April 30, 2024, 12:15:09 PM

Author Topic: T&T go all out for mission impossible.  (Read 2296 times)

T&T go all out for mission impossible.
« on: September 04, 2009, 07:16:42 PM »
By: Inshan "Flex" Mohammed.

Big mountain to climb for little Soca Warriors.

Trinidad and Tobago national senior football team will take on Honduras in an all important World Cup Qualifier at the Olympic Stadium in San Pedro Sula, Honduras today from 7pm (9pm TT-Time).

Coached by veteran midfielder Russell Latapy, the Soca Warriors will have all to play for if they are to keep their World Cup dreams alive.

Trinidad and Tobago has played Honduras six times in World Cup Qualifying action, losing twice with three draws and just one victory. The odds are definitely stacked against Latapy's men as they look to take on one of CONCACAF's deadliest teams in the 2009 Hexagonal series at the San Pedro Sula Olympia Stadium, a place where the host have an almost 100% unbeaten record.

Though inconsistent- when up for the challenge Honduras can surely do damage. Coming off a 4-0 victory over CONCACAF leaders Costa Rica and wins against El Salvador and Mexico respectively. Honduras will be flying with confidence and will throw everything into attack come Saturday as they look to seal a 2010 World Cup Berth. Their next game which is 4-days away will be none other than Mexico in Mexico City so the road for The Los Catrachos could be a rocky one should they fail to beat the Soca Warriors.

Packed with pace, power and determined to bury the ghost of 2001, the Hondurans are gunning for revenge from the last time both teams met in Honduras, October 2001. The venue was; Estadío Olímpico Metropolitano - Stern John netted a 61st minute item as the 10-men of Trinidad and Tobago walked away victorious. The result cost Honduras as they got eliminated from qualifying for the 2002 World Cup finals.

Last Meeting

Both teams played to a 1-1 draw back in March 2009 at the Hasley Crawford Stadium. Honduras controlled the midfield for most parts until "The Magician" himself came on to loosen things up for the Soca Warriors.

That would be Russell Latapy's last game before picking up the mantle for T&T and the 39-year old made an instant impact when introduced in the 67th minute for the below par Keon Daniel.

Veteran striker Carlos Pavon scored a 50th minute header for Honduras when T&T keeper Jan Michael Williams' poor attempt to punch away a corner-kick gave the pacy striker a free header into the T&T's goal, 1-0 Honduras.

T&T trailed until the 88th minute and managed to get on the scoreboard when substitute Khaleem Hyland beat the offside trap to tap the ball into the Honduran net after a fumble by their keeper Noel Valladares who thought he had his goal covered.

From T&T's last Honduran encounter one can expect some changes for today's game. Jan-Michael Williams is not expected to be in goal. Densill Theobold, Keon Daniel and Jason Scotland starting positions are not guaranteed. Captain Dennis Lawrence, makeshift rightback Anthony Wolfe, the injured Stern John, goal hero Khaleem Hyland and Aklie Edwards were not summoned for the crucial qualifier.

Finally, lets not forget deputy Francisco Maturana isn't here anymore or more-so, he might just be in Honduras as he was during T&T's last game against El Salvador in Trinidad but this time Mr Maturana will be cheering from the stands alongside the "know it all" Alvin Corneal, both FIFA technical committee members. Hopefully he will still be rooting for the men in red, white and black.

For Honduras it will be more or less the same, Julio De Leon and Amado Guevara will be pulling the strings in midfield as they did in Port of Spain. The experienced Noel Valladares will stand between the uprights, Hendry Thomas will stabilize their midfield, the dangerous David Sauzo will replace the suspended Carlos Costly and lets not forget the evergreen Carlos Pavon.

At the back the Hondurans are suspicious and it definitely looks to be their weakest point of their team. Maynor Figueroa and Erick Norales will anchor their central defence while Mauricio Sabillón and Emilio Izaguirre will hold the wingbacks.

But Honduras isn't short of players as Víctor Bernárdez, Danilo Turcios, Ramón Núñez and Italian based Edgar Álvarez are all capable of ruffling a few feathers.

Who could forget the dangers of both Pavon and Sauzo back in June 2001 when they literally walked through the T&T defence like standing cones on a training pitch at the Hasley Crawford Stadium. Center backs Marvin Andrews and Dennis Lawrence were no match for the speedy strikers as they took their team to an impressive 4-2 victory. The striker were so fast they would have made track star Hasley Crawford himself blush.

Amado up for the game

It was learnt that Honduran captain Amado Guevara passed fit and ready to face the Trinidad and Tobago side today at the Olympic Stadium in San Pedro Sula, Honduras.

Guevara had gotten a knock in practice on Tuesday and has not recovered 100%, but is now feeling up and ready for the battle on Saturday.

He told the Honduras press that after achieving a resounding 4-0 victory against Costa Rica the team spirits are quite high and is ready for their next battle.

"We're going to get 12 points from our remaining games and not have to depend on anybody to help us."

David Sauzo told LaPrensa.hn online press when asked if he was able to play the entire game. "If I play ninety or fifty minutes or whatever, let's make the most while I am on the field."

"We do not know how good Trinidad is. We are only thinking of our team, which is in good fitness and will give their best on Saturday."

David Suazo last played for Honduras in a 1-0 victory against Mexico in 2008.

Danilo Turcios who is one of the engines of the Honduran national team said he is in perfect condition should he get a chance to play against Trinidad and Tobago. Dani has a wealth of experience and has played in Uruguay, Guatemala and Mexico. He played in the 2000 Sydney Olympics and in the Copa America 2001 in Colombia, where Honduras took third place beating Brazil in the process.

Latapy not giving up anything

Russell Latapy meantime told the Honduran press that the pressure was not on T&T, but actually on Honduras.

"So far there is nothing that worries me. Honduras plays at home and are under pressure to win, they are ten points in this group and need more points to qualify and most likely they want to go for the victory which is normal. My only concern is the selection of Trinidad and Tobago and  to get a favorable outcome and I'm sure we will get it."

"This stadium is a place where you can have a great game and we wanted to come early to train and acclimatise. In training injuries always occur but today no one is injured and hope to be ready for the big game."

Trinidadians know that the field of San Pedro Sula is a difficult place for any team. Those teams which have played here have not been able to take a point away and this can be partly attributed to the climate, since the Industrial Capital hellish heat prevails.

"We came five days before because we have many players who play in Europe and would not take them to train in Trinidad and three days after a long trip to Honduras, so better we came here and got us acclimated to compact a good team."

The combined island republic has several experienced players in their ranks, some of whom are soon approaching retirement. Such is the case of striker Dwight Yorke, who has 38 years and comes as an assistant coach.

"It's normal in football, any team is a combination of generations who seek to do good things for their country. My job is to find the balance to make things right."

During training at the Olympic stadium coach Latapy and assistant Yorke took off their overalls and slip on their uniforms and played with the rest of the players.

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones and new Ipswich Town singing Carlos Edwards are also key members for the Soca Warriors.

Message from the fans

On behalf on the Soca Warriors Online we would like to wish the Trinidad and Tobago national football team the best of luck in Honduras today and in Trinidad on September 9th. Keep believing to keep achieving.

Keep focused and play your hearts out Soca Warriors. Your whole attitude will change when you understand that limitations are temporary.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 03:52:42 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T go all out for mission impossible.
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 08:38:40 PM »

Message from the fans

On behalf on the Soca Warriors Online we would like to wish the Trinidad and Tobago national football team the best of luck in Honduras today and in Trinidad on September 9th. Keep believing to keep achieving.

Keep focused and play your hearts out Soca Warriors. Your whole attitude will change when you understand that limitations are temporary.

Yes!!!!  We love you guys on here and everywhere.  To the greatest team in the world, The Socawarriors, our hearts are with you.

Great article Flex.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 03:48:53 AM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 08:43:19 PM »
good evening mr phelps, aka latas.

your mission is to defeat honduras and the other teams ahead of you.

you have obviously chosen to accept this mission.

should you fail, the ttff led by this man, austin "d brain" jakula warnerman, will destroy all evidence of your existence and disavow any knowledge of you and your team of misfits.

good luck.

this media will self destruct in 2 days.

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 09:26:17 PM »
good evening mr phelps, aka latas.

your mission is to defeat honduras and the other teams ahead of you.

you have obviously chosen to accept this mission.

should you fail, the ttff led by this man, austin "d brain" jakula warnerman, will destroy all evidence of your existence and disavow any knowledge of you and your team of misfits.

good luck.

this media will self destruct in 2 days.

1 Mission at a time

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 05:46:59 AM »

Message from the fans

Yes!!!!  We love you guys on here and everywhere.  To the greatest team in the world, The Socawarriors, our hearts are with you.

Great article Flex.

Can i get a amen?

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2009, 06:48:01 AM »

Big mountain to climb for little Soca Warriors.

Trinidad and Tobago national senior football team will take on Honduras in an all important World Cup Qualifier at the Olympic Stadium in San Pedro Sula, Honduras today from 7pm (9pm TT-Time).

Coached by veteran midfielder Russell Latapy, the Soca Warriors will have all to play for if they are to keep their World Cup dreams alive.

Trinidad and Tobago has played Honduras six times in World Cup Qualifying action, losing twice with three draws and just one victory. The odds are definitely stacked against Latapy's men as they look to take on one of CONCACAF's deadliest teams in the 2009 Hexagonal series at the San Pedro Sula Olympia Stadium, a place where the host have an almost 100% unbeaten record.

Though inconsistent- when up for the challenge Honduras can surely do damage. Coming off a 4-0 victory over CONCACAF leaders Costa Rica and wins against El Salvador and Mexico respectively. Honduras will be flying with confidence and will throw everything into attack come Saturday as they look to seal a 2010 World Cup Berth. Their next game which is 4-days away will be none other than Mexico in Mexico City so the road for The Los Catrachos could be a rocky one should they fail to beat the Soca Warriors.

Packed with pace, power and determined to bury the ghost of 2001, the Hondurans are gunning for revenge from the last time both teams met in Honduras, October 2001. The venue was; Estadío Olímpico Metropolitano - Stern John netted a 61st minute item as the 10-men of Trinidad and Tobago walked away victorious. The result cost Honduras as they got eliminated from qualifying for the 2002 World Cup finals.

Last Meeting

Both teams played to a 1-1 draw back in March 2009 at the Hasley Crawford Stadium. Honduras controlled the midfield for most parts until "The Magician" himself came on to loosen things up for the Soca Warriors.

That would be Russell Latapy's last game before picking up the mantle for T&T and the 39-year old made an instant impact when introduced in the 67th minute for the below par Keon Daniel.

Veteran striker Carlos Pavon scored a 50th minute header for Honduras when T&T keeper Jan Michael Williams' poor attempt to punch away a corner-kick gave the pacy striker a free header into the T&T's goal, 1-0 Honduras.

T&T trailed until the 88th minute and managed to get on the scoreboard when substitute Khaleem Hyland beat the offside trap to tap the ball into the Honduran net after a fumble by their keeper Noel Valladares who thought he had his goal covered.

From T&T's last Honduran encounter one can expect some changes for today's game. Jan-Michael Williams is not expected to be in goal. Densill Theobold, Keon Daniel and Jason Scotland starting positions are not guaranteed. Captain Dennis Lawrence, makeshift rightback Anthony Wolfe, the injured Stern John, goal hero Khaleem Hyland and Aklie Edwards were not summoned for the crucial qualifier.

Finally, lets not forget deputy Francisco Maturana isn't here anymore or more-so, he might just be in Honduras as he was during T&T's last game against El Salvador in Trinidad but this time Mr Maturana will be cheering from the stands alongside the "know it all" Alvin Corneal, both FIFA technical committee members. Hopefully he will still be rooting for the men in red, white and black.

For Honduras it will be more or less the same, Julio De Leon and Amado Guevara will be pulling the strings in midfield as they did in Port of Spain. The experienced Noel Valladares will stand between the uprights, Hendry Thomas will stabilize their midfield, the dangerous David Sauzo will replace the suspended Carlos Costly and lets not forget the evergreen Carlos Pavon.

At the back the Hondurans are suspicious and it definitely looks to be their weakest point of their team. Maynor Figueroa and Erick Norales will anchor their central defence while Mauricio Sabillón and Emilio Izaguirre will hold the wingbacks.

But Honduras isn't short of players as Víctor Bernárdez, Danilo Turcios, Ramón Núñez and Italian based Edgar Álvarez are all capable of ruffling a few feathers.

Who could forget the dangers of both Pavon and Sauzo back in June 2001 when they literally walked through the T&T defence like standing cones on a training pitch at the Hasley Crawford Stadium. Center backs Marvin Andrews and Dennis Lawrence were no match for the speedy strikers as they took their team to an impressive 4-2 victory. The striker were so fast they would have made track star Hasley Crawford himself blush.

Amado up for the game

It was learnt that Honduran captain Amado Guevara passed fit and ready to face the Trinidad and Tobago side today at the Olympic Stadium in San Pedro Sula, Honduras.

Guevara had gotten a knock in practice on Tuesday and has not recovered 100%, but is now feeling up and ready for the battle on Saturday.

He told the Honduras press that after achieving a resounding 4-0 victory against Costa Rica the team spirits are quite high and is ready for their next battle.

"We're going to get 12 points from our remaining games and not have to depend on anybody to help us."

David Sauzo told LaPrensa.hn online press when asked if he was able to play the entire game. "If I play ninety or fifty minutes or whatever, let's make the most while I am on the field."

"We do not know how good Trinidad is. We are only thinking of our team, which is in good fitness and will give their best on Saturday."

David Suazo last played for Honduras in a 1-0 victory against Mexico in 2008.

Danilo Turcios who is one of the engines of the Honduran national team said he is in perfect condition should he get a chance to play against Trinidad and Tobago. Dani has a wealth of experience and has played in Uruguay, Guatemala and Mexico. He played in the 2000 Sydney Olympics and in the Copa America 2001 in Colombia, where Honduras took third place beating Brazil in the process.

Latapy not giving up anything

Russell Latapy meantime told the Honduran press that the pressure was not on T&T, but actually on Honduras.

"So far there is nothing that worries me. Honduras plays at home and are under pressure to win, they are ten points in this group and need more points to qualify and most likely they want to go for the victory which is normal. My only concern is the selection of Trinidad and Tobago and  to get a favorable outcome and I'm sure we will get it."

"This stadium is a place where you can have a great game and we wanted to come early to train and acclimatise. In training injuries always occur but today no one is injured and hope to be ready for the big game."

Trinidadians know that the field of San Pedro Sula is a difficult place for any team. Those teams which have played here have not been able to take a point away and this can be partly attributed to the climate, since the Industrial Capital hellish heat prevails.

"We came five days before because we have many players who play in Europe and would not take them to train in Trinidad and three days after a long trip to Honduras, so better we came here and got us acclimated to compact a good team."

The combined island republic has several experienced players in their ranks, some of whom are soon approaching retirement. Such is the case of striker Dwight Yorke, who has 38 years and comes as an assistant coach.

"It's normal in football, any team is a combination of generations who seek to do good things for their country. My job is to find the balance to make things right."

During training at the Olympic stadium coach Latapy and assistant Yorke took off their overalls and slip on their uniforms and played with the rest of the players.

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones and new Ipswich Town singing Carlos Edwards are also key members for the Soca Warriors.

Message from the fans

Excellent article/game preview... Flex...

Strong words from the fans too !!!!

Lets go T&T...

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2009, 07:41:08 AM »
honduras does not strike as much fear into mi as usa or costa rica . i think we can atleast eke out a draw

« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2009, 08:23:05 AM »

...this time Mr Maturana will be cheering from the stands alongside the "know it all" Alvin Corneal, both FIFA technical committee members.

I guess with this statement, yuh not interviewing Cornmeal anytime soon to get his opinion on things.

It is a tough mission but it is not Mission Impossible.  But if that is the case Latas nickname is Mr. Phelps for this game.

Blessings
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 08:25:13 AM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2009, 08:35:02 AM »
Let the soca warriors forumites say - Amen.

« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2009, 10:13:06 AM »
Big write up they Flex and a real good message from the fans.

We are all proud !!!

Lets go Soca Warriors.....

« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2009, 10:19:47 AM »
Hit Guevara on his ankle please.  Nothing too hard, just enough to cause discomfort.

So Dog starting and wearing the captains armband
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2009, 10:22:42 AM »
RE: So Dog starting and wearing the captains armband

Ah never hear bullshit so in my life, thats why tt football is always stagnant, latas will look to start dog over who? thomas or abu bakr who are faster and could handle the speed of the hondurans better...

hahaha doh expect much from the centre with dog in the back, is heart attack football tonight, if they start samuel at left back our wingbacks will be solid, our centre will be our weakest link, the only thing saving we tonight is noel most likely will play as a holding mid/sweeper which will take pressure off dog ole legs...

real foolishness...
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 10:34:09 AM by Flex »

« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2009, 10:31:56 AM »
Mark Geiger will be the referee alongside Anglo Charles Morgante, Canadian Paul Ward and Jamaican Ricardo Moraga.

« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2009, 10:32:47 AM »
I will really miss Kelvin Jack, Stern John and most of all Cyd Gray for this match !!!!!!

Imagine if Cyd was there......

« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2009, 11:30:34 AM »
it really is mission impossible flex bc they dropping dog in the back, and that is trouble... small ting yes, hopefully he get subbed in the 2nd half for thomas or abu bakr for fresh legs... dog makes too many mistakes...

« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2009, 04:53:54 PM »
nice article Flex.

Re: So Dog starting and wearing the captains armband
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2009, 09:03:39 PM »
RE: So Dog starting and wearing the captains armband

Ah never hear bullshit so in my life, thats why tt football is always stagnant

hahaha doh expect much from the centre with dog in the back, is heart attack football tonight, if they start samuel at left back our wingbacks will be solid, our centre will be our weakest link,

real foolishness...

Yuh call it.....

Blessings

« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2009, 09:13:49 PM »
Controversial...yuh call d mark boy

Crappau smoke we pipe