March 29, 2024, 02:42:16 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the U-20 T&T vs Paraguay Game (1-Oct-2009).  (Read 29172 times)

Thread for the U-20 T&T vs Paraguay Game (1-Oct-2009).
« on: September 11, 2009, 01:00:07 PM »
  Trinidad & Tobago vs Paraguay

Cairo International Stadium
  Thursday, 1 October 2009
  21:30 local, 15:30 T&T/Eastern

Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup game vs Paraguay (October 1st, 21:30 local, 15:30 T&T/Eastern time) in the Cairo International Stadium will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.

ESPN 360
I95.5fm
105.1FM
atdhe.net

TV Viewing.

TV 6

Chat.

chat.socawarriors.net

Cairo.

Cairo was founded in 969 AD as the royal enclosure for the Fatimid Caliphs that ruled Egypt at the time. Two centuries ago, then-ruler Muhammad Ali installed the city as his independent empire's capital, after which the British took control until Egypt attained independence in 1922.

Cairo International Stadium.

Cairo International Stadium (Arabic: ستاد القاهرة الدولي‎) or "Stad El-Qahira El-Dawly", is an Olympic-standard, multi-use stadium with an all-seated capacity of 74,100. It is the Arab World and Africa's largest and foremost Olympic-standard facility befitting the role of Cairo, Egypt as the center of events in the region. Located in Nasr City; a suburb north east of Cairo, it was completed in 1960, and was inaugurated by President Gamal Abdel Nasser on 23rd July that year, the eighth anniversary of the Egyptian Revolution of 1952.

Trinidad & Tobago

T&T 22-Man Squad

Goalkeepers - X 3
21.Glenroy Samuel (United Petrotrin/TRI), 1.Jesse Fullerton (Nova University/USA), 22.Andre Marchan (Joe Pubic/TRI).

Defenders - X 8
19.Daniel Cyrus (Joe Public/TRI), 12.Robert Primus (San Juan Jabloteh/TRI), 4.Sheldon Bateau (San Juan Jabloteh/TRI), 3.Curtis Gonzales (Ma Pau SC/TRI), 15.Uriah Bentick (Liberty University/USA), 5.Akeem Adams (United Petrotrin/TRI), 2.Aubrey David (W Connection/TRI), Mikeil Williams (Ma Pau SC/TRI).

Midfielders - X 7
6.Leston Paul (capt) (University of South Flordia/USA), 8.Sean De Silva (Joe Public/TRI), 14.Jean-Luc Rochford (Joe Public/TRI), 7.Kevin Molino (Ma Pau SC/TRI), 16.Marcus Joseph (Joe Public/TRI), Khaleem Hyland (Zulte Waregem/BEL), Jake Thomson (Southampton/ENG).

Forwards - X 4
Jamal Gay (Rot Weiss Oberhausen/GER), 18.Marvin Manswell (Joe Public/TRI), 10.Quan Grosvenor (University of Connecticut/USA), 9.Juma Jamal Clarence (United Petrotrin/TRI).

Paraguay

After qualifying for the first two FIFA U-20 World Cup finals, Paraguay appeared at just one of the next eight. That sorry record was reversed at the end of the 1990s when La Albirroja reached four finals competitions in a row, thanks to players of the stature of Justo Villar, Paulo Da Silva, Roque Santa Cruz, Salvador Cabanas, Santiago Salcedo and Edgar Barreto. Their most impressive showing came at Argentina 2001, where they finished fourth. After missing out on Netherlands 2005 and Canada 2007, they secured a place at Egypt 2009 by finishing South American runners-up for the first time since 1967.

Qualifying
A well-balanced side, the Paraguayans ended the group phase with two wins to finish second in their section. They then began the final six-team group with a 1-1 draw with Argentina. After easing past Venezuela 3-0, Los Guaraníes went down 2-1 to Colombia before drawing 2-2 with Uruguay, results that left them needing to beat tournament winners Brazil to make sure of a place in Egypt. A 2-1 victory not only secured that objective but also gave them the runners-up slot. The Paraguayans won four matches in all, drew three and lost two, scoring 18 goals and conceding 12. Hernan Perez and Robin Ramirez scored five goals each to end the tournament among the four joint top scorers.

Coach
Born in Buenos Aires, Adrian Alberto Coria was a speedy and nimble forward who, in the course of a career spanning over ten years, played in the top divisions in Argentina, Peru, Paraguay, Uruguay, Guatemala, Honduras and Poland. In February 2007 he joined the Paraguayan national team's coaching staff as an assistant to his compatriot Gerardo Martino, taking over as U-20 coach one year later.

Star players
Hernan Perez, Robin Ariel Ramirez and Federico Santander, all of them born in 1989, formed a feared trio at the South American U-20 Championship, scoring 14 of their side's 18 goals in all. Perez and Ramirez, a midfielder and striker respectively, both hail from Libertad's highly productive youth academy, while Santander has come up through the ranks at Guarani. Two other young Paraguayans to watch out for are goalkeeper Joel Silva and defender Ronald Huth.

Record
• Paraguay will be making their eighth appearance in the competition at Egypt 2009. They also reached the finals at Tunisia 1977, Japan 1979, USSR 1985, Malaysia 1997, Nigeria 1999, Argentina 2001 and UAE 2003.
• Their best performance came at Argentina 2001, when they finished fourth.

What they said...
"We played against Brazil with enormous pressure on us and thank God we qualified with a brilliant performance. I believe we raised the flag of Paraguayan youthful football very high that day, and we will go to Egypt with the goal of doing it again," Paraguay coach Adrián Coria.

Squad

Nr. Name                DOB         Pos Clubs                 Height
 1  Joel SILVA          13/01/1989  GK  Guarani (PAR)   
 2  Ivan PIRIS          10/03/1989  DF  Cerro Porteno (PAR)   
 3  Ronald HUTH         30/08/1989  DF  Vicenza (ITA)   
 4  Cesar BENITEZ       28/05/1990  DF  Cerro Porteno (PAR)   
 5  Francisco SILVA     18/10/1990  DF  Libertad (PAR)   
 6  Rodrigo BURGOS      21/06/1989  MF  Cerro Porteno (PAR)   
 7  Celso ORTIZ         26/01/1989  MF  Cerro Porteno (PAR)   
 8  Hernan PEREZ        25/02/1989  MF  Villarreal (ESP)   
 9  Robin RAMIREZ       11/11/1989  FW  Libertad (PAR)   
10  Gustavo CRISTALDO   03/05/1989  MF  Libertad (PAR)   
11  Federico SANTANDER  04/06/1989  FW  Guarani (PAR)   
12  Gerardo ORTIZ       25/03/1989  GK  Quilmes (ARG)   
13  Aldo PANIAGUA       12/07/1989  MF  General Caballero (PAR)   
14  Rolando GARCIA      10/02/1990  DF  2 de Mayo (PAR)   
15  Derlis ORUE         02/01/1989  MF  12 de Octubre (PAR)      168
16  Jorge MOREIRA                   MF  2 de Mayo (PAR)   
17  Nicolas MARTINEZ    15/02/1989  MF  Puebla (MEX)   
18  Lorenzo MELGAREJO   10/08/1990  MF  12 de Octubre (PAR)   
19  Luis PAEZ           19/12/1989  FW  Tacuary (PAR)   
20  Luis CABALLERO      22/04/1990  FW  Olimpia Asuncion (PAR)   
21  Ruben ESCOBAR       06/02/1991  GK  Libertad (PAR)
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 01:43:56 PM by E-man »

Re: Thread for the U-20 T&T vs Paraguay Game (1-Oct-2009).
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2009, 03:32:05 PM »
Paraguay raise the bar
(FIFA.com)

Posing the final hurdle in the section will be Trinidad and Tobago. "We played them in a six-team tournament in Venezuela and won 4-1," said Coria. "I didn't think much of their football that day, but they were a totally different side against Brazil a few days later. They played with a lot of skill and created a lot of chances."

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2009, 06:09:53 AM »
Aye ah just realise we playing Paraguay in the last game of the group....again (sort of).... ;D

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2009, 02:03:17 PM »
de defeat today was very unfortunate.still a solid unit from de fellas.

« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2009, 03:26:26 PM »
Team     MP  W D L  GF GA Pts

Italy     2  1 1 0  2  1   4
Paraguay  2  1 1 0  2  1   4
Egypt     2  1 0 1  5  3   3
T&T       2  0 0 2  2  6   0

No chance to advance now unless we score lots of goals and Egypt loses, only chance to avenge the defeat in Germany.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 03:28:08 PM by E-man »

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2009, 03:28:49 PM »
Wah de hell going on ?Para. jess score ah ORFSIDE GOAL an de reff allow it.
FIFA making AH MOCKERY of dey F***ing Own Rules putting T&T in ah shithole.
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2009, 05:53:01 PM »

So in other words is ah conspiracy and we f**king blight all around.......

« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2009, 06:02:32 PM »

lol yeh that about sums it up right there  ;D

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2009, 06:23:10 PM »

So in other words,yuh doh see nutten wrong with that.
Help meh out here.Meh ESP aparatus brake dong jess now.
Every team have ah equal opportunity to be 'UNFORTUNATE'
but we must corner de market on 'UNFORTUNATE'
AND YOU GOOD WITH THAT !
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2009, 10:52:12 PM »

lol yeh that about sums it up right there  ;D

If Italy had scored that offside goal and the ref had given it. I seriously doubt he woulda decided to double check with he assistant.

But say wah we making progress. Playing better with each game so I looking forward to ah draw or ah win.

They hit the woodwork in both games and score in both games so they obviously able to compete at this level and they believe in deyself.

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2009, 01:37:06 AM »
we wining this one :beermug: :challenge:

« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2009, 08:17:11 AM »

No chance to advance now unless we score lots of goals and Egypt loses, only chance to avenge the defeat in Germany.

How you figure that e-man. We officially eliminated, de most points we can get now is 3, Paraguay and Italy is already on 4 points.

Do we get a play off spot for best 3rd place finisher ?

« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2009, 08:19:07 AM »

How you figure that e-man. We officially eliminated, de most points we can get now is 3, Paraguay and Italy is already on 4 points.

Do we get a play off spot for best 3rd place finisher ?

Move 2 head of d class Sam u are correck.

« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2009, 08:50:24 AM »
yeah the best 4 out of 6 3rd place finishers. To make a total of sixteen teams moving on. Only the 2 worst 3rd place teams get eliminated.

« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2009, 06:46:58 PM »
watch, this is my starting 11. i know we going to lose to paraguay but i want these players to get a taste of the world cup even if it's in a losing effort.

fullerton (cap't)

gonzales          williams          bateau(optimus prime partner in crime)     david

thompson         molino            de silva                   joseph

manswell                   grosvenor

subs

rochford for de silva just in case
clarence for grosvenor just in case
and the other goalkeeper just in case

everybody gets ah run...........

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2009, 08:15:49 PM »
wtf... again! i had class on monday and the class got cancelled last minute so i missed the game for nothing. now i have class again on thursday so i missing this one. i have to follow what ppl saying here again.

« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2009, 06:42:57 AM »
Spoke to a friend close to the team, they are feeling good but not confident in winning this game. It seems they are throwing in the towel.

My prediction, 3-1 to Paraguay, I hope I am wrong.

« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2009, 12:01:07 PM »
The only concacf team not to win a game ....

Offline Raul

• ¡Hala Madrid!
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2009, 12:21:40 PM »
I dunno if my Maths wrong, but mathematically we could pip one of the four best 3rd places...

If in group C - Germany beats Cameroon (by a decent margin - Cameroon finishes third on 3 points in third but with bad GD) AND USA beat Korea (to keep Korea on 1pt)

AND in Group D - Uzbekistan and England draw (keeping both of them on 1 point for 3rd and 4th place in that group)

AND in our Group A - Italy beats Egypt AND TnT beats Paraguay (but the net result of the two matches is that TnT must end up with a better GD than Egypt).

Bottom line - go all out to beat Paraguay...

Group B if Tahiti and Nigeria draw could put both out on 1 point each, but this not going to happen.

Group E & F playing right now, so I can't call it, but GD could work here too.

Offline Raul

• ¡Hala Madrid!
« Reply #19 on: September 30, 2009, 12:27:27 PM »
watch, this is my starting 11. i know we going to lose to paraguay but i want these players to get a taste of the world cup even if it's in a losing effort.

fullerton (cap't)

gonzales          williams          bateau(optimus prime partner in crime)     david

subs

World Cup is to win... I rather the history books say Paraguay win 1-0 than 10-0... put yuh best foot forward at ALL times... these youths have a decade of football left, and not playing should actually make them more hungry to improve their performance...

Jason Scotland went Germany but never self get a corbeaux... then he start to rip up...

« Reply #20 on: September 30, 2009, 01:59:16 PM »
I dunno if my Maths wrong, but mathematically we could pip one of the four best 3rd places...

If in group C - Germany beats Cameroon (by a decent margin - Cameroon finishes third on 3 points in third but with bad GD) AND USA beat Korea (to keep Korea on 1pt)

AND in Group D - Uzbekistan and England draw (keeping both of them on 1 point for 3rd and 4th place in that group)

AND in our Group A - Italy beats Egypt AND TnT beats Paraguay (but the net result of the two matches is that TnT must end up with a better GD than Egypt).

Group B if Tahiti and Nigeria draw could put both out on 1 point each, but this not going to happen.

we are eliminated egypt beat us  so on head to head tie breaker they go through

« Reply #21 on: September 30, 2009, 02:23:34 PM »

The regs on page 30 don't say head to head tie breaker.

it's goal difference, and only if that and the number of goals is still equal then it's head to head.

The ranking of each team in each group will be determined as follows:

a) greatest number of points obtained in all group matches;
b) goal difference in all group matches;
c) greatest number of goals scored in all group matches.

If two or more teams are equal on the basis of the above three criteria, their rankings will be determined as follows:

d) greatest number of points obtained in the group matches between
the teams concerned;
e) goal difference resulting from the group matches between the
teams concerned;
f) greater number of goals scored in all group matches between the
teams concerned;
g) fair play point system in which the number of yellow and red cards
are evaluated;
h) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee.

edit: I left out the next part, but still same thing - goal difference:

The four best teams among those ranked third will be determined as follows:

a) greater number of points obtained in all group matches;
b) goal difference resulting from all group matches;
c) greater number of goals scored in all group matches;
d) fair play point system in which the number of yellow and red cards are evaluated;
e) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 02:32:41 PM by E-man »

« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2009, 02:37:27 PM »

The regs on page 30 don't say head to head tie breaker.

it's goal difference, and only if that and the number of goals is still equal then it's head to head.

The ranking of each team in each group will be determined as follows:

a) greatest number of points obtained in all group matches;
b) goal difference in all group matches;
c) greatest number of goals scored in all group matches.

If two or more teams are equal on the basis of the above three criteria, their rankings will be determined as follows:

d) greatest number of points obtained in the group matches between
the teams concerned;
e) goal difference resulting from the group matches between the
teams concerned;
f) greater number of goals scored in all group matches between the
teams concerned;
g) fair play point system in which the number of yellow and red cards
are evaluated;
h) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee.

edit: I left out the next part, but still same thing - goal difference:

The four best teams among those ranked third will be determined as follows:

a) greater number of points obtained in all group matches;
b) goal difference resulting from all group matches;
c) greater number of goals scored in all group matches;
d) fair play point system in which the number of yellow and red cards are evaluated;
e) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee.

so i guess head to head is just used in qualifying ok

« Reply #23 on: September 30, 2009, 09:34:55 PM »
Lets hope d 130 meetin finish by 330 or else I go miss it.

Offline madness

« Reply #24 on: October 01, 2009, 01:02:53 AM »
i believe we have a chance. they need to play strong and win at least 3 or more goals....

« Reply #25 on: October 01, 2009, 04:18:21 AM »

fullerton (cap't)

subs

this is the kinna thinking that vexs me and we r going to weaken another generation with it. whistle n blow but yet we are going to  lose the game. why? then why should we bother to play? dont we have any pride? or some men jus dont watch enough football.

"And indeed if you think you're a genius at something, what you achieve is very much according to your expectations; if you think you're no good, you're not going to get anywhere."
« Last Edit: October 01, 2009, 04:23:40 AM by freakazoid »

« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2009, 04:20:13 AM »
to MY soca warriors...."Don't live down to expectations. Go out there and do something remarkable."

"Don't lower your expectations to meet your performance. Raise your level of performance to meet your expectations. Expect the best of yourself, and then do what is necessary to make it a reality."
« Last Edit: October 01, 2009, 04:25:06 AM by freakazoid »

« Reply #27 on: October 01, 2009, 08:47:25 AM »
What time the game (TT time). The thread time was wrong for the last games. 

« Reply #28 on: October 01, 2009, 08:59:01 AM »

Supposed to be 3:30 pm....

« Reply #29 on: October 01, 2009, 09:12:40 AM »

Supposed to be 3:30 pm....
thanks