April 25, 2024, 05:26:03 PM

Author Topic: Latapy drafts U-20 trio for St Kitts friendly.  (Read 5454 times)

Latapy drafts U-20 trio for St Kitts friendly.
« on: July 09, 2009, 03:22:48 PM »
Latapy drafts U-20 trio for St Kitts friendly.

National Senior Team head coach Russell Latapy has drafted three National Under 20 players into his 18-man squad to travel to St. Kitts/Nevis for Sunday’s friendly international against that country.

Latapy included Under 20 captain and midfielder Leston Paul, defender Akeem Adams and forward Trent Lougheed into his squad following Thursday’s training exercise at the Larry Gomes Stadium. The game between the Seniors and the Under 20s was played in three thirty minute periods and ended in a 3-3 stalemate.

Missing out on the trip will be Caledonia AIA duo Densill Theobald and Keon Daniel who are both carrying injuries.

Latapy said he would be using Sunday’s encounter against the 2006 World Cup qualification semi-finalists to give some of the home-based players a run out as well as monitor the state of some of the other players who have featured in the 2010 World Cup campaign so far.

He also described the Under 20s as a disciplined and organized outfit.

“It was a good exercise for us. A lot of the players have been playing in the (Pro) League with a lot of matches and training sessions so this was just a way to get us together and start functioning as a team again. It was a good exercise against a very fit and organized under 20 team and I was happy with some of the things we’ve been working on and what we got out of the game,” Latapy told TTFF Media.

He pointed out that whichever overseas-based players are selected for August 12 against El Salvador will be available only two-three days before the encounter and as such the players traveling to St Kitts should use it as a chance to press for selection on the World Cup team.

“We are going to have our foreign based players possibly two or three days before the game on August 12 so this is an opportunity for the local players to grab the chance. I need to see them playing competitive international games. No disrespect to St Kitts, they are not high up on the rankings but with these games sometimes, you can possibly get confidence and work on performances,” said Latapy who also took a run out in Thursday’s game.

He ended by saying that he could possibly line up against St Kitts, having been listed on the 18-man squad and that it should be something of a challenge to some of the younger players to take his spot.

“I’ve been going around the League and watching the players and I think that if I can get myself fit and playing then I should be throwing out a challenge to some of the young footballers to say ‘get me off the team’ and I’ve always maintained that if you are good enough then you are old enough. If you are my age or if you are 17 or 18 and you are good enough to play on the national team and help it in a positive way to achieve results then I think you should play,” Latapy concluded.

Squad for St Kitts

Goalkeepers
Jan-Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip.

Defenders
Aklie Edwards, Keyeno Thomas, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Akeem Adams, Kern Cupid.

Midfielders
Clyde Leon, Trent Noel, Hayden Tinto, Ataullah Guerra, Leston Paul, Hughton Hector, Russell Latapy.

Forwards
Devon Jorsling, Andre Toussaint, Trent Lougheed, Kerry Baptiste.

Videos

View Latapy's post-game comments

View Game clip and Vranes comments
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 07:41:47 PM by Flex »

Re: Latapy drafts U-20 trio for St Kitts friendly
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 03:30:25 PM »
give up playing nuh latas

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2009, 03:38:09 PM »
3 U-20s got selected. Then the practice match was not a waste after all.

Offline Father Abraham

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2009, 03:40:08 PM »
tnt playing st kitts, bull. america playing brazil and spian, no wonder we not improving at all.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2009, 03:41:00 PM »
Where is lester peltier? is he still trying to get a contract in Belgium i taught by now he would of have a regular place on the squad...

« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2009, 03:58:27 PM »
Not sure bout Trent, haven't seen much of him......but i am impressed with Paul and Adams .....

Nice call up

« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2009, 04:12:16 PM »
I woulda like to see Primus in the mix.

« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2009, 04:36:43 PM »
Still no nigel daniel eh!!

« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2009, 04:51:07 PM »
Hmmmmm....Aklie Edwards....and latas is de coach

Ah hope Flex have a direck pipeline to pepto bismol fuh some posters on here yes... ;D

« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2009, 04:53:03 PM »
Not sure bout Trent, haven't seen much of him......but i am impressed with Paul and Adams .....

Nice call up

Trent is a nice little player from the little I've seen.  Mobile and skillful.  He jes need to go finishing school and he have plenty potential.

« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2009, 04:56:37 PM »
Big up meh caps player Lougheen as 4 Akile once he eh playin no WCQ I and Latas eh go fall out.

Re: Latapy drafts U-20 trio for St Kitts friendly.
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2009, 06:05:45 PM »
At least Shaun could have publish the line ups from today's game and the goal scorers.

The thing about it is, we will play poor oposition and feel players capable and then when the real test start we get exposed.

Aklie is good at this level, but what will happen on August 12th ?

Imagine we have 2 keepers on the team who don't even start for their clubs.

The Scotland trip is cancel what will this mean for Jlloyd Samuel joining the camp to get acustom to his new team mates.

There is no reason why Nigel Daniel shouldn't be on this team.

A line up for St Kitts like this would have been ideal.

Williams
Leon, Thomas, Abu Bakr, Daniel
   Tinto, Noel, Guerra, Adams
                Latapy
               Baptiste
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 06:07:56 PM by Sam »

« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2009, 06:37:09 PM »

Ah hope Flex have a direck pipeline to pepto bismol fuh some posters on here yes... ;D
Akeem Adams could put he on the bench.

« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2009, 06:49:36 PM »
as much as it's a local-based side goin St. Kitts, i think they should use these kinda of games to draft in Julius James and maybe Yohance Marshall
they barely running out for their teams i think but we know they have the ability

« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2009, 07:07:29 PM »

Akeem Adams could put he on the bench.

I hope out of football.

« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2009, 07:20:07 PM »
-Ah starting to get mixed up with Leston Paul and Lester Peltier .

hell so much young talent this rounds.

Offline Arazi

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2009, 07:35:28 PM »
tnt playing st kitts, bull. america playing brazil and spian, no wonder we not improving at all.
america played spain and brazil by winning the gold cup..they din just call them to play friendlies...
and doh come with this is maturana fault we eh there.. we eh win a gold cup game since 2000

« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2009, 09:05:35 PM »
Latapy list himself as a midfielder.
... and judging from his comments: "...If you are my age or if you are 17 or 18 and you are good enough to play on the national team and help it in a positive way to achieve results then I think you should play..." does he intend to play?

« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2009, 09:33:26 PM »
america played spain and brazil by winning the gold cup..they din just call them to play friendlies...
and doh come with this is maturana fault we eh there.. we eh win a gold cup game since 2000
Breds , do you know anything about horse racing? the reason i ask it's BC there is ah common phrase used in horse racing called also ran. it means tuh make up numbers, but no serious effort was made to contend for places.

there's also another phrase in local horse racing they call trying , which means yuh have ah chance tuh win and yuh putting maximum effort into that indeavor. well the way i see it , jack and the TTFF not trying!

we just there to make up numbers, so doh sweat it bredder. IMO, it looks like we WC joy ride is coming to a close, and all the writing is on the wall.                            positive.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2009, 10:10:55 PM by just cool »

« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2009, 09:45:07 PM »

Now yuh go hear Aklie huff Bleeder.  ::)
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2009, 09:50:56 PM »
JC as yuh on the horse racing tip...let me hit you a quote from Sam!

"Where horse does go, jackass does reach"

I glad you see the play I alluded to long time.

Never know they might surprise us with a big friendly at the end of the month.

« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2009, 10:36:26 PM »
JC as yuh on the horse racing tip...let me hit you a quote from Sam!

"Where horse does go, jackass does reach"

I glad you see the play I alluded to long time.

Never know they might surprise us with a big friendly at the end of the month.
touches i read the play since jack reprieve pancho for failing to qualify for the GC.

« Reply #22 on: July 10, 2009, 05:58:26 AM »
I jess hope them youths bring their A game.

Seniors vs U20s clip 0001
« Reply #23 on: July 10, 2009, 12:48:03 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/anPKqRQOe44" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/anPKqRQOe44</a>

Re: Seniors vs U20s clip 0001
« Reply #24 on: July 10, 2009, 01:05:17 PM »
hmm he trying to get hoyte and thompson and more guys on trial

Re: Seniors vs U20s clip 0001
« Reply #25 on: July 10, 2009, 05:08:56 PM »
That video was a waste of time. The whole TTFF setup amateur. Plus that sweat look too laid back and man was giving way the ball dotish. If this is how both teams preparing at this late stage. pressure.

« Reply #26 on: July 10, 2009, 05:17:15 PM »
De Under 20s actually look better dan de Seniors.....and ah not jes saying dat under bad mind.... look over de video again!

« Reply #27 on: July 10, 2009, 05:21:19 PM »
Real poor decision making going on in that video boy, way sah. The intensity level very low.

« Reply #28 on: July 10, 2009, 05:52:36 PM »
De Under 20s actually look better dan de Seniors.....and ah not jes saying dat under bad mind.... look over de video again!

Why yuh surprised Kiffy? These are the best young players in the country. And they against PFL opposition, where a lot of them play anyway.

On another note...that understanding between Paul and DeSilva makes for some sweet football. Great contrasting styles.

« Reply #29 on: July 10, 2009, 06:01:32 PM »
yeah

buh de Thunder sound effects was good :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.