March 28, 2024, 03:46:46 AM

Author Topic: Legend Dwight Yorke retires from football.  (Read 9655 times)

Legend Dwight Yorke retires from football.
« on: September 04, 2009, 11:42:07 AM »
Yorke retires from football.
By: James Riach (skysports).

Veteran striker hangs up his boots

Former Manchester United forward Dwight Yorke has announced his retirement from football. The 37-year-old played a total of 480 club games, scoring 147 goals, and won the UEFA Champions League with United as well as three successive Premier League titles.

During his time at Old Trafford, Yorke formed a formidable partnership with fellow striker Andy Cole and he found the back of the net 64 times in 151 appearances.

The former Trinidad and Tobago captain was released by Sunderland at the end of last season and has decided to call it a day.

"It's time to hang up my boots," he said. "While I'm still in great shape, I'm not getting any younger.

"I've had the time of my life. I hope people will say that I played the game in the right way with a smile on my face.

Blessed

"I've been blessed really. I've played alongside some of the greatest players the Premier League has ever seen in Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Peter Schmeichel, and played for the greatest manager in Sir Alex Ferguson."

Yorke has accepted a position as assistant manager of the Trinidad and Tobago national team for the remaining World Cup qualifiers, and says he wants to stay in football.

"I always planned to stay in football," he added. "My aim is to build up some experience and then use what I've learnt from my playing days to coach and one day manage a team in England.

"I'll always count myself lucky. I was a boy on a beach from a little Caribbean island that got the chance to fulfil his dream of winning trophies at the highest level and captaining his country in their first ever World Cup finals."
Yorke hangs up his playing boots.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Dwight Yorke today announced his retirement from football. Yorke, currently here in San Pedro Sula with the National Team, was released by Sunderland at the end of last season, won the UEFA Champions League with United in 1999 as well as three successive Premiership titles.

Yorke, who captained Trinidad and Tobago at the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™, said: "It's time to hang up my boots. While I'm still in great shape, I'm not getting any younger. I've had the time of my life. I hope people will say that I played the game in the right way with a smile on my face.

"I've been blessed really. I've played alongside some of the greatest players the Premier League has ever seen in Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Peter Schmeichel, and played for the greatest manager in Sir Alex Ferguson.

"I'll always count myself lucky. I was a boy on a beach from a little Caribbean island that got the chance to fulfil his dream of winning trophies at the highest level and captaining his country in their first ever World Cup finals."

Yorke played 480 club games and scored 147 goals, scoring 64 in 151 appearances for United having teamed up with Andy Cole spectacularly. Yorke added that he was now committed to the role of Assistant coach of the National Team.

“Basically I’ve agreed to take up the role as assistant coach for the remainder of the campaign and then we’ll take it from there. I’m still very much involved in completing my coaching badges but I would like to stay involved in the game in some capacity,” Yorke told TTFF Media on Friday at the Hilton Princess Hotel.

“My aim is to build on all the experience and hopefully manage a team one day in England. At the moment I’m here to help Russell and Trinidad and Tobago football as best as I can and that’s where the situation is at the moment,” Yorke said.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2009, 04:55:05 PM by Flex »

Re: Legend Dwight Yorke retires from Football
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 11:44:02 AM »
he retire to coach he padnah latas on the field lol at least according to sam  :D

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 11:47:26 AM »
Sad day True Trini i mean Trinbago Legend happy he is now Assistant coach of T&T  :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 12:02:23 PM »
So it is official.

Niceness

Passing off the Guards.

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2009, 12:08:51 PM »
 :applause:
Thanks for all the memories.

I hope the TTFF does something for him to acknowledge his contribution.
A plaque, a high profile friendly or something.

« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2009, 12:12:08 PM »
 :salute: :salute: :salute:

« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2009, 12:15:32 PM »
:applause:
Thanks for all the memories.

I hope the TTFF does something for him to acknowledge his contribution.
A plaque, a high profile friendly or something.

Maybe against Manchester United would be perfect.

Watch this space

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2009, 12:18:38 PM »
thanks dwight i still remember playing antbody fuh anybody and having you planted in mind mind as one of the players i most adored.... :'( :applause:
All American

« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2009, 12:21:33 PM »
 I have to thank dwight yorke as whenever i called his name Jamaicans had to shut up in   a football argument

« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2009, 12:21:35 PM »
all de best to yorkie after a life of football.now get we to mother africa.

« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2009, 12:24:13 PM »
all de best to yorkie after a life of football.now get we to mother africa.

Cosign

« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2009, 12:30:26 PM »
Got this from the BBC 606 thread:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A56745075

« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2009, 12:38:21 PM »
Thanks Dwight.  GOD Bless.

« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2009, 12:48:05 PM »
thanks for the entertainment, glory and opening the door for so many others.

i don't agree that is time to stop though. he coulda always come home to the PFL.

4 minutes of memories - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYLEAt27ndg

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/JYLEAt27ndg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/JYLEAt27ndg</a>
« Last Edit: September 04, 2009, 01:11:52 PM by E-man »

Offline madness

« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2009, 12:51:15 PM »
thx very much yorkie. you will be a great manager one day.

« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2009, 01:04:58 PM »
I remember how upset Villa fans were when he left their club for Man Utd.

Shows how well he did in England.

Offline iceberg

« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2009, 01:07:53 PM »
Thank you "Smiling Assasin" for all the great memories and for leading us to the 2006 WC.  You have achieved a lot more than most footballers ever dream about Yorkie.  I am glad that you are giving back in the "Temporary Assistant Coaching" role with the Warriors team.    All the best in your future endeavours.  Way to go "All Night Dwight".  Blessings!!!
If your heart is not in the game then your not a true footballer!!!

« Reply #17 on: September 04, 2009, 01:15:17 PM »
now he have more time to bull some more white gyuls.  Ferguson and Keane can go hull dey arse!

Yorke hangs up his boots
« Reply #18 on: September 04, 2009, 01:50:41 PM »
Yorke hangs up his boots
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s Dwight Yorke today announced his retirement from football.

Yorke, currently here in San Pedro Sula with the National Team, was released by Sunderland at the end of last season, won the UEFA Champions League with United in 1999 as well as three successive Premiership titles.

Yorke, who captained Trinidad and Tobago at the 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany™, said: "It's time to hang up my boots. While I'm still in great shape, I'm not getting any younger. I've had the time of my life. I hope people will say that I played the game in the right way with a smile on my face.

"I've been blessed really. I've played alongside some of the greatest players the Premier League has ever seen in Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Peter Schmeichel, and played for the greatest manager in Sir Alex Ferguson.

Yorke played 480 club games and scored 147 goals, scoring 64 in 151 appearances for United having teamed up with Andy Cole spectacularly.

Yorke added that he was now committed to the role of Assistant coach of the National Team.

“Basically I’ve agreed to take up the role as assistant coach for the remainder of the campaign and then we’ll take it from there. I’m still very much involved in completing my coaching badges but I would like to stay involved in the game in some capacity,” Yorke told TTFF Media on Friday at the Hilton Princess Hotel.

“My aim is to build on all the experience and hopefully manage a team one day in England. At the moment I’m here to help Russell and Trinidad and Tobago football as best as I can and that’s where the situation is at the moment,” Yorke said.

:salute: :salute: :salute:
« Last Edit: September 04, 2009, 02:10:27 PM by FireBrand »

Re: Yorke hangs up his boots
« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2009, 02:01:35 PM »
Well...now dat it official.....

Thanks For Everything Skipper. All in all...well played.  :applause:
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2009, 02:11:18 PM »
he coulda annouce dat Sunday, just to keep Honduras in ah mess....or better still wait till the last game of this Hex play...this ain't helping them fellas with "confidence that they could do it ".....who does advise this man ?

add: when dem team hear Dwight Yorke dressed them musbe does say "Ok. he old buh dangerous"....maybe KJ for the hype, maybe Stern for the goals, maybe latas for the play....now who go make them nervous and prone to error.....Bleeder ?
« Last Edit: September 04, 2009, 02:15:11 PM by maxg »

« Reply #21 on: September 04, 2009, 02:15:06 PM »
Yorke yuh was, is and will always be a boss!
It was a pleasure seeing your career
I will never forget hearing during Man U games "here comes the cross..YORKE! Goal! Dwight Yorke from Trinidad & Tobago"
still gives me chills
Respects

« Reply #22 on: September 04, 2009, 02:15:26 PM »
:applause:  :beermug: Thank you!! 20yrs of great service on the field. Hope we get 20 more from you off the field!  ;D :thumbsup:

« Reply #23 on: September 04, 2009, 02:17:20 PM »
he was a borse on the field, but his off field decisions left much to be desired...like this announcement >:(

so it not making meh confident if he go make the right decisions off the field now nah !  >:(

« Reply #24 on: September 04, 2009, 02:19:22 PM »
As a man that played with Do-flair as a youngster, the man was the best that I ever played with.  All the best in your future endeavours partner.....all the best...Thanks for the memories as a great player as well...

« Reply #25 on: September 04, 2009, 02:20:10 PM »
thanks brother one of best :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: September 04, 2009, 02:25:59 PM »
Thank you DY19...you had a splendid career for both our country and club :applause: :applause: :applause:

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #27 on: September 04, 2009, 02:30:49 PM »
say it ain't so Smiling Assasin say it ain't soooo
 :salute: thank you for making us proud :beermug:

Offline Texastrini

« Reply #28 on: September 04, 2009, 02:38:08 PM »
Big up Dwight :beermug:.  Thanks for the memories.  Looking forward to you continuing to contribute to TNT football in years to come.

« Reply #29 on: September 04, 2009, 02:49:59 PM »
If Steve Bruce wasnt in charge of Sunderland Yorkie might still be player/coach there.

Great career, but dont be surprised if he plays another season somewhere! Dwight has 'retired' before lol