Especially since he scored...Bruce coulda deal with it in the locker room, but making this a big media hullabooboo kinda shows he don't have any respect for KJ. But I think he is right to be upset if Bent went against team policy...after all he is the boss. But being upset so much as to complain to the media and saying it would never ever happen again is just taking it a bit too far. I did not hear the post interview, but did he have anything positive to say about KJ's performance and the 2nd goal? If not then I would have to agree with some that he is not too much happy with KJ and maybe wants him out.
I tell allyuh Bruce eh like KJ and soon you'll see enough to allow such reasoning to seem logical. I agree DeSowa he should have dealt with it internally. No one would know that KJ wasn't supposed to take that kick if he didn't say so to the press. He could have admonished them both behind closed doors and handled them like men, but instead he on this managing through the press kick and KJ always seems knee deep in whatever it is he's on about. I doh give him wrong to be upset that they broke his rules but it wasn't necessary to make that public. Man saying he upset with Bent over it and not KJ, think again. If his rule is Bent takes it then both Bent and KJ went against him so I imagine he would be upset with both (maybe more with Bent but bothe nevertheless). I wonder if KJ is a starter again now that he came through with goals? If Bruce has nothing against him he'll probably be happy but on the flip side he may elect to only look at KJs second goal as true production since it came in the run of play (and wasn't against his rules). If the latter be the case then Campbell might still be ahead in Bruce book. Time will tell but I have my suspicions. Hope I'm wrong though.
The interview is here
http://www.skysports.com/video/inline/0,26691,16474_5587738,00.htmlHe was asked about it as it is unusual and told the truth in his response, as mentioned on the other thread imho it has more to do with authority than anything else, I suspect he would of said teh same if Campbell had been playing and Bent had of done the same. Bent was on MOTD and saying he got it in the neck from Bruce.
From BBC site.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/8277854.stmBruce in Bent blast over penalty
Steve Bruce was left seething following Darren Bent's decision to hand penalty duties to Kenwyne Jones against Wolves.
Bent gave his side the lead from the spot in the first half but then opted to hand responsibility to Jones when a second penalty was awarded.
Jones scored to make it 2-0 but the incident did not please boss Bruce.
"That won't happen again," he fumed after the 5-2 home victory. "That's something you do on a pitch with your mates, not in the Premier League."
Bent, Sunderland's regular penalty-taker, looked set to take the second spot-kick against Wolves until partner Jones pleaded for his chance to get on the scoresheet.
Bruce says strikers saved Sunderland
That certainly did not impress Bruce, although the Black Cats manager had to be told what had happened because of a long-standing superstition not to watch penalties.
"We have got one of the best penalty-takers in the country in Darren, so that won't happen again, that's for sure," said Bruce.
"We don't throw the ball to somebody else because he wants to score a goal. There would have been absolute hell to pay if he had missed. It's not right.
"Okay, if you are 5-0 up or 6-0 up or whatever, but it was an important part of the game and we have got a top, top-class penalty-taker who has never missed one, I don't think, in his career, throwing the ball away."
By handing Jones the chance to convert the second penalty, Bent also missed the opportunity to go second in the Premier League scoring charts behind Liverpool striker Fernando Torres, who has scored eight league goals in this campaign.
end.
I must say I was a tad worried when KJ went up, he is not a player that hand on heart you think is going to score with nearly every penalty, I don't really see what all the fuss is about tbh.