March 28, 2024, 02:47:44 PM

Author Topic: When Trinidad Youth Football was on the rise  (Read 4439 times)

Offline nnyman18

When Trinidad Youth Football was on the rise
« on: August 17, 2009, 10:23:07 AM »
As i looked at this clip and began to reminisce and where our football could have been had we kept on the right track. Ah know some men on this forum doh know there was a time you use to hit Brazil 4 and thing so enjoy an era of the way it use to be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ouzpkQw5WU
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

Re: When Trinidad Youth Football was on the rise
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2009, 11:04:35 AM »
As i looked at this clip and began to reminisce and where our football could have been had we kept on the right track. Ah know some men on this forum doh know there was a time you use to hit Brazil 4 and thing so enjoy an era of the way it use to be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ouzpkQw5WU

Sherwood was on fire  ;D in dem times.
Yes we gave Brazil 4 in an exhibition, but one game means little. We gave up 13 in 3 games when it really mattered at the U20 WC.

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2009, 11:20:22 AM »
De most noticeable thing for me was the crowds in dem days.

Our players look good but primarily because dey was playin against really pathetic opposition.

But crowds from then to now is night and day.

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2009, 11:28:06 AM »
The point I was making is where we could have been if we stayed the course. Yuh suppose to mash up teams that is not on your level. I agree with the World Cup performance. However, I was really trying to stress the positives and the level of football back in the 80's and how much further ahead we could have been as a footballing nation had we implemented the proper structure to see to it that our youth football kept developing

« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2009, 11:32:15 AM »
sherwood boy....

thas all i have to say yes

edit... nah boy ince collecting jokey goal for donkey years now boy
« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 11:37:02 AM by FF »

« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2009, 11:34:27 AM »
Was on the rise??? Past tense??? So we not on the rise anymore???

I guess guys like Sherwood, Webb and Sampson fulfilled their potential. That's as good as they were ever going to be. One thing that made them look good was "our" lack of exposure to better football, leagues etc.

Some time a good crop of players come along and then their time is over... there is no assurance of us being a football power or staying one if we were to become one.... Look at teams like Peru... Uruguay, Bulgaria and Romania... once world beaters with a good crop of players... now they don't even make a dent..!

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2009, 11:37:30 AM »
Dem games in skinner park was the bess. real memories they.. from the massive crowds, the excitement from the games, the kicks from all the characters (nuts men) to the licks I got when I reach home late at night from school after going to the games.

« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2009, 11:39:35 AM »
The point I was making is where we could have been if we stayed the course. Yuh suppose to mash up teams that is not on your level. I agree with the World Cup performance. However, I was really trying to stress the positives and the level of football back in the 80's and how much further ahead we could have been as a footballing nation had we implemented the proper structure to see to it that our youth football kept developing

I think you do the "minnows" an injustice.  Just because you were able to mash dem up back in de day doesn't mean they can't improve (which they have done).  And because they improve and u not mashin dem up anymore, doesn't necessarily mean that you have dropped in standard either.  If daz de case, we used to colleck 5 and 6 from club teams when dem come fuh fete match back in de day.  In 2006 we draw with Sweden national team with 10 men in de World Cup.  Does that mean their standard has dropped?

Yes...we could have implemented a "proper structure" to see our youth football kep developing....but somebody from now could argue that if evaluation is based on results, then compare the results of our youth teams from back then to the past 5 years or so.  How many U 17 WC's have we qualified for?  How many U 20's?  Are we now at least competitive against the best teams in CONCACAF...a relatively strong region in youth football.  Can the same have been said of us back in those times?

« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2009, 11:59:29 AM »
Here we go again...T&T football long time was soooooo good compared to now.   

???

What happened to all those talented players from long time, what did those long time teams achieve that we haven't in the last 10years?

We beat Brazil in a friendly once and now it's characterized as "there was a time when we used to hit Brazil 4" ... 

???

Nostalgia is a hell of a thing.

Like Palos said, the biggest difference between those days and now was the size of the crowd.  Now people have cable channels, live streaming TV & youtube etc, and we get so used to top flight football, nobody eh really business tuh run down what we once thought was a high standard of play in the local game... 

Some other things I notice:

Dem fellas shorts was real biting in dem days- strange how that used to seem normal back then...
The stadium surface was awful if rain fell
The players on dem two sides who we mash up 8-0 is big players in their own community...study that. 
Kill Ashford Jackman dead he was a big commentator
The strike squad bamboo patch is still a bess kit
We have a side 7-0 with 2 mins left and men breaking through on goal relentlessly with a zess like game now start
High top fade was de trim...
That soldier was on the cutting edge of breakthrough technology video taping Panorama/Sports news only tuh recapture it with a flip camera/phone 15-20 years later....who woulda thought?
Since then Yorke used tuh real coast dread lol....kill dat soldier dead eh....

« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 12:05:21 PM by kicker »

« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2009, 12:03:14 PM »
Always cool to see the past stuff. Appreciate the link.  :beermug: Anything is better than nothing, but ... can someone explain this practice of capturing off a tv screen? has technology advanced so much?  :devil: At 7:26 you can see the reflection of a hand held iphone

« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2009, 12:14:10 PM »
I was better long time.   ;D

« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2009, 12:43:21 PM »
The older you get, the better you used to be

« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2009, 12:52:01 PM »
The older you get, the better you used to be

Nah nah nah not for me. I was ah "never was" hahahahahh

Great clip in truth and I loved the crowd and their passion

« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2009, 01:49:54 PM »
SO MANY GAMES AND I WAS THERE FRO EVERY ONE. THAT BRAZIL GAME WAS THE HIGHLIGHT SCREAMED MEH LUNGS OUT FOT THE BOYS! SHEERWOOD WAS A BEAST UNTIL HE GET THAT BREAK LEG

BONEY WAS ANOTHER ONE WHO HAD TONS OF POTENTIAL

GREAT GREAT GREAT STUFF THERE AH LOVED IT!

« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2009, 08:28:05 PM »
good team...

give praise to the present youths also...back to back youth WC qualification  ( no rivals really)

« Reply #15 on: August 17, 2009, 08:55:33 PM »
Good memories... ah was dey for the Brazil game.

Wish someone could find the clip when we rest bout 10 on a side ... ah think Sterling Smith score bout 6 in dat game, including a bullet from half line.

Still think youth players 25 years ago was better than the youths today.... 25 years from now, the youths of today will say that they were better than the present crop.... just human nature.

« Reply #16 on: August 17, 2009, 09:07:38 PM »
Daiz no kinda football just men running everywhere with the ball re:Pres vs. Benedict. :devil:

« Reply #17 on: August 17, 2009, 09:43:13 PM »
and notice the commentary is in standard english with a supporting flow of the game...no setta green verbs and loud bawlin like dem rumshop men who does be on the air nowadays

« Reply #18 on: August 18, 2009, 08:18:57 AM »
WOW I was actually at them games with benedicts and pres and the game vs brazil ...sherwood is real prayers yes lol but my boy is Ivan part of the dynamic duo benji and samo

« Reply #19 on: August 18, 2009, 10:51:58 AM »
Big clip !!!!!!!!!!!!!

All who was on that Brazilian team ?
« Last Edit: August 18, 2009, 10:53:48 AM by Sam »

« Reply #20 on: August 18, 2009, 01:38:19 PM »
Enjoyed watching those clips. Some real names from the past.

The FKs were nice to watch too.

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #21 on: August 19, 2009, 07:43:13 AM »
Oh God boy Elan ah feel yuh just kicksing with dah comment

De real Colleges' League plus T&T 4 - Brazil 2
« Reply #22 on: May 25, 2011, 08:45:27 AM »
This may have already been posted, mods if so, feel free to delete.

http://youtu.be/3ouzpkQw5WU

Online Fyzoman

Re: De real Colleges' League plus T&T 4 - Brazil 2
« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2011, 12:01:07 PM »
Boy way wrong wid yuh, delete what?!?!?

Mods better doh skylark nah:)

College dis is ah BEST POST jed!!!!!!!

Online Fyzoman

« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2011, 12:09:53 PM »
man 'dummying' ball and all kinda bacahnal and then scoring fine style goal ( Hutson Charles) with dey left against de US...ahh de good old days:)

« Reply #25 on: May 25, 2011, 12:17:04 PM »
This may have already been posted, mods if so, feel free to delete.

http://youtu.be/3ouzpkQw5WU

SICK!

Thanks breds.

« Reply #26 on: May 25, 2011, 12:20:46 PM »
Seen this before..but didn't mind watching again!!

Good post

« Reply #27 on: May 25, 2011, 12:24:50 PM »
Anyone know what the Brasil lineup was?

« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2011, 12:28:45 PM »
Give meh chills.  It's a great feeling when you fans and friends rush the field and start to jump on yuh.  Pure football

« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2011, 01:02:22 PM »
One ah we forumites get ah mention... he assisted on that first Sherwood goal.