March 28, 2024, 04:01:56 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the U-20 T&T vs Egypt Game (24-Sept-2009).  (Read 78326 times)

Re: Thread for the U-20 T&T vs Egypt Game (24-Sept-2009).
« Reply #480 on: September 24, 2009, 06:48:34 PM »
If Clarence dont start the next game the coach is an imp!

Oh and De Sliva should be water boy!
Tough...not fair. He had a bad game but he's still young.  Give the man a bligh nah....jeeze.....
Tough? Sport is dog eat dog and about winning. Until we adopt that mentality we will continue to be 'plucky losers'. He go get a bligh when he put in a better performance than today. I seriously thought he did not want to get his white strip dirty.

So you see the man play one game and ready to banish him forever? Doh mind all the good games he had in the qualifiers and warm-up games, all the goals he scored, etc. This one game for you define him as the worst ting in a tugs

... and on the flip side we see a man play one good game and he is a better crosser than anything on our national team?  ::)

If you know about football you can look at the type of crosses Jake played- the pace on them, loop and curl behind the defense and away from the keeper- right between the two-consistently and accurately finding our players in the box- and know you could count on one hand the number of our senior players that can even deliver one of those type crosses in a match, and you can also count on one hand the number of matches you've seen any of them deliver more than one of those type of crosses. Which of our players have you seen hit consistent top quality crosses of that type throughout ANY one match?  

Looking at the way you could see him calculating before he crossed, you see he has it worked out in his mind and know exactly what he's doing- and isn't hit-n-hope like most of our players, float it in when it's supposed to be hit with pace, or cross it to the keeper consistently(or more like how most of our players are trained), so even if he messes up crosses in other matches- you know he actually has the ability to hit that type of cross at least a few times single match- unlike almost all of our players.

Of course a good player is much more than having being a great crosser of the ball- just look at David Bently at tottenham, but this Jake fella showed more than that, and if he keeps on developing his game and himself physically(he looks very fit, but needs to bulk up a bit-like Theo Walcott has done, he looks a bit too small and weak for top level football- he'll prob. get pushed aside a bit too easily), I can really see him making it in England, I just really hope he overlooks the chaos that goes on in T&T football and decides to play for our senior team.

Carlos is a great player, but I maintain that the only reason I feel he didn't make it into the EPL sooner and stayed there is the lax way our players are taught to cross the ball, hit-n-hope. That's not tolerated in the top leagues- the ball being too off target must be an anomaly- cause unlike us-to them crossing isn't a 50-50 dice roll. There'll be the few players top players that are excellent at it and have consistent Beckham-like accuracy, but all players are expected to at least get the ball pretty close to or exactly on target consistently.

Also, give DeSilva a break, the guy just had a bad game, he looked nervous too, he has plenty time to step up his game, he's still young after all.

yuh know what, i eh even go fight it down cause this is a good post.. :beermug:

thomson had ah best game, no doubt about it.. suffice it to say its not my style to make premature assessments.

lewwe talk again when the tournament done.

« Reply #481 on: September 24, 2009, 07:55:40 PM »
I find them fellas let 3 shit goal score on dem...the last one was a good goal.

We start good...then flop...ketch back ourselves and then start the 2nd half slow and well it was all over.

If we had taken our chances we coulda draw that match 3-3.

I find we does just look slow, running, closing down space, attacking i doh know what it is.

The first goal Da Silva get burn and he had a good 10-15 meters before the box...leggo a blade and take out the man and take one for the team. Then the defender get blow past too and Glenroy instead of spreading big and diving at the man foot, come with a knock knee pose and the man slip the ball right by his hand.

The second goal Glenroy do shit too...yuh want to punch...hold the ball...dais why the man leggo a bullet on the follow up.

The third goal he ent hold onto it neither all the fly and dive heroics he do to make up.

the 4th was a real good goal but the midfielders escort the man into the area and let him pick his spot. I think he get a hand onto that ball too.

Them fellas coulda win this match they just ent step up.

« Reply #482 on: September 24, 2009, 08:04:27 PM »
I find them fellas let 3 shit goal score on dem...the last one was a good goal.

We start good...then flop...ketch back ourselves and then start the 2nd half slow and well it was all over.

If we had taken our chances we coulda draw that match 3-3.

I find we does just look slow, running, closing down space, attacking i doh know what it is.

The first goal Da Silva get burn and he had a good 10-15 meters before the box...leggo a blade and take out the man and take one for the team. Then the defender get blow past too and Glenroy instead of spreading big and diving at the man foot, come with a knock knee pose and the man slip the ball right by his hand.

The second goal Glenroy do shit too...yuh want to punch...hold the ball...dais why the man leggo a bullet on the follow up.

The third goal he ent hold onto it neither all the fly and dive heroics he do to make up.

the 4th was a real good goal but the midfielders escort the man into the area and let him pick his spot. I think he get a hand onto that ball too.

Them fellas coulda win this match they just ent step up.

nah man, yuh cant put that first goal on Glenroy, he do the right thing..

he come off his line to close down the angle and make himself big.. the knock knee pose was to prevent the striker from putting the ball through his legs; which is what would have likely happen if he had rush out wild.. anytime he lie down there is just to slap at the open goal.

in all truth, baldhead do good to open his frame and slot in the difficult corner with his left foot, and with the defenders flanking him to boot.

« Reply #483 on: September 24, 2009, 08:46:45 PM »
I remember when jamaica Tied Egypt o-o in a u20 WC and they (egyptians) went on to finish 3rd .
now you play egypt with lots of pressure on the host and get walk over . Jamaicans are superior ! :P

???

Are all Jamaicans this retarded?

Ignoring it would have been much more eloquent than giving it the attention it craves.

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #484 on: September 24, 2009, 08:50:03 PM »
fellas and female...to be real our standard of football right now...its at a all time low...iam so upset

Really? If yuh feeling so, then thank goodness yuh didn't watch T&T vs. USA on all fool's day, or last September vs. USA in Chicago.

« Reply #485 on: September 25, 2009, 12:18:19 AM »
fellas and female...to be real our standard of football right now...its at a all time low...iam so upset

oh gosh chicken little, cool it nah man....

« Reply #486 on: September 25, 2009, 07:24:03 AM »

oh gosh chicken little, cool it nah man....

LOL
LOL
LOL
I was thinking that this guy should give it a rest but you sum it up nicely..... ;D

« Reply #487 on: September 25, 2009, 08:53:43 AM »
Man I hope Sean De Silva eh read this forum till WC done
For real

Jah Gol I know you have been following this team from since U-17 days...what are your thoughts/opinions about him??
I thought he's a good player who had a horrible game. He was actually one of our best players in qualifying. The transition from the Concacaf stage to the World stage prove too tough for him in that game. He has character he must show it in the remaining games.

« Reply #488 on: September 25, 2009, 08:56:15 AM »
For real

Jah Gol I know you have been following this team from since U-17 days...what are your thoughts/opinions about him??
I thought he's a good player who had a horrible game. He was actually one of our best players in qualifying. The transition from the Concacaf stage to the World stage prove too tough for him in that game. He has character he must show it in the remaining games.

Grazie to you and Patriot..... :beermug:

« Reply #489 on: September 25, 2009, 10:25:12 AM »
For real

Was anything that was said about him regarding his performance in today's game inaccurate?

If he harbors ANY ambition at all to be a professional footballer in the top leagues, what was posted here today about his performance is VERY MINOR compared to what professional footballers go through on a regular basis.

What if he had to endure what Stern John deals with from EVERY TEAM'S FANS that he plays for?
The comments about his actual performance are not unjustified.

« Reply #490 on: September 25, 2009, 10:36:24 AM »
For real

Was anything that was said about him regarding his performance in today's game inaccurate?

If he harbors ANY ambition at all to be a professional footballer in the top leagues, what was posted here today about his performance is VERY MINOR compared to what professional footballers go through on a regular basis.

What if he had to endure what Stern John deals with from EVERY TEAM'S FANS that he plays for?
The comments about his actual performance are not unjustified.

No wonder we players does end up at Swansea, Wrexham, Falkirk and such. While othet coutries players ending up at Man United (Fabio et al), Arsenal (Fabregas), Inter (Balotelli), etc. Keep babying them and see how much it go help them.

EDIT:

We criticizing Ronaldo since what age? We does say how Pato eh living up to the hype. Remember the Theread Adebayor should not be near an EPL team?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2009, 10:38:44 AM by elan »

« Reply #491 on: September 25, 2009, 01:11:44 PM »
dumalewie...yea ah go bump meh gum on this one.......so you saying that they try their best...went this team is not consistent with basic football in game.....ah could see why you and Arimaman settle for second and third best so you don't have a problem the way they playing...with any team coming out of T&T....that why we get 4...and the last time in 91 they give us 6...you guy's seeing T&T played in a different light...always putting another team ahead of us...i guess that their best...as you say...dumalewie...you have a small goal mentality and by the way....if they did play their best...we woulda win the game
Nobody here say that they want to lose or we are settling for less than the best.

It seems that you think we have a divine right to be the best. However, to be the best it takes hard work, planning and execution. When you have opposition that has a bigger pool to chose from and more resources to work with then it means that you have to double your efforts to compete. Do you think that we doubled our efforts to prepare these guys?

The point is, I have seen improvement which is progress. Are we there yet? Of course not. We have a long way to go before we can consistently put out competitive teams.

The world isn't black or white fella. It's not either glory or doom and gloom. If you can't see any positive in the performance then it's impossible to have a reasoned discussion with you.

« Reply #492 on: September 25, 2009, 09:21:24 PM »
Just finally get to watch the 1 st half of this game, and the only thing going through my mind was how could a coach not be able to get GREAT football out of these ATHLETES!!?  I keep seeing where opposing coaches and other commentators keep saying that the typical caribbean team is "athletic and speedy" and that we were "physical" and I just could not see what they were referring to, thinking maybe they were thinking about Jamaica, until just now.

This group of players just "well put together" on an individual basis. Nothing clumsy or weak about any of them (except Desilva who I found looked rather out of sorts and overwhelmed, but that is another story). And psychologically, there is absolutely no fear (except perhaps Desilva in this game), but this team was always mentally strong.

The coaching is extremely poor. There is the problem. There is a BIG gap too often between the last line and the midfield, and the defenders always have to just boots the ball straight up front. What kinda bullshit gameplay is that from this team? Is like 1930's football. There seems to be no concept of possession play. The one time ah man try to keep the ball and run down in Egypt penalty area with the ball at his feet(Thomson), goal score. I mean, how come long pass from out the back has not just been absolutely forbidden and banned!!!?? Isn't that all you have to insist on as a coach in training? That gap would close right away.The team has not been coached properly.

Too often, defenders rushing the ball out for a corner or a throw when keeper Samuel RIGHT DEY and rushing for ball too. No communication. This from a team that has been "best prepared"? And I see them keeping men onside. That does just piss me off and is a sign of poor coaching.

Men saying Thomson is the greatest thing since slice bread but in the first half, my best player was Primus. Maybe in the second half. I seeing a team of fit, athletic players begging for someone to show them how to play. A new coach is in order.

« Reply #493 on: September 25, 2009, 09:32:45 PM »
Top shelf players and bargain bin coaches.

Offline onlikecorn

• vibes it up
« Reply #494 on: September 25, 2009, 10:32:50 PM »
this was their first game in the biggest tournaments these youths ever played in in their life. . in front of what was probably the biggest crowd they ever played for. . . i think them fellas give a decent account of themselves given their psychological state ... the next game they have no excuse except getting over the fear of italy as a supposed "big name" ..
allyuh should try this in de us, uk and canada. . .actually works. . . use it instead of google. . and get free ting. . i get real free ting already....

« Reply #495 on: September 25, 2009, 10:46:34 PM »
this was their first game in the biggest tournaments these youths ever played in in their life. . in front of what was probably the biggest crowd they ever played for. . . i think them fellas give a decent account of themselves given their psychological state ... the next game they have no excuse except getting over the fear of italy as a supposed "big name" ..
Thank You
THANK YOU
Tell dem man
Egypt keeper allowed them to build the momentum needed infront of Their HOME fans
« Last Edit: September 25, 2009, 10:48:33 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #496 on: September 25, 2009, 11:01:57 PM »
Just finish watching the 2nd half. Like they read mih post  :) and ban the long ball. They try possession right through and look better, and because of that had 3 man vs keeper opportunities. Egypt keeper did well. Paul was in the game more too because of the possession game. Desilva actually look sick to me, he was so out of it. Worse players for me were him, Gay and Hyland. Totally disappointed in those 2 professionals. Thomson picked it up in the 2nd and play some nice crosses and run the line. Him, Primus and Cyrus were the best players for me on the night.
Obviously the instruction for the 2nd half was to possess the ball, so kudos to the staff.  The defensive posture was good, even great at times, (are we seeing the genesis of good defence in Trini ball!!?),but the breakdowns were catastrophic and these happened when midfield did not keep up with the man on the ball runnin out of midfield. Coaching again!!
Somebody needs to tell Trinidad players they need to pass ALL, I MEAN ALL, passes, long and short with speed and authority. I doh mean to play faster, but to make the ball reach the next man with pace on it. Too many dribbling along, unhurried, near hang man passes that does give man time to recover and set for the next pass. We little better but work on it.

Still love this team, it potentially has greatness in it just because we have some good players, even on the bench, but we need to improve team play. The coaches need to step up and make these guys play all the time how they play when they up against the wall. Ah well, on to Paraguay.

« Reply #497 on: September 26, 2009, 01:54:02 AM »
BM here...
anyone stop to think for one second that Sean De Silva's father is the national team manager in Egypt ???....

could  it be this is too much to deal with....I not making excuses for the kid....but is an observation....who knows ???

easy to say he is a shithound...harder to find the reason why...and i also thought he was very poor in the game...so too leston...gay...hyland..and dem fadder not dey

« Reply #498 on: September 26, 2009, 07:19:14 AM »
We have to make some readjustment for our mid field. Only one of the mids  (Jake) seem to be ready for this tournament. Leston and Sean have to step up. They in the fire now. No more second guessing for them. They have to control the mid when they get the ball. Gay and the other forward were not getting decent service to do anything effectively. Do we want the forwards to come below mid field to get the ball. Then what is the purpose of the mid-fielders. Sean and Leston have to close down on their man quicker and tackle. The defence can stop the opponets most of the time, but not all the time  if they running thru our middle time and time again. The defence only hitting long ball because the mids are not giving them suitable options.  Look, lets see what plans the coaches ahve. The ball is in their court.

Next game should be a better game for everybody. They play in front of big crowd so they should not  feel too much nervousness. Come on Leston and Sean.

Guys we should critic the players in a honest manner. To say that one of players is a token is kinder sad. That player score an important  goal in the pre-lims to get us there. I did not here people calling him a token when he was playing well for the past 2 years. He is no johnny-come lately on the team, like Jake. And I am glad Jake is a johnny-come lately, because if he was not there, we may have collected a half dozen.

« Reply #499 on: September 26, 2009, 09:24:36 AM »
Like people forget vranes start hyland upfront with gay and he is a defensive central mid ... how you expect him to perform ...

« Reply #500 on: September 26, 2009, 09:38:48 AM »
Well we can't pick Vranes mind can we?

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #501 on: September 26, 2009, 09:42:08 AM »
Like people forget vranes start hyland upfront with gay and he is a defensive central mid ... how you expect him to perform ...
Everybody keep saying Hyland a defensive mid but watching this guy play he shows alot of offensive talent on the national team. Hyland always attacking so i don't see why thats such a big problem and he score for us on two big occasions already...

« Reply #502 on: September 26, 2009, 09:44:48 AM »
By the Ger 3 - US 0

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #503 on: September 26, 2009, 09:51:06 AM »
By the Ger 3 - US 0
yea watching d game dey look horrible in this game... i couldn't make out if mound was playing

« Reply #504 on: September 26, 2009, 09:55:08 AM »
Scrappyy game. Egypt, Nigeria, Ven are the most impressive  so far, I think.  I hope we win next game!!!!

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #505 on: September 26, 2009, 09:59:54 AM »
Scrappyy game. Egypt, Nigeria, Ven are the most impressive  so far, I think.  I hope we win next game!!!!
you see what spain do to that tahiti team 8-zip with like 90% of ball possesion lol...
« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 10:07:44 AM by Trinidogg »

« Reply #506 on: September 26, 2009, 10:05:26 AM »
To be honest, I did not see Spain. Well including them too. But Nigeria first touch and ball control are impressive.

« Reply #507 on: September 26, 2009, 10:56:09 AM »
I looking at Ghana v Uzbek. Everybody on the Ghana team as tall as our two center backs.