April 23, 2024, 11:53:18 PM

Author Topic: Ulric Cross RAF legend (from Trinidad)  (Read 4866 times)

Re: Ulric Cross RAF legend (from Trinidad)
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 05:27:39 AM »
photos of Cross here... scroll down
Photos 2, 3, and 4.

http://www.caribbeanaircrew-ww2.com/?tag=sl&paged=2

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 07:02:43 AM »
Photos 2, 3, and 4.

wicked pice of history dey vb

funny enough I clicked on the  Johnny Smythe link (sitting next to Ulric) and get ah decent link to some more history

This lil tidbit was funny:
"When we were coming into India on our ship, rumours went round among the Indians: "The Africans are coming! They are cannibals; they chop [eat] people; they have tails!" So when we went to bathe in the streams, people asked us not to take our pants off - our blue PT pants - in case they would be frightened by our tails! Then the British authorities themselves began to spread the story: "We are bringing in the Africans. When they catch you, they will chop you alive" (laughs) This was the best way they had of putting fear into the Japanese."

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2011, 02:28:10 PM »
I believe I know the family.  His son was a high-ranking Coast Guard officer, might have been the top man, but I'm not sure.

« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2011, 04:51:30 PM »
He is my family.  Son was not top man was a commander..he was a real asshole... the CG man...lol

« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2011, 07:03:56 PM »
He was my boss @ the law commission. he was also ah very nice man well educated spoke like an englishman and was married to a white lady.  check him out @ 802 mins of this clip.      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sh8SeGmzai4&feature=related
« Last Edit: June 14, 2011, 07:21:00 PM by just cool »

« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2011, 07:05:07 PM »
Photos 2, 3, and 4.

funny enough I clicked on the  Johnny Smythe link (sitting next to Ulric) and get ah decent link to some more history

"When we were coming into India on our ship, rumours went round among the Indians: "The Africans are coming! They are cannibals; they chop [eat] people; they have tails!" So when we went to bathe in the streams, people asked us not to take our pants off - our blue PT pants - in case they would be frightened by our tails! Then the British authorities themselves began to spread the story: "We are bringing in the Africans. When they catch you, they will chop you alive" (laughs) This was the best way they had of putting fear into the Japanese."
They were right, we do have tails, but it's in the front. :D

« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2011, 09:30:15 PM »
yuh come back from Mecca with one setta nasty talk eh..

« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2011, 10:32:39 PM »
He is my family.  Son was not top man was a commander..he was a real asshole... the CG man...lol

Wait, your last name is Cross, and your first name is Trinity?

« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2011, 11:03:45 PM »
They had Tiny Cross, Neville Cross, and Ian Cross....I is Trinity Cross....what ah go tellyuh???

« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2011, 04:16:42 AM »
Photos 2, 3, and 4.

You would be shocked at the concept some ppl STILL have in this day and age.

Remember meeting a Sri Lankan girl who was goin out with a black guy. Her family tell her black ppl doh bathe and like to have sex every day. At one point early in the relationship she actually tell de man she think dey have to break up becz sh didn't think she could "meet his sexual needs as a  black man."

Now if you knwo this girl she is the sweetest person.But she just didn't have a clue about black ppl except what her family tell her.

In Afghanistan they have told the locals that white ppl have tails like the devil. And I was told by an ex Talib that once when they had killed some soldiers they was looking for the tail but couldn't find any.

« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2011, 07:46:30 PM »
They had Tiny Cross, Neville Cross, and Ian Cross....I is Trinity Cross....what ah go tellyuh???

Tiny was involved in field hockey in the 60's and 70's????