date, fellow calypsonians from the North Zone, De Fosto and Crazy have been supportive. “A lot of them don’t even know I have been in the hospital for the past three weeks,” he said.

Diabetic?

Rootsman need to eat more Ital. Veg it up Rootsman.

Stay away from white stuff and yuh good. Bread, Rice, Roti (damn roti too?), and yuh go be good to go 

Get well man :thumbsup:

« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2010, 09:47:43 PM »
what about whole wheat is that better ?

« Reply #19 on: June 22, 2010, 06:28:12 AM »
what about whole wheat is that better ?

Yes whole wheat is much better but it still raises your blood sugar. It should be at a minimum 100% whole wheat

Your body will recognize white bread and other white flour as basically "sugar" so people who eat like that are basically drinking sugar (some juices in bottles and packs/ some sodas) and eating sugar (white flour).

« Reply #20 on: August 21, 2015, 07:52:41 PM »
I heard he passed. WACK radio is playing his tunes now.  Condolences to his family

« Reply #21 on: August 21, 2015, 11:03:03 PM »
RIP to Rootsman

Still one of my favorites from him

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/kgm_a6bVDsw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/kgm_a6bVDsw</a>
« Last Edit: September 02, 2015, 04:33:12 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #22 on: August 21, 2015, 11:04:27 PM »
Calypsonian Rootsman dies

Calypsonian Rootsman (Yafeu Osei) yesterday passed away at his San Juan home, while seated in his wheelchair. His death was as a result of complications due to diabetes. He was noted for his hits “Rack Meh, Rack Meh” and “On The Parkway”.
Born in Tobago, Rootsman was in the calypso arena for many years. He was regarded as a melody-specialist blessed with one of the sweetest voices in the business. Rootsman was honoured in Orlando, Florida, and recently in Hamilton, Canada, for his contribution to the calypso art form. His art took him throughout the Caribbean, North America and London.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150821/news/calypsonian-rootsman-dies

« Reply #23 on: August 22, 2015, 12:45:47 AM »
Rack-me rack Me. RIP peace. God Bless!