March 29, 2024, 06:13:54 AM

Author Topic: Reggaeboyz book double Dates with Bafana Bafana  (Read 2617 times)

Offline reggae-fan

Reggaeboyz book double Dates with Bafana Bafana
« on: July 06, 2009, 12:25:15 PM »
Boyz Africa bound

Set November 17 date with 'Bafana Bafana'

BY SEAN A WILLIAMS, Assistant Sport Editor williamss@jamaicaobserver.com

Monday, July 06, 2009

It's a done deal. Jamaica's Reggae Boyz will tackle South Africa's 'Bafana Bafana' in a big friendly international on the continent on November 17, it was disclosed on Saturday.

BURRELL... I have suggested that Jamaican reggae music be merged with the friendly package and also for the World Cup next year

After agreeing to terms last week with his South African counterparts, during the FIFA Confederations Cup, Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss Captain Horace Burrell said he was a happy man - though he had no doubt that he would have been able to keep his promise of making the match-up a reality.

"We have confirmed this match against South Africa. and this game will be played at one of the designated World Cup venues, most likely the one in the central province of Bloemfontein," Burrell told the Observer from Los Angeles. "All the arrangements have been put in place and a member of the South Africa 2010 LOC, Mr Raymond Hack, has been put in charge to oversee the whole project of the Reggae Boyz's visit.

"As promised, we are delivering this game to the Jamaican and South African fans, and having failed to advance to the CONCACAF finals of the World Cup qualifying campaign, I gave my solemn word that I would get the Reggae Boyz to South Africa, one way or another. I was always determined that we would participate in a big friendly against the hosts leading up to the World Cup and now I am elated that this has come true," said an obviously delighted Burrell.

The CONCACAF Executive Committee member also disclosed that the deal embraces a return game slated for Jamaica's National Stadium next March, three months before South Africa welcomes the world for the greatest single sport event known to man - the FIFA World Cup Finals.

".This game is likely to be Bafana Bafana's final overseas match before going into the World Cup," said Burrell, the senior vice-president of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU).

Jamaica, who soared 11 places up the FIFA ladder in the latest rankings to 65th, will mark their fourth meeting with the South Africans in the November showdown.

They first played in 1999 in Kingston where that game ended 1-1, then they drew 0-0 in Cape Town in 2003, before playing to an exhilarating 3-3 draw at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in Los Angeles in 2005, where South Africa appeared as a guest team.

"Remember that Jamaica participated in the historic launch of the South Africa World Cup bid with a friendly game against that country on the African continent, and we can view going back as a celebration of that successful bid," noted Burrell.

The suave and charismatic businessman who operates the Captain's Bakery and Grill food chain, said Jamaica and South Africa share common bonds that are enduring.

"The bonds between both countries are strong. let us not forget that Jamaica, a small country, was one of the strongest voices in the fight to dismantle Apartheid, and in recognition of our role in that process, Jamaica was one of the first countries that a freed Nelson Mandela visited," Burrell recalled.

In honour of his visit, which underscored the Jamaican people's admiration for Mandela, Half-Way-Tree Park in the nation's capital, Kingston, as well as the main highway linking Kingston with Spanish Town were named for the great South African leader.

The Boyz, on their trip to South Africa, are expected to visit Mandela as well as Soweto, the black township where Mandela once lived and which was the scene of many deadly clashes between black South Africans and their white rulers under Apartheid.

"The slums of Soweto are similar in circumstances and outlay to our own inner-city communities in Jamaica, and we hope a visit by our Reggae Boyz will serve as inspiration to the many young people who languish there," said Burrell, the only FIFA South Africa 2010 World Cup ambassador not living on the vast African continent.

Burrell has also recommended to top government officials and the football hierarchy that Jamaican reggae musicians be a part of the friendly fixture in November, as well as the World Cup Finals in June next year.

"I have suggested that Jamaican reggae music be merged with the friendly package and also for the World Cup next year, and this has been well received by all," said Burrell, the visionary behind Jamaica's only appearance at football's showpiece event in France in 1998. "The people of South Africa will tell you that Jamaica's reggae music helped to comfort them and gave them hope at a very difficult time in their political life."

Burrell said that Jamaica, who are due to arrive in South Africa on November 13, will field a strong team for the game with most, if not all, of the overseas-based professionals available for selection.

"Being a FIFA date, Jamaica will be fielding the best team which will consist of our players in Europe, the USA and back home in Jamaica, and nothing short of a high-quality game is expected," said Burrell, who is on his second stint as president of the JFF.

South Africa, ranked 70th by FIFA, finished a creditable fourth in the recently-concluded Confederations Cup won by South American champions Brazil.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2009, 12:27:57 PM by reggae-fan »

Offline Trinidogg

Re: Reggaeboyz book double Dates with Bafana Bafana
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 12:32:28 PM »
Jamaica does get good friendlies for a team there quality...

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2009, 12:41:01 PM »

Are you saying Jamaica is a high quality side?  ;D (I know you are saying the opposite)

What you must understand is that with Jamaica, it is more than just sports, there is a cultural aspect that plays an important role. Jamaica shares MANY similiarities with Ghana and South Africa in particular. The Madela Highway and Madela Park in Jamaica are not mere coincidence.

« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2009, 12:56:31 PM »
Pull all yuh....Britzlly rass... we playing St Kitts  :devil:

« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2009, 01:06:26 PM »
Been there.  Done that.

We beat South Africa 2-0 in 1999 at the Hasley Crawford Stadium

We lost to South Africa in South Africa 2-1 in 2003

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2009, 01:14:22 PM »
Been there.  Done that.

Take a bow sir.  :applause:

« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2009, 01:20:04 PM »
Been there.  Done that.

And you could HULL YUH MUDDAKONT

« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2009, 01:20:47 PM »

Palos?!!! :o :rotfl:

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2009, 01:39:16 PM »

Palos?!!! :o :rotfl:

the man sounding very angry today.

Not exactly sure what he meant by  "HULL YUH MUDDAKONT"

« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2009, 01:42:50 PM »
Been there.  Done that.

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2009, 02:12:49 PM »
nah palos :rotfl:

« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2009, 02:38:34 PM »
Been there.  Done that.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Palos dat is not picong, dat is  assault!

« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2009, 02:47:27 PM »

Are you saying Jamaica is a high quality side?  ;D (I know you are saying the opposite)

What you must understand is that with Jamaica, it is more than just sports, there is a cultural aspect that plays an important role. Jamaica shares MANY similiarities with Ghana and South Africa in particular. The Madela Highway and Madela Park in Jamaica are not mere coincidence.

Does this mean that the reggaeboyz are now miraculously in with a chance of qualifying for South Africa next year and these are your last official warm-up games or is it possible that South Africa is simply looking for a confidence booster similar to what England arranged before hosting the first ever World Cup on African soil?   :flamethrower:
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 08:50:34 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2009, 03:01:52 PM »

dis forum is the best

« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2009, 03:09:56 PM »
I cud picture Palos ressing that one on reggaeclown.. wahtap. you look for that.  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2009, 04:46:21 PM »
Its true. Jamaica always gets good matches to play. While Trini only settling for St Kitts or Grenada. Every time I hear Trini is supposed to play a big team, the game usually gets cancelled. i.e Chile 2009. Big teams will probably be willing to play Jam instead of Trini. It has nothing to do with getting an easy victory over Jam.
If you look compare Jamaica's opponents for the year with Trinidad's, It is clear that the Reggae Boyz get far more quality matches than Soca Warriors. 

Despite the accomplishments of Soca Warriors and the several players playing high level football, Trini football still dont get the attention it deserves.

« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2009, 07:19:22 PM »
Reggaegirlz book double cutass ... is ah parry!!!!  steups ::) ::)

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2009, 07:31:59 PM »
I think we could look back on the activity after the World Cup to play a big role in why we back in this situation playing crap teams... If the players wasnt blacklisted who knows what could of happen, with our friendlies and the 2007 gold cup... yea we play SA before but does that make it ok to stop playing good teams and start back playing Guyana, and St. Kitts, steups and our own teams...