April 28, 2024, 01:30:05 AM

Author Topic: Analysis of 4x100m relay heats & what T&T needs to do to win medal in final!  (Read 9383 times)

The reality is whether Darrell or Richard ran that last leg none were going to beat Asafa ...the only realistic chance we had of winning that relay was (providing our handoffs were good) was to have a lead off the 2nd leg (which we didn't) to give Calendar a chance of getting it to Richard ahead of Asafa to attempt to hold off Asafa.

Anytime we were behind or even we were beaten .....if we had a five meter lead we were in with a chance................ Asafa extended the lead on Richard that much was obvious but he's our most in form fighter he was the logical choice for the last leg, the fact that he got beaten like that is really a statement of the gap between them two speed demons.
A thought that came to my mind or rather a question was does it really matter if Darrel has faster closing speed if he has a slower take off as opposed to Richard who may have a faster start, at the end of the day it all comes down to the faster time the person who runs the faster time will resolve the issue regardless!
I'm not taking sides either the time was great and congrats to the boys

ATO do you have the relay splits ?

Yeah, our splits will be interesting to look at!
Doh be surprised if RT's split was the fastest but all our runners did a great job!  :thumbsup:

Do we have any video of the 4x100

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/dg64dhYIUBI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/dg64dhYIUBI</a>

Thank you

Niceness

No splits and yes anchor is supposed to be fastest leg.

was such a great race...good going by our boys :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Offline willi

Unofficial Jakan splits:

From Deacon:

In other news I had some "unofficial" splits for Jamaica...

This team could have broken the record again if not for a few rough exchanges. Mullings had to hit the brakes for Frater(same as last year with Nesta), then Frater had a pretty decent exchange with Bolt. But then Bolt had to hit the breaks for Powell. In all, I think this team could have run at the very slowest, the same as last year.