April 25, 2024, 08:51:09 PM

Author Topic: Toronto Raptors Report 09-10  (Read 18180 times)

Toronto Raptors Report 09-10
« on: July 17, 2009, 12:38:27 PM »
Oh man what do we have here in Demar Derozan ,This kid has hops like Vince but looks polished than vince was even 3 yrs into the league .
This kid can pass ,can shoot with great shot selection even hitting 3s ,we had to bring in Curry to teach Vince those things .Demar is 6"7 ,and can even play defense ,blocking shots ! .Yow this kid could be rookie of the year. check him out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbOgK1tTFQw&NR=1

Plus TO signed Hedo Turkoglu ,We got Rasho back for our defense ,with Reggie Evans.Plus Antoine Wright and
F Devean George.
This a decent team we have here .
« Last Edit: July 19, 2009, 05:12:55 AM by Quagmire »

Re: Toronto Raptors 09-10
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 12:42:29 PM »
i does hardly see TO on tv down here in sc but maybe if they get hot this season the networks might show some more of they games, who knows.

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 01:28:55 PM »
Yeah if this kid  ,makes a run for the RoY ,TnT might pick up a few games ,the East gonna be Nasty this yr doh .
Oh year this kid can dribble past opponents ,Vince still cant do that .
am not sold on our coach as yet doh .
« Last Edit: July 17, 2009, 01:47:09 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2009, 09:47:09 PM »
Yeah if this kid  ,makes a run for the RoY ,TnT might pick up a few games ,the East gonna be Nasty this yr doh .

man I hear all dat rah rah...last year jermaine & bosh killer combo..and year before with bagnanny

me eh beleive nuttn colangelo hadda say at dis point
...and yuh right,,,triano seem too passive for this level...classic canuck characteristic

Re: Toronto Raptors Report 09-10
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2009, 08:38:07 AM »
as much as I understand your disappointment with VC, any 9th pick in the draft will do well to have a career like that.

« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2009, 04:14:13 PM »

man I hear all dat rah rah...last year jermaine & bosh killer combo..and year before with bagnanny

me eh beleive nuttn colangelo hadda say at dis point
...and yuh right,,,triano seem too passive for this level...classic canuck characteristic
Eint BCO didnt really impress me yet ,but say what daiz how everybody is do just sign ppl then trade them .What can we do this is our team ,I think is licks coming doh ,but the team ok .We just sign Jarret Jack outta Indiana ,hes a great back up point guard ,actually took the starting job away from TJ Ford .
Daryn tell me about it ,but it to early to get excited over this kid .
starting lineup

PG Jose
SG Antoine Wright [Delfino if he signs]
SF Turk
PF Bosh
C Bargs

Second/Third String

PG Jack/Roko/banks
SG Derozan/ Quincy Douby
SF George
PF Evans/O'Bryant
C Rasho/Pops
« Last Edit: July 23, 2009, 07:28:41 AM by Quagmire »

« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2009, 12:09:50 PM »
with this team 2nd rd. of de playoffs not likely. >:(

« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2009, 11:34:26 AM »
just making the playoff sounding good oui . But we will beat teams with this side ,especially if Bargnani and Derozan play beyond expectations ,we might make 2nd rounds .
Antoine Wright played for Dallas ,and was one of they big surprises last year ,he put aside his struggling offense and worked on his defense ,took Billups out the game against the Nuggets in the post season .
Toronto has zero defense ,we suck ,so to have Wright fall een our laps for free ,in the Turkgolu trade ,to make the numbers work is great .
Plus Jarret Jack has a good defense ,and so to does Reggie Evan who is one of the best Rebounders in the NBA and Rasho learned under Tim Duncan.So might actually be able to stop teams this year .
We suppose to have a high octane   offense .We shall see. Think we have room for one more player under the cap.
Bargnani improve after Sam Mitchell left under Triano ,and has a new 5 yr deal ,at the end last yr was averaging 20 points .Between him Bosh ,Turk and jose thats 80 points .
« Last Edit: July 29, 2009, 12:16:18 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2009, 07:34:36 PM »
Oh this so sweet ,Bryan Colangelo impress me this yr oui . Toronto trades old man Devean George who was a trow een ,in the dallas trade for Hedo . And recieves Marco Belinelli , from the Warriors whoo whooo. Kid could play him and Bargs are teamates in Italy .

« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2009, 10:43:44 AM »
Toronto trades the rights to Carlos Delfino and Roko Ukic to Milwaukee Bucks for Amir Johnson and Sonny Weems ,to defensive young guys for nothing .

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2009, 08:25:39 PM »
Toronto trades the rights to Carlos Delfino and Roko Ukic to Milwaukee Bucks for Amir Johnson and Sonny Weems ,to defensive young guys for nothing .

Is dis a good trade?
Only time will tell

« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2009, 08:37:40 PM »
am right here by track so I will give you a quick reply  :beermug: . Yep sure it is only down side is weems contract I guess ,even doh its not that bad .We won the trade ,cause Defino wanted to much money ,and we are stacked with players in his spot now.And Roko would never get minutes here with Jose and Jack,to develop .There gone.
Johnson like to Dunk and loves to get his rebounds ,hes a diamond in the rough who played with Detroit and never got minutes,think he got drafted by Chicago s John Paxon ,and nobody picks them like Paxon .
Weems not bad either with his defense ,only problem for them is trying to get playing time on this team.were stacked top to bottom with talent,we got them for nothing and might trade them for draft picks so we"ll win again .
Also now Pops might not come back .

oh yeah johnson is nearly 7ft tall .

check him http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1CqtnnPtSs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lXByT3588c&NR=1
« Last Edit: August 18, 2009, 08:47:56 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2009, 10:56:31 AM »
STRENGTHS: The two best offseason moves were acquiring Hedo Turkoglu in a sign-and-trade and signing guard Jarrett Jack ... Turkoglu is one of the NBA’s top clutch players, who showed his versatility in helping Orlando reach the NBA Finals ... Jack can play either guard position and will be a fixture on both ends of the court ... Point guard Jose Calderon is a great decision maker and has led the league in assist-to-turnovers the past two years ... Expect Calderon and Jack to play together at times in the backcourt ... Chris Bosh remains one of the top players in the NBA ... So consistent, Bosh can be penciled in for 22 points and 10 rebounds ... Forward Reggie Evans, acquired from Philadelphia, gives Toronto some needed toughness ... First-round pick DeMar DeRozan is an athletic wing player who could see immediate playing time ... Swingman Antoine Wright could be an underrated acquisition who is more of a defensive player ... Center Andrea Bargnani (15.4 ppg) should continue to make strides ... Despite being a 7-footer, he has more of a perimeter game ... The Raptors led the league in free throw shooting and should again as long as Evans doesn’t get to the line too much ... Marco Belinelli, who never developed in Golden State, could give the Raptors yet another perimeter threat ... The acquisition of Amir Johnson provides depth and athleticism in the frontcourt.

WEAKNESSES: The Raptors still may rely too much on the perimeter game and not get enough inside scoring ... With so many new players, it may take time for everybody to get used to one another ... Even with the addition of Evans, the Raptors’ toughness will still be questioned ... The Raptors remain a below average defensive team, although coach Jay Triano says defending will be a high priority.

PROJECTION: 2nd in the Atlantic Division / 5th in the Eastern Conference

PROJECTED STARTERS

PG Jose Calderon - The steady Spanish point guard should look fresher after taking the summer off. Toronto doesn't need him to score much, which is good.
SG Antoine Wright - No star, but a pretty well-rounded wing player. Will compete for playing time with Marco Belinelli, Jarrett Jack and the rookie DeRozan.
SF Hedo Turkoglu - The do-it-all Turkish forward can be a great addition. Consistently good in crunch time situations. Not that young anymore.
PF Chris Bosh - All-Star skills. Bulked up during the offseason to be more of an inside presence for the Raptors. Should be dominant in the paint.
C Andrea Bargnani - Must build on last year's late-season surge. No question about his talent and shooting skills, but he needs to show more competitive fire.
sixth man - Jarrett Jack - Heady playmaker that will probably spend time on the court at the shooting guard spot along with Calderon. Nice pickup by Toronto.

http://hoopshype.com/previews/toronto.htm

« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2009, 12:20:12 PM »
It's the start of the season so everybody filled with anticipation and hope.  So am I as a Raptors fan.

EXCEPT

IMO the main problem with this team is a lack of defence, rebounding and toughness.

So we sign Hedo Terkoglu?

Huh?

I hope this euro team gels because I'm a fan...but honestly....nothing has been done to address the core weakness of the squad.

Jay Triano's really a rookie NBA coach even though he's been around basketball A LONG TIME and very well respected in the league.

I don't think Chris Bosh will ever become the dominant player I hoped he would become.

I like Bargnani and I think he'll grow again as a player this season, but I don't think he'll ever become a top defensive player.  Doesn't have the mindset.  He has a shot of being a Dirk Nowitzki which is what I believe Colangelo believes he will become, but it's a long shot.

Jose Calderon is a good, steady, reliable, BACKUP GUARD.  I love JC but I doubt he could grind it out night in night out over a 82 game season and then step it up in the playoffs.  Colangelo had the ideal situation in TJ and JC and somehow managed to f**k that up.

Hedo is a scorer and nothing else.  And we better make the playoffs or you'll see just how disinterested he gets.

Reggie Evans is a journeyman's journeyman.  He's being hyped as this defensive specialist when in reality, he's just a borderline dirty player.   He'll give effort though...as all journeymen do.  He does the same stuff as Chris Humphries except he's older, less skilled, and dirtier.  I guess that's what passes for "toughness" in Colangelo's world.

Good luck to my team though.  Regardless, I'll be backing them and hoping against hope that it turns out to be a good season.  But bottom line, we might be "smart" but we're not athletic enough and in today's NBA, athleticism trumps all.

If there was a Lady Byng Trophy for best behaved team though, my Raptors would be odds on to win that.

« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2009, 03:48:27 PM »
oh boy... here comes a nother lingering raptor report for a hopefully 500 ball club.. side popping up in the "Other Sports" section.. every week until June 2010..

« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2009, 05:58:25 PM »
oh boy... here comes a nother lingering raptor report for a hopefully 500 ball club.. side popping up in the "Other Sports" section.. every week until June 2010..

And fuh all dat STILL doin better dan de overpriced, overhyped, and undertalented knickerbockers.  8)

« Reply #16 on: October 01, 2009, 08:47:00 PM »

And fuh all dat STILL doin better dan de overpriced, overhyped, and undertalented knickerbockers.  8)

in 2010.. that statement will read like

de overpriced, overhyped, and undertalented KING James knickerbockers

;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2009, 06:40:04 PM »
It's the start of the season so everybody filled with anticipation and hope.  So am I as a Raptors fan.

EXCEPT

IMO the main problem with this team is a lack of defence, rebounding and toughness.

So we sign Hedo Terkoglu?

Huh?

I hope this euro team gels because I'm a fan...but honestly....nothing has been done to address the core weakness of the squad.

Jay Triano's really a rookie NBA coach even though he's been around basketball A LONG TIME and very well respected in the league.

I don't think Chris Bosh will ever become the dominant player I hoped he would become.

I like Bargnani and I think he'll grow again as a player this season, but I don't think he'll ever become a top defensive player.  Doesn't have the mindset.  He has a shot of being a Dirk Nowitzki which is what I believe Colangelo believes he will become, but it's a long shot.

Jose Calderon is a good, steady, reliable, BACKUP GUARD.  I love JC but I doubt he could grind it out night in night out over a 82 game season and then step it up in the playoffs.  Colangelo had the ideal situation in TJ and JC and somehow managed to f**k that up.

Hedo is a scorer and nothing else.  And we better make the playoffs or you'll see just how disinterested he gets.

Reggie Evans is a journeyman's journeyman.  He's being hyped as this defensive specialist when in reality, he's just a borderline dirty player.   He'll give effort though...as all journeymen do.  He does the same stuff as Chris Humphries except he's older, less skilled, and dirtier.  I guess that's what passes for "toughness" in Colangelo's world.

Good luck to my team though.  Regardless, I'll be backing them and hoping against hope that it turns out to be a good season.  But bottom line, we might be "smart" but we're not athletic enough and in today's NBA, athleticism trumps all.

If there was a Lady Byng Trophy for best behaved team though, my Raptors would be odds on to win that.

It look so ,half time in the 1st preseason game . Ah seeing it ,so much abundant talent ,but the coaches to busy teaching new stuff ahhh .They ein going one ass place .

« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2009, 06:46:52 PM »

;D ;D

when yuh really tink about it,ah player with king james talent and potential,it only have 2 cities to play fuh.NY or LA.

« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2009, 06:50:37 PM »

;D ;D

when yuh really tink about it,ah player with king james talent and potential,it only have 2 cities to play fuh.NY or LA.

Even den, he go cyah win a NBA title!  :devil:

« Reply #20 on: October 06, 2009, 07:04:22 PM »

;D ;D

king james will win more titles than kobe.

« Reply #21 on: October 06, 2009, 07:09:06 PM »
Two weeks before the playoffs ,triano and them go still be teaching .Let the men play ,daiz why the hire them and them is get 12 mill and as a coach you is get 1mill  ,we f**ked .

« Reply #22 on: October 06, 2009, 08:16:13 PM »

;D ;D

Wha title dat? 

BIGGEST SORE LOSER IN ALL OF SPORTS?  ;D

It was assumed he was called "King James" because he reigns on the basketball court. But maybe LeBron James earned that nickname due to his tyrannical ways (in dealing with embarrassment).

On Monday, Jordan Crawford, a sophomore at Xavier (by way of Indiana), reportedly dunked on LeBron during a pick-up game at the LeBron James Skills Academy. Gary Parrish of CBSSports.com wrote that one high school player said, "it was bad". (We can only assume he meant "bad" in the Michael Jackson sort of way.)

LeBron must have agreed, because he had Nike officials confiscate the two videos that were taken of the dunk. (Parrish blames Nike, but reading between the lines it seems like the censorship was orchestrated by LeBron himself.)

« Reply #23 on: October 07, 2009, 11:17:55 AM »

;D ;D

Wha title dat? 

BIGGEST SORE LOSER IN ALL OF SPORTS?  ;D

It was assumed he was called "King James" because he reigns on the basketball court. But maybe LeBron James earned that nickname due to his tyrannical ways (in dealing with embarrassment).

On Monday, Jordan Crawford, a sophomore at Xavier (by way of Indiana), reportedly dunked on LeBron during a pick-up game at the LeBron James Skills Academy. Gary Parrish of CBSSports.com wrote that one high school player said, "it was bad". (We can only assume he meant "bad" in the Michael Jackson sort of way.)

LeBron must have agreed, because he had Nike officials confiscate the two videos that were taken of the dunk. (Parrish blames Nike, but reading between the lines it seems like the censorship was orchestrated by LeBron himself.)

Dat sound about correck. More titles than Kobe  :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: October 28, 2009, 08:05:54 PM »
Holy Shit whooooooooo. ive never seen the Raptors so good ,in my life and Ive watched from day one 15 years ago . I take back what I said .
And we didnt even play to our full potential man .cleveland was just fustrated came back from 20 ,and promptly when back down 14 hehe. For tonite atleast just to many weapons ,to much looks ,to much players ,to much depth ,to much different kinda shots  .

« Reply #25 on: October 28, 2009, 08:59:21 PM »
cavs lorse they fuss two. ???

« Reply #26 on: October 28, 2009, 09:54:35 PM »
They were more than beaten ,the were beaten outta the gym .Toronto only needed to call one time out ,at the end of the game at that .

« Reply #27 on: October 29, 2009, 07:18:50 AM »
They were more than beaten ,the were beaten outta the gym .Toronto only needed to call one time out ,at the end of the game at that .
blame shaq. ::)

« Reply #28 on: October 29, 2009, 10:23:51 AM »

Easy horse.  Is jes one game  8)

« Reply #29 on: October 29, 2009, 10:44:55 AM »

Easy horse.  Is jes one game  8)
yeah I know , but a really good game .Andrea really doing well under Triano ,all the players really ,11 players scored last nite .
About Triano it have a nice mini series about the pre season camp ,I thought it was good ,check it out if you want . Scroll down the vids to The Beginning: Part 1
http://www.nba.com/raptors/video/originals/index.html