March 29, 2024, 02:30:13 AM

Author Topic: New boy Samuel ready to join warriors fight.  (Read 5697 times)

New boy Samuel ready to join warriors fight.
« on: September 02, 2009, 07:35:14 PM »
New boy Samuel ready to join warriors fight.

The latest addition to the “Soca Warriors” camp, English Premiership-based defender Jlloyd Samuel says he’s looking forward to making his debut and banking on a positive contribution to the team’s effort against Honduras in San Pedro Sula on Saturday.

Samuel, 28, of Bolton Wanderers had his first work out with Russell Latapy’s team at the Muebles Herrera ground on Tuesday and gave an account of his impressions thus far, saying he was in high anticipation of wearing the red, white and black.

“It’s a new experience for myself. I was trying to link up with the boy before but with the FIFA rules, I wasn’t allowed to cross over  but finally it’s come true and I’m able to cross over and looking forward to it,”Samuel  told TTFF Media on Wednesday.

“I’ve been committed for a while and it would have been nice for me to link up with the team much earlier. But we had to sort our issues, and with the FIFA ruling but with that gone through I want to go for it all the way and I want to be here for a while now.”

“It’s obviously easier for yourself when you know people and faces around. When I’m at home I’m just relaxing and playing in the Premier League, I don’t really watch much other football because I’ve got my family as well but it’s nice to meet the other guys who are playing in the MLS and back home in Trinidad. It’s nice to meet up with the new faces.

Samuel’s mother and father are coming over to San Pedro Sula to witness him in the T&T colours.
“I’m excited and they’re excited. My mom and dad are coming over for the game and hopefully everything else goes well.

The San Fernando-born player is accustomed playing before crowds ranging from 30,000 upwards in England. But he’s well aware that the conditions will be different on Saturday.

“I’m hoping a good team performance and a good one for myself. I want to link up well with the rest of the boys, play some good football and get the result that we want.”

“I know that Trinidad was in this situation before and when people were writing them off  they put a run together and were able to go to the World Cup. They’ve done It before and we can do it again,” Samuel concluded.

Jlloyd, sometimes credited 'Walter' (after the Inter Milan defender Walter Samuel) spent his youth football at Charlton Athletic and also played for West Ham United during that period.

There was a dispute with Charlton concerning "poaching" of their youth system by Aston Villa and at the FA tribunal which was set up in response to the charges, John Gregory was famously quoted as saying that he'd signed Jlloyd and didn't expect him to play for the first team. Samuel went to make 169 appearances for Villa’s first team between 1998-2007, making 21 appearances for England’s Under 21s and earning call up from Sven Eriksson for a friendly versus Sweden when he was an unused substitute. He has since made 60 appearances for Bolton Wanderers.

So far the conditions have been extremely humid in San Pedro Sula. Latapy led his team on a 10-minute walk around the block from the hotel on Wednesday followed by a light stretch with the trainers prior to a 3pm training session at the Francisco Morazan Stadium.

The T&T coaching staff were also met by several media men and a few excited fans on Wednesday morning at the Hotel lobby prior to a meeting, who had all showed up with DVD copies of the Costa Rica/Honduras game. To T&T’s surprise, there were reports in the Honduran Press of  an offer from T&T to purchase a copy of the game through the team’s Honduran liaison officer which is usually provided by the host association. There were offers from as high as USD2,000 to USD 200 for a copy. Fortunately, Latapy and company already had in their possession copies of the said match as well as recent Concacaf Gold Cup matches involving the hosts.

Meantime on the latest FIFA rankings released this week, T&T regained the number one top spot in the Caribbean jumping the 63 on the world charts and are now fifth in CONCACAF.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 07:59:39 PM by Flex »

Re: New boy Samuel ready to join warriors fight
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 07:54:12 PM »
Niceness

Wah yuh say BM ;D

Re: New boy Samuel ready to join warriors fight
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2009, 08:30:23 PM »

Re: New boy Samuel ready to join warriors fight.
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2009, 08:43:12 PM »
Niceness

Wah yuh say BM ;D
Ah doh know. He eh really apologize. But he talk. So maybe BM up to 10 2/3 now.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2009, 08:45:28 PM »
Welcome Samuel hopefully you will really be apart of T&T team for some time to come...

« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2009, 08:53:50 PM »
Niceness

Wah yuh say BM ;D

Lawd  :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2009, 08:59:16 PM »
I welcome him

He was always one that wanted to be a soca warrior but FIFA rules prevented him last campaign.

Zamora on the other hand  ???

« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2009, 09:06:22 PM »
Welcome home Jlloyd!  Now you protect that left side for us!  We really miss Avery!

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2009, 09:25:31 PM »
Welcome Sammy.. you are a true south man...
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 09:44:33 PM »
Niceness
Wah yuh say BM ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2009, 10:02:20 PM »
i dont think this young man understands the dilemma this football federation is in...............

« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2009, 12:26:00 AM »
11 vz 11... welcom Mr samuel

tell this lad who Mickey Trotmasn is

Lets go tnt.....

until then F#CK ZAMORA

« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2009, 12:35:05 AM »
Were Samuel and Dwight ever on the Villa side at the same time in 1998? Or did Dwight leave to Men Utd by the time Samuel now start to run out?

« Reply #13 on: September 03, 2009, 04:03:42 AM »
Were Samuel and Dwight ever on the Villa side at the same time in 1998? Or did Dwight leave to Men Utd by the time Samuel now start to run out?

Dwight told Oliver Camps about Samuel and the TTFF ignored him. At the time Samuel was on the youth team.

« Reply #14 on: September 03, 2009, 06:03:16 AM »
11 vz 11... welcom Mr samuel

tell this lad who Mickey Trotmasn is

Lets go tnt.....

until then F#CK ZAMORA

Niceness

now we ready.

Offline Trin

« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2009, 06:10:39 AM »

He used to clean dwight boots, seriously

« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2009, 06:24:05 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-Daulfuw0FU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-Daulfuw0FU</a>

he say he has a younger brother in england that plays football

« Reply #17 on: September 03, 2009, 06:30:24 AM »
I welcome him

He was always one that wanted to be a soca warrior but FIFA rules prevented him last campaign.

Zamora on the other hand  ???

My thoughts exactly.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #18 on: September 03, 2009, 06:55:01 AM »
i dont think this young man understands the dilemma this football federation is in...............

Is a good ting because he would not have come.

« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2009, 07:00:20 AM »

Den make sure we cap he brother before he get to understand.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #20 on: September 03, 2009, 07:03:26 AM »

U neva know wit FIFA remember bout yday and 2day dey might change d rule again.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 07:55:57 AM by weary1969 »

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
« Reply #21 on: September 03, 2009, 07:42:04 AM »
hope he makes a good stamp in we tired ARSE defence
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

« Reply #22 on: September 03, 2009, 07:57:11 AM »
too little too late man.i is ah man always optimistic but de warriors need divine intervention.

« Reply #23 on: September 03, 2009, 07:59:08 AM »
too little too late man.i is ah man always optimistic but de warriors need divine intervention.

What ever it takes where d match day prayer.

« Reply #24 on: September 03, 2009, 08:01:19 AM »

not all prayers does wuk yuh know,if it did i woulda be rich and goodlookin.

« Reply #25 on: September 03, 2009, 08:29:01 AM »

not all prayers does wuk yuh know,if it did i woulda be rich and goodlookin.

Lawd u battin 0-2 yuh poor and ugly. Dat sadddddddddd

« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2009, 09:04:07 AM »

There is a Samuel at west bromwich albion i wonder ?

« Reply #27 on: September 03, 2009, 01:47:10 PM »
Wait til he realise the shit football we play!  :devil:

« Reply #28 on: September 03, 2009, 02:02:13 PM »

You need tuh change your handle ::)

« Reply #29 on: September 03, 2009, 02:05:52 PM »

You need tuh change your handle ::)

D cool 1 far from dat and d supporter eh supportin. Dis football ting does make man change.