April 26, 2024, 09:48:13 AM

Author Topic: Name Something after Russel Latapy  (Read 5435 times)

Re: Name Something after Russel Latapy
« Reply #30 on: September 14, 2009, 05:36:27 PM »
First of all I was not trying to compare Lara and Latas.... I was only stating the fact that Lara have a stadium and a Promenade named after him and Latas is one of our heroes as well, and there is nothing that I know off is named after him.....Some say Lara have made records, so basically he deserve it, well if that's the case then Yorke should have more than just a stadium named after him, I mean he was the one that opened doors for alot of Caribbean footballers and not to mention he won the most trophy's in any Caribbean footballer. Latas deserve something respectable to be named after him. :beermug:

« Reply #31 on: September 14, 2009, 05:37:08 PM »
Du Maurier is changing their name to "Magic" named after Trinidad and Tobago's football player Russel Latapy with the slogan "In Every Puff There Is Magic"  ;D

Seroiusly though, I was wondering, how the hell they could name the promenade and a Stadium after Brian Lara, when we have nothing named after one of our most celebrated players, in Russel Latapy. Do you have to win some kinda championship or get a medal for something to be named after you?

Lara has 2 world records. 400 and 501. How could you be wondering?
Lara was the best cricketer we had and Latas was the best midfielder we ever had so what's your point?

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #32 on: September 14, 2009, 05:46:36 PM »
Du Maurier is changing their name to "Magic" named after Trinidad and Tobago's football player Russel Latapy with the slogan "In Every Puff There Is Magic"  ;D

Seroiusly though, I was wondering, how the hell they could name the promenade and a Stadium after Brian Lara, when we have nothing named after one of our most celebrated players, in Russel Latapy. Do you have to win some kinda championship or get a medal for something to be named after you?

Lara has 2 world records. 400 and 501. How could you be wondering?
Lara was the best cricketer we had and Latas was the best midfielder we ever had so what's your point?
:rotfl: behonest with ur self we know latapy is a boss but he is by know way to the game of football to what lara was to Cricket... Lara even have his own top selling video game in Brian Lara Cricket...

« Reply #33 on: September 14, 2009, 05:51:08 PM »
Lara is one of the top 3 greatest batsmen in the entire history of his sport.

With all due respect to Yorke & Latas....dem cyah even crack de top 100 in dem sport.

Their accomplishments in their sport are miniscule compared to Lara's in his.

It doesn't mean they are not great players in their own right....but what Latas and Yorke have accomplished in their sport doh even come anywhere close to what Lara achieved in his.

No dispreck but it come like allyuh tryin to compare a German Shepherd wit 2 pompec.

« Reply #34 on: September 14, 2009, 06:23:32 PM »
dont know if anybody posted this but Latas already have d high school on d lady young named after him.

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #35 on: September 14, 2009, 07:16:36 PM »
Lara is one of the top 3 greatest batsmen in the entire history of his sport.

With all due respect to Yorke & Latas....dem cyah even crack de top 100 in dem sport.

Their accomplishments in their sport are miniscule compared to Lara's in his.

It doesn't mean they are not great players in their own right....but what Latas and Yorke have accomplished in their sport doh even come anywhere close to what Lara achieved in his.

No dispreck but it come like allyuh tryin to compare a German Shepherd wit 2 pompec.

Not to detract from Lara's achievements, but cricket is played by how many nations and football by how many nations?  Much larger pool for football.   Lara's achievement should never take away from theirs.  They have played their respective sports with both artistry and skill, determination and will.  Are there even world records in football?  What?  How many goals scored?  There must be about a thousand different kinda world records in cricket down to the record for 'Who Scratch Their Balls The Most In a One Day While Fielding In Second Slip'. And that's of course different from the man who 'Who Scratch Their Balls The Most In a Test While Fielding In Second Slip'. Cannot compare the two.  And one cannot detract from the other.  Yorke and Latas are geniuses in their respective positions and certainly not miniscule in comparison to Lara.   
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."