April 28, 2024, 07:03:33 AM

Author Topic: 'Customer' skips out on roti shop bill  (Read 3142 times)

'Customer' skips out on roti shop bill
« on: August 27, 2009, 05:37:35 AM »
'Customer' skips out on roti shop bill
T&T Express

A Chaguanas eatery lost close to $300 in profit yesterday, after its employees were duped by a fat and hungry con artiste.

The culprit, who is said to be short and portly, walked into "D"s Breakfast Shed and Roti Shop in Montrose before lunch.

He made a large order-three duck and four chicken lunches, and eight soft drinks.

He asked that the bill not exceed $300, said an employee, who asked that other businesses be on the lookout.

The man then ran off without paying. He was last seen dressed in a blue three quarter pants, a yellow t-shirt and sneakers. A report was made to the Chaguanas Police Station.

Re: 'Customer' skips out on roti shop bill
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 05:40:47 AM »
dem chupid

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2009, 05:50:48 AM »
yuh mean no body could catch the Fat man?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2009, 06:12:43 AM »
dem chupid

If again! How you could prepare all that food, hand it over and aint see one cent before handing it over? fat man must have been eating some of the food while he was waitin for the rest.

« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2009, 06:15:24 AM »
dem chupid

If again! How you could prepare all that food, hand it over and aint see one cent before handing it over? fat man must have been eating some of the food while he was waitin for the rest.

It is a trust issue. This is normal practice in Trini. You would want to think you can atleast trust the fat guy ;D 

He got tuh come back for more

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2009, 06:29:49 AM »
it can and does happen- all you need is the con...
yesterday I was at a lotto booth where a man took off without paying for his ticket...
he held the $20 in his hand and ordered the numbers, and then took the ticket and ran away... that's why all up the islands they call us 'tricky trini'
 :-[

« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2009, 06:31:28 AM »
Capo feeding he skets now oui!  :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2009, 06:32:43 AM »
Capo feeding he skets now oui!  :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2009, 06:34:46 AM »
In roti shop yuh does order yuh roti and pay then wait for the roti. I never get a roti over the counter and then pay. Doubles yes, but not a roti.

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2009, 07:13:54 AM »
it can and does happen- all you need is the con...
yesterday I was at a lotto booth where a man took off without paying for his ticket...
he held the $20 in his hand and ordered the numbers, and then took the ticket and ran away... that's why all up the islands they call us 'tricky trini'
 :-[

That 'tricky trini' thing I just start hearing that term, this American chick at my job jokinly calls me that. Not based on anything I have ever done to her but becuase her damn husband appears to be a scamp! But of course when people hear her calling me that and don't know she jokin then they thinking I up to no good! Please!

« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2009, 07:37:29 AM »
Dat man LICKRISH!!! WHEY!!!!

3 Duck....4 Chicken.....and 8 Soft Drinks?

He should get purge!!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2009, 07:40:10 AM »

He should get purge!!

Dat cost $300. Wey sah.    :o :o :o

« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2009, 07:42:27 AM »
tricky trinis, trickidadian whatever u want to call it, d smartman tag does by on we, and not always unjustified either............. there are elements of skyampishness that is considered as Trini as liming and thus part of "we culture"........the "dais we ting mentality nah"................sooner or later we will have realise dat some ah dem "we ting" have to dead...................imagine it have man in the gov't an' opposition secretly an' not so secretly fightin dong limits on alcohol consumption for drivers in breatherlizer laws, ah suppose is "because it go cramp de lime".............another "we ting" overshodowin goood sense

« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2009, 07:42:53 AM »

He should get purge!!

Yep food not cheap.

« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2009, 07:50:08 AM »

He should get purge!!

Yep food not cheap.

but that not too bad! Here (being conservative) the average roti is $8. So 7 roti @ $8 x exchange rate (abt 1 cdn = $5.70) so that is $319.00 and we eh even consider the drinks.

« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2009, 07:54:14 AM »

He should get purge!!

Yep food not cheap.

but that not too bad! Here (being conservative) the average roti is $8. So 7 roti @ $8 x exchange rate (abt 1 cdn = $5.70) so that is $319.00 and we eh even consider the drinks.

Where d average roti is 8? Canada. What dey say bout a $ bein a $

« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2009, 08:02:05 AM »
In roti shop yuh does order yuh roti and pay then wait for the roti. I never get a roti over the counter and then pay. Doubles yes, but not a roti.

nah man, sometimes yuh order in the line and then walk down the counter towards the cashier while you tell them to box out the ingredients and then by the time it get wrap up, you meet it by the end of the table and pay...

« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2009, 08:34:31 AM »
tricky trinis, trickidadian whatever u want to call it, d smartman tag does by on we, and not always unjustified either............. there are elements of skyampishness that is considered as Trini as liming and thus part of "we culture"........the "dais we ting mentality nah"................sooner or later we will have realise dat some ah dem "we ting" have to dead...................imagine it have man in the gov't an' opposition secretly an' not so secretly fightin dong limits on alcohol consumption for drivers in breatherlizer laws, ah suppose is "because it go cramp de lime".............another "we ting" overshodowin goood sense

If dey dos refer to us as Tricky trini what dey dos call Jammies? We can be any trickier that Jammies!

« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2009, 10:46:31 AM »
If dey dos refer to us as Tricky trini what dey dos call Jammies? We can be any trickier that Jammies!

I hear is because plenty Trini in the US get charged for fraud, while Jammies tend to do drug and gun crimes.

« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2009, 12:38:41 PM »

I hear is because plenty Trini in the US get charged for fraud, while Jammies tend to do drug and gun crimes.

Lord, I had no idea that was the damn idea! I hear I was thinking is something she made up.

« Reply #20 on: August 28, 2009, 12:10:18 AM »

That came from since the sixties where the first set of no good trinidadians that hung out and hustled on fulton street got that negative image .

most of them were dishonest and had the gift of garb tuh go with their con games, unfortunately a lot of them met their fate when trying tuh outslick fellas who weren't having it.

they were also big time horner men who enjoyed messing wid other ppl's women. one of my uncles got caught up in dat and recieved ah couple of shots for his trouble, fortunatly for him he survived the attack, but continued in his dirty ways.

« Reply #21 on: August 28, 2009, 01:28:16 AM »

That came from since the sixties where the first set of no good trinidadians that hung out and hustled on fulton street got that negative image .

most of them were dishonest and had the gift of garb tuh go with their con games, unfortunately a lot of them met their fate when trying tuh outslick fellas who weren't having it.

they were also big time horner men who enjoyed messing wid other ppl's women. one of my uncles got caught up in dat and recieved ah couple of shots for his trouble, fortunatly for him he survived the attack, but continued in his dirty ways.

Is ah genetic ting.

« Reply #22 on: August 28, 2009, 06:06:57 AM »

Is ah genetic ting.

Well dat have to be de reason den.......

When ah was single I was only attracted tuh O.P.P.

yeah you know me ;D

« Reply #23 on: August 28, 2009, 06:24:26 AM »
yeah you know me ;D

« Reply #24 on: August 28, 2009, 07:35:47 AM »

they were also big time horner men
who enjoyed messing wid other ppl's women. one of my uncles got caught up in dat and recieved ah couple of shots for his trouble, fortunatly for him he survived the attack, but continued in his dirty ways.[/b]

Is ah genetic ting.

still going on.... all over the place

« Reply #25 on: August 28, 2009, 05:19:26 PM »
trinis is de home of smart men.. anytime yuh hear phrases like:

"i eh lying to tell yuh.."

"trust wha ah telling yuh"

"wham, yuh know how i does handle yuh"

"is me yuh talking to yuh know"

"as is you.."

"wham how yuh moving so, is me"

... alarm bells should start ringing immediately..

« Reply #26 on: August 28, 2009, 05:57:12 PM »
yeah you know me ;D

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: