March 28, 2024, 07:21:36 AM

Author Topic: Scotland scores and assists in first pre-season match  (Read 4032 times)

Scotland scores and assists in first pre-season match
« on: July 28, 2009, 02:40:47 PM »
Wigan Athletic 4 - Peston North End 1

Scotty came on after the half-time break.

48min: GOAL! 3-0 LATICS! Michael Brown's latches onto a squared ball from Jason Scotland to drill into the bottom left corner from the edge of the box. Smart finish and a neat set-up from Scotland, first touches in a Latics shirt have been good ones!

58min: Jason Scotland looking as though he's not relying purely on strength and force but willing to get the ball down and move it round. Playing up front on his own it seems with a five-man midfield behind him.

65min: Scotland puts Gomez through into the area but the Spaniard just can't reach the ball and pushes it wide.

78min: GOAL! 4-0 LATICS! Jason Scotland scores on his ebut for Latics! Michael Brown strikes from outside the area and the keeper can't hold onto it. Like any good striker Scotland pounces on the rebound and fires into the left hand corner.

84mins:  Another great chance for Jason Scotland after Michael Brown lays off a lovely ball from Scotland to strike straight at Lonergan.

New hero Scotland scores on debut as Latics run riot
By Paul Chialton (wiganlactics.co.uk)

Jason Scotland got his Wigan Athletic career off to a flyer at Deepdale, coming off the bench to score his first goal for the club and set up another as Roberto Martinez's men ran riot against Preston North End.

It was the game where everything finally clicked for Martinez and Scotland's goal was the icing on the cake.

The Trinidad & Tobago striker pouncing on a Michael Brown shot parried by the keeper and slotting into the bottom left-hand corner.

It was a bit of a role reversal in truth as moments earlier Scotland had set-up Brown on the edge of the box to put Latics 3-0 up.

Martinez really did get it spot on against the Championship side with his team, sporting this season's new orange away kit, controlling the game from start to finish.

His first-half team set up with attack in mind, Hugo Rodallega backed up by Charles N'Zogbia, the talismanic Jordi Gomez and Daniel de Ridder, who collectively fluctuated the pace of the game in Preston's half.

Lee Cattermole showed there's more to his game than charging down players, as he controlled the majority of the game, pinging balls out left and right, and creating some really positive passages of play.

It was one such ball that brought on the opening goal, playing the unstoppable N'Zogbia down the right-wing. The Frenchman cut back onto his left-foot and swung a cross in for Rodallega to head home.

Moments later N'Zogbia doubled the lead, picking up the ball in the same area, riding two challenges and slotting the ball into the bottom left corner for a really smart finish.

The second-half set-up with five in the middle looking to support the lone Scotland, and it worked well in bringing about another goal as well as dominating territory in the middle of the park.

Neil Mellor did squeeze an equaliser late on to bring some joy to the home crowd, but by then the 1000 or so travelling Latics fans were singing about their new hero up front.

Preston North End 1
Mellor, 86
Wigan Athletic 4
Rodallega 36
N'Zogbia 38
Brown 48
Scotland 78

Latics: Kirkland; Melchiot, Bramble (Scharner, 45), Boyce, Figueroa (Edman, 45); Cattermole (Watson, 78), Thomas (Cho, 45); de Ridder (Brown, 45), Gomez, N'Zogbia (Bouaouzan, 45); Rodallega (Scotland, 45)
Subs: Pollitt, Routledge, Holt, Cywka, Kupisz

Preston: Henderson (Lonergan); Hart, Trotman, Chilvers, Nolan (Davidson); Nicholson, Carter, Jones, Wallace (Sedgwick); Brown (Parkin), Elliott (Mellor)
Subs: Chaplow, Hawley
« Last Edit: July 28, 2009, 09:29:22 PM by FireBrand »

Re: Scotland scores and assists in first pre-season match
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2009, 02:49:50 PM »
SCOTTYYYYYYYYYYY on FIREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2009, 03:02:58 PM »
watch out EPL!!!!
let me introduce you to our man who is doing what he normally does ;D ;D

Buss dem JS!!
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2009, 03:36:00 PM »
By Paul Chialton (wiganlatics.co.uk)

Jason Scotland got his Wigan Athletic career off to a flyer at Deepdale, coming off the bench to score his first goal for the club and set up another as Roberto Martinez's men ran riot against Preston North End.

It was the game where everything finally clicked for Martinez and Scotland's goal was the icing on the cake.

The Trinidad & Tobago striker pouncing on a Michael Brown shot parried by the keeper and slotting into the bottom left-hand corner.

It was a bit of a role reversal in truth as moments earlier Scotland had set-up Brown on the edge of the box to put Latics 3-0 up.

Martinez really did get it spot on against the Championship side with his team, sporting this season's new orange away kit, controlling the game from start to finish.

His first-half team set up with attack in mind, Hugo Rodallega backed up by Charles N'Zogbia, the talismanic Jordi Gomez and Daniel de Ridder, who collectively fluctuated the pace of the game in Preston's half.

Lee Cattermole showed there's more to his game than charging down players, as he controlled the majority of the game, pinging balls out left and right, and creating some really positive passages of play.

It was one such ball that brought on the opening goal, playing the unstoppable N'Zogbia down the right-wing. The Frenchman cut back onto his left-foot and swung a cross in for Rodallega to head home.

Moments later N'Zogbia doubled the lead, picking up the ball in the same area, riding two challenges and slotting the ball into the bottom left corner for a really smart finish.

The second-half set-up with five in the middle looking to support the lone Scotland, and it worked well in bringing about another goal as well as dominating territory in the middle of the park.

Neil Mellor did squeeze an equaliser late on to bring some joy to the home crowd, but by then the 1000 or so travelling Latics fans were singing about their new hero up front.

Preston North End 1
Mellor, 86
Wigan Athletic 4
Rodallega 36
N'Zogbia 38
Brown 48
Scotland 78

Latics: Kirkland; Melchiot, Bramble (Scharner, 45), Boyce, Figueroa (Edman, 45); Cattermole (Watson, 78), Thomas (Cho, 45); de Ridder (Brown, 45), Gomez, N'Zogbia (Bouaouzan, 45); Rodallega (Scotland, 45)
Subs: Pollitt, Routledge, Holt, Cywka, Kupisz

Preston: Henderson (Lonergan); Hart, Trotman, Chilvers, Nolan (Davidson); Nicholson, Carter, Jones, Wallace (Sedgwick); Brown (Parkin), Elliott (Mellor)
Subs: Chaplow, Hawley

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2009, 04:51:48 PM »
Shhhhhhhhhhhhh

« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2009, 05:32:30 PM »
ah go be lickrish if ah ask 4 higlights, ent

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2009, 05:44:04 PM »
Just saw it on sky sports his goal was just a tap in after the keeper fail to hold on to a shot by Brown... his assist was a nice lil pass just outisde of the box...

« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2009, 07:02:55 PM »
Keep them coming, Scottie.

« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2009, 07:08:07 PM »
Scotty Keep making us Proud. SWN had your back from Jump.

« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2009, 08:18:49 PM »

true, i agree. but ah wish he have we back too an start scorin some blasted goals fuh we.

« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2009, 08:56:06 PM »
big yuhself up scotty.yuh in de dance now. :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2009, 09:41:56 PM »
Dey have him in d Hcategory Hero not Hound hmmmmmmmmmmmm

« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2009, 09:52:58 PM »
Finally! a side to support besides Sunderland  :devil:

Hard luck dey Kev

« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2009, 11:07:33 PM »

true, i agree. but ah wish he have we back too an start scorin some blasted goals fuh we.
Yuh take the words right off meh finger tips sistren. ;D  not tuh be ah sour puss, but how scotty makin we proud, sttuueeepppsss! dat feker eh score ah goal for we since 2004.

i eh have nutten against the bredder and i real glad the fella get the opportunity tuh make some nice paper in england, but makin US proud, as in all of US ? i don't think so. i will be proud when he start bussin up honduras, mexico and USA net, and all the rest ah teams in the hex.

what i believe yuh meant tuh say was, he makin them scotts, welch and english proud! but we trinis doh share in that wealth.

« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2009, 04:19:30 PM »
nuf blessings bro

« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2009, 12:03:40 AM »

Yuh take the words right off meh finger tips sistren. ;D  not tuh be ah sour puss, but how scotty makin we proud, sttuueeepppsss! dat feker eh score ah goal for we since 2004.

i eh have nutten against the bredder and i real glad the fella get the opportunity tuh make some nice paper in england, but makin US proud, as in all of US ? i don't think so. i will be proud when he start bussin up honduras, mexico and USA net, and all the rest ah teams in the hex.

what i believe yuh meant tuh say was, he makin them scotts, welch and english proud! but we trinis doh share in that wealth.

Cosign to the power of 9, in fact I think Scottie owes us at least 9 goals by now!
I'm patiently :waiting: for JS to make us Trinis feel proud of him when repping us in the red, white & black especially if Latas puts faith in him starting for us once again!!
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 12:25:46 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2009, 03:22:21 PM »

That is not true....

« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2009, 05:01:39 PM »

That is not true....
I was gonna note the same but I eh bother. The goalposts would just be moved.

« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2009, 06:09:30 PM »
Some men does come on this site and talk some serious shit boy.........whey sah!!

« Reply #20 on: August 01, 2009, 03:54:05 AM »

That is not true....

I talking bout WCQ!! not no forkin friendly against dominican republic or the gold cup! allyuh just like tuh ,make man feel small! and what if i underestimated, just correct ah MDAFKR and move on, weh allyuh feel, this is jeopardy ??! sttuueeppsss

« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2009, 06:19:48 PM »
Scotty assists in Wigan loss.
Sportinglife.com

Wigan's preparations for the new Premier League season suffered a setback at Carrow Road as they lost 3-2 at League One Norwich - after twice being ahead.

The Latics went in front after just nine minutes through Charles N'Zogbia's cool finish, but the impressive Canaries were back on level terms before the break as Chris Martin sidefooted home Jon Otsemobor's cross after some poor defending on the right.

Wigan quickly regained the lead through Cho Won-Hee who produced a superb finish after being set up by Jason Scotland's clever pass.

But the hosts had the final word, quickly equalising through Martin's second goal of the game before grabbing a winner after 76 minutes when Simon Whaley slipped the ball past keeper Mike Pollitt.

« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2009, 10:28:48 AM »

That is not true....

I talking bout WCQ!! not no forkin friendly against dominican republic or the gold cup! allyuh just like tuh ,make man feel small! and what if i underestimated, just correct ah MDAFKR and move on, weh allyuh feel, this is jeopardy ??! sttuueeppsss

U talking about dem liking to make man feel small, yet u belittling Scotland with utter untruths. Yuh on Scotland case, but when last ANY of our strikers score in WCQ?? Look at it as a positive, maybe it's a sign he catching some form, and that may translate to the national team. No need to shit on the man accomplishments to make your point.

« Reply #23 on: August 04, 2009, 10:59:37 AM »
U talking about dem liking to make man feel small, yet u belittling Scotland with utter untruths. Yuh on Scotland case, but when last ANY of our strikers score in WCQ?? Look at it as a positive, maybe it's a sign he catching some form, and that may translate to the national team. No need to shit on the man accomplishments to make your point.

Buh how else he go lend credence to he rantings fella :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: August 04, 2009, 09:53:40 PM »

That is not true....

If you call talking the truth about him sh!tting on his accomplishments then that's what i'm doing ! sue me!!!

BTW i real glad for scotty that he could amass some chedder, but the only time i will feel proud of him is when he start scoring for T&T.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2009, 09:56:12 PM by just cool »

« Reply #25 on: August 05, 2009, 07:08:04 AM »

BTW i real glad for scotty that he could amass some chedder, but the only time i will feel proud of him is when he start scoring for T&T.

Just as long as u ready to blast KJ too