March 28, 2024, 04:42:04 AM

Author Topic: Possibly a thread people will see as stupid but anyway..... Who is the Greatest  (Read 7650 times)

... player to play for a country which isn't their place of birth

As in how much they contributed to that nations football e.g. Pioneer (First black player), Made people take more notice of that country (this can work in many ways) etc etc

I'm going to give some examples but I am not saying any of them are the greatest:

(Born/Country Represented)

Maurice Tresor (Guadeloupe*/France)
Patrick Vieira (Senegal/France)
Mohamed Sissoko (France/Mali)
Paul Chillan (Martinique*/ France)
Fredric Kanoute (France/Mali)
John Barnes (Jamaica/England)
Robbie Earle (England/Jamaica)
Clarence Seedorf (Surinam/Holland)
Chris Birchall (England/Trinidad & Tobago)
Anthony Baffoe (Germany/Ghana)
Yıldıray Baştürk (Germany/Turkey)
Eusébio (Mozambique/Portugal)
Alfredo di Stéfano (Argentina/Played for Argentina, Colombia and Spain LOL)

One thing I do notice about the players that come to my mind is that they moved to the country they represented very early in their life. It is rare you'll find someone you made an significant or memorable impact who didn't live in that country for long period of time, if at all.... (excluding Robbie Earle - 1st World Cup Goal Ever or Birchall's 'Belter' against Mexico)

*(I know that Gwadloup and Mantik are dependencies of France)

I feel is a toss up between Di Stefano and Eusebio. Eusebio for one is still regarded by many Portuguese as their best player ever.

Ferec Puskas (excuse my spelling) played for Hungary and Spain. He could more than make that list. Brilliant player by all accounts.

I feel is a toss up between Di Stefano and Eusebio. Eusebio for one is still regarded by many Portuguese as their best player ever.

Ferec Puskas (excuse my spelling) played for Hungary and Spain. He could more than make that list. Brilliant player by all accounts.

Thanks.

Chris Birchall is the winner of this hands down!   ;)

Thomasz Radzinski - Poland/Canada

Among the greatest:

Deco - Brazil/Portugal
Marcel Desailly - Ghana/France

Offline Trinidogg

Chris Birchall is the winner of this hands down!   ;)

From the list i probably will go with... Patrick Vieira (Senegal/France)

Thierry Henry - Guadeloupe/France

Edgar Davids - Surinam/Holland

Mario Balotelli - Ghana/Italy U21
« Last Edit: July 13, 2009, 04:01:26 PM by palos »

Offline Trinidogg

I heard this before but every time i look up on it the websites say he was born in Paris France ???... i know Lillian Thuram was born in Guadalupe though...

The Hardest!!!!!

Thierry Henry was Born in France and Balotelli was Born in Italy

 Robbie Earl of the Reggae Britz

he quit after the World up 98

Davids better than Rijkaard?

Ray Houghton

what !!!! all yuh eh have Shaka on dat list ? ...de man played for we in dat historic WC ...the first we ever played in ...and really excelled !!

The born in "France" distinction in the case of the Antilleans does not "carry" in the same way as does others ... Guadeloupe is France.

Anyway, the sentimental favourite for me from those listed is Tresor ... (first name Marius). Check this article from last year: http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/news/newsid=753188.html

« Last Edit: July 13, 2009, 07:54:25 PM by asylumseeker »

not a stupid thread CB

One thing I do notice about the players that come to my mind is that they moved to the country they represented very early in their life. It is rare you'll find someone you made an significant or memorable impact who didn't live in that country for long period of time, if at all.... (excluding Robbie Earle - 1st World Cup Goal Ever or Birchall's 'Belter' against Mexico)

Emmanuel Olisadebe (Nigeria/Poland)

can't think of too many non-native Croats that have repped that country so Brasilian born Eduardo Da Silva.

There was another Brasilian, Alessandro Santos who played for Japan in the WC.

Argentine born Mauro Camoranesi won a WC with Italy - not even Di Stefano accomplished that.

.... and there are probably more foreign born players to play for the US in recent years than any other team - even Jamaica.

Mauro Camoranesi (Argentina/Italy)

Marcos Senna - Brazil / Spain
Owen Hargreaves - Canada / England
Kevin Kuranyi - Brazil/Germany
Shaka Hislop - England/T&T

Randy Samuel TT -Canada...arguably the best defender at the 1986 WC.

Tigana Mali - France

Rijkaard was born in Holland (Amsterdam)

Henry was born in France (Parisian suburbs) & Balotelli was born in Italy.

Carib-Briton- this is a good thread... heritage is an interesting thing...

But when ah see Thomas Radzinski & Owen Hargreaves names gettin' call ah wonder if we trying to name the greatest, or if we just makin' a database of all lol... ;D  That said lewwe throw Fredy Adu in de mix nah....lol
« Last Edit: July 14, 2009, 09:01:06 AM by kicker »

But when ah see Thomas Radzinski & Owen Hargreaves names gettin' call ah wonder if we trying to name the greatest, or if we just makin' a database of all lol... ;D  That said lewwe throw Fredy Adu in de mix nah....lol

maybe I'm mistaken, but remember hearing something about Rijkaard being born in Suriname, or maybe he just has roots there.

currently..german strikers podolski and klose...both polish
not the best but damn good players that poland must be  :banginghead: they representing germany

The born in "France" distinction in the case of the Antilleans does not "carry" in the same way as does others ... Guadeloupe is France.

Anyway, the sentimental favourite for me from those listed is Tresor ... (first name Marius). Check this article from last year: http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/news/newsid=753188.html

Asylumseeker I said already that I knew that in my first post check the asterisks and the bottom of my post. Maybe I didn't explain it in a way that did show that I knew.

If this is better: Thierry Henry was born in the Metropolis, ''The Mainland'',..... Paris.

LOL @ BM

I think Marcos Senna is good call also Asylumseeker with Emmanuel Olisadebe, Tigana etc. Alot of players who mentioned have made a good contribution.

Thanks for all the replies to the thread.

The mention of Ray Houghton made me think of Aiden McGeady (No way this guy has made the same
contribution as RH lol) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSS61Deu8t8

Paul McGrath was born in Ealing, London and grew up in Dublin I forget.

LOL.

I forget about Adu sometimes... wow all that hype.

maybe I'm mistaken, but remember hearing something about Rijkaard being born in Suriname, or maybe he just has roots there.

Probably his roots...many black (mulatto in the case of Rijkaard) dutchmen have roots in the Dutch Antilles.

Claude Makelele - Zaire/France
Oliver Neuville - Switzerland/Germany
Kevin Muscat - England/Australia
Milan Ivanovic - Serbia/Australia
Oceano da Cruz - Cape Verde/Portugal
Terry Butcher - Singapore/England
Tab Ramos - Uruguay/USA
Earnie Stewart - Netherlands/USA
Roy Wegerle - South Africa/USA
Ivica Vastic - Croatia/Austria
Marouane Chamakh - France/Morocco

Asylumseeker I said already that I knew that in my first post check the asterisks and the bottom of my post. Maybe I didn't explain it in a way that did show that I knew.

If this is better: Thierry Henry was born in the Metropolis, ''The Mainland'',..... Paris.

LOL @ BM

I think Marcos Senna is good call also Asylumseeker with Emmanuel Olisadebe, Tigana etc. Alot of players who mentioned have made a good contribution.

Thanks for all the replies to the thread.

The mention of Ray Houghton made me think of Aiden McGeady (No way this guy has made the same
contribution as RH lol) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSS61Deu8t8

Paul McGrath was born in Ealing, London and grew up in Dublin I forget.

Do not be so quick to believe that.  There is mystery surrounding the birthplace of Henry and this has been so for many years.  Henry has been said to be born in Guadeloupe, Haiti, and France.  Similarly Kareem Abdul Jabaar wasn't born in the US but you will find oodles of sources saying he was.  Unless you see de man bithpaper doh puh yuh head on no block.

acb..reputable sources have him born in Holland. I do not think there is any public record of him disputing that.