April 27, 2024, 09:51:13 AM

Author Topic: Any SWN in Afghanistan?  (Read 3274 times)

Any SWN in Afghanistan?
« on: April 14, 2009, 09:00:42 AM »
Fellas,

I know we have forumites here who are with the armed forces etc.

I am on the verge of taking up a post in Afghanistan. Not too sure yet.

Just wondering if any brothers over there?

Re: Any SWN in Afghanistan?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 10:08:36 AM »
yuh eh serious?  de  pay must be real good

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 10:09:33 AM »

REAL good ;D

Dat is the only friggin reason...that was never a place on my "to do" list.

« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 10:34:54 AM »
We were just watching slides of my parents trip there in 1967. Times change.

« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2009, 04:18:00 PM »

Change yuh cyah believe in

« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2009, 04:26:42 PM »

how it look back then? probably people coastin shades and western suits I bet

« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2009, 04:31:12 PM »

how it look back then? probably people coastin shades and western suits I bet

some. It was quite a mix, white turbans, blue and just a few of the taliban's black turbans. Women with no veils mixed with those in full burka. the big buddhas were still there.

« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2009, 04:36:33 PM »
it had women with burkas back then?...all this time I thought that was a taliban thing, interesting to know though
the one afghan fellah I know tell me the place was kinda secular in the 70's when he was A youth

vb, I feel yuh go bounce up ah nex trini livin dey donkey years
« Last Edit: April 14, 2009, 05:28:11 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2009, 05:59:11 PM »
Well hear dis,

my friend working there three years now, a Turkish woman.

She told me that her driver had his hand broken by the Taliban, pre 2001.

Why?

He had a dvd of the Titanic (movie).

Apparently under their rule, ppl weren't allowed dvds, tvs or cinema.
But everybody had thick curtains and was watching TV.

I just couldn't believe they break the man arm for a dvd. But as he put it, he only get licks. Dey coulda kill him.

They also promoted only having a woman for procreation - in other words doh enjoy sex too much. Ah doh know if anybody take dem on.

A lot of these women now have a skin problem becz of no exposure to the sun, missing that particular vitamin from the sun.

« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2009, 03:03:32 PM »

Pay sweet...is to teach them dunce yanks in the army out dere... so it must be nice. At least Obama trying to edumakate he army folks!

« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2009, 04:17:22 PM »

REAL good ;D

Dat is the only friggin reason...that was never a place on my "to do" list.

I have heard a minimum of $10,000/month.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2009, 07:10:13 PM »

Pay sweet...is to teach them dunce yanks in the army out dere... so it must be nice. At least Obama trying to edumakate he army folks!

Actually I won't be teaching one ass.....
I will be an Editor. :)

I hear the camp will probably have masseurs from ....ahem.....Eastern Europe.....good to know after a hard day's work ;)

« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2009, 01:26:50 PM »
Hide yuh men in grey 1 and 2 dvd's when yuh in certain areas.... :devil:

« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2009, 02:41:35 PM »
I heard when the Russians were there it was pretty secular. But Reagan say the russians were godless and the rest is history.

« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2009, 05:02:12 PM »
How you is ah nowherian so ;D
enjoy it man
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2009, 04:48:09 PM »
Will arrive around Sept. 19, so keep me informed about any Trinis in the country.

« Reply #16 on: September 12, 2009, 06:37:16 PM »
trinis really like salt yes

« Reply #17 on: September 12, 2009, 08:50:15 PM »
trinis really like salt yes

Girl we still lookin 4 d fourmite in d Isle of Mann then we know 4 sure it have 1 everywhere

« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2009, 09:12:14 PM »
real fatalities over they.5 yanks dead today.

« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2009, 09:36:17 PM »
Stay safe VB  :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2009, 04:10:13 AM »
Real kicks ah walk into the camp today with a set of Afghans. The British soldier start talking Farsi to me. Had to explain to the man I only speak eng.

I guess I really do blend in  ;D

« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2009, 09:41:32 AM »
Real kicks ah walk into the camp today with a set of Afghans. The British soldier start talking Farsi to me. Had to explain to the man I only speak eng.

vb ya cyah show ah snap via ya mobile? Or isn't that allowed?
It would be interested to see maybe a landscape shot or something.

« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2009, 04:57:19 PM »

vb ya cyah show ah snap via ya mobile? Or isn't that allowed?
It would be interested to see maybe a landscape shot or something.

Cosign

« Reply #23 on: September 27, 2009, 12:38:16 AM »
I usually go frome one point to another via car. Advised not to walk around.
However, today or tmrw plan to go to the local shopping centre. Will try to get some shots then.

A little paranoid to take shots in the camp becz dey eh like dat. Unless is in the cafe or soemthing.
Brown man taking shots all over the place. I already gett attitude from the Canadian section when I asked about their net service. When I explained I was a Canadian citizen, ah get an "oh." :-)

Even the taxi ah call yesterday shake he head negatively yesterday and say he not there for me...the man head jerk when he realize is my number he calling.  :rotfl:

I guess ah looking to Talibanish  ;D

« Reply #24 on: September 27, 2009, 04:12:10 AM »
vb, I am sure there is a plethora of Trinidadians in the various armed forces in Afghanistan, but of course, especially in the US Military.  II eh sure hummuch access you have to them but if you link up with any of the us units and/or commanders there you wouldn't have as hard a time of finding the Trinis as you would of finding any of them that does be on this forum.  Whatever limited internet time dem fellas (and ladies) will get I'm sure will be spent mostly contacting loved ones.  Good luck and be safe.   

« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2009, 02:13:24 PM »

well oh gorm,,,, is now dem soldier goin and tie up yuh head in more ways dan one,,,, an send yuh in de hills tuh infiltrate osama

« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2009, 08:58:47 PM »
I guess ah looking to Talibanish  ;D
behave or is all expense holiday in Cuba :devil: