April 25, 2024, 11:27:44 AM

Author Topic: For Grande and others (cricket)  (Read 3125 times)

For Grande and others (cricket)
« on: August 10, 2009, 01:59:16 PM »
Name me a player from Sangre Grande who was good enough to score a century vs. England.

Re: For Grande and others (cricket)
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 11:55:43 PM »
Name me a player from Sangre Grande who was good enough to score a century vs. England.

boy I used to play real cricket in the streets of Grande but neva knew enough to answer such questions - I'll ask mih father.  ;D

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 01:51:21 PM »
You father would most likely know. Small hint.

He went to QRC and his career would have been over before 1960.

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2009, 05:33:56 AM »

Very very last hint.

He is from Caigual, Sangre Grande! :-)

You hadda be a real Grande man to know this one :-)

He is also very famous for another reason but if I say it, you will guess it too easy.  ;D

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2009, 12:34:51 PM »

Very very last hint.

He is also very famous for another reason but if I say it, you will guess it too easy.  ;D

Rupert Tang-Choon? (sp)

famous for being the only chinee to get picked for the WI team up till that time?

« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2009, 12:45:15 PM »

Very very last hint.

Rupert Tang-Choon? (sp)

famous for being the only chinee to get picked for the WI team up till that time?

Actually he never played for the WI. In the forties with Headley, Stollmyer brothers, Gomez, etc. didn't get pick.

However, was very successful for TT.

My Dad knew him as they were from the same area.

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2009, 06:13:11 AM »

Very very last hint.

Rupert Tang-Choon? (sp)

Actually he never played for the WI. In the forties with Headley, Stollmyer brothers, Gomez, etc. didn't get pick.

However, was very successful for TT.

My Dad knew him as they were from the same area.

Caigual eh...yuh fadder is a bushman  ;D

That's right, he played for TT.

Apparenty though (according to mih pops) he was about to be selected for WI but something got in the way?

« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2009, 06:24:34 AM »
Yep,

Pops from caigual and my mom from Plumita.

Bush all round.

My Grandfather from caigual was well known himself, represented the area in Parliament.

On a side note  both my Dad and Uncle captained Hindu college in cricket :-)

« Last Edit: August 26, 2009, 05:35:29 PM by vb »