October 31, 2024, 06:16:56 PM

Author Topic: Thomson: Stern convinced me to play for T&T  (Read 9338 times)

Thomson: Stern convinced me to play for T&T
« on: September 15, 2009, 09:45:39 AM »

Top performance enhancer joins U20 camp   ;D

National Under 20 Team head coach Zoran Vranes had his complete roster of twenty-two players available to him for the first time on Tuesday as English-born Southampton FC midfielder Jake Thomson joined the team camp in Lanarca, Cyprus.

Thompson arrived from London in the wee hours of Tuesday morning and after a couple hours rest, he was presented with his training kit and was out on the training pitch with skipper Leston Paul and the rest of the squad.

Also joining up with the T&T team was Spencer Wood,  a renowned leader in the field of mental skills and toughness training.  Wood has presented at international conferences including  the NCAA Women's Final Four and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Convention. He has also worked with the T&T Olympic Committee and has presented at a symposium for select NCAA Men's Basketball and NBA coaches. He first linked up with the National Under 20 team during a camp in Tobago prior to the CONCACAF  final round of qualifiers earlier this year.

Wood, whose trip has been funded by TTFF Special Adviser Jack Warner,  will work with the T&T Under 20s throughout their stay in Cyprus.

The man of the moment on Monday though was undoubtedly Thomson as he met up with his new teammates and seemingly fitted in right away. He appeared comfortable throughout his first session under Vranes and reassured is commitment to T&T.

Thomson credited former Southampton striker Stern John for influencing him to take up the invitation to play for T&T. They both spoke some months ago and then after meeting with T&T team head of delegation Cheryl Abrams in London earlier this month, travel bookings were immediately made for him to fly over to Cyprus and  arrangements were finalized for him to obtain his T&T passport.

“Stern John played at Southampton and he spoke to me a couple of months ago and I am just decided at that point that I wanted to come and play for Trinidad and represent the country. I’ve never been over there yet, it was just exciting and I wanted to see how the fans would react as well. I also met Kenwyne (Jones) when he first came over  to Southampton and he told me how great the place was but Stern was the one who persuaded me and it’s good for me because If they weren’t there then maybe I wouldn’t have this opportunity now,” Thomson told TTFF Media on Tuesday.

“There were no second thoughts. I spoke to Stern and he had nothing but good things to say. As soon as I found out that they wanted me to come out and play I jumped at the chance and wanted to come out right away,” added Thomson whose father is Trinidadian.

Thomson has represented England at the Under 17 level but now he claims that he sees his future as a T&T player and he has ambitions to play for the Senior Team.

“I see myself with T&T. It was nice to be representing England but there are so many youth players thee because they have such a big pool. You are treated well but there are so many players and one moment you’re in and then you’re out. With Trinidad I think it’s more like a family and you stick together. It’s a nice feeling to know that you’re wanted,”he added.

T&T’s qualification and participation at Germany 2006 was the occasion that raised his eyebrows.

“When they got to Germany and playing against England. I watched that game and it was impressive because it’s such a small island and to get to a World Cup is not easy. If they can do it then they’re only going to improve and if I can help that then obviously I want to. And obviously I want to play for Trinidad and  Tobago at the highest level with the senior team one day,” Thompson continued.

And his message to the fans: “Hopefully I can entertain them because football is entertainment and I hope I can bring some joy with my game.”

Re: Thomson: Stern convinced me to play for T&T
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2009, 09:52:54 AM »
Stern still doing his part. But the best part of the article was the secret to the youth's success:Spencer Wood,  a renowned leader in the field of mental skills and toughness training! That is why they did good in the qualifying rounds and then faltered in them other games. Mental toughness is somewhere we really lacking at all levels.

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2009, 10:08:59 AM »
Ah wonder if Stern give ah heads-up on the entity that is 'Jack Warner' to the youth when he was sweet talking him? Is ah wild ride with T&T.

Just looking at this quote:

“I see myself with T&T. It was nice to be representing England but there are so many youth players thee because they have such a big pool. You are treated well but there are so many players and one moment you’re in and then you’re out. With Trinidad I think it’s more like a family and you stick together. It’s a nice feeling to know that you’re wanted,”he added.

Sorry to be negative but that sound like; ah could get regular & guaranteed gametime with you fella's. Still ah wish him the best, hope the squad excepts him and they all do well.

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2009, 10:15:26 AM »

And de man last name is Wood yes.  :rotfl:

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2009, 10:20:38 AM »

National Under 20 Team head coach Zoran Vranes had his complete roster of twenty-two players available to him for the first time on Tuesday as English-born Southampton FC midfielder Jake Thomson joined the team camp in Lanarca, Cyprus.

Thompson arrived from London in the wee hours of Tuesday morning and after a couple hours rest, he was presented with his training kit and was out on the training pitch with skipper Leston Paul and the rest of the squad.

Thomson has represented England at the Under 17 level but now he claims that he sees his future as a T&T player and he has ambitions to play for the Senior Team.

With Trinidad I think the squad is easier to make because there is less competition and not much men up to my standard, so I don't see myself riding the pine as would have been the case in England.  Who knows what might happen in the next few years if I could make the England senior team."

There...I fixed it.  ;D

« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2009, 10:25:55 AM »
Ah wonder if Stern give ah heads-up on the entity that is 'Jack Warner' to the youth when he was sweet talking him? Is ah wild ride with T&T.

Sorry to be negative but that sound like; ah could get regular & guaranteed gametime with you fella's. Still ah wish him the best, hope the squad excepts him and they all do well.

so what?

why u think naturalized players like Eduardo, Alex (Japan), Dos Santos (tunisia) etc play for them countries? because they just dont feel like playing for Brazil?

nothing wrong with him taking advantage of the opportunity.

« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2009, 10:39:08 AM »
play yuh fitball kid...and welcome

« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2009, 10:43:45 AM »

so what?

why u think naturalized players like Eduardo, Alex (Japan), Dos Santos (tunisia) etc play for them countries? because they just dont feel like playing for Brazil?

nothing wrong with him taking advantage of the opportunity.

yeah dats it right there!!

« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2009, 10:45:22 AM »

That's not negative.  That's life.  We just need to swallow our pride and deal with it.  We only stand to benefit from it...
« Last Edit: September 15, 2009, 10:48:12 AM by kicker »

« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2009, 10:51:44 AM »
Welcome Thompson  :beermug:....but ah kinda curious.....what is it like to play for a country yuh never set foot on??  hhhhhmmmm..... :thinking:  :-\

« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2009, 11:21:34 AM »
Blame his trini father. Imagine this lad never swim in Pigeon point, eat crab and dumplin. hot doubles with a slight pepper, bake and shark , hopsbread and pudding and a trini wine up on him. Well Stern will see to that.
 And guess what after that he dying to play for the senior team- Just ask ME MUM, if you think ah lie.
 The good thing is - If he good latas has a utility player. Patriot and Touches will introduce him to the night scene and Small Mag will teach him a few choice words. Brown Sugar will see to it that he says- Trinidad & Tobago. I am sure others could add to the list

« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2009, 11:24:39 AM »
welcome thompson.

thanks for the hookup recruiter stern.

http://www.saintsfc.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10280~44062,00.html

Thompson has settled into a more right-sided role in midfield, but his versatility across the middle and in defence is an asset to any team.

He has continued to play an important role for both the Under 18s and the Reserves.

On the international stage, he has been a key part of the Under 17s set-up, scoring a memorable brace against Italy in a 2006 European Championships qualifier.

He signed a new one-year contract in June 2008 and enjoyed a run in the first team under Jan Poortvliet before spending a successful one month loan spell at Bournemouth between January and February 2009. Jake then deputised in the first team at full back on his return when Lloyd James was suspended.

In September 2009, Jake was called up by the Trinidad and Tobago Under-20's squad ahead of the FIFA Under 20's World Cup in Egypt.

« Last Edit: September 15, 2009, 11:37:46 AM by Andre »

« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2009, 11:25:17 AM »
Blame his trini father. Imagine this lad never swim in Pigeon point, eat crab and dumplin. hot doubles with a slight pepper, bake and shark , hopsbread and pudding and a trini wine up on him. Well Stern will see to that.
 And guess what after that he dying to play for the senior team- Just ask ME MUM, if you think ah lie.
 The good thing is - If he good latas has a utility player. Patriot and Touches will introduce him to the night scene and Small Mag will teach him a few choice words. Brown Sugar will see to it that he says- Trinidad & Tobago. I am sure others could add to the list

Do be ah ass and assume dem ting fella!  He could experience all dem ting right dey in England.  Ah could work wit yuh ambassador designations doh except small mag since I sure he probably could teach small mag a few :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2009, 11:28:19 AM »

i assume  his dad was born in Trinidad but migrated to England as a boy .....  look at jlloyd second time he returned to tnt at 28
« Last Edit: September 15, 2009, 11:58:57 AM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2009, 11:34:28 AM »
Welcome Thompson  :beermug:....but ah kinda curious.....what is it like to play for a country yuh never set foot on??  hhhhhmmmm..... :thinking:  :-\

Ask "Me mum"  he will be able to answer that question good.

« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2009, 11:40:17 AM »
Me never do half dem ting on dat list.

« Reply #16 on: September 15, 2009, 12:40:52 PM »
Me never do half dem ting on dat list.

:o Shocking......

« Reply #17 on: September 15, 2009, 12:41:31 PM »

And de man last name is Wood yes.  :rotfl:

LOL.......steups..

« Reply #18 on: September 15, 2009, 12:43:42 PM »
Thompson obviously has a much better attitude than Zamora. Since yuh reading this site....Welcome yute. Mash up de place (ask somebody to translate) and make de best of it.

« Reply #19 on: September 15, 2009, 02:46:27 PM »
Thompson obviously has a much better attitude than Zamora. Since yuh reading this site....Welcome yute. Mash up de place (ask somebody to translate) and make de best of it.

Well as he say he was convinced by Stern (The most passionate striker we've had for years).

Can't really fault Zamora.  If Dwight Yorke was at Villa and a leader on the team when J Samuel was there then moved to Man Utd as one of the best strikers in the world and he apparently still couldn't get Samuel to join the team who exactly convincing Zamora.

As Dwight said over and over at that time....the Champions League was his World Cup.  So if he couldn't convince himself at that time we could make it he couldn't possibly convince Zamora or Samuel.  So I doh blame either of them really.

But Thomson Thanks for joining the team and good luck in Egypt to the entire team  :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2009, 03:00:31 PM »
Is this a same player who was rated in the top 10 English youth players recently?

Offline Strip

« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2009, 03:15:09 PM »
I have a good feeling about this youth - hopefully he will excel and become a warrior like birchall

all the best  :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: September 15, 2009, 03:17:26 PM »
Having a player that scored a BRACE against Italy is a good confidence booster.

If he indicates a willingness to play for the seniors then the coach should cap him sooner rather than later, if his performance merits it, so he is less motivated to switch back to England.

Still, we have to be careful not to take too many shortcuts that  compromise the development of homegrown players. As for Zamora he should not be called upon again. Let us continue to work at youth level to produce our own pool of JLloyds, Zamoras and Jake Thompsons.

Good work on the part of Stern, and good effort by JW and the TTFF to bring this team along

« Reply #23 on: September 15, 2009, 03:22:29 PM »

Ask "Me mum"  he will be able to answer that question good.

Ah been wondering about it since "Me Mum" first came on the scene....just only now verbalising mih feelings....

Ah find ah criteria for joining the team should be that yuh parents bring yuh at least once to experience these things.... ;D

Brown Sugar will see to it that he says- Trinidad & Tobago.

He done make the mistake already, but he new, young and ah need him to score a few.....so I'll go easy, for now.... ;D

« Reply #24 on: September 15, 2009, 03:27:08 PM »

If he indicates a willingness to play for the seniors then the coach should cap him sooner rather than later, if his performance merits it, so he is less motivated to switch back to England.

Still, we have to be careful not to take too many shortcuts that  compromise the development of homegrown players. As for Zamora he should not be called upon again. Let us continue to work at youth level to produce our own pool of JLloyds, Zamoras and Jake Thompsons.

Good work on the part of Stern, and good effort by JW and the TTFF to bring this team along

I think there's a GOOD case for striking a BALANCE.

Our resources are tiny by comparison to the rest of the world with whom we hope to compete successfully on a regular basis.

As such, we should take advantage of those human resources of our particular diaspora...wherever they may be....as long as they fit the criteria which we ask of ALL of our players.

By all means develop our local home based talent to the best of our ability....but also integrate those who are qualified to represent us, not just in terms of an accident of birth, but also by talent, attitude, and aptitude.

In other words....leh we doh cut off we nose to spoil we face.

« Reply #25 on: September 15, 2009, 03:28:31 PM »
By de way....I hear a Proud Tobagonian refer to himself as a Trini jes dis weekend gone.

Jes sayin... 8)

« Reply #26 on: September 15, 2009, 03:42:40 PM »

Our resources are tiny by comparison to the rest of the world with whom we hope to compete successfully on a regular basis.

As such, we should take advantage of those human resources of our particular diaspora...wherever they may be....as long as they fit the criteria which we ask of ALL of our players.

By all means develop our local home based talent to the best of our ability....but also integrate those who are qualified to represent us, not just in terms of an accident of birth, but also by talent, attitude, and aptitude.

Well said, as long as the TTFF and the local leagues are developing youth systems that allow us to compete with the best of CONCACAF.

« Reply #27 on: September 15, 2009, 05:39:27 PM »
By de way....I hear a Proud Tobagonian refer to himself as a Trini jes dis weekend gone.

Jes sayin... 8)

fuh years i in high school dis fella saying he a trini........1 day i ask d man wat part ah trini he from.....he say tobago

« Reply #28 on: September 15, 2009, 05:40:19 PM »

Well said Palos, well said.

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #29 on: September 15, 2009, 06:09:02 PM »
I agree w/what's been already said.
Commendations to Thomson & Stern on dey colloberation.
Eureka ! By Jack ! I think they're beginning to get it. The inclusion of Spencer Wood, a renowned leader in the field of mental skills and toughness training,is a clue that The TTFF had to buy wid cash money.I believe this to be the missing ingredient that will make the difference.
Yuh coulda see fear,intimidation,inferiority....all de negatives,in dey eyes,squaring off w/ Germany @ U 17 in Korea.Ah thought ,'O Gord dey averting dey eyes during de handshake ?' Handicapped !
The skill of Wood or rather a like Trinbagonian is needed in the BLOODING process of our teams.
Good luck YOUNGBLOODS.We pin we hopes on you now. :peace:

When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.