April 28, 2024, 10:10:21 AM

Author Topic: Kelvin Jack is back !  (Read 4592 times)

Kelvin Jack is back !
« on: May 04, 2009, 05:17:54 AM »
Kelvin Jack near fitness.
By: Inshan "Flex" Mohammed.

T&T keeper in full support of Latapy.

Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Kelvin Jack talks about his road to recovery, touches on T&T new coach Russell Latapy and also had time to look back at the drumming he got from Ronaldinho's Brazil while playing for T&T U-23 team back in January (2000).

In a recent interview with the Soca Warriors Online. Kelvin revealed that he has been training with English clubs Southend United and Aldershot Town for the last month hoping to regain hit fitness and make a comeback.

Kelvin said; "I have been training with Southend United and Aldershot Town at my maximum for the last month.

"They have been absolutely brilliant towards me and I am grateful they allowed me to use their facilities.

"Obviously the season is over now but my work continues everyday because I have missed the entire season.

"I will be coming to Trinidad at the end of May to continue training. I have already told Stern John he will find it difficult to score! The focus now is being ready for the new season.. I want to do great things, and I will".

Asked how do you see T&T chances after 2 ties and 1 lost Kelvin replied.

"It is certainly more difficult to qualify now for Trinidad and Tobago. I have seen highlights of the games, and we need to be more difficult to beat... have more tactical know how. If we rectify our defensive indiscipline and keep more positive possession, we will have a chance.

"It is imperative we try to secure automatic qualification because it will be much more difficult to beat the 5th placed team from South America. Look at what Bolivia did to Argentina at altitude. South American teams at home are very strong".

"As for Russell Latapy being head coach. He had a terrific playing career. He has been one of our best ever players. I have heard many people give their opinions about his appointment, some positive, some negative. The fact is we cannot judge him right now...

"Those who are judging him have nothing to judge him on. All we could do is support him and hope he has a positive effect on the players.

Kelvin also touched on what he would like to accomplish before he considers retiring from football all together.

"When you sustain a career threatening injury.. You realise how fragile your career is. The past year has been extremely tough mentally. If I'm able to surpass the level I was at 2-3 years ago, I will be delighted. I am really close to achieving that".

And finally, I asked Kelvin. "You once played for T&T U-23 team against Brazil in January 2000. T&T lost that game 7-0. Brazil field stars such as Ronaldinho, Alex, Junior, Mancini and Adriano to name a few. How was the experience and was it the most goals you ever conceded ?

Kelvin (laughs).... "That was one hell of an experience. To be honest, we never stood a chance. They were miles better than us, and we were down to ten men after two minutes. Being down to ten men in Brazil, against those players, in front of 40,000, is extremely difficult. We were far too inexperienced to deal with that situation.

"I could not believe the coach at the time (Bertille St. Clair) was having a go at players after the game. Didn't he realise we weren't good enough at the time ? Sometimes you have to put your hands up, admit if you’re not good enough, and work towards getting better.  I am sure all the players would have learned from that experience, ended Jack".
« Last Edit: May 05, 2009, 05:46:43 PM by Flex »

Re: Kelvin Jack is back !
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 05:53:55 AM »
Thanks a lot Flex.

Maybe in the future you could let us know you doing the interview, so we could throw some questions your way.

keep up the good work,

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 06:36:25 AM »
Hope Latapy invite him to training when he visits T&T later this month.

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 06:50:01 AM »
The title of this article is very misleading.

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2009, 06:56:00 AM »
Hope Latapy invite him to training when he visits T&T later this month.
      You eh realize that's the game Kelvin playing,he knows with him around there will be some pressure from the public on Latas especially if things not going well,it going to start right here.

« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2009, 06:59:28 AM »

Men could complain here boy and nobody dont help contribute.

« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2009, 07:19:42 AM »
Maybe a short term contract with a local team in the summer might help him.  Is he signed to anyone?

« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2009, 08:27:31 AM »
I hope Jack makes it back on to the T&T team in de future even if is to back up Ince.  I think if healthy he is better than Phillips and Williams right now.

« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2009, 10:13:33 AM »
ah hope meh brethren get back his fitness and sharpeness quickly. i wish him the best on his road to recovery!! :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2009, 10:54:24 AM »

Men could complain here boy and nobody dont help contribute.

AMENNNNNNNNN TOOOOOOOOOO DATTTTTTTTTTT

« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2009, 10:56:52 AM »
I ent worried about Kelvin Jack....one of the man's greatest attributes is his mental prowess.  He has the mental fortitude to overcome any hurdle.

« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2009, 11:11:42 AM »
I ent worried about Kelvin Jack....one of the man's greatest attributes is his mental prowess.  He has the mental fortitude to overcome any hurdle.

Including Jack Warner

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2009, 12:23:49 PM »

Including Jack Warner
Co-sign!  ;D

« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2009, 12:26:44 PM »

Including Jack Warner
Co-sign!  ;D

BB, like yuh get a break to come on the board and do a lil posting boy ?  ;D

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2009, 12:28:19 PM »
Tings lil slow now bredrin........so at takin ah lurk!!! :devil:

« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2009, 04:09:21 PM »

Including Jack Warner

Weary nobody ever manage to overcome Jack Warner yet.

« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2009, 09:04:29 AM »
I don't think we will see Kelvin Jack play for T&T again, I hope I am wrong because he is/was a top class keeper, better than Ince anyday.

« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2009, 09:15:25 AM »

Hmm...good point. I wonder if Panday know that ? No wonder he feel he could take over the UNC despite the race thing, cause he doh know what defeat tastes like no more.

« Reply #18 on: May 08, 2009, 07:50:39 PM »
Anybody have that game vs Brazil ?

« Reply #19 on: May 08, 2009, 11:09:00 PM »

Including Jack Warner

I have faith dat Kelvin and d 14 others will make history

« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2009, 07:37:18 AM »

Including Jack Warner

I have faith dat Kelvin and d 14 others will make history

What kinda history. ? blackplanet.com ?

Offline Small Change

KELVIN JACK
« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2009, 09:19:43 AM »
What's up with this player? Has he retired? He just disappeared after the Paraguay game in 2006!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: KELVIN JACK
« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2009, 09:22:18 AM »
What's up with this player? Has he retired? He just disappeared after the Paraguay game in 2006!!!!!!!!!!!!

Injury + Blacklist= not playin

« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2009, 11:49:25 AM »

Yeah it should have read

JACK IS BACK   ;D

« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2009, 12:07:26 PM »
He is fully fit and is actively looking for a club.

« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2009, 12:09:44 PM »

Good 4 him

« Reply #26 on: September 08, 2009, 02:48:19 PM »
Niceness ;D

« Reply #27 on: September 09, 2009, 01:10:38 AM »
Niceness ;D

Niceness !! while the senior team getting they a$$ cut left right and in the middle too.
So what yuh go call that then?

« Reply #28 on: September 09, 2009, 02:00:17 AM »
Niceness ;D

Niceness !! while the senior team getting they a$$ cut left right and in the middle too.

Its called doh stand up to Jack and expect to play for T&T ever again! It also applies to Brent Sancho!

Allyuh could scream out allyuh lungs however much allyuh want, while Jackula is in control Kelvin & Brent will not be allowed to be called back even if Beenie was still around!

Beenie rode out because he was unable to pick the best available players (blacklist) as well as maybe wanting a pay rise after guiding us to our first senior World Cup!!
« Last Edit: September 09, 2009, 02:22:04 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #29 on: September 09, 2009, 10:38:55 AM »
Niceness ;D

Its called doh stand up to Jack and expect to play for T&T ever again! It also applies to Brent Sancho!

Allyuh could scream out allyuh lungs however much allyuh want, while Jackula is in control Kelvin & Brent will not be allowed to be called back even if Beenie was still around!

Beenie rode out because he was unable to pick the best available players (blacklist) as well as maybe wanting a pay rise after guiding us to our first senior World Cup!!

Pardner! is crap in and crap out right through yuh getting!! cause them fools down dey eh doin nothing bout the situation,He giving it to them from behind taking it up to the Austenitic range to create Martensite so you know is real heavy metal it real stiff and hard and without condoms too....they all infected wid da crap.