April 28, 2024, 09:47:44 AM

Author Topic: Dwight Yorke voted Villa greatest ever player.  (Read 11214 times)

Dwight Yorke voted Villa greatest ever player.
« on: August 03, 2009, 06:29:21 AM »
Greatest: Villa verdict.
Eurosport.

The results are in and we can reveal that, according to Eurosport-Yahoo! readers, the greatest ever Aston Villa player is... Dwight Yorke.

The charismatic striker, who scored 97 goals in 231 appearances for Villa in a successful spell at the Midlands club during the 1990s, managed to garner 29 per cent of the vote.

But it was a close run thing, with Gareth Barry taking second place after winning 26 per cent. Perhaps Villa fans have already got over the midfielder's decision to leave Villa Park for Manchester City this summer?

Warhorse Paul McGrath - the only member of our predicted top three to make the actual honours list - came in third with 17 per cent of the vote.

Eurosport-Yahoo! verdict:

1 - Paul McGrath

2 - Gordon Cowans

3 - Pongo Waring

Readers' verdict:

1 - Dwight Yorke 29%

2 - Gareth Barry 26%

3 - Paul McGrath 17%

4 - Andy Gray 15%

5 - Peter Withe 5%

6- Gordon Cowans 4%

7 - Pongo Waring 3%

8 - Billy Walker 3%

20,477 votes at 13:00 2 August 2009

Re: Dwight Yorke voted Villa greatest ever player.
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 06:39:50 AM »
Niceness

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 06:42:33 AM »
WOW it seems like a generation ago when Dwight was tearing up the premiereship. A mixed career no doubt but he will always be the most successful footballer in TNT'S history

C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S DIWGHT YORKE!

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2009, 07:05:29 AM »
WOW it seems like a generation ago when Dwight was tearing up the premiereship. A mixed career no doubt but he will always be the most successful footballer in TNT'S history

Hopefully not ,he won"t.

« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2009, 07:53:05 AM »
voter padding!

« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2009, 09:42:04 AM »
Nuff respect to Dwight and all but I woulda vote for Paul Mc Grath.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2009, 09:48:47 AM »

Steups... next people voting for Yorke and Trini people self coming with that? Big up Yorkie Best player out of T&T...

« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2009, 09:53:30 AM »

Steups... next people voting for Yorke and Trini people self coming with that? Big up Yorkie Best player out of T&T...
Nuff respect to your opinion...but I watch Mc Grath soldier on for years in the back for Villa and I feel that he would get my vote. Trini or not.......

« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2009, 10:47:45 AM »
Trend setter! He open up nuff doors fuh man and they family to eat ah food.  ;)

« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2009, 11:24:15 AM »
WOW it seems like a generation ago when Dwight was tearing up the premiereship. A mixed career no doubt

Please elaborate.
I would say his career is closer to stellar than mixed

« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2009, 11:25:10 AM »
glad fuh de accomplishments of we captain.we need others to follow suit if not excel.

« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2009, 11:33:31 AM »
That is a great accomplishment...I think this is possibly Dwight's biggest ever honour. Have you any idea how many legends he would have had to beat out to get that award? Especially cause they only got a League cup while he was there as compared to people who led them to leagues and european triumphs?

Dwight will treasure this one...

« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2009, 11:43:35 AM »
not to get off the Villa topic ...but..congrats dwight

me and small mag watch a Man Utd history dvd yesterday...from the earlies into best,charlton law etc...
and the section with dwight..man hear nah.... top of his game yes...glad for the man yes...

« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2009, 11:49:00 AM »
not to be a wet blanket, but this ain't no great honor..

this is just a website poll of eurosport yahoo readers, most i would speculate are probably of a younger generation, and yorke's name would be the one that jumps out at them being that he's the most recent and recognizable face.. im sure alot of man u fans probably click on his name as well..

wouldve been something more if this was something official from the club, but its just a lil online poll dont put too much weight behind it.

« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2009, 12:06:37 PM »
congrats

« Reply #15 on: August 03, 2009, 04:27:48 PM »
is funny no mention of Saunders (silvio boss) and Atkinson, as the then Manager was benching to regular, Yorke and the next lil speedy youth(was more danger than Yorke) for them 2. Yorkie used to live by that youth and he mother, in the earlies...they would have made the best strike partnership ever, if the manager wasn't biased....then when Yorke say he going ManBoo, the man say he coulda shoot him...if he know how ppl did feel bout he for treating them youths so... I was dancing in the pub when ah hear the news, even for ManBoo  :rotfl:

« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2009, 04:57:29 PM »

Nuff respect to your opinion...but I watch Mc Grath soldier on for years in the back for Villa and I feel that he would get my vote. Trini or not.......

Yep, he was a borse player. Ironically both of them undermined their talents in different ways.

« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2009, 05:21:08 PM »
The greatest !

« Reply #18 on: August 03, 2009, 05:43:12 PM »
And Ireland too, he really is a legend.  Either him or Yorke is an excellent choice.

« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2009, 06:06:16 PM »
WOW it seems like a generation ago when Dwight was tearing up the premiereship. A mixed career no doubt

Please elaborate.
I would say his career is closer to stellar than mixed

Well you forget he had a really bad season in Blackburn plushe was let go by MAN U rather unceremoniously
« Last Edit: August 04, 2009, 05:39:15 PM by grskywalker »

« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2009, 10:20:37 PM »

Ah go have to agree with yuh there. Long Live Yorkie!

"CHAMPION STRIKER AT ASTON VILLA"[/glow]

« Reply #21 on: August 04, 2009, 01:57:58 AM »
Well done Dwight Yorke...

You are the Greatest Player indeed.....especially with a plastic figure  45 seconds.... :devil:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kN7RC4xvcoQ&feature=related

« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2009, 02:37:33 AM »

You are the Greatest Player indeed.....especially with a plastic figure  45 seconds.... :devil:

Nothing better to do, huh? Over the weekend, yuh tried posting this as a topic under some derogatory vibes/title ... and yuh back again? How much "figure" YOU gehhin?
« Last Edit: August 04, 2009, 02:50:37 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #23 on: August 04, 2009, 08:23:31 AM »
Perhaps Villa fans have already got over the midfielder's Yorke's decision to leave Villa Park for Manchester City United this summer before the start of the 1998-99 season?

[/quote]

Fixed.

« Last Edit: August 04, 2009, 08:31:09 AM by kaliman2006 »

« Reply #24 on: August 04, 2009, 09:55:52 AM »

Keep sweeping the yard nah fella, and when yuh finish go tote some water an put in de drum.  :devil:

« Reply #25 on: August 04, 2009, 01:59:47 PM »

Keep sweeping the yard nah fella, and when yuh finish go tote some water an put in de drum.  :devil:

« Reply #26 on: August 04, 2009, 07:37:20 PM »
Hear nah soldier....when yuh finish bump yuh gum......goe brush yuh dutty ass teeth....  ;D
« Last Edit: August 04, 2009, 07:39:28 PM by rotatopoti3 »

« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2011, 09:27:49 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/UwPjfnHssG4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/UwPjfnHssG4</a>

« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2011, 09:42:51 PM »

-------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I eh know how to cross  out words or put line  through it but I would suffice to say he would be the MOST SUCCESSFUL  FOOTBALLER IN CARIBBEAN HISTORY!!!!

Our guest from that island up dey by Cuba who like to hang out on the SWO site Take that and smoke it.......!!!!!

« Reply #29 on: March 03, 2011, 09:43:21 PM »
Tallman yuh not easy nah, yuh Lazarusitize a thread from 2 years ago :devil: