March 28, 2024, 04:24:12 PM

Author Topic: T&T finishes second in Group C  (Read 2505 times)

T&T finishes second in Group C
« on: September 07, 2016, 05:24:49 AM »
T&T finishes second in Group C…
TTFA Media.

We are at home to Costa Rica on November 11th in Final Round opener.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s Team will commence the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualification at home to Costa Rica on Friday November 11th for what promises to be a strenuous and brutal Hexagonal campaign for the “Warriors” in the final phase of their journey to the Russia 2018 World Cup finals.

This opening match was determined after Kenwyne Jones and his teammates stuttered in their closing semi-final round encounter, losing 4-0 to the United States at the EverBank Field in Jacksonville, Florida on Wednesday night.

Following a solid and disciplined display in the first half with at least 200 T&T fans looking on with a rhythm section positioned in the top corner of T&T’s half of the field at the start, the “Warriors” dropped their guards and stumbled against a more clinical and organised US outfit which saw 17-year-old Borussia Dortmund midfielder Christian Pulisic become the youngest player to start for the US in a World Cup qualifier. The number 10 would go on to be at the heart of the US team with an impressive performance on the evening.

T&T started without the suspended defender Sheldon Bateau and Cordell Cato was left on the bench after picking up a slight hamstring problem in the 2-2 draw with Guatemala on Friday. Coming into the starting team was Levi Garcia, Aubrey David and Radanfah Abu Bakr.

Joevin Jones had T&T’s first try on seven minutes with a shot from distance which Tim Horward handled without much pressure

With the Americans pushing forward, Pulisic almost opened his team’s account from a Altidore cross, but his left-footed shot from close range hit both posts before bouncing away from danger.

As T&T kept the hosts under control for the majority of the half, they then fell behind after an unfortunate mishap in the box when Khaleem Hyland’s clearance bounced off his own teammate perfectly into the path of Sacha Kljestan and he made no mistake blasting into the goal.

The game began to stretch out as the second half progressed and both teams saw counter-attacking chances go begging.

Altidore put USA 2-0 ahead when he collected from Fabian Johnson before turning and placing the ball past Marvin Phillip who would later make a couple good stops to deny the Americans.

Kenwyne Jones got free in the US area after some nice build-up play from T&T, but his effort from close range went well over an onrushing Howard’s crossbar in the 55th.

Hart put on Jomal Williams and Shahdon Winchester in the second half but T&T could not get on the scoresheet. Joevin Jones tested Howard with a powerful left footer which had the ‘keeper stretching full length to push out.

The US pressed for further items as T&T were found opened too often at the back but the result would finish 4-0 to see the US (13 points) top the group ahead of T&T (11pts).

Hart Post-Match comments

T&T head coach Stephen Hart later confessed that he felt T&T were disappointing in several aspects of their play.

“The reactions to this is the good thing is that we are in the hex but I was extremely disappointed tonight,” Hart told TTFA Media.

“I was very disappointed in the quality of our passing, our general lack of movement and we were second best to every ball tonight and it showed with three of the goals we gave away the ball with sloppy passing and United State were breaking with energy and numbers. And that’s the result you get when you make mistakes at this level,” Hart said.

“We were looking okay in the first half but I would not say we very good. We were’t getting any shots on net and then we gave up a sort of unfortunate goal. We made way too many errors tonight.

“We have the Caribbean Cup in October. I think I have to look very closely at the selection going into the Caribbean Cup and we have to realise that we have some soul searching to do. Tonight some of the big players would have to answer for it because our leaders tonight… far too many of them disappeared,” Hart added.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 2.Aubrey David, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 12.Carlyle Mitchell (Yellow 52), 17.Mekeil Williams (Yellow 25); 8.Khaleem Hyland, 14.Andre Boucaud (19.Kevan George 75th); 3.Joevin Jones, 10.Kevin Molino, 16.Levi Garcia (23.Jomal Williams 56th - Yellow 62); 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (11.Shahdon Winchester 67th).

Unused substitutes: 21.Adrian Foncette (GK), 22.Gregory Ranjitsingh (GK), 5.Daneil Cyrus, 7.Hughtun Hector, 13.Cordell Cato, 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 18.Yohance Marshall, 20.Trevin Caesar.

Coach: Stephen Hart.

United States: 12.Tim Howard (GK); 20.Geoff Cameron, 3.Omar Gonzalez, 21.Steve Birnbaum, 23.Fabian Johnson; 11.Alejandro Bedoya (14.Paul Arriola 65th), 16.Sacha Kljestan (13.Caleb Stanko 73rd), 4.Michael Bradley (capt), 10.Christian Pulisic; 7.Bobby Wood (8.Jordan Morris 59th), 17.Jozy Altidore.

Unused substitutes: 1.Brad Guzan (GK), 22.Ethan Horvath (GK), 2.Kellyn Acosta, 5.Michael Orozco, 6.Darlington Nagbe, 9.Rubio Rubin, 15.Kyle Beckerman, 18.Chris Wondolowski, 19.Graham Zusi.

Coach: Jurgen Klinsmann.

Referee: Ricardo Montero (Costa Rica).

Videos -

Hart reactions after 4-0 loss to United States in Jacksonville

Skipper Jones says time to reflect and look ahead to the "Hex"

Joevin Jones talks about his double and looks ahead to US clash tomorrow

USA Finishes First in Semifinal Round of 2018 World Cup Qualifying Group C with 4-0 Win vs. Trinidad & Tobago
USSOCCER.COM

Second Half Brace Sees Jozy Altidore Become MNT’s All-Time Leading Scorer in World Cup Qualifying; Sacha Kljestan and Paul Arriola Score Second Goals in as Many Matches to Help MNT to Top Spot in Group C; Win Sets Up Nov. 11 Home Clash with Mexico to Begin Final Round World Cup Qualifying.

The U.S. Men’s National Team used a brace from Jozy Altidore and goals from Sacha Kljestan and Paul Arriola to earn a hard-fought 4-0 victory against Trinidad & Tobago Tuesday night. The win propelled the MNT to the top spot in Group C of Semifinal Round CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying, as well as a berth in the Final Round beginning in November.

A dominant first half from the U.S. saw Christian Pulisic force a diving stop out of Trinidad & Tobago goalkeeper Marvin Phillip in the ninth minute, before the 17-year-old attacker incredibly careened a shot off both posts in the 31st. The first stanza also saw a clear penalty shout for a foul on Geoff Cameron inside the area, but referee Ricardo Montero Araya awarded a free kick just outside the box.

Just as it looked like the MNT would go into the break empty-handed, a nice bit of combination work between Fabian Johnson, Kljestan and Pulisic led to a failed T&T clearance before Kljestan buried inside the right post in the 44th minute.

With that goal in the bank, the floodgates opened for the MNT in the second half. Altidore would tally two goals in the 59th and 62nd minutes, with the first moving him past Clint Dempsey to become the MNT’s all-time leading scorer in World Cup Qualifying. His second of the match padded his lead at the top, giving him 16 Qualifying goals.

Just moments after entering the match, second half substitute Paul Arriola increased the lead, burying a close-range rebound off of a Pulisic effort in the 71st minute.

On the defensive side of the field, the U.S. back line kept its eighth clean sheet of the year, while Tim Howard made five saves to earn his 37th career shutout.

The win sees the U.S. finish with a 4-1-1 record and top spot in Group C of the Semifinal Round of CONCACAF Qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, setting up a home clash with Mexico to open the final round of World Cup Qualifying. The site of the Nov. 11 match vs. El Tri will be announced early next week.

Next on the Schedule: The U.S. MNT gets set for CONCACAF’s Final Round of Qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup with an historic visit to take on Cuba in Havana on Friday, Oct. 7 on ESPN and Univision Networks (Time TBD). The MNT then returns home to the familiar confines of RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. where they’ll face Oceanic Football Confederation champions, New Zealand on Tuesday, Oct. 11 at 8 p.m. ET (ESPN and Univision Networks).

Goal Scoring Rundown:

USA – Sacha Kljestan (unassisted), 44th minute: Fabian Johnson began on the left, playing for Sacha Kljestan in the penalty area before returning a back heel to the left back in stride. Johnson then played for Christian Pulisic whose centering pass was heeled away by Radanfah Abu Bakr before Carlyle Mitchell took another swing. His clearance was blocked by Kljestan who quickly poked the ball in the lower, right corner. USA 1, TRI 0

USA – Jozy Altidore (Fabian Johnson) 59th minute: Fabian Johnson broke free down the left before feeding Altidore into the area. The MNT forward took a touch past his marker before firing a low shot inside the right post to double the advantage and make Altidore the MNT’s all-time leading scorer in World Cup Qualifying. USA 2, TRI 0

USA – Jozy Altidore (Christian Pulisic) 62nd minute: Altidore would score his 16th all-time World Cup Qualifying goal just three minutes later. A quick combination between Pulisic and Kljestan on the left saw Pulisic cross for Altidore at the right post, allowing the veteran striker an easy tap-in. USA 3, TRI 0

USA – Paul Arriola (unassisted) 71st minute: Pulisic intercepted a T&T pass in his own half and rushed upfield to the edge of the Trinidad box before laying the ball off to Jordan Morris who turned away from pressure and played the ball back to the center of the pitch for Sacha Kljestan to send it on to the feet of Jozy Altidore, who sent an incisive cross through the box for a sliding Pulisic to get a redirected shot on goal that was saved by Soca Warriors ‘keeper Marvin Phillip. The rebound fell to the onrushing Arriola who hit a one-time shot into the vacated net for his first World Cup Qualifying goal. USA 4, TRI 0 FINAL

Key Saves and Defensive Stops:

USA – Tim Howard, 7th minute: Trinidad & Tobago found the opportunity to spring a fast counter attack as Kenwyne Jones found Joevin Jones in stride up the right. The Seattle Sounders FC winger sprung forward before cutting inside and firing a well-hit blast directly at Howard.

TRI – Marvin Phillip, 9th minute: A quick transition in midfield saw Sacha Kljestan turn towards goal before laying off for Christian Pulisic on the left. The 17-year-old attacker cut inside and rifled a low, right-footed blast that deflected off a Trinidad defender before seeing goalkeeper Marvin Phillip make a diving save to push the ball out for a corner kick.

TRI – Marvin Phillip, 67th minute, 68th minute: Just moments after entering the match, Paul Arriola received a feed from Altidore on the right, cut inside and blasted an effort that saw Phillip push the ball over the post for a corner kick. Michael Bradley’s ensuing take found Kljestan open outside the box, where the MNT midfielder blasted a long-range effort that Phillip parried away in the 68th minute.

TRI – Tim Howard, 75th minute: With Trinidad continuing to look for a goal, Joevin Jones took some space about 30 yards from goal and unleashed an effort that Tim Howard pushed out to his right for a corner kick.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2016, 05:58:52 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T finishes second in Group C
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 05:58:58 AM »

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 05:54:34 AM »
I eh care that we lost eh, but this was embarrassing all round, from striker, to midfield to defence.

We senior players not pulling they weight at all. Man like Hyland and Molino really shitting down they self on de field, Hyland making good hussell but he not doing anything with it positive and Molino just running with no sense or what he doing, we defenders all ova de place and loosing they marker.

De senior players are not made to fight for their place, so they comfortable.

I eh know what more to say, maybe Hartie could try this for de Caribbean Cup.

_____________J.Williams_________
__Mitchell__Marshall__Bateau___Williams
__Cyrus___Boucaud__Joevin___Cato
_____________Cummings_______
_____________Kenwyne______

Ah really hope Bostock could play a number 10 role.

« Last Edit: September 08, 2016, 06:10:11 AM by Sam »

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2016, 06:07:36 AM »

On spot.

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2016, 05:44:34 PM »
I eh care that we lost eh, but this was embarrassing all round, from striker, to midfield to defence.

We senior players not pulling they weight at all. Man like Hyland and Molino really shitting down they self on de field, Hyland making good hussell but he not doing anything with it positive and Molino just running with no sense or what he doing, we defenders all ova de place and loosing they marker.

Sam, aside from all of our issues, our wingers and entire MF (not just the holding MFs) need to be more defensively minded when in transition.  Folks rave looking at Messi and Neymar but examine the Barca 11 workrate when the ball is lost.  We could have the best back 4 in concacaf it will not matter if the MF are not good in transition.  Yes Bateau is our best CB/defender but even w/Bateau on the field we are conceding soft goals.

Regarding only the back 4, I was really surprised that a simple 1-2 was beating Aubrey on the wing, my old hard back icy hot using self is aware of that in a fete match against a church side.  I suspect Hart is at a loss somewhat for his starting back 4 come Nov, which to some degree is okay now, but has to get better soon through performance.  Don't know if we will ever know how to play cantenaccio, but we must make the opposition work for their goals and reduce conceding soft ones.

Dutty, what do you suspect the "issue" is w/your boy?  Is it that he's being outperformed in training?  Thoughts?

« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2016, 03:09:20 AM »
Soca Warriors lack mental preparedness.
By Alvin Corneal (Guardian).

When the national coach Stephen Hart described his team’s performance against Guatemala as unsatisfactory despite the drawn result last Friday and entry into the HEX of the 2018 FIFA/Concacaf Qualifers, I admired his honesty.

I saw his comments in the context of spending the short period between that match and the USA, as an intention to make as many corrections as he had seen on the field at the packed Stadium, in Port-of-Spain, for the 2-2 draw.

My curiosity stretched towards some of the essential mistakes, which if corrected, can endorse his desire to beat the Yanks and lead the group heading into the HEX.

In terms of priority, the mental preparedness which seemed severely lacking against the Guatemalians, would have been the one to address firmly and almost immediately.

Had this discussion been profound and demanding, just that simple adjustment leading to the next match, would have been beneficial when attached to the natural talents of the team.

Secondly, the “on the field’ exercise on Sunday (training) will probably have brought some intensity into the operation, plus the ultimate desire to focus upon “winning the ball” as opposed to letting the opposition operate, similar to what occurred against Guatemala.

Coach Hart had to make selection decisions which may have been difficult, if only because some of the extremely talented players showed little or no potency in the previous game. The reality of facing the USA at home could not put the players into a comfort zone, knowing the previous results.

Former national standout Hutson Charles should have been asked to share moments of the day when he scored that timely goal against that country’s national team.

Now, with expectations high and the players appeared to be ready, that initial whistle was similar to the start of an Olympic Semifinal of the 100 metres sprint, except being a bit longer.

For the first few minutes, the Warriors, in my opinion were cautious and allowed freedom for an uncertain, apprehensive squad whose recent performance levels did not impress their home crowds and certainly not the American coach Jurgen Klinsmann, a German tactician.

But the plan appeared feasible when the machinery which consisted of a cohesive display of short passing, interchanging of player movement,  creating some space and areas of vulnerability among the yanks.

It looked meaningful, especially when the stalwarts of Khaleem Hyland, Andre Boucaud, and Kevin Molino, retained organized possession, followed by distribution of some excellent passes to the young, exciting Levi Garcia, and super star Joevin Jones, both of whom delighted the audience with some early runs and dribbles which took them to the flanks and two opportunities to create goal scoring chances.

Joevin actually found space on the right side to cut inside for a powerful shot, unfortunately straight to veteran goalkeeper Tim Howard.

USA seemed confused and unsettled when their midfield of Kljestan, Bradley, Bedoya, were chasing shadows in midfield, without much success. They quickly decided to bring the deep lying striker Pulisic, to assist in the ball winning process.

As the game had reached near to half time, an unexpected transition from the USA’s defense line saw a long pass entered the Warriors final third, where a cluster of players from both sides fought to gain possession. It was a tough call for the Warriors defense, whose two efforts to clearance struck onto American goal poachers, eventually giving Kjlestan, a quarter chance, which he slot past the keeper for the home team’s first goal of the match.

The halftime was complete where the instructions needed to be reviewed and discussed with expectation of a more productive second half. My first observation was that the host had worked out a formula to reduce the effectiveness of Garcia and Jovin. That seemed easy to recognise when the two players immediately changed sides, maybe the path for their freedom was closed.

This was the period when I felt that players who changed positions during a game must not be based upon the fact that they were failing in their effort. That policy tends to destroy the pattern which the team was trained to perform, and cause the entire chemistry of the team to deteriorate.

The competence of our central defenders Carlyle Mitchell and Radanfah Abu Bakr no longer had the extra man-marker in Aubrey Boucaud or Hyland, both of whom decided that they must join the attack aggressively to get a goal or two.

Our wing defenders also decided that going into flank attack which would have been penetrative, but Aubrey David and Mekeil Williams displayed irresponsible and arbitrary tactics which pushed the entire back-line into absolute distortion. That must be corrected for the future.

Within fifteen minutes of this obvious distortion of players’ movement, opened the door for the stereotype American attack. The duties of keeper Marvin Phillip were brilliantly handled, despite the goals. He got into the way of two superb efforts from Arriola and Kljestan, before he succumbed to a shot among a crowded penalty area by Arriola for the fourth and final goal for the USA.

The pain of defeat is in the manner in which it was inflicted. The challenge now is how can we producing a better performance is much more than just selecting players from all over the world, but searching the minds and intelligence of each player, coupled with the desire to be one hundred percent committed, especially within the framework team cohesiveness.

« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2016, 05:41:37 AM »
Soca Warriors lack mental preparedness.
By Alvin Corneal (Guardian).

For the first few minutes, the Warriors, in my opinion were cautious and allowed freedom for an uncertain, apprehensive squad whose recent performance levels did not impress their home crowds and certainly not the American coach Jurgen Klinsmann, a German tactician.

Uncle Alvin, not even the Germans consider JK a tactician.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2016, 06:21:54 AM »

Sam, aside from all of our issues, our wingers and entire MF (not just the holding MFs) need to be more defensively minded when in transition.  Folks rave looking at Messi and Neymar but examine the Barca 11 workrate when the ball is lost.  We could have the best back 4 in concacaf it will not matter if the MF are not good in transition.  Yes Bateau is our best CB/defender but even w/Bateau on the field we are conceding soft goals.

Regarding only the back 4, I was really surprised that a simple 1-2 was beating Aubrey on the wing, my old hard back icy hot using self is aware of that in a fete match against a church side.  I suspect Hart is at a loss somewhat for his starting back 4 come Nov, which to some degree is okay now, but has to get better soon through performance.  Don't know if we will ever know how to play cantenaccio, but we must make the opposition work for their goals and reduce conceding soft ones.

Dutty, what do you suspect the "issue" is w/your boy?  Is it that he's being outperformed in training?  Thoughts?

Not sure why you are referring to him as "my" boy? However it is obvious that not playing starter with a club has negative effects on any player, hence most National Team coaches look at current form and players getting a lot of minutes at the highest level possible when making calls. Costa Rica has been sitting out Serie A based Giancarlo Gonzalez due to his unclear situation at Palermo in favor of MLS based Kendall Waston and Costa Rica based Johnny Acosta.

That questions the role of players in the TT Pro league which not only has a pace and fitness level of its own but has not even started yet, and moving forward USL based players who are about to go in off season for the next 5 months or last but not least players in semi-amateur leagues as is the 5th tier in UK.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 06:49:27 AM by Dutty Love »

« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2016, 07:09:05 AM »
Nah man, don't take the "your boy" comment in a -ve way, just a fig of speech since you provide most awareness to us here of him and other players plying their trade in the LA leagues.  Figured you had more insights into his non-selection at this point, that's all.  Seems like you are leaning to his reduced mins at his club, fair enough.  PFL and USL points noted

Offline Trin

« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2016, 07:25:10 AM »
I watched the game again and you know what really bothers me is Hart played the right formation; a 4231 with a double pivot defensive mid. This would have provided enough defensive cover had the full backs and wingers played to the instructions which I am sure he gave (as they did so for the first half hr)

This formation has strengths in the middle, the flanks would be the area for them to exploit. If the wingers are high (Jovein, Levi where pressing all game), movements from the opposition winger moving off their full back to receive the ball can be exploited and  therefore requires understanding from the wide players to close the space between him and his full back. Aubrey and Mikel were doing that for the first half but for some reason come the second half they just stopped (simple one twos were working to open space). Of course assistance from the wide players in getting back to close the space would have helped as well.

I also noticed Hyland pushed way up the field in the second half so only Boucaud (later George) was left back. We then started to see alot more penetration through the middle.

It looks like we lost discipline all over the park. I can understand Harts frustration and anger after the game at the senior players who clearly didn't follow instructions...

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2016, 07:48:47 AM »
Nah man, don't take the "your boy" comment in a -ve way, just a fig of speech since you provide most awareness to us here of him and other players plying their trade in the LA leagues.  Figured you had more insights into his non-selection at this point, that's all.  Seems like you are leaning to his reduced mins at his club, fair enough.  PFL and USL points noted

Aubrey has been at Dallas in MLS since June. He was supposed to take the right back role of Atiba Harris but he didn't break in to the starting line up and looks like Saprissa will have to find another loan for him comes January.

Tactically usually he has been solid at Saprissa and it's one of his strenghts along with his flexibility on both flanks. His main issues and why he didn't work out great at Saprissa (they actively pushed for the loan) is his stay home approach on the flank (hardly attacks) and man marking in the box especially on set kicks. He just doesn't have a ruthless approach to man marking like Costarican players, leaves too much space and often caught ball watching. You can clearly see that on one of the goals with USA besides the one where he was displaced with a simple triangle. Those are things he could fix almst over night (I will stay attached to my man on set pieces) and would make him a very good full back.

« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2016, 09:45:26 AM »
We need a creative midfield between Hyland and Boucaud, like Joevin or Bostock.

Mitchell----Bateau----Marshall----Mekeil
Cyrus----Boucaud---Joevin---Hyland-----Cato
--------------------Jones--------------------

« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2016, 06:43:41 PM »
WATCH: Post-match press conference with Coach Stephen Hart

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/PZQBGjotOYI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/PZQBGjotOYI</a>

« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2016, 09:58:01 PM »

Aubrey has been at Dallas in MLS since June. He was supposed to take the right back role of Atiba Harris but he didn't break in to the starting line up and looks like Saprissa will have to find another loan for him comes January.

Tactically usually he has been solid at Saprissa and it's one of his strenghts along with his flexibility on both flanks. His main issues and why he didn't work out great at Saprissa (they actively pushed for the loan) is his stay home approach on the flank (hardly attacks) and man marking in the box especially on set kicks. He just doesn't have a ruthless approach to man marking like Costarican players, leaves too much space and often caught ball watching. You can clearly see that on one of the goals with USA besides the one where he was displaced with a simple triangle. Those are things he could fix almst over night (I will stay attached to my man on set pieces) and would make him a very good full back.

Yeah, I think you are spot on w/Aubrey's deficiencies and doesn't surprised me that would have factored into the loan move.  Agree he could fix overnight w/some mental discipline.  Funny, when I said "your boy" was actually thinking about Yohance.  The CB pairing to me is one of these key pieces that has to be fixed and was wondering your take on his relative non-appearance thus far, even when CB cannot start (suspension etc)...the last time he featured was in Utah vs Mex?

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2016, 11:02:05 PM »

Yeah, I think you are spot on w/Aubrey's deficiencies and doesn't surprised me that would have factored into the loan move.  Agree he could fix overnight w/some mental discipline.  Funny, when I said "your boy" was actually thinking about Yohance.  The CB pairing to me is one of these key pieces that has to be fixed and was wondering your take on his relative non-appearance thus far, even when CB cannot start (suspension etc)...the last time he featured was in Utah vs Mex?

Marshall this beginning of the season was playing some of the best I have ever seen him play. Unfortunately I got a hamstring injury a month ago that made him miss 3 games so I think he may have not been 100% yet. I have no doubt in my mind when he is at his best he is the best partner for Bateau. Very complementary in terms of characteristics. I hope before the end of the Hexagonal,
the back four to be:

Williams Marshall Bateau Hodge

« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2016, 11:08:13 PM »
Right now Hart has topped out. I don't believe we can get any better. The quality of the players we have are mediocre at best.

The defenders we have are less than good.

The tactics we employ are now predictable because we have played enough games for other teams to realize that we are not a threat.

Hart needs to change a lot of things. I give him three games in the Hex.

I see Stuart Charles as a possible choice for DJW.

Once that happens we done.

We need three midfielders..#6,# 8, #10 (not John Bostock)

We need two Center backs and  TOP CLASS  keeper.

We need to get our tactics right to adjust to the different moments in the game.

We are not good enough in the attacking third.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2016, 11:15:17 PM »
I also realize neither Williams nor Hodge attack much as they are more of central defenders.

That means a brave coach would turn those three long term into a trio like Bonucci, Barzagli Chiellini and attempt a 3-5-2 or 3-4-3

That is Williams Bateau Hodge.

For now Hodge is still in USL so it will probably be for the next cycle.

So maybe for now the back four could be:

Cato Marshall Bateau Williams

That means at least Cato would play an attacking full back role

Matter of fact I would be curious to see this:

Cato Marshall Bateau Williams

Bostock Hyland Jomal Joevin

Molino      Kenwyne

Players off the bench Levi, Ricardo John, Cummings, George and Aubrey to move Cato up

Ricardo John offers characteristics that no other forward has. Phisicality of Kenwyne but much more mobile and faster.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 11:21:03 PM by Dutty Love »

« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2016, 07:56:02 AM »
We probably should not react too much to a 4-0 loss to the US.

Positives from the last round include

winning in Guatemala
getting points at home against the US
fighting back to maximize points vs St Vincent especially on the road.

Realistically in US and Mex on form they will be at the top of the Hex.
we need one to lose form and maybe costa rica to fall back a little

Honduras and Panama we have to fight tooth and nail.

3rd or 4th are our only realistic options.

Formula remains the same as always

try to get steal points on the road and get key wins at home.

every team is looking at Trinidad as a team to get maximum points from so every game they will be gunning for us.

We need to defend in numbers have our counter attack and set play game on.

we have a chance

which is more than we have had in a long while.

This same US team went guatemala and collect lix
they did not panic and change course.

look at the results collectively over time, every team does have bad days.

« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2016, 05:51:20 AM »
Sooooo, who have the zeppo about some team members breaking camp before the Guatemala game to attend a party? Heard something on the radio this morning.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lesson from Florida
« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2016, 11:45:32 AM »
Lesson from Florida
By Fazeer Mohammed (T&T Express)

After that whipping in Jacksonville last Tuesday, Trinidad and Tobago’s campaign to get to Russia in 2018 has taken on a different complexion.

It wasn’t just the emphatic nature of the 4-0 scoreline, but the manner in which the national team’s discipline and cohesion disintegrated so rapidly under pressure from the United States in the second half of that last game of the semi-final phase of CONCACAF qualification.

From the 2-2 draw at home to Guatemala four days earlier to that humbling experience in America, it has become increasingly clear that key senior players in the squad are struggling to deliver as expected. A lot of attention has inevitably focused on the listless performances of national captain and striker Kenwyne Jones, along with a defensive line that looks extremely vulnerable. But in such a flowing team game as football, they are not the only areas of concern.

If the defence remains suspect — and this can hardly be considered a revelation — it is a challenge made many times worse by the failure of the midfield to retain possession. That the United States were able to attack in a rapid succession of waves in Florida was only possible because every attempt to ease the pressure was stymied by both poor passing and a lack of urgency to get back behind the ball to at least give the defenders time to recover and regroup.

Head coach Stephen Hart didn’t mince words in his immediate reaction to the result, likening the ineffectiveness of some of his leading players to the equivalent of a disappearing act. Whether he got the answers that he was looking for behind the closed doors of the dressing room will probably become clear in the coming weeks, when he selects his squads for Caribbean Cup qualifiers next month.

As important as the regional competition is, that will obviously be a competitive opportunity to try to sort out these many problems ahead of the kick-off of the “Hex,” the six-nation home-and-away round-robin grouping from which the top three earn tickets to the 2018 World Cup Finals, while the fourth-placed finisher goes into a two-leg playoff against an Asian qualifier in November of next year, for one of the last remaining places among the 32 teams competing for the sport’s premier prize in Russia in less than two years’ time.

A look at the schedule of that final phase of qualifying suggests that it will be vital for Trinidad and Tobago to pick up points early, with three of their first four games being played at home. Of course, the other side of the equation is that four of the remaining six games will be away from home at a stage when boisterous crowd support could just be the extra edge in the quest for qualification.

By the time the opening game against Costa Rica rolls around on November 11 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, we will obviously know if Hart is satisfied that the existing nucleus of the squad can be reinvigorated to rise to the challenge or if he has been left with no choice but to go in search of other options to fill key positions in the line-up. Already, there have been suggestions that the available talent in the Pro League, while not completely deficient, is lacking in the necessary experience and expertise, and it may come down to the availability of the likes of the so far elusive John Bostock and other foreign-born or foreign-based players to bolster a squad that appears to be in need of a shot of adrenaline and inspiration.

For all the preoccupation with the quality of the United States and Mexico, it is the Costa Ricans who have the best record against Trinidad and Tobago in competitive games in this country, as they have not lost a World Cup qualifier here for 35 years. Having topped their preliminary group at Brazil 2014 and reached the quarter-finals, where they lost to Holland on penalties, they sauntered through their semi-final qualifying group on the road to Russia, playing unbeaten and winning five of their six games to move into the next stage as one of the favoured teams to get to football’s “Big Yard”.

Yet, even if the first opponents were Panama or Honduras, the challenge will still be at the feet of the Trinidad and Tobago team to rise to the occasion, to shake off the lethargy and indecisiveness of the past few games and make some sort of positive statement that will energise and captivate an often fickle home audience to get on board fully with the long final stage of the journey.

It won’t be long now before we know if last week’s Florida humiliation was a timely wake-up call or a worrying reality check.