March 28, 2024, 09:20:14 AM

Author Topic: Hector keeps Connection CCL hopes alive.  (Read 3798 times)

Hector keeps Connection CCL hopes alive.
« on: August 01, 2009, 07:31:37 AM »
Hector keeps Connection CCL hopes alive.
...but Red Bulls in driver seat.
By: Inshan Flex Mohammed.

Hughton Hector’s 72nd minute equalizer off a defensive miscue lifted W Connection to a 2-2 draw with the New York Red Bulls in the opening leg of a CONCACAF Champions League Preliminary Round series at Manny Ramjohn Stadium Thursday night.

The teams travelled to Giants Stadium on Wednesday for the second leg with the Red Bulls holding the advantage of two away goals.

The Red Bulls were trailing in the 40th minute off a Jonathan Frias goal when the striker made sure the ball entered the net after Hughton Hector corner was mistakenly headed onto the goal post by Juan Pablo Angel.

Frias was lurking in the NYRB penalty area and was the first to react as he quickly tapped the ball into the back of the net to send his team into their locker room with a 1-0 lead.

However, the lead was shortlived as Ernst Obster scored the equalizer in the 48th. The Austrian who was making his debut for NYRB put a right-footed shot that deflected off Kern Cupid's arm and past W Connection goalkeeper Marvin Phillip.

El Salvadoran left-back Alfredo Pacheco turned hero to villain. His cross took a double deflection and went off the leg of lunging W Connection captain Elijah Joseph, up and over Phillip to give his team Red Bulls a 2-1 lead in the 60th.

But Pacheco's defensive gaffe led to W Connection's equalizer as the Salvadoran missed an attempted diving header. Hector pounced on the ball, firing it over the right shoulder of Red Bulls goalkeeper Danny Cepero and off the left post in the 72nd minute.

W Connection then threw everything into attack, but in the end had to settle for the 2-2 draw as it was too little too late as they paid the price for not taking advantage of the NYRB when they had the chance early in the game.

The winner of the aggregate series advances to the group stage, joining Pumas UNAM (Mexico), Comunicaciones (Guatemala) and the winner of the series between Liberia (Costa Rica) and Real Espana (Honduras) in Group D.

My Ratings.

Lets start off with the keeper Marvin Phillip. He made some brilliant saves. Both goals were deflections, one off Kern Cupid and the other of captain Elijah Joseph. None were the keeper's fault. - 7

Kern Cupid had a pretty decent game, did a simple job at the back and helped on the wing going forward as well. - 6

Renato Pereira was very solid at the center back and won every aerial ball. He even contributed on set plays and almost scored two great headers. His flaw is his lack of speed, but he made up for it with positioning and aerial strength. - 7

Elijah Joseph, another decent central defender that stayed at the back and did the simple things, however, he is another kick and hope player. Won his tackles well but kicked the ball out to no one in particular and put his own team under constant pressure as a result. NY Red Bulls won mostly everthing that came high up the field. - 6

Brazilian William Oliveira didn't have such a great game. Got beat for pace numerous times but did okay going forward. Came off because of a suspected injury. New York's Dane Richards was having a field day with Oliveira. Not the same player I saw two years ago when he was snapped up by Chicago Fire. - 4

I believe W Connection could find better players in Trinidad and Tobago to play the left wing. Brazilian Igor Santos didn't do much to even comment about. Not even a worthwhile cross from the left-wing was made, and I thought Aklie was bad. Like the attendance at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium Igor had a scanty game. - 3

Hughton Hector's goal was superb, but reminds me of a Babel or Collin Samuel type player as he runs without any direction. His pace and workrate are excellent, but he needs to be a bit smarter with his final decision. However, he was involved in both W Connection goals, scored one and had an assist on the other. - 7

Gerard Williams was an iron in midfield. He broke up a lot of Red Bulls attacks, but what he did with the ball after, well that's another story. - 6

Clyde Leon broke up some plays in midfield, but was not too impressive with his decision making. He had a shot on goal and if it was a baseball game it would have been a home run for sure. - 5

Speaking about baseball, striker Jonathan Frias, who is from a baseball nation, the Dominican Republic,  was very impressive and had a very good workrate. Unfortunately, he came off in the second half with an injury. Hopefully he'll recover in time for the return leg as W Connection will surely need him if they are to have any chance of progressing in the tournament. - 8

Andre Toussaint, technically the best player on the W Connection side, made some intelligent passes and came back in defence to help out too. Not that they shouldn't help out, but maybe if both strikers concentrate a little more on getting the ball in the back of the net and not worry about defence to often, they might actually score more goals. - 8

Subs

19.Andrei Pacheco had to be the best of all W Connection substitution. Looked impressive and almost had a goal instantly upon his entry. - No Rating.

23.Kerwyn Navarro looked lively and creative but not penetrative enough to leave anything positive. - No Rating.

30.Matthew Bartholomew looked very composed on the ball and had a few good moments, but nothing spectacular. - No Rating.

My Take.

I'm not impressed with W Connection at all. Being the home team too- makes it worst. I cant understand why teams based in T&T could never stamp their authority while playing at home. They always play like the away team.

W Connection had the chance to finish off the NY Red Bulls in the first half, but allowed them the comfort to play their own game as the Red Bulls build confidence throughout the match and almost made W Connection pay in the end.

Bear in mind the NY Red Bulls (NYRB) are currently the worst team in the MLS. Though W Connection are fifth in the Pro League they played just to that status unlike Joe Public who were also fifth in the local league when they derailed New England Revolution 6-1 on aggregate in the last set of CONCACAF Championship qualifiers.

You would expect a Brazilian/Trinidad type flair of football from W Connection, but it wasn't so. Too many high balls and clueless passes. Hopefully we will see a better performance and result from W Connection next Wednesday at the Giants Stadium.

Final Score

W Connection 2—2 Red Bull New York
Jonathan Frias 40', Hughton Hector 72' ; Ernst Oebster 48', Alfredo Pacheco 59'

Venue

Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella Trinidad.

Teams

W Connection:— 21.Marvin Phillip, 3.Kern Cupid, 4.Renato Pereira, 5.Elijah Joseph (capt), 8.Clyde Leon (Yellow), 2.William Oliveira (23.Keryn Navarro 62nd), 17.Hughton Hector, 25.Igor Santos (19.Andrei Pacheco 65th), 41.Gerard Williams, 10.Jonathan Frias (30.Matthew Bartholomew 58th), 11.Andre Toussaint.

Coach—Stuart Charles Fevrier.

Red Bull New York:—1.Daniel Cepero, 2.Kevin Goldthwaite (Yellow), 5.Albert Celades(Yellow), 20.Ernst Oebster (11.Danleigh Borman 80th), 13.Jorge Rojas (Yellow) (8.Sinisa Ubiraparipovic 90+), 6.Seth Stammler, 12.Mike Petke, 16.Alfredo Pacheco, 17.Jeremy Hall, 19.Dane Richards, 9.Juan Pablo Angel (capt).

Coach—Juan Carlos Osorio.

Videos

Red Bulls reaction after the 2-2 1st leg draw with W Connection in T&T

Champions League W Connection v NY Red Bulls Highlights
« Last Edit: August 05, 2009, 06:26:45 AM by Flex »

Re: Hector keeps Connection CCL hopes alive.
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2009, 08:26:01 AM »
Trinidad teams play toooooo slow !!! so the opponents will always feel at home.

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2009, 09:55:23 AM »
thanks Flex

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2009, 11:10:55 AM »
I am always amazed at the critics on this site, who always seem to know everything, but clearly from their rantings they know nothing. You keep clamoring that W should get local players instead of the Brazilians/foreigners but where are they? Do you think that if they were available that they wouldn't be snapped up. Well let me give you my first hand experiences from the coaches with local & foreign players on their roster. The majority of the locals are lazy, they brakes from Fitness sessions. They always have excuses to miss training eg, they have to stay home to babysit their little brother,sister because their mother had to go to work, or their girlfriend/wife had a job interview or a doctor's appointment, or they had to help their parents paint the house, or Courts had to come to deliver some furniture. They are always sick, with a headache, toothache, diarrhea or some ailment. Before a little injury they stay home. Unlike the foreigners who train hard, do a lot of work on their own. The locals take this job as a sweat & can you blame them when the National Coach claims that he is just taking a sweat by playing with Cali in the PFL. The foreigners are more dedicated, committed, passionate. I attended the last game of the 2008 season where W needed a win & Jablo a draw for the title. The game ended in a draw & Jablo won the title, every man jack foreigner on W's team cried their hearts out & apologised to Fevrier telling him that they were sorry that they disappointed him, not so the locals they just went on their merry way. After a bad game the foreigners would ask the coach where they went wrong & would try to rectify next game, not so the locals. So tell me would you invest your hard earned dollars where you are getting nothing or little in return in the locals or the foreigners who would make up with dedication, commitment, hard work, whatever deficiencies they may have talent wise. And to top it off because of a lot of the critics on this site some of the local players feel that they are worth more than they actually are & are always looking for increases but not willing to produce more. Also they may miss many training sessions but bet your bottom dollar that the week leading to payday they will be present. Yes some of the locals have talent but the willingness to work hard is not there. Don't take my word for it, just check the coaches with foreigners on their teams & you will get the same responses from them all. The locals are not willing, even if you go all out to push them they just resist. I think the critics here would be better spent talking to the locals & asking them to step up so that T&T can return to the glory days of football, until then crapaud smoke our pipes.         

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2009, 12:05:26 PM »
I am always amazed at the critics on this site, who always seem to know everything, but clearly from their rantings they know nothing. You keep clamoring that W should get local players instead of the Brazilians/foreigners but where are they? Do you think that if they were available that they wouldn't be snapped up. Well let me give you my first hand experiences from the coaches with local & foreign players on their roster. The majority of the locals are lazy, they brakes from Fitness sessions. They always have excuses to miss training eg, they have to stay home to babysit their little brother,sister because their mother had to go to work, or their girlfriend/wife had a job interview or a doctor's appointment, or they had to help their parents paint the house, or Courts had to come to deliver some furniture. They are always sick, with a headache, toothache, diarrhea or some ailment. Before a little injury they stay home. Unlike the foreigners who train hard, do a lot of work on their own. The locals take this job as a sweat & can you blame them when the National Coach claims that he is just taking a sweat by playing with Cali in the PFL. The foreigners are more dedicated, committed, passionate. I attended the last game of the 2008 season where W needed a win & Jablo a draw for the title. The game ended in a draw & Jablo won the title, every man jack foreigner on W's team cried their hearts out & apologised to Fevrier telling him that they were sorry that they disappointed him, not so the locals they just went on their merry way. After a bad game the foreigners would ask the coach where they went wrong & would try to rectify next game, not so the locals. So tell me would you invest your hard earned dollars where you are getting nothing or little in return in the locals or the foreigners who would make up with dedication, commitment, hard work, whatever deficiencies they may have talent wise. And to top it off because of a lot of the critics on this site some of the local players feel that they are worth more than they actually are & are always looking for increases but not willing to produce more. Also they may miss many training sessions but bet your bottom dollar that the week leading to payday they will be present. Yes some of the locals have talent but the willingness to work hard is not there. Don't take my word for it, just check the coaches with foreigners on their teams & you will get the same responses from them all. The locals are not willing, even if you go all out to push them they just resist. I think the critics here would be better spent talking to the locals & asking them to step up so that T&T can return to the glory days of football, until then crapaud smoke our pipes.        

You right in your head ?

If a foreigner cant bring anything better than what we have then why go foreign. Waste of money which could have gone into a program.

In the UK this is one of the rules before a foreigner gets a permit...

This is why the league have a reserve league and a youth league to groom young players coming up.

P:S Boss report Flex....
« Last Edit: August 01, 2009, 12:07:06 PM by Sando »

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2009, 12:05:55 PM »
Timid W Connection draw 2-2
Ian Prescott (Express).

W Connection gave a flat and sometimes uninspired performance before rallying through Hughton Hector's 72nd minute goal to secure a 2-2 draw with the New York Red Bulls in the first leg of a CONCACAF Champions League preliminary round series at Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella on Thursday night.

The result and especially the two away goals will better suit the Red Bulls when the teams meet again at Giants Stadium, New York on Wednesday for the second leg.

Two nights ago, the visitors trailed 1-0 at the break before scoring a pair of goals in the first quarter-hour of the second half to take a 2-1 lead and then began to dominate possession.

However, Hector's goal at least made sure the home team go into the second leg on a level footing. The winners of the aggregate series advance to the group stage, joining Pumas UNAM (Mexico), CSD Comunicaciones (Guatemala) and the winners of the series between Liberia (Costa Rica) and Real CD Espana (Honduras) in Group D.

W Connection certainly did not play with the confidence of a home team. A cautious, overly-defensive approach hardly seemed to serve the 2009 Caribbean champions well against a Red Bulls team lacking confidence and struggling in Major League Soccer (MLS) in the United States.

And although they were the better first half team, Connection's over cautious approach often left them attacking with too few numbers to trouble the Americans, who defended en masse behind the ball.

Andre Toussaint's timid approach in the opening seconds set the tone for W Connection's entire performance.  

Given a clear look down the centre of the penalty area after a mix-up between the two central defenders, Toussaint let the Red Bulls of the hook. Instead of testing goalie Daniel Cepero, the little  striker handed off responsibility to strike partner Jonathan Frias, who was in an offside position.

W Connection's first dangerous moment came in the ninth minute when Hector's cross screwed off the bald head of Brazilian centre-back Renato Pereira and went wide. Soon after, another Brazilian, Igor Santos lifted his shot over from the centre of the penalty box after being set up by Frias' meandering run across the box. 

Still, the "Savonetta Boys" went ahead in the 39th when Frias crashed the back post and forced in Hector's corner-kick which former Aston Villa striker Juan Pablo Angel headed onto his own crossbar.

The Red Bulls  looked most potent through speedy Jamaican right winger Dane Richards who several times eluded Brazilian left-back William Oliviera. But their first chance came when Jorge Rojas shot towards the far corner and brought off a good save from W Connection goalie Marvin Phillip, who gathered the ball on the second attempt. And later, Angel headed over the visitor's best chance in the 43rd minute.

Emboldened by the comfort the home team afforded, the Americans went more into attack after the break and were able to score twice, both very soft goals.

The first saw keeper Phillip, blinded by defender Kern Cupid, allowing in a  meek shot from Austrian Ernst Obster to level the scores at 1-1 in the 48th minute.

And it got worse in the 59th when central defender Elijah Josph stretched a leg to cut out Alfredo Pacheco's cross and instead looped the ball over goalie Phillip.

But W Connection also benefitted from a defensive error when El Salvador's Pacheco missed an attempted diving header, allowing the ball to fall to Hector, who hit a one-time bullet to the far post for the72nd minute equaliser. 

Frias, the liveliest W Connection man on the field, was earlier taken off injured and replaced by Matthew Bartholomew, who lifted a shot over the Red Bulls bar from close-up in the later stages. And as W Connection finally put some intensity into their play,  another sub, Andrei Pacheco also forced a first post save from Cepero with a hard, low shot from an acute angle.

Hector's goal at least ensured  that at the halfway stage of the tie, W Connection still have a great chance of moving past the preliminary round. But they will only advance if  they quickly re-discover the flowing, counter-attacking football they regularly play.

Score:

W Connection 2 (Jonathan Frias 39th, Hughton Hector 72nd; New York Red Bull 2 (Ernst Oebster 48th, own-goal 59th) 

TEAMS:

W Connection Marvin Phillip(gk), Elijah Joseph(capt.), Jonathon Frias(Matthew Bartholomew 58th), William Da Silva Oliveira (Keryn Navarro 62nd), Igor Santos(Andrei Pacheco 65th), Kern Cupid, Gerrard Williams, Clyde Leon, Andre Toussaint, Hughton Hector, Renato Pereira

Coach-Stuart Charles Fevrier

New York Red Bull

Daniel Cepero(gk), Juan Pablo Angel(capt.), Kevin Goldthwaite, Albert Celades, Ernst Oebster (Danleigh Borman 80th), Jorge Rojas (Sinisa Ubiraparipovic 90+), Seth Stammler, -Mike Petke, Alfredo Pacheco, Jeremy Hall, Dane Richards

Coach-Juan Carlos Osorio

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2009, 12:34:15 PM »
Here you go again Sando with your usual rantings & ravings. Can't you understand the locals are not willing to sacrifice they only want the money not the hard work. Check W's record in 10  years,  3 league Titles, 26 other titles with the majority of players being foreigners. Check Cali's before the advent of the influx of foreigners how many trophies did they win. Last year they won the FA & some other trophy with the majority of the players being Guyanese. I have facts, do you? I prefer to be mad than sane with the logic you seem to have. You talk about the reserve league, trini players feel that they are too big for the reserve league, they want to play pro from college. Again with the college league where they are spoilt, where they play without training or even doing the right things right, people like you acclaim them as being borse etc but when they go into the Pro league & have to attend regular intense training sessions they run away. Again I implore you to talk to the coaches get it from the horses mouths.
I reiterate that Connection has been so successful because of its foreigners & a few Trinis like Hippo, Atiba & a few others. Face reality the majority of Trinis are lazy & not willing to work hard. Yes I am a very crazy person.       

« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2009, 01:37:55 PM »
Here you go again Sando with your usual rantings & ravings. Can't you understand the locals are not willing to sacrifice they only want the money not the hard work. Check W's record in 10  years,  3 league Titles, 26 other titles with the majority of players being foreigners. Check Cali's before the advent of the influx of foreigners how many trophies did they win. Last year they won the FA & some other trophy with the majority of the players being Guyanese. I have facts, do you? I prefer to be mad than sane with the logic you seem to have. You talk about the reserve league, trini players feel that they are too big for the reserve league, they want to play pro from college. Again with the college league where they are spoilt, where they play without training or even doing the right things right, people like you acclaim them as being borse etc but when they go into the Pro league & have to attend regular intense training sessions they run away. Again I implore you to talk to the coaches get it from the horses mouths.
I reiterate that Connection has been so successful because of its foreigners & a few Trinis like Hippo, Atiba & a few others. Face reality the majority of Trinis are lazy & not willing to work hard. Yes I am a very crazy person.       
I agree with everything yuh say Big Man... some people just can't take the truth, this ain't happening now, this going on long time now, and not only at the PFL, it happens in school football too, I know for a fact it does.

« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2009, 03:00:41 PM »
Connection could hav e easily beaten the Bulls but there was no imagination from Toussaint at all, he spent most of the game chasing down balls and or losing it with every pass he made, what a shithound, cah even do some off the ball running to create space. Meh number 10 and hector  were the best players on the day, but overall the match was not great. Doh talk bout them 2 chupid deflection lawd

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2009, 03:07:05 PM »
Agree, Toussaint seems to be very overrated by plenty, but he is yet to prove that. He has had so many chances at the National level and done nothing. Again I reiterate laziness. Ask Fevrier about his record at training etc. Sando over to you, because you seem to know all. Another lazy Trini - you see it in his game everytime.

« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2009, 03:52:16 PM »
Agree, Toussaint seems to be very overrated by plenty, but he is yet to prove that. He has had so many chances at the National level and done nothing. Again I reiterate laziness. Ask Fevrier about his record at training etc. Sando over to you, because you seem to know all. Another lazy Trini - you see it in his game everytime.
I don't disagree...what I am curious is what made you different ? and how do you try to help make changes in attitude ?

« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2009, 03:55:32 PM »

You make some good points, T&T players don't always take advantage of opportunities to train and play. We are far too laid back. But you also make some sweeping generalizations. There are hardworking local players too, don't throw those fellas under the bus. You used the case of WConn VS Jabloteh. There is no better example of work ethic than Jabloteh...all local, young side, playing organized defensive football day in day out, in the face of rejection by national selectors. The same team that held those hardworking foreigners to a draw.

And its not just the players, a lot of the problem come from the quality of coaching, especially at the lower levels, which goes hand in hand with players attitude. If you notice, foreign coaches seem to bring out the best in our players.  There is no such thing as a poor student, only a poor teacher.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2009, 04:09:46 PM »
If you read carefully you would see that I was talking about W in the main, because they have the majority of foreigners. I also kept saying there were good ones but the bad ones are so many that they nullify the few good ones. Again about jabloteh maybe you should talk to Fenwick & even Jean & you will hear a different story. Again you can have a good teacher but if the student is not willing to learn there's nothing the teacher can do. You can bring the horse to water but you cyar make it drink. Over to you.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2009, 04:19:23 PM »
Again check your facts. Head to Head Connection has beaten Jabloteh more times than Jabloteh has beaten them. Connection has more trophies than Jabloteh, the only advantage that Jabloteh has is in the league titles where they have 4 to Connection's 3. Again Jabloteh has been in existence longer than Connection. Again in its' 10 year existence W has had only one coach, Jabloteh has had at least 6. Ask your self why. I would wager that if Connection had to depend on only locals they would have never been so successful. Again check your facts. I have mine. I keep stats so as to support my arguments. Connection has already won 2 titles for the  year. We cannot run away from the facts.

« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2009, 04:44:27 PM »
good work flex.

WConn need a dwarika type in midfield to control the playmaking.  Idk how Kern Cupid & Clyde Leon could make our national team. Them have no playmaking ability.  They are just normal. I seen better than that in tnt.  Yea and them brazillians is a waste of time, except the #4 defender.

« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2009, 04:49:42 PM »
If you read carefully you would see that I was talking about W in the main, because they have the majority of foreigners. I also kept saying there were good ones but the bad ones are so many that they nullify the few good ones. Again about jabloteh maybe you should talk to Fenwick & even Jean & you will hear a different story. Again you can have a good teacher but if the student is not willing to learn there's nothing the teacher can do.  Over to you.

The onus and the power to affect change rests with the teacher, not the student. The problem is not only the players, its  is poor coaches encouraging laziness and indiscipline that T&T players are exposed to time and time again since they kicking a lime. Then they show up for a pro-league game and everybody crititcize and bawl how they shitty and lazy. But no afterthought as to how we get to that point, or how our 'coaches' failed to put a fire under these youths backside. The underlying problem is coaching and the structure of football in the country. We can cuss the players from now until hell freeze over, foreigners or not, but it won't change until the root problem is fixed. Ask Lincoln Phillips
p

« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2009, 04:58:33 PM »
Again check your facts. Head to Head Connection has beaten Jabloteh more times than Jabloteh has beaten them. Connection has more trophies than Jabloteh, the only advantage that Jabloteh has is in the league titles where they have 4 to Connection's 3. Again Jabloteh has been in existence longer than Connection. Again in its' 10 year existence W has had only one coach, Jabloteh has had at least 6. Ask your self why. I would wager that if Connection had to depend on only locals they would have never been so successful. Again check your facts. I have mine. I keep stats so as to support my arguments. Connection has already won 2 titles for the  year. We cannot run away from the facts.

So jabloteh winning where it counts then? With an all local team too. Good for them.

Why don't you tell us why Connection only has one coach? I always thought it was beacuse of strong Southern support, excellent maangement, a good coach and success selling/loaning players like Silvio Spann, Gefferson Goulart and Kenwyne Jones

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #17 on: August 01, 2009, 05:15:53 PM »
I agree but tell me why it is that the majority of Trinis (in all spheres of life) do not want to hold down one job here but they go overseas & work 2 - 3 jobs a day, before it rains they call in sick here, but overseas they are at work snow or rain. They have no teacher over there but they adapt. All you hear Trinis say is we have money as if that solves everything. At the end of the day the onus is on you. Why do some succeed under the "inferior coaches" but others don't. At the end of the day if you don't want it, you will not get it. Another thing a lot of us here on the board criticize the local coaches especially Fevrier (I call him local because he has played semi pro football here & now coaches) for playing the foreigners over the locals but no one has ever asked him why. I have spoken to people close to the team and they tell me that he is a principled man and no matter how good you are he will take his chance with someone else and risk losing a match on principle. He is strict. He has obviously made a change e.g. Marvin Phillip, based on my stats he has improved drastically behaviour wise. I recently read a thread where  Fevrier was criticised for playing the Dominican Republic keeper over Marvin & Jan, but my informnation was that Jan had not yet received his International clearance and Marvin had missed some training sessions without giving excuses. I implore you to get your facts. Fevrier is someone you can talk to, he is a very quiet, unassuming man whose dream is that W Connection team will soon be totally Trini. He has started, how many of you are aware that last weekend W Connection's Under 15 & Under 17 teams won the league titles & they are all totally Trini. Connection has one Coach because of his dedication, honesty, knowledge & he is just good. From my info Joe Public & Jabloteh, Rangers want him, but from what I've heard he is a loyalist & will not leave Connection. In fact I have been told that he will only leave Connection to go back to his hometown Saint Lucia. Talk to Hospedales & Fackary about him & you may learn a thing or two.  You never get rid of a good thing guy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!       

« Reply #18 on: August 01, 2009, 06:47:39 PM »
I agree but tell me why it is that the majority of Trinis (in all spheres of life) do not want to hold down one job here but they go overseas & work 2 - 3 jobs a day, before it rains they call in sick here, but overseas they are at work snow or rain. They have no teacher over there but they adapt. All you hear Trinis say is we have money as if that solves everything. At the end of the day the onus is on you. Why do some succeed under the "inferior coaches" but others don't. At the end of the day if you don't want it, you will not get it. Another thing a lot of us here on the board criticize the local coaches especially Fevrier (I call him local because he has played semi pro football here & now coaches) for playing the foreigners over the locals but no one has ever asked him why. I have spoken to people close to the team and they tell me that he is a principled man and no matter how good you are he will take his chance with someone else and risk losing a match on principle. He is strict. He has obviously made a change e.g. Marvin Phillip, based on my stats he has improved drastically behaviour wise. I recently read a thread where  Fevrier was criticised for playing the Dominican Republic keeper over Marvin & Jan, but my informnation was that Jan had not yet received his International clearance and Marvin had missed some training sessions without giving excuses. I implore you to get your facts. Fevrier is someone you can talk to, he is a very quiet, unassuming man whose dream is that W Connection team will soon be totally Trini. He has started, how many of you are aware that last weekend W Connection's Under 15 & Under 17 teams won the league titles & they are all totally Trini. Connection has one Coach because of his dedication, honesty, knowledge & he is just good. From my info Joe Public & Jabloteh, Rangers want him, but from what I've heard he is a loyalist & will not leave Connection. In fact I have been told that he will only leave Connection to go back to his hometown Saint Lucia. Talk to Hospedales & Fackary about him & you may learn a thing or two.  You never get rid of a good thing guy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!       

OK I can handle that. Personally, I have no problem with Fevrier or foreigners playing on either WConn or the PFL. And I did know that they won the U-15 and U-17 titles. Its foolish for people to cry them down for neglecting the locals when their youth teams are consistently #1 or #2 in their age brackets.  They obviously place great emphasis on developing local players.

I took exception because you seemed to lump T&T players all in the same boat. But as I said the players, the coaches and in fact the broader society all share in the blame for these attitudes. Its no coincidence that the two best coaches in the league are foreign and the absolute worst  is a local. But that is part of why I love my football, for the power of the game to better society.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #19 on: August 01, 2009, 06:50:39 PM »
Thanks, let us agree to disagree on some things. Let's do like Barack ,try Beer diplomacy,Carib or Heineken,you choose. (lol)

« Reply #20 on: August 01, 2009, 07:12:44 PM »
Thanks, let us agree to disagree on some things. Let's do like Barack ,try Beer diplomacy,Carib or Heineken,you choose. (lol)

:beermug: :chilling: Ah taking a stag  ;D

« Reply #21 on: August 01, 2009, 07:32:41 PM »
FLEX GRACIAS

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #22 on: August 01, 2009, 07:51:16 PM »
Theres a lot of knee-jerk reactions on this thread.

I was working as one of the events staff at the game and managed to watch things unfold from one of the media boxes with a couple of journalists who were affiliated with the MLS club. 

I thought the first half was pretty tepid at times and there was very little in the way of creativity from either side, but after Connection scored, I thought if anyone was going to get anything from the game it would be them as they were marginally the better side in the first half.

I wouldn't blame the level of W-Connections coaching on the result, thats just a stupid statement to make. Games are often decided by things happening at the right (and wrong) time and sometimes its out of your hands.

There are two things that should be taken into consideration:

1. NY equalising right after the break via a deflection off the defenders hand. You can't really anticipate something like that and then theres the timing of the goal which came right after half-time which wasn't ideal. I suppose the boy could have got his body behind the shot a bit more but at the end of the day its just one of those things that happen in a game. Its easy for us to sit here and tell Connection what they should have done but players only have a split second to react. The goal from Hector came as result of some comedy defending from NY, yet I don't see anyone questioning their coaching methods.

2. The second goal came from another wicked deflection which the keeper could do nothing about. You can't blame the keeper or the defender as the lad has come out to make a challenge and the ball has deflected off of his leg and spun into the net. It happens.

From then on, NY took control of the midfield and started to knock it around with a bit more fluency and were content to just strangle the life out of Connection. I think Hector did very well to make the most of the chance that was handed to him and it was a pretty good finish. NY still have the advantage, but the equaliser still gives Connection a lifeline and something to aim for and work with. They have to go there and win, simple as that and they can do it if they have a little bit of belief in themselves and approach things in the right way.

Even the journalists from NY thought that Connection had the better of the first half and were pleased with the result, despite losing the lead.

« Last Edit: August 01, 2009, 07:55:38 PM by Giggsy's Chestwig »

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #23 on: August 02, 2009, 12:26:00 AM »
OK. I hear so much criticism about how bad WC performed and that might have been true on that particular night. I hope that T&T support for this team will be better in Rutherford than the talk on this forum. But, I don't expect much. Do you notice how poor the usual support is for local games? I can only hope that some of the foreign-based big talkers on this forum will show up for the away game this Wednesday.

Prove me wrong Trinbagonians! Let me observe a sea of Red at Giants Stadium! There are plenty of us living in the NY/NJ area, so it shouldn't be hard for us to show up for the game and put our money where are mouths are!!!

Talk is cheap, support the team!

« Reply #24 on: August 02, 2009, 07:44:33 AM »
De local players really needs a reality check, I agree with that. But nah, them two Brazilians playing for W Connection on de left side is pure kaka. I could name two better players from T&T.

Nice round up Flex, not everybody here appreciative, but you do a good detail job. And you right, W Connection played like the away team.

Toussaint made some good play but no one follow up this is why allyuh thinking he no good.

Stuart Fevrier with that team to long and they starting to decline, they cant go up a level. Time for change.

« Reply #25 on: August 02, 2009, 08:34:17 AM »
Ah find plenty ppl like they writing off WC even before a ball is kicked next thursday. I for one didn't think that they played that badly, they had two goals off deflections.

I find connection have a nice knock with short passing back and across the midfield. While i think individual performances in some areas was a bit disappointing especially from Leon and the left side of midfield. They are technically good especially the back 4 with the ball at their feet. They do lack a bit of size upfront though. An Errol Mc Farlane type of forward, or someone who can play with ther back to goal would would make them a moer complete outfit.

Red Bull aint show me anything really, they have a player on the right who has some good pace but thats about it. I think they have more than a half decent chance of getting a result in New York

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #26 on: August 02, 2009, 08:46:50 AM »
The difference between WC and the Red Bulls in the last game came down to who was hungrier. Many of you may know that the Red Bulls are basing their entire (failed) season on the CCL palyoffs. Also, their coach is on the verge of being axed because of a disappointing season. Therefore, they came to Trinidad with something to prove.

I agree with one of the previous posters that it may be time for WC to look at new coaching. Stuart Charles Fervier has done a great job, but team needs to be pushed to the next level. They are a team that is capable of doing more in this series than JP did last year. Hopefully they'll come to New Jersey hungrier than the Red Bulls.

Also, I'm still remotely optimistic that my fellow Trinbagonians in the diaspora will surprise me and show up for this game. Allyuh do de right ting and show up for dis game nah!

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #27 on: August 02, 2009, 09:02:27 AM »
Sam, why don't you invest some of your hard earned money into W & then you will be able to dictate to them when to change their coach & also get them these elusive trini players who are just waiting in the wings to be called up. You keep hating on Fevrier &  I think it is because of the colour of his skin & the fact that he is a small islander. The man is the most successful coach in the PFL but you refuse to give him his just due. He is also the most disciplined coach, has never been redcarded in his 10 years. Vranes has been recycled over & over again with no success but then again he has the right skin colour but you want to dictate to John Williams (who is spending his hard earned money) about how to run his team. Trust me Fevrier & W ain't going anywhere else but up.
Put your money where your mouth is & then you can harp, until them stop spewing tata against the man.

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #28 on: August 02, 2009, 09:19:56 AM »
Do you notice how poor the usual support is for local games?

I thought the attendance was pretty poor. The uncovered section was virtually empty which is strange since Connection put a lot into marketing this game. Its the same old story, nobody here bothers to show unless someone big rolls into town.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #29 on: August 02, 2009, 09:21:08 AM »
You know it is just so amazing. Here it is Fevrier coached W into winning the C'bean Club Championship just earlier this year, this win which has them playing the current games against Red Bulls, but because Connection had a bad game & didn't win the match people are calling for the coach's head. They are also the winners of the first trophy of the PFL this year. OH boy you just can't please a trini. Fevrier if you are reading this just take strength & continue doing what you are doing because from all that I know your players & employers appreciate it & at the end of the day they are the ones who matter. How many of them criticising supported the game, how many of them who are away from Trinidad encouraged their family & friends to go support the team. How many of them in the TRI state will go to support the team. The answer my friend is blowing in the wind, it's blowing in the wind.