March 28, 2024, 07:24:53 AM

Author Topic: Wireless Router Help Needed  (Read 5368 times)

Wireless Router Help Needed
« on: September 10, 2009, 09:59:39 PM »
Techies,

I buy a linksys wrt54g2 wireless router.

I have meh xbox 360 plug into it and I running wireless on meh laptop.

The ting does work intermittantly........It will say signal strength excellent all the bars good...but the internet browsing speed will be Poor.

If you unplug the router and chook the ethernet line direct to the laptop is full 2 mb I getting.

If I run it through the router I will get a sometimes 1mb or .5.

When it decide to behave I will get the full 2mb but only for about 6-12 hrs...then it does 4kup again.

Pulling out the plug and power cycling does help for a while  then it just goes back to do the same ting.

I tweak settings, I change channel, I change security from WPA2 to wpa...nuttin.

I went back to the place I buy the ting and like the fellas dey ent want to give meh back meh money, ent want to exchange it saying if they give me a new one is the same ting, they saying is my isp and the only way they will exchange it is if they keep it and run a diagnostic on it for a few days...to determine if what I saying is true.

Any help will be appreciated.

Re: Wireless Router Help Needed
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2009, 10:47:28 PM »
You may need to update the firmware:

Step 1: BACKUP YOUR CONFIGURATION.
or at least write down the settings.

Logon to http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/support/WRT54G2/download & once the firmware is downloaded  open the setup page of the router using the ip 192.168.1.1
put in the admin password
click the Administration tab
click the upgrade tab
locate the firmware file & you will be able to upgrade the firmware

You can also try to reset to factory defaults.
Power down the router and disconnect all wires from it.
Wait one minute.
Power up the router, allow it to fully boot (1-2 minutes), then press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds, then release the button and allow the router to reset and reboot ( 2-3 minutes).
Power down router.
Wait one minute.
Connect one computer, by wire, to a LAN port on the router.
Boot up system. It should work.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2009, 10:56:12 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2009, 02:04:57 AM »
Techies,

I buy a linksys wrt54g2 wireless router.

I have meh xbox 360 plug into it and I running wireless on meh laptop.

What type of laptop do you have?  What type of wireless card yu have?  Is it a G, B, N, GIG?

The ting does work intermittantly........It will say signal strength excellent all the bars good...but the internet browsing speed will be Poor.

Where yu have the Laptop working?  Is it behind ah wall etc.  Are you working around yu kitchen (near a microwave?  (Sounds stupid but I've see where man on de wireless and somebody turn on de michael wave and screw uo dey connection)).  Wah speed is the ISP providing?  What yu paying for?

If you unplug the router and chook the ethernet line direct to the laptop is full 2 mb I getting.

If I run it through the router I will get a sometimes 1mb or .5.

When it decide to behave I will get the full 2mb but only for about 6-12 hrs...then it does 4kup again.

What kinda security yu have on de router?  WPA2 and WPA is jus to encrypt yu internet traffic between the Laptop and router but what measures are you using to authenticate with your home network?.  So, how yu have de laptop connecting, through a key that yu have to enter and adding the mac address to the router?  This will act as ah dual layer kinda security (Something like having a Bouncer at a strip club asking for credentials to make sure yu is 18 and then when yu reach in de club, de hooker make sure yu bring yu condom).  It might be that someone around by you piggy backing on your network.  Yu have to monitor de times yu experience slowdowns (Like is it in the middle of the day or around 7 after work and man reach home to download porn).  Once yu figure out what times yu experiencing the slow downs, jump on yu router and see what is connected.  It should show in the event logs or something like that.

Pulling out the plug and power cycling does help for a while  then it just goes back to do the same ting.

This sound like someone is jumping on you network, but without seeing some screen shots of the router config or something I cah tell.

I tweak settings, I change channel, I change security from WPA2 to wpa...nuttin.

Ok, dis is like shotgun tech, yu need to reset de router and start over.  What yu need to do if figure out if yu laptop capable of G,B, N, Gig whatever and set the router to that channel.  Den setup ah wep key, den check the mac filtering onto yu router and add yu Xbox and Laptop mac address so that they are the only 2 allowed on yu network.  So if ah man hopping onto yu network, he go cah login on because HIS MAC isn’t in yu list.
Next setup yu WPA or WPA2 encryption (Now is yu laptop cah take take WPA or WPA2 den yu cah use it so yu have to check dat)

I went back to the place I buy the ting and like the fellas dey ent want to give meh back meh money, ent want to exchange it saying if they give me a new one is the same ting, they saying is my isp and the only way they will exchange it is if they keep it and run a diagnostic on it for a few days...to determine if what I saying is true.

Now, I doh know if to call des men bottoms or wah.  Dey have a point about the ISP (SO WAH IS YU ISP SPEED, I thought that Trini only have one speed (SLOW LOL JK)), but yu have all des other variables to consider……Not to mention, you really might have a defective router.

Any help will be appreciated.

End product, yu have to provide more information:
A - ISP Speed in (Cause even if yu have FIBER, GIG, N, G, B, shoestring, it limited to what yu ISP providing
B – Wah type of Laptop yu have, what type of wireless card yu have?  Some of the up-to-date laptops do have good wireless cards.  I personally like Lenovo Thinkpad T series and buy ah N wireless card.  Never had a problem downloading porn with the Stink pad
C – What type of security yu have on the router?  Yu have to have some login creds to come on.
D – What time of the day yu having this problem?  It have some nasty man dat go want to use yu network to download all dem nasty porn (MAN LIKE CAPO).

Anyway I talk enough, if yu want send me screen shots of what yu settings are and I can tell yu what wrong from dey or how I would do it.

« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2009, 06:38:32 AM »
I have a sony Viao, vgns360

I dont know how to to determine wha kinda wireless card I have...so in the router I just use the mixed setting.

The laptop a few feet away from the router, it in the living room on a small table I moved it away from the entertainment center I have.

ISP providing 2mb...I using flow cable.

Yeah I have a key yuh hadda enter to hop on the network, this mac address ting...not sure of.

In the router settings, when I enable it and then hit the clone my mac address and I get the letters and numbers...I cyar browse the net atall...if I leave it disabled then I could use the net and the router stats picking up the ip address and subnet mask etc.

Slowdowns happening all kinda time...in my compound it only have one youthman, a kinda buller who capable of this kinda ting. The rest is some clueless users. I have 4 other networks on my compound. All is WPA I running WPA2.

How to find the Xbox Mac address and a the second Toshiba laptop that I occasionally bring home from the office and use.

I doh know what kinda wireless card I have...since I buy the Sony the ting does wuk.

Yeah yuh need a security code to come on the router...but that doh work...so I doesa hadda just leave it blank and use admin sometimes and start over.

The problem does happen all kinda time not set time of day or night.

As for Bitter I have the latest router and the firmware looking like it is the most up to date one. People tell meh doh interfere with that.

I have the ver 1.5.00

The site have ver 1.5.00.19 I ent know if to tinker.

Thanks for the help people I fiddling still.

« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2009, 06:59:28 AM »
I was getting de same problem with mine...buh mine is a belkin. Flow was the ISP too. It was claiming it was checking for the firmware update and it wasnt..so i went and i download it directly from the site.....install it...reset both the flow modem and the router. Since then no major problems at all.

Also too make sure that yuh admin settings for the route password protected, as, it still have ways around the security. One time i noticed a slow down...and when i tried to get into the router settings to see what could be causing it...they said that a user was already modifying the settings....from a computer that was off. So i unplug everyting and do over the network..and put extra security on it. Wha yuh might hadda do is......update yuh firmware manually.....and if yuh could get the MAC address of the Xbox and de laptop....and then put it in the settings to only allow those MAC addresses to connect.....might help with security. It should have something in the router info about DHCP client list...that gives you the MAC addresses of all the computers that connect to the router. Write dem down.....reinstall firmware...reset...and see wha happen.

I think cloning the MAC address means it clones the MAC address of the router...and dahs why yuh getting that. I doh clone mine....cuz then with that setting it wont let any other MAC address work...defeating the point of having a router. Dig up and see.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2009, 07:15:29 AM »
normally the 2 culprits here could be your ISP and someone theifing yuh signal.
i ent think yuh having any issues with NAT and that sort
as Dragon say, configure the router with the MAC addresses of the xbox and laptop..you can find that in the xbox under network settings/advanced settings

btw is the browsing speed just slow on your Xbox?..or is slow on both with the router hooked up?
what bout running the line striaght into the xbox?..i just don't like the idea or using wireless when i playing games, due to lag and dropped signals.

edit : http://www.chasms.com/xbox/findmac.htm
« Last Edit: September 11, 2009, 07:18:15 AM by Feliziano »

« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2009, 10:22:17 AM »
useful feedback ...  :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2009, 10:31:59 AM »
I have a sony Viao, vgns360

Sony Viao looks like it have dis for the network card

Networking Type     Integrated 10/100 Network Card • Integrated Wireless LAN 
Data Link Protocol  Ethernet • Fast Ethernet • IEEE 802.11b • IEEE 802.11g 
De 10/100 kinda ok and it kapes of handling G but sometimes I doh truss dem onboard network cards. 

I dont know how to to determine wha kinda wireless card I have...so in the router I just use the mixed setting.

Yeah I does leave dat as mixed but I does manage my router and have it set such dat if anyone decide that dey fass and want to hop on, I does get ah email with reverse lookup of where de hiding.  Sometimes if I have time I does send dem a couple packets of goodies but lately I doh even boder.  Yu might want to config the router to only accept G connections because yu primary laptop is ah G (that might help)

The laptop a few feet away from the router, it in the living room on a small table I moved it away from the entertainment center I have.

So yu does be right next to it when yu connecting den?  I doh see no issue dey

ISP providing 2mb...I using flow cable.

Yu could kinda monitor your connection from de ISP and see if it is a constant 2mb.
Sometimes dem does lie, I does monitor rogers (CDN) from time to time just to keep dem honest

Yeah I have a key yuh hadda enter to hop on the network, this mac address ting...not sure of.

Keys can be broken in a matter of seconds if you have the right sniffer program.  Yu have to set the router to either 64 Bit encryption key (or if yu feeling brave 128 bit) which is 10 digit hex code (usually dat is like Letters between A tu F and yu could add some numeric in dat too).  Wid de 128 hex code is 28 characters ah think (harder to jus crack but again wid de right programs yu could crack dat).  Den go to your wireless mac filter and enable dat, den either prevent or allow PC’s listed in the mac filter to access the router wirelessly.  Den add each mac address to the list.  Usually, yu mac address is located at the bottom of the laptop and for de Xbox it is at the back where the network connection is (but yu doh have to add the Xbox if it is wired.  This is jus for wirless setup)

In the router settings, when I enable it and then hit the clone my mac address and I get the letters and numbers...I cyar browse the net atall...if I leave it disabled then I could use the net and the router stats picking up the ip address and subnet mask etc.

Doh clone yu mac address, waste of time for now.

Slowdowns happening all kinda time...in my compound it only have one youthman, a kinda buller who capable of this kinda ting. The rest is some clueless users. I have 4 other networks on my compound. All is WPA I running WPA2.

Again, the WPA and WPA2 is jus another layering of encryption dat is for extra security.  I only use dis if I doing online banking and all dat.  As I don’t and I doh have any real sensitive material on my pc (Beyond my porn collection) I jus use WEP and a strong key dat I routingly change every month and I change my password every month also.  I filter through about 10 passwords that I will remember and change dem according to how I feel dat day.  I also suspected dat everyone is broadcasting on channel 6, so all dem signals coming through everywhere.  Change yu channel to 4 or 9 to get away from dem

How to find the Xbox Mac address and a the second Toshiba laptop that I occasionally bring home from the office and use.

Again, jus add the Mac address for this Tosh*tba (dis brand I doh like at all at all) to the mac filter list and when you try to login yu jus enter yu WEP id and password and Bob’s yu Uncle

I doh know what kinda wireless card I have...since I buy the Sony the ting does wuk.

Networking Type     Integrated 10/100 Network Card • Integrated Wireless LAN 
Data Link Protocol  Ethernet • Fast Ethernet • IEEE 802.11b • IEEE 802.11g 

Yeah yuh need a security code to come on the router...but that doh work...so I doesa hadda just leave it blank and use admin sometimes and start over.

Wuss thing yu could be doing, I believe now, wid dat info yu jus let pass dey dat de bulls hack into yu network and ressing hard pipe on yu.  Doh ever leave yu admin as default.  Make sure and set up yu SSID, Radio bandwidth to wide, and enable yu ssid to broadcast.  Den do yu security setting (WEP, WEP, WEPA2) add yu ID.

The problem does happen all kinda time not set time of day or night.

I expected as much, everyone could be broadcasting on channel 6 so change it to something else

As for Bitter I have the latest router and the firmware looking like it is the most up to date one. People tell meh doh interfere with that.

Tell dem ppl to hull de a** LOL, doh bother wid dem, de only way to learn sometimes is to brick de system and buy another one if yu fu*k up the firmware.  Google is yu best friend is dis situation.  Google search updating firmware on the router type and yu go get all de necessary information.  Sometimes yu find some real nuggets, but jus read and take note of the things dat were done.  No need in reinventing the wheel.

I have the ver 1.5.00

The site have ver 1.5.00.19 I ent know if to tinker.

Thanks for the help people I fiddling still.

No more fiddling, reset yu router, den change yu wireless encryption key, change yu password, change yu broadcast signal.  Den, go to yu wireless settings, enable mac filtering, and add yu 2 pc’s mac address.  (Here is the choice, yu could either access the router from the listed mac addresses or not.  This only means dat if yu have to make router changes yu have to hardwire back to the router no biggie).  Den, connect each laptop and enter the information. (ie network name and encryption key) and Bingo, bango, bongo it should all work.

I think when I come to trini next year, yu doh have to buy me some beers for dis LOL
« Last Edit: September 11, 2009, 02:27:12 PM by Dr. Strange »

« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2009, 10:37:50 AM »
Dr. S, could you give me some more info about the wireless key sniffer programs?

u could hit me ah pm if u eh wanna blast it here..  :devil:

« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2009, 10:40:56 AM »
Dr. S, could you give me some more info about the wireless key sniffer programs?

u could hit me ah pm if u eh wanna blast it here..  :devil:

Yeah I have something somewhere around LOL.....De router next door to mine collect some cyber cuff de odder day for broadcasting on my line....Never had ah issue wid de persian princesses again LOL

« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2009, 01:44:40 PM »

Good stuff Dr. S .. thanks again .. yuh have me looking at my wireless routers

Another idea to improve security: disable the SSID broadcast, then no one will know that you are there.  Is like leaving the door unlocked in your house.  But if the door is hidden, then know one will know to enter.

Question Dr. S.  How do you confugue the router to send an email for unauthorized users?

« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2009, 01:55:05 PM »
Wuss thing yu could be doing, I believe now, wid dat info yu jus let pass dey dat de bulls hack into yu network and ressing hard pipe on yu.  Doh ever leave yu admin as default.  Make sure and set up yu SSID, Radio bandwidth to wide, and enable yu ssid to broadcast.  Den do yu security setting (WEP, WEP, WEPA2) add yu ID.

Dr.  shouldn't you disable SSID broadcast (after you have your wireless devise connected)?  that way nobody can see you.

« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2009, 02:28:13 PM »

Good stuff Dr. S .. thanks again .. yuh have me looking at my wireless routers

Another idea to improve security: disable the SSID broadcast, then no one will know that you are there.  Is like leaving the door unlocked in your house.  But if the door is hidden, then know one will know to enter.

Question Dr. S.  How do you confugue the router to send an email for unauthorized users?

Yeah but if yu lose connection for anything yu cah find de door either LOL........Is ah double edged sword.

Let me look a the email listing as it should be under administration or something so.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2009, 02:38:52 PM by Dr. Strange »

« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2009, 02:32:31 PM »

Dr.  shouldn't you disable SSID broadcast (after you have your wireless devise connected)?  that way nobody can see you.

Yes and no.  I would disable it but sometimes yu lose de connection and when yu in ah hurry dat does piss you off because it does be ah pain to find back the connection when it hidden.  Is really up to you, sometimes I do and sometimes I don't if you know what I mean.

« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2009, 06:20:13 PM »

I would start by checking the wireless card settings on the laptop.  If you eliminate the wireless card settings as a potential problem then maybe is the router.  Is definitely not the ISP and you should learn how to monitor to see what devices are connected to your network...easy...that way you can verify nobody jumping on but I doubt since by ethernet you getting full 2mb consistent.

What you using to test your speed?

I suggest www.speedtest.net and select the Flow Server in Port of Spain.  That way you are testing directly to Flow and know you should be getting the full 2 Mb / 256Kb and don't have to worry about speed variations going out the country (even if negligible to Miami).
btw...anytime you change the device connected to the Flow modem ALWAYS reset the Flow modem so it can register the new MAC address. You have the router connected so you shouldn't have to reset it even if you resetting the router. 

If you connected by ethernet and it working full 2Mb then I doubt anybody jumping in and I pretty sure is not the ISP because if you do the speed test from the ethernet to even the server in Miami you will get consistent speeds right through....especially that 2 Mb package.

Next ting...is Vista you running or XP?  Either way you will need to check the settings on the wireless card....it have options there to conserve power if not plugged in...you can change the radio TxRx power...roaming aggressiveness etc.  The default usually conservative and I would recommend putting everything on full blast forget about saving power since you using it home and probably plugged in all the time.  Not sure if you use the laptop elsewhere but possible the problem always existed and you didn't notice because you were on a shared network with no guaranteed benchmark speed.

If was me, after double checking router settings and security, I was checking the laptop feeling is high probability it is the problem, might even bring in somebody else own to compare what it looking like on theirs.
After that I go hadda comtemplate whether I should have to upgrade firmware on a brand new router that supposed to work out the box...or if to go make noise and let them run their diagnostics for the few days.  Even if they give you it back they would have at least upgraded firmware and tweaked settings as part of the trouble shooting...that way you don't have to do it.

That router you have supposed to be good.  I was getting a similar problem except not low speed...wasn't getting online at all.  I end up reinstalling the same version firmware, backing up the configs, reset to factory default then reload the configs and the problem went away.  This is a Netgear that 5+ years old.

« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2009, 07:20:27 AM »

Yes and no.  I would disable it but sometimes yu lose de connection and when yu in ah hurry dat does piss you off because it does be ah pain to find back the connection when it hidden.  Is really up to you, sometimes I do and sometimes I don't if you know what I mean.

yeah .. understood .. if you lose connection is a pain to re-set the router.  My wireless is only for visitors to my home.  I rely on hard wire and my wireless router is isolated from the LAN.  The onliest worry is that neighbors may try to piggy back on my connection.

But when no one visiting, I unplug it.  That is the best security. ;D

« Reply #16 on: September 12, 2009, 07:29:10 AM »
Most likely is just a jam up signal you getting. Broadband signal varies according to the traffic flow. IF you have a number of people on the line with you your internet speed will be slowed down. It has nothing to do with the equipment you bought. I have this same problem with my ISP. This has made me retire my Netflix Movie Box for the time being, untill,l I get fibre optics service that will provide me with at least 4-10MB. Then you will be able to get the consistent speed you need to play an uninterupted session.

« Reply #17 on: September 12, 2009, 12:35:48 PM »
I tinker all of last night to get it in order to adjust meh fantasy side.

I stay whole morning tinkering.

I do a combo of thing...went on wireless card, interfere with the adapter performance tab like dcs say.

Then do like Dr strange and burbon and bitter.

the only thing i ent do is update the firmware

I fiddling between channel 6 and 11 and I change a few other settings and I gettin a consistent 1.35-1.60 MB speed.

I ent find it good, but I go work with this for now.

« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2009, 06:26:50 PM »

You could also take off all security and encryption and run a speed test to see if it change the results then put it back.  Cud leave MAC filtering if u want that wudn't affect speed but encryption cud depending on the router.
Encryption & Speed Google

I wouldn't want to keep that router if it have a problem from the start...next ting it konk out after a year.  Cud be something else doh.

« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2009, 08:14:38 PM »

You could also take off all security and encryption and run a speed test to see if it change the results then put it back.  Cud leave MAC filtering if u want that wudn't affect speed but encryption cud depending on the router.
Encryption & Speed Google

I wouldn't want to keep that router if it have a problem from the start...next ting it konk out after a year.  Cud be something else doh.

All day I was thing about dis and I come to think that de fu*ckin router all messed up.  Den again I drinking all day today......Boy Touches, give it back to dem and see yes.  As a matter of fact if you need anything for computing let us know and we go get it for you up here and ship it to you yes.... :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: September 13, 2009, 12:03:34 AM »
Touches...maybe yuh need to update the driver in yuh network card(in the laptop). Try that. Does the second laptop have the same problem? If so then is either the router or some sort of interference.

« Reply #21 on: September 13, 2009, 04:31:28 AM »
Fellas I figure it out...is some kinda interference I getting and somebody someting messing meh up.

Last night I couldnt even browse fuss d ting slow.

I say eh heh.

I turn off both computer and xbox....but meh internet light on router and modem blinking...meaning to me that bandwidth using up.

I went a party last night come home 2 am....light solid...nuttin blinking...I say heh the shithound gorn and sleep.

Now test it dey wireless I up at 6:30am.....FULL 2mb download, .25mb upload and ping is 24...and is blazing speed.

So like I doing something wrong with the security settings or is d channel I using.

Now to figure out the source of the interference and the time of day I gettin c**t up.

Investigation.

ARghm I ent do the MAC filtering thing....alyuh go dumb it down for me and let me know how to get mac address and add it to the list of acceptable devices in meh router software page thanks.

« Last Edit: September 13, 2009, 04:35:15 AM by Touches »

« Reply #22 on: September 13, 2009, 09:36:10 AM »
Well put a password involving characters and ting.

Like instead of "password" put p@$$w0rd.

De MAC address filtering ting....it depends on de router interface.....all yuh hadda do is get de MAC addresses of de laptop and de Xbox...and enter it in de router.

No security totally impregnable....buh it go make it hard.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #23 on: September 13, 2009, 12:00:52 PM »
De mac address should be at the bottom of the laptop and as your Xbox is being wired and now wireless yu doh have to add it.

http://www.timeatlas.com/mos/Term_to_Learn/General/MAC_Addresses_and_Filtering/

Make sure dat when yu put up the mac filtering yu change yu password to something else.  Den every week change it.  De buller go get fedup and leave you alone.

http://www1.linksys.com/support/troubleshoot/wireless/wireless_router_config/wireless_mac_filtering.html

http://www.watchingthenet.com/secure-linksys-wireless-router-with-mac-filtering.html
« Last Edit: September 13, 2009, 12:05:39 PM by Dr. Strange »

« Reply #24 on: September 13, 2009, 03:42:25 PM »

MAC address = Physical Address

Youtube How to find MAC address in XP

It have two ways shown...from DOS prompt and also from the network icon in the system tray at the bottom right.

Put that in the Wireless MAC filter area in the setup.  Linksys Security Setup

It have other things you could do too like changing the IP of the router from the default to something like 192.168.xx.1

« Reply #25 on: September 14, 2009, 06:34:04 AM »
Touches I eh know if you read my earlier reply but as I said before with Broadband there is varying speed. You are at the mercy of other people using the line within an area. If others are using the internet at the same time as you there will be a reduction in megabytes and so will be slowed down. The next step for you and I doubt T&T has that, is, fibre optics which gives a much higher level of Megabytes(as much as 20 times and more over). Untill then play when there is the least internet traffic. All those other things will not help you but you could try it and see if things do improve.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2009, 06:37:05 AM by pass(10trini) »

« Reply #26 on: September 14, 2009, 08:14:36 AM »
Touches I eh know if you read my earlier reply but as I said before with Broadband there is varying speed. You are at the mercy of other people using the line within an area. If others are using the internet at the same time as you there will be a reduction in megabytes and so will be slowed down. The next step for you and I doubt T&T has that, is, fibre optics which gives a much higher level of Megabytes(as much as 20 times and more over). Untill then play when there is the least internet traffic. All those other things will not help you but you could try it and see if things do improve.

Yeah Pass is right. the "2.0" MB is probably the optimum, advertised speed. The traffic on by everybody else on your branch will affect the actual speed. If you getting 1.6 you not doing badly.

« Reply #27 on: September 14, 2009, 06:48:26 PM »
That would be true if he wasn't getting the full 2 Mb on the wired connection regardless of time of day.
He says he gets full 2 Mb on the ethernet connection but not the wireless.

Yeah Pass is right. the "2.0" MB is probably the optimum, advertised speed. The traffic on by everybody else on your branch will affect the actual speed. If you getting 1.6 you not doing badly.

« Reply #28 on: September 15, 2009, 01:38:44 PM »
Were the changes applied? ???

« Reply #29 on: September 15, 2009, 05:00:38 PM »
i typing this via wired ethernet connection

That linksys is shit.

I going back in the store tail tomorrow morning

After wukking good since sat morning . It conk out on me this afternoon and it ent come back since.

I ent pay money for headache.