April 20, 2024, 01:42:35 AM

Author Topic: Ince considers international retirement  (Read 2738 times)

Ince considers international retirement
« on: September 17, 2009, 08:13:41 AM »
Ince considers international retirement
expressandstar.com reports.

Walsall goalkeeper Clayton Ince is considering retiring from international football after seeing his World Cup dreams crushed.

Trinidad and Tobago cannot qualify for South Africa next year after they were beaten by Honduras and the USA last week – leaving them bottom of their CONCACAF group.

Ince will be 41 at the start of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil and is thinking of hanging up his international gloves after the last round of 2010 qualifiers.

He said: “I’m considering it. It doesn’t make sense me going to friendlies at my age, get the youngsters on for some experience and let me concentrate what I have to do.

“It’s not wise for me to push myself. At my age you are looking at 2014 and I don’t think I’ll be there then, so it’s not going to make much of a difference. I haven’t called it a day yet but the youngsters need an opportunity, while I need to weigh my options up and rest my body.

“I can’t carry on like I am, especially with all the travelling.”

The 37-year-old, who made his Soca Warriors debut in a 7-2 win against Martinique in 1994, has 79 caps and was in the squad for the 2006 World Cup.

But Ince admits any decision to play on may be taken from him if coach Russell Latapy opts to blood youngsters in their final qualifying games against Costa Rica and Mexico in October.

The goalkeeper said: “We can’t qualify again, so we’ll wait and see whether they select me. It’s all up in the air.

“They have young goalkeepers, so I don’t know if they will choose them to give them the international experience or call me back for a couple of games.

“After October, we can decide what’s going on and I’ll be putting my head down and making sure Walsall do well in the league. I’ve got two years at this club and will give it a good go.”

Ince has a goalkeeping school in the Caribbean, but is undecided whether he would go into coaching full-time if his country asked him.

He added: “I haven’t decided on that yet, I’m still a player so I need to concentrate on my playing days, but when the time comes for me to coach I’ll decide whether I want to do it.

Re: Ince considers international retirement
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2009, 08:36:20 AM »
Thanxs what a game to make yuh debut that day Lara was goin 4 d record and d Oval was gettin updates on he progress.

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2009, 08:40:18 AM »
Thanks for your service over the year Mr. Ince...godspeed.  You have served your country well.  If you decide to call it a day, you could go out with your head held high.

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2009, 09:01:38 AM »
Respect! Ince.

« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2009, 09:12:07 AM »
thank you for your service and years of commitment, God bless :beermug:

Offline Small Change

« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2009, 09:45:30 AM »
He did well. He should retire now and let the young keepers get a chance to gain that experience.

« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2009, 09:52:16 AM »
yea. Marvin Phillips or Jan Michael Williams have to suit up for the remaining

« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2009, 11:34:48 AM »
Is there any good gaolkeepers to replace him? Please don't tel me Jan, There have to be someone better than Jan, cause that boy is not ready.

« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2009, 11:42:54 AM »
Is there any good gaolkeepers to replace him? Please don't tel me Jan, There have to be someone better than Jan, cause that boy is not ready.

Jan Michael Williams
Marvin Phillip
Cleon John
Glenroy Samuel

As for Jan not being ready, much the same was said of Ince when he first came on de senior team. 

« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2009, 01:13:39 PM »
From his early days to where he is now Ince has improved a lot.  I wish him continues success for the rest of his playing days and beyond.

« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2009, 01:20:34 PM »

Jan Michael Williams
Marvin Phillip
Cleon John
Glenroy Samuel

As for Jan not being ready, much the same was said of Ince when he first came on de senior team. 

I real like samnuel d fact he play 4 SJ eh influence meh.

« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2009, 01:46:35 PM »
about time...lord!  how many times we hadda collect 3 and 4 from USA and Honduras before he realize it's time to hang up de gloves!   ::)

« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2009, 04:47:32 PM »
glenroy and marvin are de future.

« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2009, 05:02:17 PM »
Goal keeping was not a major issue for TT. We have pretty competent goal keepers. It is our mid-field and defence that let us down. Anyway, we should really thank Ince for his service.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2009, 09:12:30 PM »
about time...lord!  how many times we hadda collect 3 and 4 from USA and Honduras before he realize it's time to hang up de gloves!   ::)

.............so is de GK fault now!

« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2009, 09:16:49 PM »
appps
arrow ya ketch ah bite ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2009, 09:55:53 PM »
appps
arrow ya ketch ah bite ;D

He bait real good

« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2009, 06:06:10 AM »
Nah ah cyar believe somebody get catch....he did put this at the end.... " ::) "  which I thought was a dead give away....unusual for arrow I must say.... ;D

« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2009, 06:15:18 AM »

.............so is de GK fault now!
anbrat boy welcome to d arrow fishing tackle   ;D, now dig dat fish hook out u gum ;D
« Last Edit: September 18, 2009, 06:16:52 AM by lefty »