September 11, 2024, 03:34:29 AM

Author Topic: Bolton's Samuel eager to wear T&T colours.  (Read 21469 times)

Bolton's Samuel eager to wear T&T colours.
« on: July 02, 2009, 02:31:13 PM »
Bolton's Samuel eager to wear T&T colours.

Former Aston Villa and English-based player Jlloyd Samuel is a relieved man that new FIFA rules will allow him to play for Trinidad and Tobago and he has set his sights on being part of Russell Latapy’s team in the very near future.

Samuel,  born in San Fernando,  wanted to play for T&T at the 2006 World Cup after efforts were made by the TTFF to have him join the squad but FIFA ruled  back then that Samuel was too old to be allowed to play for another country as applications could only have been made by players who are under 21. He had also already made seven appearances for England’s National Under 21 team.

Made a regular in the Aston Villa first team by ex-England manager Graham Taylor, his best season, was 2003-2004, as, under newly appointed Villa boss  David O’Leary he rose to become one of the best left-backs in the Premiership and was selected in the England squad for the game against  Sweden although his involvement only went as far as being an unused substitute.

But today Samuel, now with English Premiership outfit Bolton Wanderers, is looking forward to linking up officially with the “Soca Warriors” and that may happen as early as during next month’s training camp in Scotland.

“It’s a great honor for me to be able to join up with the team in the near future. I was disappointed of the ruling last time but I am very happy to have the second chance to play for my country of birth,” the 28-year-old Samuel told TTFF Media on Thursday.

National team manager David Muhammad said Samuel was eager to join the squad and is likely to be available for selection for the August 12 World Cup qualifier at home to El Salvador. Muhammad noted that there has been no further feedback to date from striker Bobby Zamora while Middlesbrough football club in a response to Muhammad, indicated that right back Justin Hoyte would not be available to play for T&T. However further efforts are expected to be made directly with the player who made 34 appearances for Arsenal and also appeared for Sunderland in 2005-2006. He also appeared for Englands U21s.  His younger brother Gavin, however could possibly make himself available for the T&T National Under 20 team after responding positively to an inquiry into his availability for the Red,White and Black. Gavin is a member of Arsenal’s Reserves.

Samuel meantime is simply looking forward to putting on T&T colours.

“I have spoken to the manager and I’ve told him how happy and excited I am to join up with the other guys .There are a lot of big name players there and shows that we shall be going in the right direction in making the squad even stronger. Trinidad and Tobago are a very good  team and  hopefully we can qualify for the World C up.So when permission is given from my club to join up with T&T  I’ll definitely be looking forward to it,” Samuel added.

During his appearance on MTV's Footballers Cribs, Samuel revealed he calls himself 'Sweetboy' and calls his wife Emma Pritchard 'Sweetgirl'. He also has a cat known only as MC Cattybumbum.

Latapy commenced training on Wednesday with a home-based squad at the Larry Gomes Stadium. The team will travel to face St Kitts/Nevis next Sunday after the game was pushed back a week.

Returning to the team after undergoing a hernia operation was W Connection midfielder Clyde Leon while Connection defender Kern Cupid was also recalled.Goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams was also involved and has returned to W Connection for the ongoing season after ending his time in Hungary.

The Senior Team leaves next Friday for St Kitts.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2009, 07:31:21 PM by Flex »

Re: Bolton's Samuel eager to wear T&T colours
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2009, 02:44:49 PM »
Excellent news!! :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2009, 02:52:08 PM »
...Middlesbrough football club in a response to Muhammad, indicated that right back Justin Hoyte would not be available to play for T&T.
How are they in control of any such decision? Or are they just refusing to put the TTFF in contact with him?

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2009, 02:53:22 PM »
big dose of sallllt

« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2009, 02:56:51 PM »
send more triniz  ;D

« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2009, 03:04:36 PM »
...Middlesbrough football club in a response to Muhammad, indicated that right back Justin Hoyte would not be available to play for T&T.
How are they in control of any such decision? Or are they just refusing to put the TTFF in contact with him?

It's possible that he speaking through them.  considering he said no before i eh surprised nor saddened.  honeslt I say f**k away wid Justin oui!!

« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2009, 03:07:01 PM »
hmmmm i am surprise Gavin responded ;D but is the under 20 so he could still switch back to england   but justin and dat zamora ::) ... i hope David Muhammad contact roberts or even findley also
« Last Edit: July 02, 2009, 03:10:07 PM by Trini _2010 »

« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2009, 03:17:17 PM »

It's possible that he speaking through them.  considering he said no before i eh surprised nor saddened.  honeslt I say f**k away wid Justin oui!!
Oh yeah. I didn't consider that possibility. Leave he dey, is that's the case.

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2009, 03:18:34 PM »
hmmmm i am surprise Gavin responded ;D but is the under 20 so he could still switch back to england   but justin and dat zamora ::) ... i hope David Muhammad contact roberts or even findley also

Provide him wit d correck numbers he must have d wrong #. Dat is y we eh c dem get d call

« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2009, 03:51:48 PM »
only 3 more defenders left to find.....

« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2009, 04:23:32 PM »
only 3 more defenders left to find.....

cold

« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2009, 04:32:42 PM »

« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2009, 04:49:45 PM »
wow!  :o wow...  good news ... but the emotion is mainly wow.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2009, 05:10:31 PM »
This is great news been waiting to hear from them kinda long but great either way niceness...

« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2009, 05:41:30 PM »
Oh yes could it be...a wingback who can tackle, overlap and put in a dangerous cross.

Things looking better.

« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2009, 05:47:45 PM »
Oh yes could it be...a wingback who can tackle, overlap and put in a dangerous cross.

Things looking better.

problem is we need him to play centerback too...

Re: Bolton's Samuel eager to wear T&T colours.
« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2009, 07:41:45 PM »

« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2009, 08:26:23 PM »
he playing centre back, edwards need to stay in the right back position, left back should go to pacheco... the other centre should be thomas, dem fellahs eat makan food when he play centre in the last game

« Reply #18 on: July 03, 2009, 06:29:18 AM »
he playing centre back, edwards need to stay in the right back position, left back should go to pacheco... the other centre should be thomas, dem fellahs eat makan food when he play centre in the last game

Has Pacheco played on this level yet?  I not against using youngsters but I find allyuh does rell go overboard with these proposals oui!  Who eh callin fuh untested yutes callin fuh ole man who slow like molasses.  I wonder wha some ah allyuh does really be thinkin oui!! ::)

« Reply #19 on: July 03, 2009, 06:44:27 AM »

Has Pacheco played on this level yet?  I not against using youngsters but I find allyuh does rell go overboard with these proposals oui!  Who eh callin fuh untested yutes callin fuh ole man who slow like molasses.  I wonder wha some ah allyuh does really be thinkin oui!! ::)
He played a warmup recently and (based on the commentary) didn't look very good. He looked decent under Wim, though (but I think he was playing LW not LB). I'm still interested in seeing if he and Nigel Daniel could make de grade, though.

« Reply #20 on: July 03, 2009, 07:19:14 AM »
 Jlloyd long time saying he want to play for TT when Zamora was bussing style Jlloyd was on this forum since 2005 posting that he ready and willing to play for TT . Top news for TT

Offline noize

« Reply #21 on: July 03, 2009, 07:39:24 AM »
I think this is Great news for us...but take it with ah grain ah salt because as everybody knows is the Center backs that is the main problem now..Avery has done well recently in that left back position so can JLloyd play center back??... I would like to see Carlos... (Lawrence or Thomas ) JLloyd... A. John in the back. Nuthin against Dog but he is too slow right now ..seems to be ah step behind.. Abu Bakr has too much to learn right now at this desperate time for us  but he has a decent future ...I think Nigel Daniel has had really good games for PR and should be brought in for a trial... Julius James lacks focus as we have been hearing and again maybe the future. Lawrence had 2 horrible games but until then has had a decent showing  and he brings height and experience...but based on his last games he should be riding pine...Thomas has been solid until the USA game ...but still he wasn't the only one that suck ass in that game... :devil: Carlos has done a decent job on the right but only because of his speed ....when he makes long runs up front...nobody covers for him so we need pace and ability in the back just for coverage which JLloyd seems to have...but again lets see how Latas use him...yuh know Latas like that 3-5-2 ...so how would that work? Carlos Samuel Avery?? ???

« Reply #22 on: July 03, 2009, 08:48:16 AM »
He'll probably be the best crosser on the team.

BIG BIG news

« Reply #23 on: July 03, 2009, 08:56:48 AM »
I think this is Great news for us...but take it with ah grain ah salt because as everybody knows is the Center backs that is the main problem now..Avery has done well recently in that left back position so can JLloyd play center back??... I would like to see Carlos... (Lawrence or Thomas ) JLloyd... A. John in the back. Nuthin against Dog but he is too slow right now ..seems to be ah step behind.. Abu Bakr has too much to learn right now at this desperate time for us  but he has a decent future ...I think Nigel Daniel has had really good games for PR and should be brought in for a trial... Julius James lacks focus as we have been hearing and again maybe the future. Lawrence had 2 horrible games but until then has had a decent showing  and he brings height and experience...but based on his last games he should be riding pine...Thomas has been solid until the USA game ...but still he wasn't the only one that suck ass in that game... :devil: Carlos has done a decent job on the right but only because of his speed ....when he makes long runs up front...nobody covers for him so we need pace and ability in the back just for coverage which JLloyd seems to have...but again lets see how Latas use him...yuh know Latas like that 3-5-2 ...so how would that work? Carlos Samuel Avery?? ???

Saddest, Avery play one game but when we playing with him he is no help whatsoever to the offense.  This man is a better defender and attacking option than Avery.  Plus Avery in he 30's.  I happy the man want to play for we.  Funny this is before the Mexico game everybody clammering for wing backs, now we getting one and allyuh saying we need central backs.  Tallman had 1 bad game....steups.....

« Reply #24 on: July 03, 2009, 09:00:08 AM »

ive seen pacheco, he will make an excellent wingback, the man can dribble and pass much better than avery, thats what we need in the back, unless james, marshall or mohammed get a bligh, havent seen the last two play but its a worth a try...

Offline noize

« Reply #25 on: July 03, 2009, 09:23:50 AM »

Saddest, Avery play one game but when we playing with him he is no help whatsoever to the offense.  This man is a better defender and attacking option than Avery.  Plus Avery in he 30's.  I happy the man want to play for we.  Funny this is before the Mexico game everybody clammering for wing backs, now we getting one and allyuh saying we need central backs.  Tallman had 1 bad game....steups.....

Tallman had one bad game??? U cah be serious...USA & Costa Rica  would make it two in my mathematics....also Avery was more solid in that one game...than anybody else  who has played that position this rounds... we haven't seen him play because he didn't get called up under that other Goat...I would prefer have Samuel in his natural position ...and give us something more on the Left going forward.....I agree Avery don't do that well...but based on Dog and Lawrence last performances as the middle option...somebody need to ride pine...so if he can play in the middle and keep Avery on the Left that would be a better defence than we have had for this entire Hex.

« Reply #26 on: July 03, 2009, 09:57:19 AM »
Lawrence playing crap for quite a while, it is not no one game.  As for Avery going forward, he not really great at that but defensively heis better than pacheco and nigel daniel but they are better offensively.  So the question is do you want a defender who can defend or a defender who can attack?  As for pacheco, he is mih boy and he doh like de left back scene, he prefer playing on the left side of midfield anyday.  It funny how allyuh does talk about where players should play and be dead wrong.

anyway mih father spoke to jlloyd family and it is true that he wants to play for us.  he claims he is doing because he wants to but i still feel he realize dat he cant make de england side, either way i doh care, we need some help in dat defence.

Offline noize

« Reply #27 on: July 03, 2009, 10:20:09 AM »
Lawrence playing crap for quite a while, it is not no one game.  As for Avery going forward, he not really great at that but defensively heis better than pacheco and nigel daniel but they are better offensively.  So the question is do you want a defender who can defend or a defender who can attack?  As for pacheco, he is mih boy and he doh like de left back scene, he prefer playing on the left side of midfield anyday.  It funny how allyuh does talk about where players should play and be dead wrong.

anyway mih father spoke to jlloyd family and it is true that he wants to play for us.  he claims he is doing because he wants to but i still feel he realize dat he cant make de england side, either way i doh care, we need some help in dat defence.

I think we need solid defenders ...doh get meh wrong Carlos going forward on the right has been both a blessing and problem because of what happens when he ends up up front and out of position to come back and defend...man talkin bout defenders going forward...isn't that the midfield job ???...with the defenders only making those runs when it is necessary...it shouldnt be the basis of a defenders job ...it should be ah good option...the last time I check most people idea of a good defender is based on Speed, Positioning, Recovery  and Touch...going forward would be ah added bonus ;D

Offline Arazi

« Reply #28 on: July 03, 2009, 10:23:21 AM »

scene..well jloyd had slotted centre for bolton..and I actually prefer to have him there considering the  errors made by our centre backs have been the crucial errors thus far...
I honestly think we have more of a problem at left wing than left back..keon daniel hasn't owned the left when he's played there and colin samuel only played on the left for like 20 minutes against costa rica..our lack of presence on the left side of midfield is the issue..not left back for me...even if the left back's name is akile edwards..

« Reply #29 on: July 03, 2009, 10:24:09 AM »
we still eh goin SA