April 28, 2024, 04:36:27 AM

Author Topic: My picks for Berlin.  (Read 4585 times)

My picks for Berlin.
« on: August 04, 2009, 09:38:00 PM »
MEN

100: Bolt, Gay, Bailey
200: Bolt, Gay, Crawford
400: Merritt, Wariner, Quow
110H: Robles, Trammell, Payne
400H: Phillips, Van Zyl, Jackson
4x100m: JAM, USA, TRI
4x400m USA, BAH, GBR

WOMEN

100: Stewart, Fraser, Jeter
200: Felix, Campbell-Brown, Ferguson
400: Richards, Williams, Krivoshapka
100H: Harper, Mc Clellan, Perry
400H: Demus, Walker, Lucas
4x100m: JAM, USA, RUS
4x400m RUS, USA, JAM

Notes:

European athletes will be almost a complete non-factor in any event with starting blocks, including Ohuruogu who, after a stellar run of being 400m Commonwealth, World and Olympic champion in the last 3 seasons, will not factor in Berlin.

I am not as convinced as I was in Beijing that Tyson Gay's leg will NOT hold up for 4(8) rounds. I think he squeaks by fitness-wise, but not enough to trouble the 'Lightning'. Gay has my eternal respect for being the only one of the established veterans this year to RESPOND to the Bolt challenge, and not run FROM it. I would like to pick him - maybe if he sat out the 100m and caught a tired Bolt at 200m which MIGHT work, but (as I never did) Gay won't sit out the 100m even though he is probably a better 200m runner, and unfortunately MAY re-injure his groin trying. I can't pick Tyson because I can't picture the point at which he pulls away (even a little) from Usain Bolt. Not happening.

This is certainly the first time in history that a man (TYSON GAY) who THIS SEASON has run 9.77 and 19.58 LEGALLY, is being picked by almost no-one to win his events - not even Track and Field News.

I picked Trinidad in the relay for 3rd last year and many scoffed at it being a 'HOMER' pick. They got 2nd in Beijing. Same pick this year, even though the parts aren't as strong. Stuff happens in a relay competition - definitely did last year (USA, UK)

Josanne Lucas, formerly of Auburn University, becomes TnT's first female medalist at WORLDS ever, in the 400m H.

The W 100m hurdles is the hardest event to pick this year, so I chose according to what history shows happens - Bobby Kersee athletes win. ('93, '95, '99, '04, '05, '07, '08 are the years a Bobby Kersee 100m hurdler was world or Olympic champion - ridiculous amounts of success!) Mc Clellan is in there because no hurdler not named Terrence Trammell starts better under pressure.

Asafa? - No. Despite my firm belief when I said it on TV on the track in the stadium in Kingston earlier this year. I would love to be wrong here, but....no. The saga continues.

M400H - Hard to call as well, everyone is all over the place beating everyone else. I smell a first-time winner. Isa has paid his dues.

Sanya, if she wins this one, as I believe she will (of course, I and everyone else thought this last year as well) will NEVER lose another championship in her prime. Take that.

200m for men will be closer than everyone thinks it will. 100m Men? - er - not so much. 100m women will be close - for 3rd.

How come no-one noticed that Melaine Walker smacked hurdle 6 and still ran a SB in Monaco? She is one of the most dangerous 2nd place picks here, but I think she will just lose to the in-form-to-leave-Berlin-as-the-400mH WR-holder Demus, who finally confirms the greatness predicted for her a decade ago.

Belgium, with the Borlees, might be a factor in the 4x400m with 3:04 already without them, but I have heard little from the twins since NCAAs, so no medal.

Re: My picks for Berlin.
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2009, 03:54:02 AM »
Watch out for Ryan Brathwaite in the M 110H... :beermug:

Ato, fill in the blanks for the 100m please  :beermug:

1) Bolt
2) Gay
3) Bailey
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2009, 08:34:13 AM »
Brown
Bolt
Powell ///ha ha ha

« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2009, 12:32:43 PM »
Boy no RT

« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2009, 03:05:02 PM »

Offline panjazz

« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2009, 05:26:46 PM »
Boy no RT

RT not even makin de semis.

Yuh mean no 9.8's this year as predicted by the experts?  :o

« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2009, 05:47:27 PM »
Boy no RT

If dey runnin 60 metres he jes might make dat time.  8)

Offline panjazz

« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2009, 07:15:27 PM »
Boy no RT

If dey runnin 60 metres he jes might make dat time.  8)

« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2009, 08:01:30 PM »
MEN

4x400m USA, BAH, GBR

WOMEN

100: Stewart, Fraser, Jeter
200: Felix, Campbell-Brown, Ferguson
400: Richards, Williams, Krivoshapka
100H: Harper, Mc Clellan, Perry
400H: Demus, Walker, Lucas
4x100m: JAM, USA, RUS
4x400m RUS, USA, JAM

Notes:

European athletes will be almost a complete non-factor in any event with starting blocks, including Ohuruogu who, after a stellar run of being 400m Commonwealth, World and Olympic champion in the last 3 seasons, will not factor in Berlin.

I am not as convinced as I was in Beijing that Tyson Gay's leg will NOT hold up for 4(8) rounds. I think he squeaks by fitness-wise, but not enough to trouble the 'Lightning'. Gay has my eternal respect for being the only one of the established veterans this year to RESPOND to the Bolt challenge, and not run FROM it. I would like to pick him - maybe if he sat out the 100m and caught a tired Bolt at 200m which MIGHT work, but (as I never did) Gay won't sit out the 100m even though he is probably a better 200m runner, and unfortunately MAY re-injure his groin trying. I can't pick Tyson because I can't picture the point at which he pulls away (even a little) from Usain Bolt. Not happening.

This is certainly the first time in history that a man (TYSON GAY) who THIS SEASON has run 9.77 and 19.58 LEGALLY, is being picked by almost no-one to win his events - not even Track and Field News.

I picked Trinidad in the relay for 3rd last year and many scoffed at it being a 'HOMER' pick. They got 2nd in Beijing. Same pick this year, even though the parts aren't as strong. Stuff happens in a relay competition - definitely did last year (USA, UK)

Josanne Lucas, formerly of Auburn University, becomes TnT's first female medalist at WORLDS ever, in the 400m H.

The W 100m hurdles is the hardest event to pick this year, so I chose according to what history shows happens - Bobby Kersee athletes win. ('93, '95, '99, '04, '05, '07, '08 are the years a Bobby Kersee 100m hurdler was world or Olympic champion - ridiculous amounts of success!) Mc Clellan is in there because no hurdler not named Terrence Trammell starts better under pressure.

Asafa? - No. Despite my firm belief when I said it on TV on the track in the stadium in Kingston earlier this year. I would love to be wrong here, but....no. The saga continues.

M400H - Hard to call as well, everyone is all over the place beating everyone else. I smell a first-time winner. Isa has paid his dues.

Sanya, if she wins this one, as I believe she will (of course, I and everyone else thought this last year as well) will NEVER lose another championship in her prime. Take that.

200m for men will be closer than everyone thinks it will. 100m Men? - er - not so much. 100m women will be close - for 3rd.

How come no-one noticed that Melaine Walker smacked hurdle 6 and still ran a SB in Monaco? She is one of the most dangerous 2nd place picks here, but I think she will just lose to the in-form-to-leave-Berlin-as-the-400mH WR-holder Demus, who finally confirms the greatness predicted for her a decade ago.

Belgium, with the Borlees, might be a factor in the 4x400m with 3:04 already without them, but I have heard little from the twins since NCAAs, so no medal.

3 medals for Trinidad. Not bad. I think Bailey will get Antigua's first medal. Jamaica will leave with at least 7 medals. 5 golds for sure.

« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2009, 08:46:49 PM »
Oh yeah, and I would put that hurdler from Canada (Lopes-Schliep) for a medal. That girl runs hard.

« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2009, 09:58:52 AM »
9.8 is not an auto medal in Berlin at all....

« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2009, 10:50:28 AM »
9.8 is not an auto medal in Berlin at all....

So how is KAB  comming along?

« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2009, 06:45:42 PM »
Depends on which one shows up to Berlin, but I have been impressed with her EURO season as someone who is in their first post-collegiate season.

« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2009, 10:58:54 PM »
i like ato picks, i hope bailey medal but that might come at tnt expense, i would write off asafa taking de bronze

« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2009, 07:24:09 AM »
F00ck you Ato and yuh dotish predictions. Yuh macco-mere  man.....

Yuh sell out yuh country. You saying we coming third in de relay because stuff happens, so stuff have to happen for we to get a medal.

No faith at all in yuh country men/women..

I predict silver for T&T in the 100m and de 4x100 and if Brown healthy we might get a gold, but good for silver either way. And silver for we in de women 100m.

Watch and see... this is we year.

« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2009, 09:19:40 AM »

Sam you not that dotish. I hope.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2009, 09:21:44 AM by A.B. »

Offline Paceman123

• The talent to be a great runner is a gift from Go
« Reply #16 on: August 09, 2009, 06:01:03 PM »

Sam Getting on Bad for we boy sam i like u LOL

Offline panjazz

« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2009, 07:24:24 AM »
F00ck you Ato and yuh dotish predictions. Yuh macco-mere  man.....

Yuh sell out yuh country. You saying we coming third in de relay because stuff happens, so stuff have to happen for we to get a medal.

No faith at all in yuh country men/women..

I predict silver for T&T in the 100m and de 4x100 and if Brown healthy we might get a gold, but good for silver either way. And silver for we in de women 100m.

Watch and see... this is we year.

Send some ah dat stuff u drinking nuh bro  :rotfl:

« Reply #18 on: August 10, 2009, 09:07:36 AM »
Yuh have to light it in the pipe first  :rotfl:

« Reply #19 on: August 10, 2009, 03:29:52 PM »
By the way guys it is Trinidad and Tobago. Trinidad is an island, not a country.

« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2009, 07:56:35 PM »
By the way guys it is Trinidad and Tobago. Trinidad is an island, not a country.

Thank you!

« Reply #21 on: August 20, 2009, 12:57:50 PM »
Watch out for Ryan Brathwaite in the M 110H... :beermug:

*cough*cough*

« Reply #22 on: August 20, 2009, 02:55:18 PM »
This pick gives me the most joy tonight...

August 4:

"Josanne Lucas, formerly of Auburn University, becomes TnT's first female medalist at WORLDS ever, in the 400m H."

boss you did say the Bajan - all credit due! (but in future you have to say a place eh lol)
« Last Edit: August 20, 2009, 06:08:27 PM by A.B. »

« Reply #23 on: August 20, 2009, 11:10:08 PM »
Kinda cool to read some of these comments after de fact ;D

« Reply #24 on: August 21, 2009, 03:09:38 PM »
MEN

4x400m USA, BAH, GBR

Good call Ato. :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: August 21, 2009, 03:14:07 PM »
Yuh miss the girl from Canada in the 110m hurdles

« Reply #26 on: August 21, 2009, 04:38:08 PM »
Quow delivers my first perfect prediction...

« Reply #27 on: August 21, 2009, 05:05:47 PM »

Like ah need to visit this section of the forum more often.... :shameonyou:  :devil: ;D