March 28, 2024, 11:53:16 AM

Author Topic: Sports Illustrated Thrill List  (Read 3406 times)

Sports Illustrated Thrill List
« on: July 09, 2009, 11:57:50 AM »
Top 10 most thrilling football players of all time.
http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/writers/grant_wahl/06/26/thrill.list/index.html?eref=sihpT1

Kinda ridiculous R10 isn't on this but Messi is. Some big ballers on here otherwise

10. Higuita
9. Eusebio
8. Marta
7. L. Ronaldo
6. Messi
5. Cruyff
4. Garrincha
3. Zizou
2. Pele
1. Maradona

Who else get snubbed here? Remember this is thrilling, not best...CR9?

Re: Sports Illustrated Thrill List
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 12:02:23 PM »
well Sports Illustrated ain't no authority on football - and even though Higuita might raise some eyes, can't be too surprised either because they talk about "thrilling" footballers .... and the man was singly responsible for me watching Colombia matches in the WC just to see what maddness he going to do next - like try to dribble Roger Milla, get bat, and get scored on.

Most surprised to see Marta on that list though.

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2009, 12:04:26 PM »
Cah hate on the Marta pic, she really get on bad...bu tprob not as thrilling as some of these other guys

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2009, 12:06:46 PM »
well Sports Illustrated ain't no authority on football - and even though Higuita might raise some eyes, can't be too surprised either because they talk about "thrilling" footballers .... and the man was singly responsible for me watching Colombia matches in the WC just to see what maddness he going to do next - like try to dribble Roger Milla, get bat, and get scored on.

Most surprised to see Marta on that list though.

I know see dat ridiculous goal she score on USA in the 2007 Women's world cup final.

Crazy.

« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2009, 12:22:20 PM »
Some thrillers in my opinion that are not on the list...probably not top 10, but close:

Rivaldo

C.Ronaldo

L.Figo

Ronaldinho

Jay Jay Okochoa

Romario

M. Van Basten

R. Baggio

H. Stoickov

G. Hagi

« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2009, 12:49:44 PM »
top 10 thrillers from my time: 80s til now (forget Pele, Garricha, Cruyff and ole timers ah only see on highlight reels)...

10. Brian Laudrup (Euro 92. Talk done)

9. Romario (Absolute machine. Coulda score with his nose hairs and had speed for days. I feel sorry for anyone who thinks Romario in WC 94 was as good as it got. He was way better than that)

8. Claudio Canniggia (hated him as a footballer, but he was so unbelievably fast on a ball. it was sick to see Canniggia opening up into some space)

7. Cafu (best thing to ever run a right side...ever)

6. Edgar Davids (first player imo to make defensive midfield look exciting. snarling, lung busting performance every game. Predecessor to Gattusso..but with more technical ability)

6. Rivaldo (somehow still underrated by so many..i miss this player. simply awesome)

5. Jayjay Okocha ( do i really have to explain why. every game..no every touch was a show. with end product to boot)

4. Dinho (ridiculous skill and vision...was developing into a class above his peers. nuff flair. watching him used to be a lot of fun)

3. Zidane (give ordinary plays a touch of class. silky silky smooth)

2. Maradona (not much to say here. genius)

1. Ronaldo (raw pace, pure skills, deadly finish, and that was after 2 surgeries...best I ever saw at his peak)

« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2009, 01:06:19 PM »
top 10 thrillers from my time: 80s til now (forget Pele, Garricha, Cruyff and ole timers ah only see on highlight reels)...

10. Brian Laudrup (Euro 92. Talk done)

I had him on my list of left-offs but edited before the final post...this begs the following question though:

Who was the dreader Laudrup between Brian & Michael? 

I didn't see much of Michael other than some inside out beat he ress on men in the '86 W. Cup (by WC '98 I doh remember if he was still in the ripping form)...but I've talked to some older heads and ppl who followed him more closely who say that he was better than Brian...

Here's a highlight reel of Michael toying around with men, and splitting defenses like it was a walk in the park (note: in both Madrid & Barca kits):

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/2oXH8F-MGpU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/2oXH8F-MGpU</a>
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 01:31:56 PM by kicker »

« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2009, 01:16:13 PM »
I wonder if iz a coincidence that nearly all these men had real speed

Ortega could get a bly too
Baggio was nice but not thrilling
Latapy could squeeze in...he was still giving me thrills in that honduras game
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 01:22:43 PM by Marcos »

« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2009, 01:30:06 PM »
Baggio was nice but not thrilling

huh?

« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2009, 01:42:20 PM »
He didn't make you hold your breath everytime he was on the ball i think

« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2009, 01:43:24 PM »
He didn't make you hold your breath everytime he was on the ball i think

More so than Ortega.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 01:49:45 PM by kicker »

« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2009, 01:54:18 PM »
changing it a little who will be your trini top 10 thrill ballers (not in any order)

1.Russell Latapy

2.Warren Archibald

3 Leroy DeLeon

4.Clint Marcelle

5.Earl Carter

6 Gally Cummings

7 Dwight Yorke

8 Evan Wise

9.Jamerson

10.Leonson Lewis    

Ah hear about Alvin Corneal,Mathew Nunes,Jap Brown,Lincoln Phillip,Carlton Franco.Leo Brewster  etc but I did'nt really see dem men play

1) Latas 2) Leo 3) D.Yorke 4) C. Marcelle 5) A. Dwarika 6) M. Faustin 7) J. Nixon 8 ) C. Edwards 9) A. Whitley 10) A. Sherwood   

« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2009, 02:17:09 PM »
whitley never really thrill for T&T but more fo rhis club

Offline MarylandTrini

« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2009, 02:33:48 PM »
Dennis Bergkamp

Titi Henry

« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2009, 03:11:07 PM »
Dennis Bergkamp

Titi Henry

oh gheeeeeeeeeeeed

Offline MATADOR

« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2009, 03:12:14 PM »
What about M. Platini (France) & L Mathaus ( Germany) two of my favorites

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2009, 03:16:30 PM »
Here's a highlight reel of Michael toying around with men, and splitting defenses like it was a walk in the park (note: in both Madrid & Barca kits):

won la liga 5 times in a row.  4 in a row with barca. fall out with cruyff then went Madrid and win the next season.

Offline MarylandTrini

« Reply #17 on: July 10, 2009, 05:11:13 AM »
Dennis Bergkamp

Titi Henry

oh gheeeeeeeeeeeed

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8DNfgibZO5o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8DNfgibZO5o</a>