March 28, 2024, 04:44:29 PM

Author Topic: Alvin Corneal Articles  (Read 49868 times)

Re: Is T&T ready to host the women’s U-17 World Cup?
« Reply #60 on: August 27, 2010, 02:00:45 AM »
HCS toilet forever stink forever not working.

they move from antiquated toilet to cheap substandard rusty urinal.

Good move on the upgraded toilets and concessions.....remember for the england game they said water used to leak from the ice melting in the concession area, flowing into the dressing rooms.

u sure it wasn't toilet leaking down in the dressing rooms?  :rotfl: no wonder we does play soo much shit

« Reply #61 on: August 27, 2010, 07:28:45 AM »
this hustle down thing again. dem stadium should have been fixed long time, everybody know them pitch need laying over again, and d stadia fallin apart. d larry gomes aint even finish since last WC                             

stay cool pards ....this explains why the contract for stadia refurbishment will be ( was )  given out to a company with previous experience from the last WC staged in T&T ! A certain company comes to mind because on the last occassion it was argued that this company knew FIFA requirements beter than the competition ...so with such little time to go ... " we cannot follow normal tendering procedures ...you understand ? "  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Who is the line minister for such decisions ?? remember this one folks ...where the same man was police and magistrate in a small town ??
" Well this one is class ..police charge ah magistrate for driving too fast .....
...well de crowd flock up de place ..to see de magistrate try he own case ..
himself tell himself you are charged for speeding
himself tell himself de policeman lying .... :rotfl: :rotfl:
I doh take a single cent from my Employer ..... :devil:

Camps: T&T will be ready for Sunday
« Reply #62 on: August 31, 2010, 04:38:11 AM »
Camps: T&T will be ready for Sunday
T&T Guardian

With only five days before this country plays host to the second Fifa Under-17 Women’s World Cup featuring 16-countries, Chairman of the Local Organising Committee and president of the T&T Football Federation, Oliver Camps is confident that all preparations works will be completed in time. During the last couple of weeks, concerns have been raised over the readiness of the stadia for the hosting of the matches, however Camps’ speaking to Fifa.com said: “We remain confident that this tournament will be a success. We have been working with the Ministry of Sport and Fifa to ensure that this tournament will be one the country can be proud off.”

A positive sign for the host is that the Fifa headquarters for the tournament is now fully operational at the Hyatt Regency Hotel while the offices for the LOC have also been relocated to the Hyatt for the duration of the tournament. Over the past two days Fifa Officials and a number of teams have been arriving in this country as the kick off date for the tournament date draws near. On Sunday, officials conducted a number of tours of the various stadia and training facilities across the country. Meanwhile, the national coaches of the 16 qualifiers for the Fifa Under-17 Women’s World Cup T&T 2010 have finally named their squads for the big event.

Having put their players through months of hard work and rigorous preparations, coaches have announced the list of 336 players taking part in the three-week competition, which gets underway on Sunday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo with T&T meeting Chile in the opening match. Nigeria and defending champions Korea DPR will also do battle in Port of Spain this Sunday. The tournament will feature a few familiar names, including 11 players who represented their countries at New Zealand 2008, the first time the tournament was held.

Among the veterans of two years ago are the Brazilians Beatriz and Thai, Canada’s Diamond Simpson, Nigeria’s Ngozi Okobi and the Japanese duo of Yoko Tanaka and Haruka Hamada, who hit a brace in her side’s 7-2 defeat of Paraguay in the group phase. Not surprisingly, most of the coaches have gone with the players who helped their teams negotiate the qualifying phase, although, as Canada coach Bryan Rosenfeld explains, there are always contingencies that need to be planned for: “The team that won the Concacaf tournament has remained virtually intact, although unfortunately Katherine Caverly and Sabrina Hemond will both be missing out through injury. We have every confidence in the players taking their places though.”

« Reply #63 on: August 31, 2010, 08:31:31 AM »
So the LOC has been relocated to the Hyatt. I thought the Hyatt was a waste of tax payers money.

Alvin Corneal: Jabloteh has folded Who’s next?
« Reply #64 on: July 06, 2012, 05:32:02 AM »
Jabloteh has folded Who’s next?
By: Alvin Corneal (Guardian).

The writing seemed to have appeared on the wall a long time ago, and if the stakeholders had taken notice, they may have been able to redirect their original plan towards a more realistic formula to promote professional football in this country.

There have been many situations where some fast-shooting entrepeneurs misjudged the professional franchise factor, and believed that there was quite a lot of money to be made in the process. Once upon a time, the Americans decided to use the retired superstars of the sixties and seventies, such as Pele, Franz Beckenbauer, George Best, Georgio Chinaglia, to teach America the game, and at the same time, fill the large stadia with fans whose thirst for excitement made them gullible.

Together with some self-made American stars, plus a few from the Caribbean, the game seemed to have taken hold of the Yanks. The league was called the North American Soccer League (NASL), and brought out these high profile players to expose the game in their country through their presence on the fields. Sadly enough, the former stars were rapidly losing the quality of their craft, well in advance of any young American players rising to a level which was needed to keep the turnstiles ticking.

It eventually sputtered and failed financially and the game at professional level became dormant for a while, a factor which made way for the universities to increase their desire and placed the scholarship system, similar to the other major sports.

The US followed a module which worked for basketball, American football, baseball, tennis and others. It was not long before the Yanks were attracting many young international players from football-loving countries, many of whom had embarked upon professionalism in their slow, methodical fashion. Eastern Europe, Africa and the Caribbean were ideal targets for the scholarship system and US soccer started its ascendency once more.

Being more careful about rushing to judge the quality of their local players, they strengthened their resolve, using the American graduates who pushed aside all other sports and went deeply into soccer. This marginal success spiralled the stakeholders towards the start of Major League Soccer, by spending enormous sums of money into franchises which were carefully located, mainly to encourage loyalties and enticed fanaticism.

The marketing strategy was supported by the major television networks, but there was a huge roller coaster ride for the franchise owners. They may even display optimism and claim that the clubs are now financially strong and the game is growing rapidly. Even if their optimism is exaggerated, the cautious approach which was used following the failure of the NASL, is evidence that serious professional planning is the only way to financial success.

In T&T, there was a solid basic structure which the then local administrators, most of whom were astute businessmen from private and public service organisations, handled with great caution and placed the emphasis for success upon the well-constituted clubs across the country.

By pure and unconditional amateurism, players joined these clubs, dedicated their time to enjoying the game, practiced hard and long hours weekly, and turned out some extraordinary players whose presence on the field, whether it be in front of the grand stand or the president’s ground, was attractive enough to fill the stands wherever available.

Some adventurous, but ambitious citizens carefully planned to change the structure of an interleague system, very workable, into a series of different formats, none of which could have matched the original, and to this day, have failed to reconstruct anything that resembled the good old days. They dismantled a structure which has always produced some attractive national teams filled with players who were as clever as they were artistic and exciting.

Arthur Suite’s ASL was a welcome sight for the clubs whose enthusiasm were raised, especially as the crowds filled the stands at the PSA ground. Some folks enviously saw this as too good a project and forced a foreclosure onto what appeared an attractive alternate to what previously existed. With finances floating around the pockets and purses of some wealthy citizens, who may have had a love for the game, these wise investors decided that a Pro-League was the way to go.

When the pockets were found to be incapable of financing the players and the upkeep of a pro team, they made a hugh drive to get into the public purse, forcing the hands of the politicians to supply handouts to private clubs to pay salaries to players.

The gate receipts of the Proleague never gave evidence of any franchise making enough money to pay their bills for a long time, and certainly no profit was gained by any club.

What they all forgot was the fact that people spend money to see good entertainment and high quality stuff, features which were nonexistent with any consistency in  the league. Some of the present clubs are literally “scrunting” to pay wages, and they pray to win a trophy for a nice payday.

The signals of TTEC, Jabloteh, Joe Public, Petrotrin, and others were clear and I humbly suggest that we look into history for a solution which would bring the game to a level it once was, using players who would work hard to play well, and not place their emphasis upon the mighty dollar.

It is not there, and there is little likelihood that the quality of play will bring the much needed funds the sport and the clubs crave to earn. Now we must do like Julie Andrews and start from the very beginning.

Re: Alvin Corneal: Jabloteh has folded Who’s next?
« Reply #65 on: July 06, 2012, 06:12:13 AM »
I am always amazed at how some folks pontificate after the fact.

« Reply #66 on: July 06, 2012, 07:05:32 AM »
Alvin is the biggest talker I know and he never writes when his son fails...

I would like to hear his view on the Olympic team and senior team failure.....

« Reply #67 on: July 06, 2012, 10:02:38 AM »
Alvin Corneal aside, the man has a very valid point, our pro- league is in bad need of restructuring and proper planning. Left up to me I would scrap the league for at least a year and start the planning process in building a better league from the ground up.

« Reply #68 on: July 07, 2012, 10:16:40 PM »
I hope and pray that it is your son and the friggin ttff. I am serious like a heart attack.

« Reply #69 on: July 07, 2012, 11:16:16 PM »
All these old farts always talking about ASL and Malvern and Maple and Eddie Hart and when we was and savannah football. Give it up already, people have more distractions now, a better model needs to be put in place that will make the league much more viable. Savannah football cannot save we football, it is only an introductory means, the nexts level needs real organization.

Jokers   :clown:

« Reply #70 on: July 08, 2012, 02:04:02 AM »
All these old farts always talking about ASL and Malvern and Maple and Eddie Hart and when we was and savannah football. Give it up already, people have more distractions now, a better model needs to be put in place that will make the league much more viable. Savannah football cannot save we football, it is only an introductory means, the nexts level needs real organization.

Jokers   :clown:

niceness. You said it all so i'll just add another full-stop.

« Reply #71 on: July 08, 2012, 09:06:37 AM »
Alvin Corneal aside, the man has a very valid point, our pro- league is in bad need of restructuring and proper planning. Left up to me I would scrap the league for at least a year and start the planning process in building a better league from the ground up.

Fitzy, scrap the ttff? we want a new beginning.

« Reply #72 on: July 09, 2012, 04:51:58 AM »
Thats the problem with T&T football today, is de ASL, Malvern, Maple, Eddie Hart, de Corneals etc etc...

They know everything and them league was de best and them had better players etc etc...

You hear all kinda shit and yet them eh gone no where.

Furthermore, to much of these ole heads still involved in T&T football today and they still stuck in de 70s.

Time for change, new blood young is needed. Jack Warner already bite these ole head an suck them already, time for new bllod.

Alvin, shut yuh cunny for once nah, please..

« Reply #73 on: July 09, 2012, 07:01:09 PM »

Fitzy, scrap the ttff? we want a new beginning.
Deeks we need to do that too lol  :beermug:

Alvin Corneal - Fifty years of wonderful memories
« Reply #74 on: August 31, 2012, 06:33:15 AM »
Fifty years of wonderful memories.
By: Alvin Corneal (Guardian).

I am not among those who saw doom and gloom over the past 50 years. Those who were too young to have experienced some of the great events of the past five decades, may never know how joyful life could be when some of the greatest exponents of various sporting activities were producing some levels of excellence in a manner that brought joy to the hearts of many.

I happened to have witnessed some moments of brilliance by a number of persons whose ability to perform their skills would hardly ever be forgotten.

Even if I cared to throw my mind back to the early sixties when there seemed nothing more important than sporting events, the joy that these pleasant thoughts bring to me could hardly be mastered in similar fields.

The days when Roger Gibbon and Daniel Morelon the French Champion cyclist would have the huge crowds on their toes as they entered the final round of the one thousand metres sprint at Guaracara Park.

The atmosphere was electrifying at the southern games and those who have not seen the extraordinary ability of Gibbon, Compton Gonzalves, Leslie King, Fitzroy Hoyte, Hylton Mitchell, Gene Samuel, and Ian Atherley, will never understand why this great country did not have time to be recklessly doing unwanted things, when enjoyment was just around the corner.

Even when you were not around the actual playing field, the joy would have come to you through the voices of people like Raffie Knowles, Tony Williams and Ken Laughlin, each with a style of his own, but none with the flambuoyance and excitement of Raffie.

After having had a good look at the famous five Malvern forwards of the fifties, whose scoring of five goals in a second half of a North encounter against South, why would the fans ever think of not wanting to be present for any further occurrences of a similar quality?

Some guys were excellent dribblers on the football field, but Matthew Nunes was magical in his rhythmic and totally deceptive slalom type movement as he danced over and around some fierce tackles with a smile on his face. There was no winner when Matthew played.

He stole the show at all times and even when one was on the field with him, it was difficult not to admire the genius of a ball artist. And for those who preferred to see our track stars in those days, we produced a bunch of quatermilers who took our country’s national flag to the Olympic games.

Wendell Mottley, Kent Bernard, Edwin Roberts, Edwin Skinner, and Len Yearwood may have been more recognised by our people if television pictures could have brought these superb athletes to our living rooms regularly.

It is seriously unfair for our young athletes not to have heard of the likes of Charlie Joseph, Ainsley Armstrong, Ben Cayenne, all of whom were in the same era with our gold medallist Haseley Crawford. Independence seemed to have been a signal for this twin Island state to show the world that our love for what we were doing, was not motivated by money, but by the pride of dedication and commitment to family, club and country.

And if you wanted to know our ability to fight, just follow the crowd to see the world champions, Leslie Stewart, and Claude Noel. Unlike today, winning a world title was a result of meeting and beating the best in their weight class, whether it be in Indianapolis, or Puerto Rico or even here at the Jean Pierre Complex, the joy of success ran like a vine among our people.

I shed a tear for some of the persons who have passed before they were given their due of recognition in their fields. My mind runs immediately to Joey Carew, a master batsman, a master of strategy as a captain and my childhood friend out of our alma mater Fatima College. Richard Desouza and Aldric Son Baptiste were also superb exponents of the sports they played and unfortunately got lost in father time.

If you are under 40 years old, the name of Carlton Franco will hardly be known to you, unless your father or grandfather expressed the joy he received from ‘The General,’ who led his club, Malvern, by example and wore this country’s colours well.

And while we have produced some great ones at almost every decade, the one I respect and regard most was Willie Rodriguez, arguably the best allround footballer that I have played with and against. And if you challenged him in the other major sport of cricket, he will leave you guessing with his superb leg spinners.

Willie happens to be and will probably always be the only player to have represented the West Indies in both cricket and football. My era of Mapleites led by the dynamic Sedley joseph and a cadre of quality players like the Aleong brothers Andy and Eddie, Tyrone Delabastide, Ellis Sadaphal, Bobby Sookram, Lincoln Phillips and Jean Mouttet, brought joy to the hearts of their supporters and were actually the first local team to play in the Concacaf champions league.

But in the midst of our wonderful days of sport, a transition, unwanted in my opinion, stepped in and railroaded the concept and blueprint which our sportsmen had brought to our young people.

Since that time, we are in search of yesterday’s sporting image. Surely, we have had efforts from the likes of Brian Lara, Everard Cummings, Steve David, and the young hockey star Kwandwayne Browne, while the female input of dames like the late Jean Pierre, Cheryl Peters, Marjorie John, and others threw in their contributions with honour and dignity.

Nevertheless, the structural fabric of club life had disappeared from the scene and were replaced by arbitrary street corner teams.

Professionalism entered the fray without the participants understanding the meaning of the word. The process was horribly flawed and we had an influx of sportsmen who received money without giving in return the necessities which could have taken us way past one gold, and three bronze in London. That was my memories of my past fifty years. What is yours?

T&T’s first World Cup team of 1965:
Left to right, back row, Eric James, Conrad Brathwaite, Andy Aleong, Jeffery Gellineau, Alvin Corneal, Ken Galt, Sir Solomon Hochoy, Cyril Austin, Sedley Joseph, Pat Small, Clem Clarke and Sonny Thompson.
Front row: Tyrone de la Bastide, Kenny Furlonge, Lincoln Phillips, Doyle Griffith and Aldwyn Ferguson

« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 06:38:06 AM by Flex »

Re: Alvin Corneal - Fifty years of wonderful memories
« Reply #75 on: August 31, 2012, 07:50:35 AM »
Awrite Alvin.

« Reply #76 on: August 31, 2012, 08:06:12 AM »
No mention of Yorke, Latapy &/or 2006 squad. Amazing!

« Reply #77 on: August 31, 2012, 09:06:35 AM »
No mention of Yorke, Latapy &/or 2006 squad. Amazing!

Yuh like ting eh? Stoke D fire man  ;D

« Reply #78 on: August 31, 2012, 09:13:14 AM »
To be fair, I think he's really just talking about his contempories. The good old days. And, there is merit to the argument that sport without the money was better. As we in England fondly recall the days of "jumpers for goalposts"
I think the key difference is how football evolved, or maybe devolved in T&T. The money in other countries bought celebrity status and star players, virtual 24/7 tv coverage, new stadiums and bigger crowds, and youth development (albeit for financial gain).

It seems that, for reasons I can't fathom, all of this passed by the Caribbean. Even USA, the land of self invented sports, caught the football soccer bug.

The answer could be that the Caribbean islands are just too small in population to develop an individual football market. Maybe we should follow cricket and have a West Indies 11, a Caribbean league. Instead of Chelsea vs Man U, we have Rangers vs Tivoli Gardens? That should certainly develop some national pride.

Alvin Corneal Articles
« Reply #79 on: June 09, 2013, 10:39:53 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,178910.html

Corneal not optimistic of current ‘Warriors’
By STEPHON NICHOLAS Sunday, June 9 2013

FORMER national coach, Alvin Corneal, believes the current group of national footballers are not the ones that can take local football forward.

The Soca Warriors were beaten 1-0 by Estonia yesterday in a friendly international at the A Le Cog Arena in Tallinn, Estonia.

It was the sixth straight game the national team has not scored a goal and includes one draw and five defeats.

Asked whether this poor streak reflects more on the strikers or the lack of input from the midfielders, Corneal expressed serious scepticism about the ability of the current midfielders to create chances for the forwards.

“I’m not sure that the midfielders we have are the best. We do not know if guys like (English-born) Andre Boucard and others are playing well for their overseas teams or if they are on the bench. I’m not impressed with (Chris) Birchall right now and no one knows if he’s playing frequently. The fact that they are playing abroad does not make them better than the local guys. We don’t have a midfielder that is creative. Hughton Hector is creative but he’s injured,” Corneal explained.

He believes the co-head coaches, Jamaal Shabazz and Hutson “Barber” Charles, need to do a better job scouring the Pro League to identify players that may be really able to assist them.

“We need to search around and look carefully for players. We need to pay more attention to the local leagues to know what they can do or can’t do. We don’t have the right group of players yet,” Corneal declared.

The FIFA technical analyst believes the coaches need to utilise players that have come through the junior ranks especially those that represented this country at the 2007 Under-17 World Cup and 2009 Under-20 World Cup.

“Where is little Kevin Molino? These guys who came through the Under-17 and Under-20 teams should be key players now. We need to start thinking seriously about the Under-23s. Leston Paul was a captain of the Under-17 and Under-20 teams that went to World Cups, you can’t ignore that!” Corneal exclaimed.

“I don’t think we’re in as bad a position right now because we’ve set a base over a six-year period that we can build on,” he added.

Corneal also advised the national coaches to be more flexible in their approach to training to maximise the amount of sessions with the team.

He believes the team should double their training and work around the schedule of clubs to get in as much sessions as possible while playing friendlies against the various local clubs.

“These guys were never regularly in training. With guys having to play for their clubs, it is difficult to prepare a team that way. You have to be flexible with the training sessions. It’s not as simple as watching W Connection versus Caledonia (and picking the best players). The whole concept needs to change,” he continued.

Looking towards the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup which gets underway next month, Corneal, although acknowledging the string of poor results of the team, is still optimistic of seeing the team play well at the regional tournament. TT are in Group B alongside Honduras, El Salvador and Haiti.

“Honduras are a world class team right now with almost the entire team local-based. El Salvador is another strong team. Haiti is the team we need to beat. I am hopeful we can get a point out of El Salvador and (with a win against Haiti), maybe we can get out of the group,” he hoped.

« Last Edit: January 02, 2017, 06:25:33 AM by Flex »

Re: Corneal not optimistic about soca warriors
« Reply #80 on: June 09, 2013, 10:46:20 AM »
this man could talk dotishness......he is ah effing dunce.

here are a few examples:

"We do not know if guys like (English-born) Andre Boucard and others are playing well for their overseas teams or if they are on the bench. I’m not impressed with (Chris) Birchall right now and no one knows if he’s playing frequently."......so we dont have scouts to watch these guys?  we dont have internet to know who playing and who warming bench?

"playing friendlies against the various local clubs."....yeah real top level competition while haiti playing spain.

« Reply #81 on: June 09, 2013, 10:47:14 AM »
I am not sure if this current TT team can handle the current Haitian team. The current proleague teams are not producing the skilled players we need to play international football.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #82 on: June 09, 2013, 11:06:45 AM »
I agree Nightmare how could he say Birchall not playing, then call for Leston Paul. I dont even know if Leston Paul is on a professional roster right now let alone on a bench or getting minutes.  These guys so badly want to push the Pro League that hey are willing to talk pure crap.

Has he even looked at Honduras to make his statement, in the last WC Qualifier vs Costa Rica Honduras had only 3 locally based players in their lineup including the GK, and all three subs were also foreign based. That doesnt sound like almost "entire team local-based".

BTW Haiti might turn out to be the strongest team in this group. I think the only team we can even dream about getting 3 points from is El Salvador.

« Reply #83 on: June 09, 2013, 12:10:39 PM »
Stueps and they pick man who wasn't even playing ball before? Now he not sure who playing regularly. Idiot

Offline toonmili

« Reply #84 on: June 09, 2013, 12:42:52 PM »
This is why am saying we need a foreign coach to come and do his own scouting. Too much favoritism going on. The coaches here probably go liming with these players...

« Reply #85 on: June 09, 2013, 01:08:45 PM »
We do not know if guys like (English-born) Andre Boucard and others are playing well for their overseas teams or if they are on the bench. I’m not impressed with (Chris) Birchall right now and no one knows if he’s playing frequently.
Somebody link him to Google or 'Trinis in Action'. Since he doh know how to follow somebody career unless he in de stands.

« Reply #86 on: June 09, 2013, 01:42:53 PM »
Despite the fact that I don't particularly care for Mr Corneal he has made some valid points. He pointed out that not because a player is playing in a foreign league means that the player is automatically better than the local. I am in full agreement.
He also pointed out that the current selection process is flawed.
He said that players from the younger National teams should be looked at. I couldn't agree more.
Lastly training sessions should be implemented with locally based players so as to lay the groundwork for consistency.
These are all excellent points. I thought the heading was a bit misleading but I agree with him.
 I have laid out the process needed to solve these issues in full detail in a previous post entitled 'If I was the National Coach"

« Reply #87 on: June 09, 2013, 01:56:24 PM »
It seems some people just want to see Corneal name and they gone nuts,if we could just take our time to read and understand what people saying it will not have so much contention on the forum,thanks Coache for highlighting some of the important points Corneal made.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2013, 02:21:10 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #88 on: June 09, 2013, 02:02:36 PM »
When you have a population of 1.3 million people you don't have the luxury of having the foreign v local debate. It's simply play the best 11 with a T&T passport. That rationale is difficult for us to accept because of the politics, greed and fight down culture we have here.

Watch how Jamaica playing Daniel Gordon and others.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2013, 04:34:10 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #89 on: June 09, 2013, 02:52:53 PM »
I can't understand why we does still have these foreign v local debates,is years now we have foreign based players and up to now we don't have a system in place where we can track or keep contact with them to know what's going on,every country does keep track of their athletes why can't we.

If we look at the time when Lincoln,Gomaldo,Gery Brown,Moraldo etc etc left on contracts abroad,how many of them ever represented T&T after that?how many foreign based players we had on the team that went Haiti?how many foreign based players the strike squad had?as Ja Gol said we have to select our best players and stop this foreign vs local crap.

I saw a list of foreign based Footballers posted on this sight,i could not beleive we have so many players abroad and we struggleing for players.Guys what going on with Football in T&T is not encourageing to the Footballer,as fans the kind of things being said on this forum about our Football and Footballers will discourage anyone,these guys come here to read what their fans have to say,it's good to critique but lets be constructive.