April 27, 2024, 05:00:29 PM

Author Topic: Dwight Yorke voted Villa greatest ever player.  (Read 11207 times)

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
Re: Dwight Yorke voted Villa greatest ever player.
« Reply #30 on: March 03, 2011, 11:17:47 PM »
WOW it seems like a generation ago when Dwight was tearing up the premiereship. A mixed career no doubt but he will always be the most successful footballer in TNT'S history

C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S DIWGHT YORKE!
-------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I eh know how to cross  out words or put line  through it but I would suffice to say he would be the MOST SUCCESSFUL  FOOTBALLER IN CARIBBEAN HISTORY!!!!

Our guest from that island up dey by Cuba who like to hang out on the SWO site Take that and smoke it.......!!!!!

did you just call me? ;D. you mean from the Caribbean or currently in the Caribbean?, what you base it off? the team he plays for, his performance or the type of trophies?. i thought he http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Barnes_%28footballer%29 was from the Caribbean. if we had a football program in the 70s or 80s, he would be on the notional team from he started for watford.  here is a winger, not a striker, who had score close to 200 goals.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0jdsPZmOWM&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOE3P2ryfg4&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOILkVsEoEU&feature=related
« Last Edit: March 03, 2011, 11:19:33 PM by jahkingdom »
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #31 on: March 04, 2011, 06:18:15 AM »
WOW it seems like a generation ago when Dwight was tearing up the premiereship. A mixed career no doubt but he will always be the most successful footballer in TNT'S history

-------
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I eh know how to cross  out words or put line  through it but I would suffice to say he would be the MOST SUCCESSFUL  FOOTBALLER IN CARIBBEAN HISTORY!!!!

Our guest from that island up dey by Cuba who like to hang out on the SWO site Take that and smoke it.......!!!!!

did you just call me? ;D. you mean from the Caribbean or currently in the Caribbean?, what you base it off? the team he plays for, his performance or the type of trophies?. i thought he http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Barnes_%28footballer%29 was from the Caribbean. if we had a football program in the 70s or 80s, he would be on the notional team from he started for watford.  here is a winger, not a striker, who had score close to 200 goals.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0jdsPZmOWM&feature=related

Too easy .. ah go let somebody else mash up that dotish argment yuh coming with about 200 goals ....

Offline teddy bear

« Reply #32 on: March 05, 2011, 03:01:50 AM »

-------

Just a little info for you, that John Barnes' dad was a Trini that went over to Jamaica to do military sevice and settled there. So we had a hand in that as well. Yes he had Jam. mother but without that Trini militant father, Salt.

« Reply #33 on: March 05, 2011, 03:54:33 AM »
...Dwight's most memorable goal (for me) was in a Villa uniform...a diving header (vs liverpool) on a cross ball with David James coming out for that cross, full force, full bodied and with full fury.  To this day I eh know how the two avoided a major collision with and subsequent injury to each other.  (will try and "YouTube" it later).  When Dwight first got to England, they couldn't handle him.  His balll control and dribbling skills were too much for them and it seems that the Villa coaching staff started to reign that in. 

« Reply #34 on: March 05, 2011, 09:39:27 AM »
...Dwight's most memorable goal (for me) was in a Villa uniform...a diving header (vs liverpool) on a cross ball with David James coming out for that cross, full force, full bodied and with full fury.  To this day I eh know how the two avoided a major collision with and subsequent injury to each other.  (will try and "YouTube" it later).  When Dwight first got to England, they couldn't handle him.  His balll control and dribbling skills were too much for them and it seems that the Villa coaching staff started to reign that in. 

True dat ... a lot of peeps forget that when he went there, he was a right winger.  Yorke's early years at Villa and his treble winning season at ManU is two different players. He again re-invented himself and showed his class by playing holding mid for T&T and playing it very well, well enough to claim MOM at the WC finals vs Sweden.

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #35 on: March 05, 2011, 09:41:16 AM »

-------

Just a little info for you, that John Barnes' dad was a Trini that went over to Jamaica to do military sevice and settled there. So we had a hand in that as well. Yes he had Jam. mother but without that Trini militant father, Salt.

trinis have no hand in nothing. i could care less whether his mother was trini. john barns was born in jamaica also start playing football from primary to high school in Jamaica before migrating to England just like other track athletes at that time who also represents America every year.. most of his family still lives in Jamaica another note, Lindy Delapena was the most feared striker in his days playing in England , only because of racism that's why he did not get called up to the national team.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lindy_Delapenha

Dear Editor,
I am a Middlesbrough football club supporter living in Middlesbrough. I read with absolute fascination your tremendous article on Lindy Delapenha. The link to your site was sent to me by a friend from "The Boro" as I am working on an oil rig in the North Sea at the moment. My late father used to ooze with pride whenever Lindy Delapenha's name was mentioned in conversations in pubs and bars of our hardworking steel town.

My father once told me a story that is folklore in "The Boro" which I'm sure Lindy can well remember. He took a penalty at our old ground (Ayresome park), he hit the ball so hard that it went through the back of the net! The goalkeeper, being quick-minded, grabbed the ball from the back of the goal and put it in the spot for a goal kick. Thus kidding the ref that it had missed! The ref sided with the keeper, and despite claims from Lindy and his teammates, gave a goal kick!

Lindy is still a legend in this area, and you have to imagine back in those old, dark times that it was very unusual to see a black person, let alone a black football player in the north of England, unless a team from London was playing at our ground. Our public embraced him like a son. He even married a local lass. If you pass this on to Mr Delepenha or tell him that he will never be forgotten in Middlesbrough, I would be very grateful.

God bless you, Lindy, you most certainly were Jamaica's greatest footballer. Indeed, "a man ahead of his time"!
Peter Mc Dermott
28 St David's Grove
Ingleby Barwick
Middlesbrough
Cleveland
TsS7 5HE

Lindy Delapenha started playing professional football in the English First Division over 50 years ago, he was the first non-white player to do so.

A pioneer in his time, Lindy represented Portsmouth as a striker and won a league championship medal in 1949.

Portsmouth won back to back Division I titles in 1948 and 1949. But Lindy only played four matches in the first year and all of 24 in his second year with the club.

In 1949, two years after a scout spotted him playing for the British Army in Egypt, Lindy was regarded as one of the most lethal strikers in English football. He played at both the inside right and outside right positions.

After a successful stint with Portsmouth, Lindy was transferred to Middlesborough for 1500 pounds in 1950. He played with distinction for the Division I club from 1950 to 1955, scoring a record 22 goals in 1952. That record still stands.

This gained him a trial with Arsenal, but he did not sign for the club, and in April 1948 he joined Portsmouth. There, he became the first Jamaican to play professional football in England.[1] Although it is claimed he was the first non-white player to appear in the English Football League First Division,[3] he was actually predated by several other non-white players, including Arthur Wharton, who played a First Division match for Sheffield United as far back as 1894-95.[4]

He went on to win a league championship medal with Portsmouth in 1948. In April 1950, after a successful few years with Portsmouth, he transferred to Middlesbrough where his career took off. He played on the wing or inside-forward, and became Boro's leading scorer in the 1951-52, 1953-54 and 1955-56 seasons. In total he scored 93 league and FA Cup goals in 270 appearances.

He moved to Mansfield Town in June 1958, contributing 27 goals in 115 appearances over two years, before retiring from League football in 1960.[5]

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?t=3726

Dwight york was a very good player, also Latopy and i would say Latopy is better than Dwight, cause trophies or the type of team you play for does not really make you great, some players have no support but able to create their own.Pele played most of his professional career for Santos in Brazil, never went to Europe, while maradana trying to make a point that because he played in Italy he is greater than Pele, which in my view he is not even close to Pele. Lindy Delapena and john barns were both dominant in there era. Delapena had to play through racism, while tearing apart teams in the 1950s, even the great arsenal at that time. barns was also dominant in the 1980s for Liverpool. Gardner is not the best footballer in the Caribbean, but for his position he is the best and to be in premiership for almost 13 years.   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFjg-0W3ma8  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoMFNzO1ADg&feature=related

so to say that if it was not for trini Jamaica would be salt is just dum. :rotfl:  
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 10:18:19 AM by jahkingdom »

« Reply #36 on: March 05, 2011, 10:06:39 AM »

what about the goal versus Newcastle where he beat about 5 men and score. I think that goal make Sir Alex sit up and take notice.

« Reply #37 on: March 05, 2011, 11:36:32 AM »

-------

trinis have no hand in nothing. i could care less whether his mother was trini. john barns was born in jamaica also start playing football from primary to high school in Jamaica before migrating to England just like other track athletes at that time who also represents America every year.. most of his family still lives in Jamaica another note, Lindy Delapena was the most feared striker in his days playing in England , only because of racism that's why he did not get called up to the national team.

Did any of the teams that John Barnes play for win the treble? I think not.
Dwight Yorke... greatest player ever to come from the Caribbean.
Barnes' father is from my home town too. Trini ;D

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #38 on: March 05, 2011, 01:45:07 PM »

-------

.    steups :rotfl: as I said, ii could care less if his father is trini. That have nothing to do with him been jamican. Funny thing I have never consider bolden jamaican I no shape or form. Wining treable have nothing to do with a person greatness. Manchester united already had a great team, york was just another addition.does winning a treable makes york better than henryor other legends who never won it. I sure even the guys on the bench can say they win a treable :rotfl:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 01:48:02 PM by jahkingdom »

« Reply #39 on: March 05, 2011, 02:42:41 PM »
True dat ... a lot of peeps forget that when he went there, he was a right winger.  Yorke's early years at Villa and his treble winning season at ManU is two different players. He again re-invented himself and showed his class by playing holding mid for T&T and playing it very well, well enough to claim MOM at the WC finals vs Sweden.

To me, THIS is his greatest achievement. I can think of defenders who reinvented themselves as holding midfielders, but for a striker to do it is unimaginable.  :beermug:

« Reply #40 on: March 05, 2011, 04:35:12 PM »
as expected..Congrats to him

« Reply #41 on: March 05, 2011, 07:17:25 PM »

what about the goal versus Newcastle where he beat about 5 men and score. I think that goal make Sir Alex sit up and take notice.

I cyah remember dat one at all......but dat header ah talkin' bout had meh cringin' in meh chear because I was SURE! he was gettin' hurt.

« Reply #42 on: March 05, 2011, 07:19:56 PM »
dem cyat calling down the Barnes yes...mama

« Reply #43 on: March 05, 2011, 07:23:23 PM »
Watch nah...it seem to me from watchin that vid that Yorke leaving Villa was like a bess ting ride out on yuh...serious tabanca for Aston Villa  :rotfl:

« Reply #44 on: March 05, 2011, 08:22:55 PM »
Dwight had a very high football IQ/sense which enabled him to read the game and produce on the pitch.

« Reply #45 on: March 07, 2011, 07:51:36 AM »
Dwight had a very high football IQ/sense which enabled him to read the game and produce on the pitch.

Too bad all that IQ/sense was only put to its optimum use more towards the end of his career than at any other time.

« Reply #46 on: March 07, 2011, 12:56:51 PM »

Too bad all that IQ/sense was only put to its optimum use more towards the end of his career than at any other time.

I disagree;  he was doing it before he got to England which led to him eventually playing for United. I would say to bad he didn't have the same type of sense off the field as far as his personal life!

« Reply #47 on: March 07, 2011, 01:36:35 PM »

-------

Dear Editor,

[quote

First of all let go of the illiteracy.

Second his mother would beg to differ the TT (Trini Toatie) was too sweet to turn down.  ;D
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 01:39:53 PM by vb »

« Reply #48 on: March 07, 2011, 02:02:46 PM »

I disagree;  he was doing it before he got to England which led to him eventually playing for United. I would say to bad he didn't have the same type of sense off the field as far as his personal life!

I actually talkin' 'bout his performances in national team colours...shoulda made that clear in my post.

« Reply #49 on: March 07, 2011, 03:38:41 PM »
This thread was about Dwight and Villa. Now a virus take over and it gone to JA and the Caribbean. Why?

« Reply #50 on: March 07, 2011, 09:50:58 PM »

-------

.    steups :rotfl: as I said, ii could care less if his father is trini. That have nothing to do with him been jamican. Funny thing I have never consider bolden jamaican I no shape or form. Wining treable have nothing to do with a person greatness. Manchester united already had a great team, york was just another addition.does winning a treable makes york better than henryor other legends who never won it. I sure even the guys on the bench can say they win a treable :rotfl:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

It was because Dwight was a superstar that Man United won the treble. Yes Barnes was good, but no one (except you) will put Barnes in the same category as Dwight. By the way, has Barnes ever played for Jamaica? Was Barnes recruited to play from Jamaica? No, because all of his football skills were acquired in England.

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #51 on: March 07, 2011, 11:17:44 PM »
It was because Dwight was a superstar that Man United won the treble. Yes Barnes was good, but no one (except you) will put Barnes in the same category as Dwight. By the way, has Barnes ever played for Jamaica? Was Barnes recruited to play from Jamaica? No, because all of his football skills were acquired in England.

shut you rass :rotfl:. Barns was already playing football in Jamaica from primary to high school. Barns left Jamaica at 13, not that far off from some Jamaicans today that going to U.S colleges at 16 or 17. yes he develop more because England had the infrastructure to further his development not to create it. Not playing for Jamaica doesn't make him any less of a Jamaican. a lot of athlete did it,  cause Jamaica did not have a program strong enough at that time to persuade most athlete to return home, like what we have now. by the time Jamaica should start taking football really seriously at 1994 barns already drafted in the England squad from 1983.

Jamaica did not have a strong national basket ball team for Ewing to even play for:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8T2l5Emzu-I

Jamaica did not have an excited track program like USA or Canada for some athletes also:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UR4o8X9p_Y&feature=related

any player would take the opportunity if given to them. today is a different story even people born in different country want to play for Jamaica.

other than club what have Dwight don internationally? score on Jamaica?    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zlF4KWtetE&feature=related

Barns was also good international, even taking apart Brazil defense. http://www.blackpresence.co.uk/2010/05/fohn-barnes-footballer/

anyway don't worry about playing for Jamaica, cause we have a lot of young talent coming up that will be playing for Jamaica. it will not stop at  Delapena, Barns, Gardner, Fuller, etc...

you guys keep talking about treble treble. i hope you guys knew that during Barns time at Liverpool, English clubs were band from playing in Europa championships because of hooligans and also pure racism in English football. Liverpool team was so great in the 80s, if they had played in Europe championship i sure they would have won it.  http://www.goal.com/en/news/2274/goalcoms-top-50-english-players/2009/05/09/1255083/goalcoms-top-50-english-players-john-barnes-38   

« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 11:44:06 PM by jahkingdom »

« Reply #52 on: March 08, 2011, 06:42:18 AM »

shut you rass :rotfl:. Barns was already playing football in Jamaica from primary to high school. Barns left Jamaica at 13, not that far off from some Jamaicans today that going to U.S colleges at 16 or 17. yes he develop more because England had the infrastructure to further his development not to create it. Not playing for Jamaica doesn't make him any less of a Jamaican. a lot of athlete did it,  cause Jamaica did not have a program strong enough at that time to persuade most athlete to return home, like what we have now. by the time Jamaica should start taking football really seriously at 1994 barns already drafted in the England squad from 1983.

J'ca has a football program?

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #53 on: March 08, 2011, 08:16:13 AM »

J'ca has a football program?

a federation. corrupt, but better than before.
http://www.jamaicafootballfederation.com/

more qualified agency's and scout for both players home and abroad
http://www.sportsagencyja.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=47&Itemid=55

http://www.pro-goalssports.com/

Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA). runs the Premier  league:
http://www.digicelpl.com/

also more organize leagues example. KSAC, Super league, D1, D2 etc..
leagues in Jamaica has a relegation and a promotion structure so they connect to each other.

improving school boy football program
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpmX_rveRmg&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oqT5mo1Amzk&feature=related

and also three football academy coming on stream.

that's just a few. with the improvement of school boy football program, we see the improvement of players and  more Jamaicans are getting scholarship to us colleges. the improvement of the Primere league. exporting more players to Europe and America than the TT pro league. also u21 program in the primere league.improved referees and coach trainings. with better players comes more success, such as qualifying or winning major tournaments, with that more youths from overseas now want to play for Jamaica cause they see the potential. it is not the best, but it is way better than the 90s, don't even think about the 70s or 80s cause there was non.   

« Reply #54 on: March 08, 2011, 08:35:52 AM »
All yuh/unu well know how to hijack thread yes, anyway, congrats Dwight!

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #55 on: March 08, 2011, 08:52:25 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: we nah hijack thread is you boyz call we. :devil:

« Reply #56 on: March 08, 2011, 11:32:22 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: we nah hijack thread is you boyz call we. :devil:

Barataria, you know the jealousy had to bring them out. ;D

« Reply #57 on: March 11, 2011, 04:54:32 PM »
Dwight Yorke...greatest player to come from CONCACAF, Caribbean, Aston Villa and Manchester United!!!!!

« Reply #58 on: March 11, 2011, 05:24:30 PM »
Dwight Yorke...greatest player to come from CONCACAF, Caribbean, Aston Villa and Manchester United!!!!!

He go have to battle it out with Hugo Sanchez from Mex.

« Reply #59 on: March 11, 2011, 06:30:54 PM »

He go have to battle it out with Hugo Sanchez from Mex.

Sanchez team never win no Treble  ;D