10 (17.9%)
Trinidad & Tobago
17 (30.4%)
United States
19 (33.9%)
Honduras
10 (17.9%)

Total Members Voted: 56

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup.  (Read 56484 times)

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
Re: Thread for the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup.
« Reply #180 on: September 29, 2009, 02:24:01 PM »
Ghana 1  England 0 @ half.
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #181 on: September 29, 2009, 02:24:33 PM »
it have any grapevine trinis playing for england??

« Reply #182 on: September 29, 2009, 03:10:41 PM »
Ghana 3:0 to God be the glory

« Reply #183 on: September 29, 2009, 03:18:26 PM »
maybe they are over aged players  ::) that's the only reason right SM?  ;D

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #184 on: September 29, 2009, 03:22:00 PM »
They go to the head of the group if the score stands
with +5 & 6 PTS.

« Reply #185 on: September 29, 2009, 03:26:44 PM »
it have any grapevine trinis playing for england??

Yes  :beermug:

« Reply #186 on: September 29, 2009, 03:31:52 PM »
maybe they are over aged players  ::) that's the only reason right SM?  ;D

I guess...I've only seen the 2 TnT games due to sportsmax being blocked and TV6 showing the games at very queer times

« Reply #187 on: September 29, 2009, 03:37:02 PM »

4 - 0

« Reply #188 on: September 29, 2009, 06:25:08 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/_ZsuEtzBBJ0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/_ZsuEtzBBJ0</a>

« Reply #189 on: September 29, 2009, 06:36:25 PM »
So far Gavin Hoyte who by the way was one of the top 10 players to watch eh get no run for England. Aaron Maund didn't get to play for the US either.... 8)...

Hopefully T&T will beat Paraguay who I feel is our strongest opponent and Italy take care of Egypt. We still have a slight chance.

We always get trouble with South American style, set play and cross balls.

Heard Zoran Vranes saying he will let some of the other guys play because they eh get no run yet, seems he throw in the towel (I could be wrong) I just hope he picks the best players available and go out for a win. By contrast, the young Soca Warriors retain a merely theoretical chance of the next round after defeat in their first two matches.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 06:41:42 PM by Flex »

« Reply #190 on: September 30, 2009, 01:50:50 AM »
Americans dream, Cameroon crash

USA fired their way back into contention for a place in the last 16 at Egypt 2009 with a spirited 4-1 win over Cameroon in Suez. Goals either side of half-time from Bryan Arguez and Tony Taylor set the Americans on the road to a victory that was secured by a goal of the tournament contender from Dilly Duka and a late Brian Ownby breakaway.

This was a game that only came to life in the second half after an opening period that offered plenty of commitment but few chances and precious little quality. Taylor missed arguably the best of those rare opportunities on 33 minutes, volleying over from 12 yards after the ball had dropped loose inside the area.

(continue)

« Reply #191 on: September 30, 2009, 04:59:49 AM »
Aye, aye Zeppo yuh crawl out yuh hole....ah find yuh should show yuh face when yuh team get a cut arse too eh....take yuh licks like a man..... :devil:

Big up Ghana....lord fadder England do worse dan we, dey eh even score a goal at least....

« Reply #192 on: September 30, 2009, 09:57:19 AM »
How this thread quiet so....it didn't have any games this morning??... :-\

« Reply #193 on: September 30, 2009, 10:04:49 AM »
Australia vs Costa Rica either going on now or nearly finish. I remember seeing a 3-0 scoreline a few minutes ago. Brazil vs. Czech Republic later today. Plus I also think there's Hungary vs. RSA and UAE vs. Honduras.

Tomorrow is:
Group A
T&T vs. Paraguay
Italy vs. Egypt

Group B
Venezuela vs. Spain
Tahiti vs. Nigeria

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #194 on: September 30, 2009, 10:36:58 AM »
Aye, aye Zeppo yuh crawl out yuh hole....ah find yuh should show yuh face when yuh team get a cut arse too eh....take yuh licks like a man..... :devil:

Big up Ghana....lord fadder England do worse dan we, dey eh even score a goal at least....
:devil: tru talks England get a cut arse dey but they go still make next round though they got that shit team stuck on zero with them which they should be easily be able to beat.

« Reply #195 on: September 30, 2009, 11:25:15 AM »
we are the only concacaf team not to win .......

« Reply #196 on: September 30, 2009, 11:29:21 AM »

:'( :'(  Que sera, sera...

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #197 on: September 30, 2009, 11:35:11 AM »

we go fix dat tomorow   ;)

« Reply #198 on: October 01, 2009, 03:00:26 PM »
Ooooh guuud this almost fall off the first page...

Anywho that Egypt vs. Italy game like tennis match....Egypt 1, then Italy, then Egypt, then Italy, now egypt leading again....they real fighting boy....

Williams: Team diversity an advantage
« Reply #199 on: October 01, 2009, 03:57:54 PM »
Williams: Team diversity an advantage
By David Smith (Yanks Abroad)

As one of many potential dual-nationality players in the U-20 team, Sheanon Williams sees the advantages to both the team and players, however embraces his position with the stars and stripes.

The North Carolina native made his first appearance in the tournament in Tuesday's thrashing of Cameroon and is credited with helping a much-improved back line keep their opponents in check throughout the game.

Williams looks to the diverse, multi-national background of the group on the field, which exudes a distinctly global feel, as one of the strong points of team as the head forward through the tournament.

"I think that's one of the great things about the USA in that we have a diverse culture," Williams told YA, adding "it mixes together well and it brings to the table different things that some players might not have from different countries."

The defender can count himself as one of this international group as his parents are natives of Trinidad and Tobago, however there never was any conflict in his mind throughout his development as a soccer player as to which country he would represent on the international level.

"I was born in the USA and I've always leaned more to the United States than to go and play for Trinidad and Tobago," he confirms. "I've never really had much thought of playing for them."

Helping his choice was the successful recognition of his talent early on by American coaches, effectively squashing any competition between the two countries prior to the Caribbean country even having the chance to test his allegiance.

"Luckily I got called into the United States national teams at a young age so it's not like I've been out there having to pick or choose," the 19 year-old admits. "It's always that I've been called into the USA and that's the way I go."

While his own choice was clear, Williams warns that having multiple options can be tricky for others in his situation, particularly when a player is not finding themselves receiving the invitations from the country of their preference and feels forced to weigh what options are best for their career.

"I know for a lot of guys, it's different," he continues. "Sometimes you want to be with the USA and it doesn't work out that way and you go for your second option, [or] maybe it's the other way around."

"I guess it comes down to who you feel stronger towards and who you would rather be with."

In contrast to his position in the national team setup, Williams still faces an uncertain path in his club career, having opted earlier in the year to seek a professional contract in lieu of college, and is still searching for a team to call home.

With a mixture on the U-20 team between those such as himself who have chosen to forego NCAA soccer and others who are using the college game as a stepping stone to a professional career, he sees advantages to both routes, but ultimately believes he has made the right choice for his own situation.

"Some guys might not necessarily like school and think that it's time to move on," the former North Carolina Tar Heel suggests. "That's definitely how I felt. I felt that with the U-20 World Cup coming up, even if I was at school, I would have missed most of the season."

"So I opted to leave. I had some trials at different places, [but] nothing has worked out so far so I am going to continue to look."

"I don't regret my decision to leave," he surmises. "But a lot of the guys are in the same spot and they are doing different things."

Two of his current U-20 teammates who are pursing the same path are Tony Taylor and Gale Agbossoumonde, both of whom recently signed with the management group Traffic Sports USA. While admitting contact with the company, Williams does not expect to join his teammates in the organization.

"I did speak with Traffic," Williams clarifies. "It doesn't look like I will be signing with them, [however] I am still looking to hopefully get something [...] in these games we have left."

"I've been talking to my agent who is here," he continues. "First, I've just got to get out onto the field and try to perform well. I am hoping our team does well, obviously."

"But I am just kind of throwing myself out there and hopefully someone will see that I am worth signing."

Williams will likely once again the the starting right back for the US when they take on South Korea in the final game of the tournament's group stage on Friday.

« Reply #200 on: October 01, 2009, 04:26:14 PM »
So Tahiti got 21 all told

Spain over Venezuela 3:0

« Reply #201 on: October 01, 2009, 04:30:44 PM »

that 21 have to b a record in all world cup 1st rds.

« Reply #202 on: October 01, 2009, 04:37:26 PM »

yeah next was Indonesia 0:16 in 1979, Honduras 0:15 in 2005 and T&T 0:12 in 1991

« Reply #203 on: October 01, 2009, 04:41:52 PM »

yeah next was Indonesia 0:16 in 1979, Honduras 0:15 in 2005 and T&T 0:12 in 1991

doh worry soon we go b sharing licks like that. ;D

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #204 on: October 01, 2009, 09:22:39 PM »

doh worry soon we go b sharing licks like that. ;D

Ah believe we might juss do dat.     :whip:

Egypt        4:1  (1:1)   Trinidad and Tobago
      Paraguay    0:0             Italy   
      Italy          2:1  (1:0)   Trinidad and Tobago   
      Egypt        1:2  (1:1)    Paraguay   
      Paraguay    0:0            Trinidad and Tobago
      Italy          2:4 (1:2)     Egypt

We did as good as Italy (2) vs. Egypt (4)
And as good as Paraguay  (0) vs. Italy  (0)
And most importantly,better than Egypt  (1) vs. Paraguay (2)
What does this Comparitive Analysis mean for us ?
Well,We're on our way up even if we're not deadly @ finishing.
We need to make a FEW REFINEMENTS.
Just my two cents !

« Reply #205 on: October 02, 2009, 10:45:29 AM »
S. Korea and usa live on espn2

« Reply #206 on: October 02, 2009, 10:46:20 AM »

Right, right....GO KOREA!!!.... :devil:
« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 10:47:52 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #207 on: October 02, 2009, 10:56:45 AM »
usa under pressure from de get go.

« Reply #208 on: October 02, 2009, 10:58:49 AM »
Cameroon pressuring Germany...

« Reply #209 on: October 02, 2009, 11:07:49 AM »

Right, right....GO KOREA!!!.... :devil:

Koreans are some of the most racist people towards Black people... GO USA...!