4 (14.8%)
Talent
1 (3.7%)
Style of Play(tactics?)
14 (51.9%)
Other
8 (29.6%)

Total Members Voted: 26

Author Topic: Clyde Leon over Birchall?  (Read 6463 times)

Clyde Leon over Birchall?
« on: August 13, 2009, 06:09:36 AM »
Birchall has seemingly become a bit part player under latas. I liken it to Cantona's description of Deschamps as a "water carrier". It seems to me that Latas views Birchall's contribution in a similar manner. I not saying Latas wrong, as each coach has their style and their opinion...but I just wondering what is allyuh take on the situation as to why Leon is the preferred ball winner over Birchall, currently.

Re: Clyde Leon over Birchall?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2009, 06:38:35 AM »
lol, probably just a little payback for not getting a sweat in front of him at the World Cup.  :P

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2009, 07:04:24 AM »
I followed instructions and I vote c.

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2009, 07:12:47 AM »
to be honest i cant understand why birchall not starting and leon is. birchall has better defensive awareness than leon and is better technically on the ball. only latas can answer this question IMO.

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2009, 07:16:19 AM »
to be honest i cant understand why birchall not starting and leon is. birchall has better defensive awareness than leon and is better technically on the ball. only latas can answer this question IMO.

Latas learn 1 ting from Mats strange selection. D difference he give we 3 pts while Mats give we 2.

« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2009, 07:19:01 AM »
When I saw Leon in de starting lineup over Birchall I was shocked.  Leon looked like shit last night.  He plays like he has no brain.  I watched Leon play in the two W-Connection games against NY and he looked like garbage in those games too.

Since Beenie and Wim left Birchall seems to be in de doghouse.  Why?  I have no idea.

« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2009, 07:24:27 AM »
We win right?   ???

« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2009, 07:25:19 AM »
We win right?   ???

Yes because Dog was MOM prayin on d sideline.

« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2009, 07:26:08 AM »
he white

« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2009, 07:31:34 AM »
Since Beenie and Wim left Birchall seems to be in de doghouse.  Why?  I have no idea.
No "attacking flair"?

« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2009, 07:36:07 AM »
leon and noel linked up well in the mid together, when birchall came in we are on our backfoot. like i said before, there are many players locally who can do birchall's job and pass much better. birchall is better coming off the bench than starting.

noel played well last night with leon beside him, yorke days numbered as the holding mid...

« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2009, 07:36:32 AM »
Very good question. I don't see anything in Leon.

« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2009, 07:37:16 AM »
leon and noel linked up well in the mid together, when birchall came in we are on our backfoot. like i said before, there are many players locally who can do birchall's job and pass much better. birchall is better coming off the bench than starting.

noel played well last night with leon beside him, yorke days numbered as the holding mid...

We were "on our backfoot" before Birchall came on.

« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2009, 07:37:43 AM »
Very good question. I don't see anything in Leon.

Because there is nutten 2 c. He was beeing groom I beleive 2 replace Yorke put time 2 move on.

« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2009, 07:41:16 AM »

not really, we lost possession alot more with birchall on, he was chasing more than possessing and passing, watch the last 15 mins again and you will see what i mean...

« Reply #15 on: August 13, 2009, 07:42:27 AM »
If I were coach Birchall will start all the time, you cannot take away his toughness and grit, he plays with more heart than some other men on the team. Let's not forget that cannon of a shot he has. I could have seen him take that same shot KJ got last night and bury it in the net. I wish he was on in that first half

« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2009, 07:45:07 AM »

not really, we lost possession alot more with birchall on, he was chasing more than possessing and passing, watch the last 15 mins again and you will see what i mean...

birchos give away several balls. but he hustle an won several balls too

« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2009, 07:48:55 AM »
Birchall was injured and not fit enough to last 90

« Reply #18 on: August 13, 2009, 07:50:09 AM »

We were still on our backfoot when he came on too

« Reply #19 on: August 13, 2009, 07:50:37 AM »

Aye, aye....stop posting and work on we report... ;D

« Reply #20 on: August 13, 2009, 07:50:51 AM »

Well then put a one vote for match fitness, nah  ;D

« Reply #21 on: August 13, 2009, 07:52:04 AM »
same shot KJ got last night and bury it in the net.

It had two that came from corners last nite, right on Leon foot and he take a first touch and the men jam him too.

« Reply #22 on: August 13, 2009, 08:01:13 AM »
TI, yuh is ah big leon fan so u will always have an excuse for him...anyway, i play against leon in intercol/youth leagues and back then he was a very solid player, he looks way out of league for the natl team but intercol is not WCQ so that might be the obvious reason.  However, i think the main reason he may be on the team is a work ethic, he will put out every ounce of his ability for his team.  The question is, is there anyone else out there who can do a better job?

« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2009, 08:03:02 AM »
We were still on our backfoot when he came on too

Controversial seemed to imply that it was Birchall's introduction that led to us being on the backfoot.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2009, 08:07:46 AM by dwn »

« Reply #24 on: August 13, 2009, 08:04:32 AM »
I think Lata's want the midfield while doing the defensive duties, to be more creative/attacking, Birchall's role in the team has generally been that of a ball winning defensive midfielder. I guess he believes Leon fits the role that he wants performed better than Birchall. I doh watch much PFL so Lata's would be a better judge of Leon's talent but from what I've seen Birchall should be given the oppertunity to start in a more attacking role before he starts being typecast. Is only since we get Bichall in the national side that he been playing in defensive posistions and the times I managed to see him play in club ball he looked fairly decent as an attacking player. Hey, at least Lata's still values his contribution as he still picks and plays him (though as a sub). At least he hasn't been completely discarded like Boucaud was.

« Reply #25 on: August 13, 2009, 08:05:50 AM »
Leon start over Birchall...Lata smoking some kinder shit.....Birchall is a fighter and i saw Leon played in giants stadium to laye back of a player...no energies

« Reply #26 on: August 13, 2009, 08:06:03 AM »
I watch a fair amount of local football and I think Leon is definitely our best ball winner and he is look good on the local scene. If he is not the best, whoever better than him not definitively better so I not begrudging him his pick or his place on the side

In fact, he could be better than Birchie on the international scene as well, given time...but I was just wondering the real reasoning behind the decisison cause he hasn't shown that form for W Connection in the Champions League nor for the national team, whenever the foreign based around. But among the locals, he usually looks a cut above.

« Reply #27 on: August 13, 2009, 08:11:04 AM »
From what I've seen from Leon playing for T&T he is not as good as Birchall. Unfortunately I haven't been able to see him play in the PFL. But his performance for W Connection in the recent Concacaf Championship games against NY were quite poor as well. PFL and International football is two different ball games, and from what I've seen, Leon isn't as good as Birchall is at that level.

« Reply #28 on: August 13, 2009, 08:13:37 AM »
Brichy would have start on my team from the beginning to end.  Why latas didnt start him...only he knows why.  ???

« Reply #29 on: August 13, 2009, 08:15:30 AM »
I think Lata's want the midfield while doing the defensive duties, to be more creative/attacking, Birchall's role in the team has generally been that of a ball winning defensive midfielder. I guess he believes Leon fits the role that he wants performed better than Birchall. I doh watch much PFL so Lata's would be a better judge of Leon's talent but from what I've seen Birchall should be given the oppertunity to start in a more attacking role before he starts being typecast. Is only since we get Bichall in the national side that he been playing in defensive posistions and the times I managed to see him play in club ball he looked fairly decent as an attacking player. Hey, at least Lata's still values his contribution as he still picks and plays him (though as a sub). At least he hasn't been completely discarded like Boucaud was.

Never seen anything attacking or creative from Leon.

I think the question we should be asking is this:
in what areas is Leon better than Birchall and vice versa?