April 18, 2024, 10:51:36 AM

Author Topic: Dennis Lawrence heads to Jabloteh  (Read 4648 times)

Dennis Lawrence heads to Jabloteh
« on: August 20, 2009, 01:05:48 PM »
Dennis Lawrence heads to Jabloteh
C News

TT Pro League defending champions, Blink San Juan Jabloteh have added national senior team Captain Dennis Lawrence to their roster.

Lawrence who is contracted until the end of October, has come in to give the team's central defence a boost for the CONCACAF Champions League tournament however, he will not be available for tomorrow's match.

Head coach Earl Jean is pleased with Lawrence's inclusion especially with the hectic CONCACAF and TT Pro League games schedule.

He will add much needed experience in central defence which recently became stretched due to the absence of Robert Primus and Sheldon Bateau, who are with the national under-20s as preparations continue for the world cup in Egypt next month.

Lawrence will make his Jabloteh debut against current TT Pro League leaders Caledonia AIA on Saturday at the Mannie Ramjohn stadium.

Re: Dennis Lawrence heads to Jabloteh
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2009, 01:24:51 PM »
Tha's the best Mike Berry coulda come up with?

Offline MATADOR

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2009, 01:34:10 PM »
Desperate times calls for desperate measures.....

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2009, 01:37:59 PM »
as the center piece in our defense - and most likely captain again for the next game, it's good to have him here so that Latapy can work closely with him, and he doesn't have to cross the Atlantic to join the team just days before the remaining crucial encounters.

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2009, 01:46:44 PM »
Why only up to october though?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2009, 01:50:29 PM »
QUESTION

ANSWER

« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2009, 01:52:46 PM »

Maybe because our World Cup Qualifiers end on October 14th.

« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2009, 02:10:06 PM »

Not necessarily...the play off is in November. I thought of that......buh.....i guessing this should be taken as an indication that once this campaign is done...he retiring again..for good? Both club and country?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2009, 03:42:40 PM »
He could be there to add depth during the CONCACAF  run.

SJJ last game is on Oct. 21 in the club Champs. If the get kick out - boot him - if not - retain him.

« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2009, 03:43:22 PM »
He playing tonite?

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2009, 04:06:01 PM »
Lawrence who is contracted until the end of October, has come in to give the team's central defence a boost for the CONCACAF Champions League tournament however, he will not be available for tomorrow's match.
Lawrence will make his Jabloteh debut against current TT Pro League leaders Caledonia AIA on Saturday at the Mannie Ramjohn stadium.

« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2009, 04:14:35 PM »
Preacher I think Soccerrama tryna tell yuh something :devil:

Offline Trini boi

« Reply #12 on: August 20, 2009, 04:15:03 PM »
I think players like Lawrence need to come back to our league to help build it.  When we have our teams beating up on MLS teams to qualify for the champions league, it says a lot about the talent we have growing.  I also think Yorke should come play also.  The PFL would grow tremendously with players like him in the league, and of course the support will also increase and with right marketing, our league can continue to attract more international support and players. ;)

« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2009, 09:34:53 PM »

they pretty much done already though  :'(

« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2009, 06:40:13 AM »
The last shall be first. Remember that saying. Looking at both games yesterday. Jabloteh looked good in midfield but clueless in the final third. Men not using their brains, for example the right lane tight and two men free on the left with a big hole in the middle and they will not switch the play. WConnection looked like a professional outfit- maybe Latapy needs to convert Touissant into an attacking midfielder.

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2009, 08:44:44 AM »
This is good it will help the league alot, i wish yorke and co would end their careers in the pfl it would only help the younger players to get better.

« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2009, 12:07:09 PM »
I take it that the men who responded on this thread so far are not those on the anti-DL band waggon.

I remember some posts that mention that Dennis Lawrence should not be let near a football field again.  The man also came in for some sharp criticism after the USA and CR games for his defending...or lack thereof.  I also read a next comment to the effect that he teaching Abu Bakr and dem the wrong thing.

::) ::) ::)

« Reply #17 on: August 22, 2009, 06:15:43 AM »
All I remember is how much crap he was when he first make the side under Porterfield. So if he could develop as he did, Bakr can do miles better

« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2009, 06:26:20 PM »

« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2009, 06:29:11 PM »
When I suggest d man come 2 d Pro League I was laughed at. So I guess I was not chattin nonesense. D fella want Latas 2 c him live and in colour.

« Reply #20 on: August 23, 2009, 10:43:48 PM »
All I remember is how much crap he was when he first make the side under Porterfield. So if he could develop as he did, Bakr can do miles better

Tallest was always a quality player....he is actually a midfielder who found a home in defence.

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2009, 07:40:50 AM »
so like yorke to big of a star to give something to d pro league .............why he cant make a little run and help left d league standards he will definitely make a difference.
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2009, 08:58:04 AM »
Tallest was always a quality player....he is actually a midfielder who found a home in defence.

I feel i will have to dig through the archives from the old site for reviews of Tallest first appearances. I don't recall anybody wanting that "un co-ordinated basketball player" on the field. A tall, tall man who couldn't even head a ball.

And yes, he debuted in Defensive Midfield before finding a home in defence.

« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2009, 09:15:32 AM »

I feel i will have to dig through the archives from the old site for reviews of Tallest first appearances. I don't recall anybody wanting that "un co-ordinated basketball player" on the field. A tall, tall man who couldn't even head a ball.

I remember being in de stadium when he make he debut and hearing all de cuss. Den i does wonder why people doh remember dat when dey cussing akile.

« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2009, 11:16:56 AM »

I remember being in de stadium when he make he debut and hearing all de cuss. Den i does wonder why people doh remember dat when dey cussing akile.

Lightning have 2 strike twice.

« Reply #25 on: August 24, 2009, 11:28:15 AM »

U rell eh like AE eh lol

« Reply #26 on: August 24, 2009, 11:31:54 AM »

U rell eh like AE eh lol

Nah I go b d first 2 :applause: if he do a Lawerence. D only similarity I c is dat dey both play 4 d DF.

« Reply #27 on: August 24, 2009, 11:40:47 AM »

U rell eh like AE eh lol

Nah I go b d first 2 :applause: if he do a Lawerence. D only similarity I c is dat dey both play 4 d DF.

Ah hope so eh because in a few years allyuh go be bawlin fuh Aklie like how allyuh was cryin fuh Dog to geh recalled.  Well here's another similarity, AE is a midfielder just like Tallest was first introduced as a midfielder.

« Reply #28 on: August 24, 2009, 05:34:27 PM »

heh heh heh....whey Palos??.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #29 on: August 24, 2009, 07:00:21 PM »

U rell eh like AE eh lol

Ah hope so eh because in a few years allyuh go be bawlin fuh Aklie like how allyuh was cryin fuh Dog to geh recalled.  Well here's another similarity, AE is a midfielder just like Tallest was first introduced as a midfielder.

I does call it as I c it so if AE is a twin of DL I go be happy like pappy.