April 28, 2024, 03:41:04 AM

Author Topic: The 2009 World Championships in Berlin!!!!!!!!!!!  (Read 60660 times)

Offline Aviator

Re: The 2009 World Championships in Berlin!!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #150 on: August 17, 2009, 11:29:57 AM »
De yardies dem come to sweep again.

There won't be any yardie sweep.

That's GUARANTEED

I made that statement prematurely. Jeter is looking great. I don't see Veronica Campbell beating her in the finals later, but Kerron Stewart and Shelly-Ann Fraser will go 1-2
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline panjazz

« Reply #151 on: August 17, 2009, 11:31:25 AM »

That's GUARANTEED

The Yardie Chemistry program is impressive  ;)

« Reply #152 on: August 17, 2009, 11:32:14 AM »
semoy hackett didnt make it either?  ???

It's a USA, JAM, BAH final

« Reply #153 on: August 17, 2009, 11:43:06 AM »
nice run Richard and Marc :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
TWO trinbagonians in the TOP 8 of the world ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #154 on: August 17, 2009, 11:53:31 AM »

That's GUARANTEED

Dat final guh be tears, hard luck KAB, yuh know we proud all de same, well done Semoy and Ayanna

How many sub 11s KAB have?

Ditto.  We proud of ALL our athletes...INCLUDING Callender.  8)

Who's the 4th on we women's 4x100 relay squad?

Wanda Hutson?

« Reply #155 on: August 17, 2009, 12:07:07 PM »
QR men, ah have a few brederin well who went to QR (I am a Fatima/Tranquil alumnus myself), and ah must say you guys seem to produce the lion share of TT's male track athletes, educate me (and the board) a bit on what happens there if you will and whatever is being done needs to be spread quickly around the country.

Another qu, for the experts, can RT be a 9.6/9.7 runner?  If yes, what will it take for him to get there (legally of course  ;D)  Bless and thanks for the education in advance

Thompson,Burns and Gordon all QRC boys.Someone into track will have to give you the reason but what I think their late track coach Lawrence McDowell in the '90's layed a good foundation.These guys were expose to Penn and Florida relays before El Do and the other local schools.McDowell was also stadium manager at HCS,so those guys had access to the facilities for training.Finally a lot of them were able to get scholarships to improve themselves.   

Pre: Mcdowell..Mr Springer..60's to end...Mottleys, Springers, Ried, Joneses, Ried, Grayson and Mcdowell (managed the stadium in '80s') was under him as well...At QRC, track was a winning culture (many jnr Nat. records in my time), football however always held the glory, even if it didn't have the same levels of successes as Track & Field. The southern equivalent was SFTech...deeks could probably add some more
« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 12:09:22 PM by maxg »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #156 on: August 17, 2009, 12:26:47 PM »
Kelly-Ann's race....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/p5OUvlvmWSc&amp;feature=channel" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/p5OUvlvmWSc&amp;feature=channel</a>

Offline trace1906

« Reply #157 on: August 17, 2009, 12:43:45 PM »
KAB just miss out.

Fellas I doh really comment much an ting eh...I does jus read wah allyuh say an geh mih kicks but ah have to say ah find it unfair that place reigns over time when it's down to 16 semi-finalists and you need 8 finalists.  It's so unfortunate for KAB that she ran 11.07 and finds herself out of the final when Aileen Bailey is inside with a time of 11.16. What BS is that? Your eight finalists should be those who clock the eight fastest semi-final times. Stuuuueps...Who the hell shitty idea is that? And what criteria do they use to place ppl in heats at semi-final level? Ah need help to understand this! :( >:( :o 

« Reply #158 on: August 17, 2009, 12:54:11 PM »
KAB was gainin yuh know, steups. 
Look like she had a slow start.

Proud of her and Hutchinson still.

« Reply #159 on: August 17, 2009, 01:03:01 PM »
KAB just miss out.

Fellas I doh really comment much an ting eh...I does jus read wah allyuh say an geh mih kicks but ah have to say ah find it unfair that place reigns over time when it's down to 16 semi-finalists and you need 8 finalists.  It's so unfortunate for KAB that she ran 11.07 and finds herself out of the final when Aileen Bailey is inside with a time of 11.16. What BS is that? Your eight finalists should be those who clock the eight fastest semi-final times. Stuuuueps...Who the hell shitty idea is that? And what criteria do they use to place ppl in heats at semi-final level? Ah need help to understand this! :( >:( :o 

i agree

Offline Aviator

« Reply #160 on: August 17, 2009, 01:11:17 PM »
KAB just miss out.

The selection policy is cut-throat but fair. There are meets at lower levels that use your reasoning, but I have seen where one heat, the wind is drastically different from the other greatly affecting the results. This setup eliminates that problem.

The top 2 from every q-final gets a choice of lanes 3-6 in both semis. The other places are down to a random draw.

« Reply #161 on: August 17, 2009, 01:30:27 PM »
That was a massive 10K between the Ethiopian, Bekele, and the Eritrean, Tadasse. That was a 0:57 last lap
« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 01:34:34 PM by E-man »

Offline trace1906

« Reply #162 on: August 17, 2009, 01:38:36 PM »
Thanx Aviator...Didn't consider the wind factor...although i still wonder how drastic a change can happen in 5 -10 minutes. I take your point. I guess it's jus really unfortunate for KAB cuz in this particular case the wind was the same in both semis at -0.1. Better luck next time Kelly. We still luv u!!!!

« Reply #163 on: August 17, 2009, 01:41:46 PM »
Fraser 10.73

« Reply #164 on: August 17, 2009, 01:45:44 PM »
Fraser 10.73

she does look healthy too  :devil:

« Reply #165 on: August 17, 2009, 02:02:19 PM »

« Reply #166 on: August 17, 2009, 07:20:46 PM »
Big up Thompson, dont worry bro, you will de much better next time... people have ups and downs.

I hear Bolt tested positive.

« Reply #167 on: August 17, 2009, 07:31:51 PM »
Big up Thompson, dont worry bro, you will de much better next time... people have ups and downs.

eh , where u hear that from now?

« Reply #168 on: August 17, 2009, 07:36:02 PM »

eh , where u hear that from now?

Why allyuh have to make these stupid, unfounded statements?  Shame on you for starting sick rumors

Offline Aviator

« Reply #169 on: August 17, 2009, 09:04:36 PM »
Back to the track. We have a few Trini's well in action tomorrow.

Heat 1
Tuesday 18 August 2009 - 10:05
Lane    Bib    Athlete    Country    2009    PB
1    1108    Aaron Armstrong    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI       20.08
2    1017    Roman Smirnov    [RUSSIA] RUS    20.73    20.57
3    1256    Brian Dzingai    [ZIMBABWE] ZIM    20.37    20.12
4    1174    Shawn Crawford    [UNITED STATES] USA    20.19    19.79
5    492    Dwain Chambers    [GREAT BRITAIN & N.I.] GBR    20.50    20.31(Injured, pulled out)
6    595    Adam Harris    [GUYANA] GUY    20.67    20.67
7    680    Khalil Al-Hanahneh    [JORDAN] JOR    21.63    20.81
8    877    Jaysuma Saidy Ndure    [NORWAY] NOR    20.55    19.89( Injured, pulled out)

Heat 5
Tuesday 18 August 2009 - 10:29
2    215    Sandro Viana    [BRAZIL] BRA    20.57    20.32
3    863    Obinna Metu    [NIGERIA] NGR    20.59    20.55
4    254    Sam Effah    [CANADA] CAN    20.75    20.68
5    656    Usain Bolt    [JAMAICA] JAM    19.59    19.30
6    446    Eddy De Lepine    [FRANCE] FRA    20.81    20.47
7    695    Hitoshi Saito    [JAPAN] JPN    20.42    20.42
8    1115    Rondell Sorrillo    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI    20.45    20.43

Heat 6
Tuesday 18 August 2009 - 10:35
2    1139    Ihor Bodrov    [UKRAINE] UKR    20.61    20.61
3    170    Ramon Gittens    [BARBADOS] BAR    20.56    20.56
4    1060    Marc Schneeberger    [SWITZERLAND] SUI    20.46    20.46
5    1111    Emmanuel Callander    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI    20.40    20.40
6    759    Hamed Hamdan AlBishi    [SAUDI ARABIA] KSA    20.74    20.55
7    888    Alonso Edward    [PANAMA] PAN    20.00    20.00
8    716    Vyacheslav Muravyev    [KAZAKHSTAN] KAZ    21.00    20.75

Callander better make de semis to make up fuh dat goose egg he lay in the 100m. Anything pass de semis I will consider exceeding expectations.

De shortest man on the squad also begins his run for a podium finish.

Heat 2
Tuesday 18 August 2009 - 11:12
1    295    William Collazo    [CUBA] CUB    44.96    44.96
2    322    Arismendy Peguero    [DOMINICAN REPUBLIC] DOM    45.55    44.92
3    909    Marcin Marciniszyn    [POLAND] POL    45.80    45.54
4    1113    Renny Quow    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI    44.89    44.82
5    897    Nelson Stone    [PAPUA NEW GUINEA] PNG    46.76    46.76
6    188    Mathieu Gnanligo    [BENIN] BEN    48.15    45.88
7    157    Michael Mathieu    [BAHAMAS] BAH    45.80    45.17
8    176    Kévin Borlée    [BELGIUM] BEL    45.43    44.88

He get ah easy heat.

Heat 4
Tuesday 18 August 2009 - 18:31
1    690    Christina Vukicevic    [NORWAY] NOR    12.74    12.74
2    681    Jessica Ohanaja    [NIGERIA] NGR    13.31    13.01
3    206    Priscilla Lopes-Schliep    [CANADA] CAN    12.51    12.51
4    875    Lisa Urech    [SWITZERLAND] SUI    13.01    13.01
5    140    Eline Berings    [BELGIUM] BEL    12.94    12.94
6    1018    Virginia Powell    [UNITED STATES] USA    12.64    12.45
7    926    Nevin Yanit    [TURKEY] TUR    12.89    12.76
8    909    Aleesha Barber    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI    13.06    12.90

Josanne has a tough heat, but I have faith she will make it through.
400 Metres Hurdles - W   Semi-Final
first 2 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified.
Heat 1
Tuesday 18 August 2009 - 20:15
1    138    Elodie Ouédraogo    [BELGIUM] BEL    56.60    55.72
2    680    Muizat Ajoke Odumosu    [NIGERIA] NGR    54.80    54.80
3    913    Josanne Lucas    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI    54.17    54.17
4    218    Xiaoxiao Huang    [PR OF CHINA] CHN    55.52    54.00
5    759    Angela Morosanu    [ROMANIA] ROU    53.95    53.95
6    545    Melaine Walker    [JAMAICA] JAM    54.20    52.64
7    796    Natalya Ivanova    [RUSSIA] RUS    55.74    54.36
8    1027    Sheena Tosta    [UNITED STATES] USA    54.19    52.95

Last but not least the young hurdling prodigy Jehue Gordon. You have nothing to lose and all to gain youngster, go brave!!!!

18 August 2009 - 20:50
1    671    Danny McFarlane    [JAMAICA] JAM    48.13    48.00
2    1112    Jehue Gordon    [trINIDAD AND TOBAGO] TRI    48.66    48.66
3    1173    Kerron Clement    [UNITED STATES] USA    48.00    47.24
4    329    Felix Sánchez    [DOMINICAN REPUBLIC] DOM    48.34    47.25
5    1191    Bershawn Jackson    [UNITED STATES] USA    47.98    47.30
6    509    David Greene    [GREAT BRITAIN & N.I.] GBR    48.27    48.27
7    583    Periklís Iakovákis    [GREECE] GRE    48.73    47.82
8    948    Javier Culson    [PUERTO RICO] PUR    48.29    48.29

« Reply #170 on: August 17, 2009, 10:11:53 PM »

I think KS broke stride and leaned too early. Great start by Fraser though!

« Reply #171 on: August 17, 2009, 10:41:47 PM »
gordon have ah nice lane, he can all the big guns, dont matter what he does in the race he already proved that he has potential...but i still hoping he beat ah few folks although dat entire field is better than him (at least for now).

« Reply #172 on: August 17, 2009, 11:07:57 PM »
I'll say it now just like I said it last year after watching Bolt's 100m final at the Olympics...

"that 200m is going to be ugly!!"

yet another world's record!

« Reply #173 on: August 18, 2009, 12:22:43 AM »
Gay and Chambers out 200.

« Reply #174 on: August 18, 2009, 01:48:38 AM »
Bolt has no reason to run a WR and it would have been a long shot even with Gay - and now gay is out making his next threat about 5m behind him if he runs 19.6

On a faster track and in better shape last year he ran 19.30 - nothing shows 19.29 or better this year. Remember the new 100 WR is basically the Beijing 100m without the chest thumping with some wind behind him...

« Reply #175 on: August 18, 2009, 04:16:52 AM »
1st Rd results - 200m  :beermug::

Heat 1
Armstrong 5th 21.38 SB, but didn't qualify

Heat 5
Sorrillo 2nd to Bolt 20.74 Qualified

Heat 6
Emmanuel Callander 3rd 20.81 Qualified

1st Rd results - 400m  :beermug:

Heat 2
Quow 1st 45.21 Qualified

« Last Edit: August 18, 2009, 04:30:27 AM by boss »

Offline keelz

« Reply #176 on: August 18, 2009, 05:13:14 AM »
do u think KS might just miss out on her silver c'ing that she crossed into lane 3 just b4 the finish.

Offline willi

« Reply #177 on: August 18, 2009, 05:33:45 AM »
do u think KS might just miss out on her silver c'ing that she crossed into lane 3 just b4 the finish.

Nope.

No one impeded and no advantage gained. She actually ran further!

« Reply #178 on: August 18, 2009, 07:24:55 AM »
well we are represented in some quarters and semis today and of course Jehue in the finals of his race...
good show T & T !!!
big up the red white & black!!
GO TEAM! ;D

« Reply #179 on: August 18, 2009, 11:08:22 AM »
21.38 and daz a season best?

How de fork Armstrong end up qualifyin fuh dis World Championships?

Jeezas Krise.....Flo Jo ran faster dan dat in 1988!

If daz yuh pussonal best dis season, how de ass yuh mek we team?

How on earth dat benefittin de team?  And is not like he is some youngster.

WTF????  ::)