March 28, 2024, 08:35:41 AM

Author Topic: MICHAEL JACKSON DEAD AT 50  (Read 63021 times)

Re: MICHAEL JACKSON DEAD AT 50
« Reply #30 on: June 25, 2009, 05:29:04 PM »
RIP "King of Pop"
« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 05:42:12 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #31 on: June 25, 2009, 05:29:55 PM »
What you say about the man he was a great entertainer,
RIP

« Reply #32 on: June 25, 2009, 05:30:38 PM »
The Jackson Five epitomised good Disco music.

Who could forget young Michael in the Savannah singing Lord Kitchener's Audrey with he damn yankee accent.

RIP Michael.

« Reply #33 on: June 25, 2009, 05:42:49 PM »
*sniff*

West Coast why yuh had to go and post that pic?? eh?? eh?? yuh heartless...

wwwwwwhhhhhhhaaaaaa!!!!  wwwwhhhhhhaaaaa!!!!!

*headache*...

« Reply #34 on: June 25, 2009, 05:46:16 PM »
sorry BrownSugar
no doubt about it, de man was GREAT and had a magnificient influence on Music!!!
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #35 on: June 25, 2009, 05:47:33 PM »
for all u know the man run off the reno to start performing marriages  ;D

but until my theory is confirmed RIP dude

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #36 on: June 25, 2009, 05:53:13 PM »
I REL sad and I cosign on all ah what allyuh saying, (palos, legal alien and big dawg)....I never really cared about all the sideline nonsense, I never believed any of the shit that was going on in he life.  I always just saw (the ORIGINAL) MJ as just being a grown little child, trying his best to (re?)capture his childhood.  Even the way he "wasted" his money away and the actual things he spent it on it remind you of a little child.   The man was arguably the greatest entertainer that ever lived and the kinda music that came from the partnership that was He, Quincy Jones and Rod Temperton and all the top-notch musicians that featured on his tours and albums is irreplaceable in the annals of all art.  

I agree  :beermug: :beermug:

He'll always be MJ to me.  Now hear we are the world, written by MJ.... goosebumps
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #37 on: June 25, 2009, 05:55:02 PM »
still in shock... rip my brother.... :beermug:

« Reply #38 on: June 25, 2009, 06:00:15 PM »
RIP Mike!!!!!!

« Reply #39 on: June 25, 2009, 06:02:38 PM »
Why this man couldn'ta just make back some money to pay off he debts, watch he kids grow and grow old and pass away peacefully in he sleep boy?  :'(

« Reply #40 on: June 25, 2009, 06:07:03 PM »
i eh go lie.. ah feelin real bummy dread, and if you had asked me 4 hours ago i woulda said i doh really care fuh de man...

time fuh some tributes..

THIS.... bar none is the greatest video of all time, and all time to come....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/AtyJbIOZjS8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/AtyJbIOZjS8</a>

« Reply #41 on: June 25, 2009, 06:28:27 PM »
ok the bacchanal start.  on msnbc his lawyer (or ex lawyer) saying he had a bad problem with prescription drugs

« Reply #42 on: June 25, 2009, 06:29:21 PM »
Shock doh even begin to desccribe...

The shocking thing is how I feeling a sense of loss, after not caring a whit about anything Michael Jackson related since he stop being a talented entertainer and become a full-time tabloid circus show.

Michael Jackson had something special, like James Brown, Prince, they had a showmanship and energy that was natural. A real talent at his peak and I rate "Off the Wall" and "Thriller" as two of my favourite albums.

RIP

« Reply #43 on: June 25, 2009, 06:32:46 PM »
Muh heart feel rel heavy after receiving confirmation of his death. Mike u were a musical genius and a consummate entertainer. God speed to the King of Pop!
« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 09:17:55 PM by FireBrand »

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #44 on: June 25, 2009, 07:22:25 PM »
listening to oldies, Heal the world, we are the world, you are not alone.... and this one

Gone Too Soon lyrics

Like A Comet
Blazing 'Cross The Evening Sky
Gone Too Soon

Like A Rainbow
Fading In The Twinkling Of An Eye
Gone Too Soon

Shiny And Sparkly
And Splendidly Bright
Here One Day
Gone One Night

Like The Loss Of Sunlight
On A Cloudy Afternoon
Gone Too Soon

Like A Castle
Built Upon A Sandy Beach
Gone Too Soon

Like A Perfect Flower
That Is Just Beyond Your Reach
Gone Too Soon

Born To Amuse, To Inspire, To Delight
Here One Day
Gone One Night

Like A Sunset
Dying With The Rising Of The Moon
Gone Too Soon

One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #45 on: June 25, 2009, 08:53:55 PM »
RIP MJ
You defined a generation and a genre
Your legacy will forever live on :salute:

« Reply #46 on: June 25, 2009, 09:08:45 PM »
listening to oldies, Heal the world, we are the world, you are not alone.... and this one

Gone Too Soon lyrics

Like A Comet
Blazing 'Cross The Evening Sky
Gone Too Soon

Like A Rainbow
Fading In The Twinkling Of An Eye
Gone Too Soon

Shiny And Sparkly
And Splendidly Bright
Here One Day
Gone One Night

Like The Loss Of Sunlight
On A Cloudy Afternoon
Gone Too Soon

Like A Castle
Built Upon A Sandy Beach
Gone Too Soon

Like A Perfect Flower
That Is Just Beyond Your Reach
Gone Too Soon

Born To Amuse, To Inspire, To Delight
Here One Day
Gone One Night

Like A Sunset
Dying With The Rising Of The Moon
Gone Too Soon

very cute1, doh do meh dis! lawd. dis real sad. cuz iza michael fan, even wid all d side bachannal.

i was really lookin forward to d comeback.  :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #47 on: June 25, 2009, 09:10:27 PM »
he had said that this song is his story
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/dVJscGa5vbc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/dVJscGa5vbc</a>
« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 09:48:30 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #48 on: June 25, 2009, 09:32:26 PM »
RIP MJ.  I don't ever study celebrity deaths but the loss of MJ hurt like a family member.
The Greatest Entertainer Ever.  I remember having my bedroom wall covered with Michael's posters in 1984. The only posters I ever owned in my life.
What a coincidence this post is 1,958th post for me.  The year of his birth.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2009, 10:03:27 PM by real madness »

« Reply #49 on: June 25, 2009, 10:10:57 PM »
Hmm the world is changing right before our eyes.  Farrah and MJ the same day.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #50 on: June 25, 2009, 10:17:05 PM »
MTV running his videos....
 :'( :'( :'( :'(

Billie Jean on now....

That man was a true performer.

Preacher you forget Ed McMahon... these things happen in 3's

« Reply #51 on: June 25, 2009, 10:31:32 PM »
I remember me and mih pardnas lip sync to ah michael song in ah talent show in high school and i start to grab mih crotch and wine and de prinicpal was looking like she was about to have a nervous breakdown.

« Reply #52 on: June 25, 2009, 11:50:56 PM »
RIP to the Greatest Performer of All Time  :beermug:

« Reply #53 on: June 26, 2009, 04:57:43 AM »
The greatest entertainer ever IMO.

RIP MJ.  Yuh make dis fan real sad today...I eh go lie.  Is pure MJ in meh car and on meh stereo from today till......well.....till whenever.

Thanx fuh de memories and de music Michael.  :salute: :salute: :'( :'(

Ah does still listen to Bob everyday " Don't worry bout ah ting........"

Ah doh know if MJ going to have that effect on mih, buh say wha "123 is easy like ABC."

« Reply #54 on: June 26, 2009, 04:59:06 AM »
Trinis: Michael was truly the King
By RHONDOR DOWLAT (NEWSDAY)

Local fans yesterday paid tribute to Michael Jackson recalling his visit to Trinidad in 1973 when he performed at an early age with his brothers in the Jackson 5 which was deemed the all-time group in the world.

Jackson and his brothers performed at two sold out venues at Skinner Park in San Fernando and the Queen’s Park Savannah, Port-of-Spain. While here, Jackson also paid an impromptu visit to Holy Name Convent in Port-of-Spain.

Newsday was able to catch up with a few local fans who went to the Jackson 5 concert at the Queen’s Park Savannah.

Newsday’s journalist Joan Rampersad was among the few who were fortunate to experience Jackson live in concert. “He is the only King of Pop. There was none before him and there will be none after him. I remember going to the concert and my pores raised to see him in action. He along with the rest of the Jackson 5 performed the then big hits ‘I want you back’ and ‘ABC’. I also remembered that Jackson introduced his little brother Randy who performed Lord Kitchener’s hit ‘Sugar Bum’ which sent the crowd in sheer ecstacy. I will always cherish that memorable event.”

Another fan Albert Lewis said he was only 17 when he attended the Port-of-Spain concert and also described it as a “once in a lifetime, memorable concert.”

Waaz Hosein said he remembered Jackson as a “little black boy” with a big Afro hairstyle and will never forget the dance moves he demonstrated on stage since, including the famous Moonwalk.

“I remember that the savannah was packed out. It had people all the way to where the US Embassy is located on Marli Street. Although they could not see him they heard his distinct voice and had a ball of a time,” Hosein said.

Former student of Holy Name Convent Michelle Wellington-Borde also shared her memorable experience when Jackson pulled up on the school’s compound in a regular taxi.

“I remember it was after school hours and we were practising our marching for our upcoming sports day we got word that Michael Jackson pulled up at school. I remembered that he rolled down the window to the car and began looking around.

“One of my girlfriends ran up to the car and leaned inside and asked him if he was Michael Jackson and he replied in a very soft voice ‘yes’. At that moment the girls began screaming and jumping around. We went crazy for him that day. He eventually came out of the car and walked into the school. He was wearing a red shirt and black pants and I think he had on white gloves.

I remembered him smiling and waving to us. Before leaving he thanked us and said that Trinidad was nice. That day will always be engraved in my heart.” Former Holy Faith Convent student Shaharazad Sherry Khan-Dowlat also shared her memorable experience. “I was very excited that he was here on our local soil. His performance was so thrilling and indeed he was back then a world icon and still is, although he has passed on now. He will always be a great legend and I believe that his songs will never die.

“A lot of Trinidadians even followed his style with the leather jackets and even in dances people were seen trying to do the moon walk dance. He brought a lot of joy and happiness upon his visit and surely left an impact. He will surely be missed. Michael we love you.”

« Reply #55 on: June 26, 2009, 05:24:13 AM »
 :'( :'( :'(
Ah feel ah wearing black everyday until the funeral.... :'(

« Reply #56 on: June 26, 2009, 06:07:08 AM »
RIP

He was THE MAN

« Reply #57 on: June 26, 2009, 09:05:25 AM »
He grew up too fast, was too talented and hence popular/famous for his own good, and went way too soon....Sad what overcommercialization and the sensationalism of pop culture can do to a human being...He was literally a superstar for his entire life... that can't be easy.

The one positive that comes from this loss is that people will now take a step back, get reminded of him as an artist and re-appreciate the influence that he's had on pop music and pop culture as a whole, as opposed to the freak of nature walking weirdo which was the image that seemed to have tainted his legacy in recent times.

From all accounts he was a good man with a huge humanitarian spirit....and it's no secret that revolutionized pop music, entertainment and performance during his career, so nuff respect...RIP MJ....

« Reply #58 on: June 26, 2009, 09:46:28 AM »
Seems to me that MJ (like most greats) died for the love of his craft and pleasing his fans!

I believe the strain of getting ready for his live shows in London (him being a perfectionist) and wanting to put out his very best performances for his fans is what could have brought on the heart attack!

MJ at 50 was not getting any younger and probably needed to pace his rehearsals less intense than in the past in recognition of such!
I’m sure we’ll hear more on the exact causes of his heart attack and what could have brought it on.

Not too longer ago James Brown the King of Soul and one of my all time favourite performers and MJ's main inspiration for his dance moves passed on and now the King of Pop MJ himself has passed on to join him!

Two of my all time favourite artists and performers the likely of which we may never see again in our lifetimes now sadly gone!

May God bless their souls and may their musical legacies forever live on!

Geeezzzzzz , I'm still trying to get over our local musical genius $hek $hok's passing and now this!!  :'(
« Last Edit: June 26, 2009, 10:55:10 AM by Socapro »

Offline Saywha

« Reply #59 on: June 26, 2009, 10:28:03 AM »
His music will live on but I have one question.....
Ah wonder if he died as a black man or a white man? :beermug: