April 19, 2024, 05:16:40 AM

Author Topic: UK visa delays Scotland's move to Wigan.  (Read 2454 times)

UK visa delays Scotland's move to Wigan.
« on: July 17, 2009, 07:49:34 AM »
UK visa delays Scotland's move to Wigan.
By: Mark Johnstone (GlobalVisas).

Wigan Athletic haven’t quite got their man as transfer target Jason Scotland awaits his UK visa.

The Trinidad and Tobago striker cannot complete his move to the UK football club until he has official clearance.

The 30-year old has already been granted a UK work permit at a court appeal hearing, but he must await this final hurdle in the UK visa process before his transfer from Swansea Football Club is a done deal.

Scotland has agreed a two year contract with Wigan but he may miss the club’s pre-season tour to Austria next week if he does not receive the legal paperwork in time.

In July 2005, the player was involved in another UK visa wrangle when he had his work permit application turned down. His then club, St Johnstone, were able to gain a UK work visa on his behalf within three weeks of his being turned down and an appeal rejected.

Scotland will join Wigan from Swansea for a transfer fee of around £2million.

He will once again play under former manager Roberto Martinez. The Wigan boss was keen to sign the striker who scored 65 goals in 97 matches at his last club.

"Jason is a natural goalscorer, I can't really put it any other way. Every manager wants a player who has that clinical ability to make something happen in the box, and Jason can do that. He is strong, very physical, and his feet can produce the magic ingredient every team needs in the box,” said Martinez.

On his move to the play at the JJB Stadium, Scotland said:

"I am so excited to get a chance in the Premier League. I want to show the manager he has done the right thing by bringing me here.”

Re: UK visa delays Scotland's move to Wigan.
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 08:16:27 AM »
I'm a bit surprised Scotland still need a visa? Hasn't he been resident in the UK for more than five years now? I would have thought he would be eligible to claim residency by now, I guess his work permit issues in 2005 must count against him.

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 08:20:32 AM »
I'm a bit surprised Scotland still need a visa? Hasn't he been resident in the UK for more than five years now? I would have thought he would be eligible to claim residency by now, I guess his work permit issues in 2005 must count against him.

That's the ticket right there.  The clock was restarted when that occured.  So he in essence only has 4 years of residency.  Of course one can make a case for these things to change, but that would depend on your goal.  In this instance I would like to believe its simply a formality as opposed to a potential heartbreaking situation for Scotty.

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2009, 08:46:20 AM »
hopefully the permit goes through and he can fulfill his dream, but I can't help but think - what if the question comes up as to the number of internationals he has played - and that decision to stay and play for Swansea over coming to play for TT comes back to bite him in the rear.

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2009, 08:53:34 AM »
hopefully the permit goes through and he can fulfill his dream, but I can't help but think - what if the question comes up as to the number of internationals he has played - and that decision to stay and play for Swansea over coming to play for TT comes back to bite him in the rear.

He done get approve for de work permit... he safe...

The 30-year old has already been granted a UK work permit at a court appeal hearing, but he must await this final hurdle in the UK visa process before his transfer from Swansea Football Club is a done deal.

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2009, 01:50:17 PM »
Fellas....do Trinidad and Tobago citizens need  a visa to go England...could someone answer that question for meh

« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2009, 02:00:49 PM »
Fellas....do Trinidad and Tobago citizens need  a visa to go England...could someone answer that question for meh

I think we do, I never went so me eh kno fuh sure buh I believe so.

Offline Warrior30

« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2009, 02:03:19 PM »
Last time I went in 2002 I did not need a VISA once you have a Trini passport
For de love of de game

« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2009, 02:05:41 PM »

Not to visit, but you need one to work  :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2009, 02:07:38 PM »
Last time I went in 2002 I did not need a VISA once you have a Trini passport

oh ho, nice!  Glad to kno I eh need to go through no hassles to make da flex

« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2009, 02:09:08 PM »
F#CK ZAMORA

« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2009, 02:10:03 PM »
F#CK ZAMORA

:rotfl: :rotfl: wham any thread dat mention England remind yuh how much yuh eh like him aought?  :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2009, 12:27:31 AM »
F#CK ZAMORA
Careful some folks here doh misconscrew! (normally spelt misconstrue).
Doh forget Zamora is ah man eh?!  ;)

Anyway we can take solace in the fact that your last mantra was ... WE BEATING MEXICO!! so folks doh have to worry about you or any other man on this forum trying to F#CK ZAMORA
Well at least ah hoping eh as is not the Bajan Rockets we supporting!!  :-\
« Last Edit: July 18, 2009, 01:45:01 AM by Socapro »