April 27, 2024, 04:03:18 AM

Author Topic: Warner Makes WC Dream Come True For Young Shaquille  (Read 1824 times)

Warner Makes WC Dream Come True For Young Shaquille
« on: August 25, 2009, 05:19:39 PM »
Warner Makes World Cup Dream Come True For Young Shaquille.
By: Anika Gumbs-Sandiford (Trinidad Guardian).

His dream has always been to become a footballer, but his disability prevents him from making it a reality. Shaquille Frame, 14, is diagnosed with cerebral palsy.

The condition is marked by impaired muscle co-ordination and spastic paralysis, caused by damage to the brain. However, despite the youngster’s physical challenge which has affected both legs, he has never one day given up on his dream. His determination has given him a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity which will take him to Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) Under-20 World Cup finals in Egypt in September.

The $40,000 trip is being sponsored by Fifa’s vice-president, Jack Warner, which was paid for yesterday. Dressed in his football gear and unable to stop smiling at his La Brea home yesterday, Frame said: “I love football. I am so happy. This is a dream. My dream is to play football but I cannot...this is the closest thing next to playing football. I cannot begin to tell Mr Warner, ‘Thank you,’ for his help.” At the Crowne Plaza ballroom on Friday night where a farewell dinner was held for the T&T Young Soca Warriors, Warner was moved by the young’s man love for football and offered to take him to support the young footballers. “I am still remembering what it is he told me. He told me not to worry I will be going to Egypt. I was shocked, happy, I cannot wait,” the excited youngster said.

Through his close friend, Marcus Joseph, who is a midfielder on the T&T Under-20 team, Frame was introduced to the other footballers. He has been nicknamed the “manager” of the team as he looks out for all the footballers and has never missed game or a training session with the players. His mother Mary was unable to contain her emotions yesterday. It was the second time the family had received “good news” for the month. Her elder son Amin, 17, received a transfer from Cedros Composite School to Presentation College, San Fernando.

Hugging and kissing her younger son, she said: “I know he always make sure the players have their socks, kneepads, but I was not expecting this...I did not believe what he was saying when he telephoned me and said Warner was sending him to Egypt, I thought he was joking. “My son’s joy is my joy and I am thankful to Mr Warner for giving my son this opportunity...He cannot play but he will be watching the footballers play.” Contacted yesterday, Warner appealed to Prime Minister Patrick Manning to come on board and fund the airfare for one of Frame’s parents. “I wish I could afford to carry more, but I have written to the Prime Minister seeking his help,” Warner said.

Re: Warner Makes WC Dream Come True For Young Shaquille
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2009, 05:46:51 PM »
Nice gesture ... political posturing???

But still no talk of a friendly before the Hon game....c'mon man, is not like we doh have a chance!!!

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2009, 05:55:03 PM »
nice gesture FULLSTOP

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2009, 06:05:44 PM »
Nice gesture ... political posturing???

But still no talk of a friendly before the Hon game....c'mon man, is not like we doh have a chance!!!
sure wish some other Money men & women (TT have ah few, ah hear), would do some equal political posturing on a community scale doh....and not just a one an done donation..oh wait we have stadia fuh life....buh how I could tell ppl how to spend odder ppl money, and me eh even givin none ah my own private extra stash...wait..i doh even have a piggy bank or account, farless ah stash...best thank god for small mercies oui...i doh have to many needs..meh kids covered....TYL.....
So boy.. 150 k to TTFF would really only cover ah slight, possibly, equipment transport..ok..check...hope dem fellas doh get stranded in Left field after all said and done yes...or is that Sheffield

« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2009, 06:09:42 PM »
dais where the BlackList money gorn :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2009, 06:12:45 PM »

Lil Shaquille doh care doh.  Leh we be glad fuh de yute.

« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2009, 06:14:13 PM »

Lil Shaquille doh care doh.  Leh we be glad fuh de yute.
Jack is ah one man "make a wish" foundation oui

Yes you are VERY right
Enjoy ya trip little man...enjoy
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2009, 07:01:46 AM »
nice gesture FULLSTOP

A difficult cosign

« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2009, 07:04:02 AM »
come on guys... all together and with some gusto...

Well done Jack!!!

« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2009, 07:30:47 AM »
For the yute: Niceness  ;D ;)

For Jack : Niceness ::)

« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2009, 07:46:09 AM »
Well done Jack. I glad for the youth.

The problem with godfathers, is not so much when they make gestures you can't deny...it's when they make offers you can't refuse...

Anyway, they say its never too late for redemption.

« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2009, 08:34:20 AM »
come on guys... all together and with some gusto...

Well done Jack!!!

Ah choking on the words.... ;D

On the flip side....enjoy yuh self fella!!!

« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2009, 08:43:37 AM »
Time and time again Jack shows that he has a heart......

« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2009, 08:45:52 AM »

Dat evident since Marvin Lee funeral he cry in fact it was borderin on bawl

« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2009, 11:23:00 AM »

yeah ok
« Last Edit: August 26, 2009, 11:29:06 AM by Trini _2010 »