April 26, 2024, 09:17:06 AM

Author Topic: Tough Loss - from TTFF (TT loss to Egypt)  (Read 4013 times)

Offline YoursTruly

Tough Loss - from TTFF (TT loss to Egypt)
« on: September 24, 2009, 04:49:52 PM »
Tough Loss
by: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

…Promising show as T&T downed 4-1 in World Cup opener

A picture, they say tells a thousand words. But in football a scoreline doesn’t always tell the proper picture.

That was how skipper Leston Paul and his teammates would have been feeling at the end of the opening match of the 2009 FIFA Under 20 World Championship played before a partisan home crowd of 74,000 at the Egyptian Army Stadium, Alexandria on Thursday night.

The result was 4-1 in favour of the hosts but it could have gone either way as T&T surprised the Egyptians and a host of others including international media with their promising and gritty showing on the night. 

The Egyptians were in a boisterous mood from as much as three hours before kick off as they witnessed a splendid show for the opening ceremony which had Egypt President Hosni Mubarak, FIFA President Sepp Blatter and Vice President and Chairman of the tournament’s organizing committee Jack Warner.

The home fans waved their national flags for long periods in the stands and they later sang and embraced each other for two miles plus as they made their way out and away from the  match venue following  the match

Midfielder Jean Luc Rochford brought T&T right back into the match with a well taken goal in the 36th minute to level the scores at 1-1. Striker Afroto had given Egypt the lead six minutes earlier when he placed his shot past Glenroy Samuel . T&T started brightly with Jamal Gay rushing a shot off high and wide inside thirty seconds and then defender Uriah Bentick powered a free kick which looked heading to goal before goalkeeper Aly Lotfi pushed over bar.

Hussam Arafat put Egypt 2-1 ahead in the 51st while Mohamed Talaat (59th) and Arafat again in the 93rd completed the scoring.

“It’s a difficult result to accept both for me and the players and I think anyone who saw the game would maybe feel the same way,” Zoran Vranes told TTFF Media after the match.

“I am not disappointed. Maybe we gave away two soft goals but we created many good chances which could have turned the game at those points. But that is football and we will learn a lot from this experience.  I think we could maybe go on to play even better now because the boys have showed that they can compete at this level. But unfortunately the score did not look good at the end,” he added.

Several media correspondents in the post match and mix zone area said they felt T&T were unlucky to come away empty handed and maybe were outdone by the support for the home team.

Paul added that his team came into their own game too late and that he and his teammates were disappointed that they did not give the T&T fans back home the Republic Day gift that they had hoped for.

“It was a good fight but we started to play too late. We conceded goals that led to our loss. We missed our chances and they took theirs. It was our first time playing in front of such a big crowd  and I would say some of the guys were naturally nervous in the early stages. We have to take the positives from it and come again. I think we came out of this a strong team and we will try to play even harder in the remaining matches,” Paul said.

T&T started with Samuel in goal, Akeem Adams,  Robert Primus, Daneil Cyrus and Uriah Bentick at the back, Sean De Silva, Jake Thomson, Rochford and Paul in the middle with Khaleem Hyland playing  in front of striker Jamal Gay.

Primus was solid while Thomson was one of the bright spots in the T&T line up. His confidence and composure on the ball and his deceptive play caused the hosts problems at different points in the game.

For long periods, T&T went against the odds as they kept good possession and had the opposing team and home fans out of the match.

Rochford took his goal well after Gay and Thomson combined with the latter running across the box, evading a couple challenges before slipping the ball to Rochford.

When Vranes introduced forward Juma Clarence and Kevin Molino in the second half, T&T were now creating more chances and looked threatening going forward. Clarence was unfortunate with two of his efforts coming off the woodwork.

Samuel had earlier made a brilliant stop to deny Talaat before the equalizer and then made a superb save to push away the striker’s header but was caught off his line on the resulting play as Arafat’s shot entered the net. Talaat struck the third goal when Samuel failed to hold a shot from Shehab Ahmed and Talaat nailed the rebound.

Clarence forced Lotfi into a couple good saves while Khaleem Hyland forced him to block well after a neat combination with Clarence.  On 71 minutes Clarence tried to lob Lotfi but again the Egyptian ‘keeper was up to the task.

Arafat made it 4-1 with an angled shot past Samuel deep into stoppage time.

There were obvious signs of dejection in the T&T dressing room after the match but all in all, a promising and gutsy display should leave the Young “Warriors” optimistic going into their remaining games against Italy and Paraguay next Monday and Thursday respectively in Cairo.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 05:01:33 PM by E-man »

Re: Tough Loss - from TTFF (TT loss to Egypt)
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 04:55:12 PM »
Tough loss, but we just not good enough!

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 05:12:04 PM »
Tough Loss

A picture, they say tells a thousand words. But in football a scoreline doesn’t always tell the proper picture.

That was how skipper Leston Paul and his teammates would have been feeling at the end of the opening match of the 2009 FIFA Under 20 World Championship played before a partisan home crowd of 74,000 at the Egyptian Army Stadium, Alexandria on Thursday night.

The result was 4-1 in favour of the hosts but it could have gone either way as T&T surprised the Egyptians and a host of others including international media with their promising and gritty showing on the night. 

Dat taken straight out de WICB playbook after de "WI team" get bowl dong fuh 132 in a 50 over game and Pakistan win by 5 wickets wit 20 overs to spare and dey say de team performed well wit grit and determination.

Yuh now lorse 4-1 and yes...de scoreline was flattering to de Egyptians but to suggest dat de result could have gone either way is being delusional at best and disingenious at worst.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 05:13:56 PM by palos »

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2009, 05:22:15 PM »
Dat was real licks oiu.....some sloppyness by the  T& T keeper lead to two goals for the Egyptians in their 4-1 win

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2009, 05:24:26 PM »
The defense did not help the keeper much either on those 4 goals.   Well at least we score a goal. 

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2009, 05:45:16 PM »
some observations

Good frame work for the future of TNT football, We have two years to find some good midfielders, I think our defenders will come into their own, plus we may still have jaylloyd and probably carlos to add some more experience for the future. We definatley have problems going forward with offence

Trinidad & Tobago:

. Glenroy SAMUEL,- showed passion, constantly shouting at his defenders, unfortinuate to concede 4

Akeem ADAMS,- Didn't look like he wanted to win, too laid back as a player

Leston PAUL - Poor game failed to make any mark in the midfield, a bit too laid back as well, didn't command his players (capt.),

Sean DE SILVA - total failure this game poor offensively and made bad mistakes that could have cost us

Kevin MOLINO - tried looked lively but by that time egypt had us on the ropes

Jamal GAY - Poor game but no service from midfield so wont knock him too much

Khaleem HYLAND - a good hustle but disappointing for a "pro" should have buried his shot on goal no composure

Robert PRIMUS - Good but with little team offence there was just so much the defence could do

Jean Luc ROCHFORD - Thank you finally a goal in a WC finals - otheriwse laid back not much impact

Juma CLARENCE - obviously fighting for a place looked lively and hustled, that off the post shot did not help his cause, good sub

Uriah BENTICK - I like this player good definsively again only so much defending you can do in one game

Jake THOMSON- Like jaylloyd samuel deserves his place, clearly a diamond in the rough, tough luck with the own goal, good game

Daniel CYRUS: Good but with little team offence there was just so much the defence could do, should be more imposing with the opposing forwards, we don’t need any gentle giants

« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 08:43:57 PM by Mock de Dread »

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2009, 05:47:44 PM »
Tough Loss

Dat taken straight out de WICB playbook after de "WI team" get bowl dong fuh 132 in a 50 over game and Pakistan win by 5 wickets wit 20 overs to spare and dey say de team performed well wit grit and determination.

Yuh now lorse 4-1 and yes...de scoreline was flattering to de Egyptians but to suggest dat de result could have gone either way is being delusional at best and disingenious at worst.

So Palos why yuh being an ass?  Yuh trying to say that this T&T team performance was not gritty and promising?

talk about being disingenious..sheesh!  How was it flattering to the hosts then?

Man sometimes in yuh effort to wind up and criticize yuh does make me wonder....!

« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2009, 05:52:11 PM »
Jean Luc ROCHFORD - Thank you finally a goal in a WC finals - otheriwse laid back not much impact

As has been noted before, this is not our first goal at a WC finals. Of all the T&T teams that participated at a World Cup final only two teams has actually scored three goals in the said tournament.

It was the 2001 under 17 team who got a Nkosi Blackman goal against Croatia in a 2-1 defeat and a Jerol Forbes item against Brazil in a 6-1 demolition. Also, the 2007 under 17 team managed to score a single goal in South Korea, a Stephan Campbell free kick in a loosing battle with Ghana.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2009, 08:46:07 AM by Flex »

« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2009, 06:04:47 PM »
When a defence is under constant pressure what do you expect. They are not bad, but our mids did not help their cause.

« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2009, 06:04:56 PM »
Sean DE SILVA - token white boy to show we are a cosmopoliton country - total failure this game poor offensively and made bad mistakes that could have cost us

Daz a VERY UNFAIR comment.

Sean De Silva has always been an integral part of this team.  He eh no token nutting.  Yuh torkin shit dey.  He might or might not go on to be a top international footballer, but he eh go be de only one.  He had a poor game but he wasn't the only one.

Waz Leston Paul....de token 125 pounder to show dat we a weight conscious country?  Steupes.

Allyuh does really talk some assholery when allyuh ready yes.

« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2009, 06:06:30 PM »
Tough Loss

So Palos why yuh being an ass?  Yuh trying to say that this T&T team performance was not gritty and promising?

talk about being disingenious..sheesh!  How was it flattering to the hosts then?

Man sometimes in yuh effort to wind up and criticize yuh does make me wonder....!

Perhaps you might want to "wonder" about the part where I criticised the author for saying the game could have gone either way Stevie.

« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2009, 06:07:54 PM »
from ALL accounts
Very Well Done Young Warriors
That Egypt keeper seems to have been the deciding factor and was a catalyst in them building on their game plan.
"In a frenetic first half, it was Trinidad and Tobago who had the better of the opening exchanges. Jean-Luc Rochford's free-kick from the edge of the area was palmed past the post by Aly Lofty as the hosts started nervously. However, as the half wore on, Egypt's confidence grew and their first shot on goal, through Shebab Ahmed acted as a starting point for a prolonged period of pressure. "

Again
Bravo to ALL of you
« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 07:20:01 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2009, 06:58:00 PM »
palos yeah yuh right shouldnt be so hard on the player

but he had a poor game and poor thing he stood out having a poor game cause we could easily spot him

hope he lifts his game next time

« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2009, 07:15:02 PM »
hmmmm !

« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2009, 07:48:10 PM »
Not going to be critical of any one player. It is difficult  for players and easy for us because we look at games from above, so we see every angle, space, options and movement of numbers.

That being said as a team, we did not look like we had a plan on how to win back the ball. The midfield lacked any recovery runs to fall into a defending shape. It seemed like the back players were left to do a job without much support or midfield compactness.

Once we did regain possession and got the ball to the midfield, we had no movement in support of the player on the ball. Midfield players just stood square asking for passes (no advance runs what so ever). Front players did not offer themselves for forward support. As a consequence individuals and angles were closed quickly and or we just booted the ball forward.

Thomson actually found space and was our most effective option in attack and because of that we did score.

All said the best sequence of football T&T played was from the 65 minute by then T&T needed a goal to keep Egypt contained, but it never came.

« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2009, 07:55:44 PM »
I feel like staying away from the board sometimes. Sean is there on merit. He was one of our best players in qualifying. That "white boy" comment real unnecessary.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 08:03:32 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2009, 08:00:21 PM »
come nuh man mock dread, was that really necessary? how would you feel if italian fans made a comment like that about balotelli?

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2009, 08:11:16 PM »
come nuh man mock dread, was that really necessary? how would you feel if italian fans made a comment like that about balotelli?

Ah apologizing for 'Mock de Dread'.

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2009, 08:45:31 PM »
ah take it back, ah now remember jack buy all the boys laptops and might be reading this ..............

« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2009, 09:09:30 PM »
Tough Loss

Perhaps you might want to "wonder" about the part where I criticised the author for saying the game could have gone either way Stevie.

Ok guy.  yuh did say that the scoreline was flattering..but you also said that the terms used to describe their performance was comparable to the west indies piss poor performances...makes me see that you have seen no Ray of sunshine with this team Charles!

« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2009, 09:11:36 PM »
In all honesty - If people feel that this team is the future we are in for more heartattacks. Vranzes has to change his mantra- He had all those years to gain experience- Results is all that matters.
 Someone should tell him in sSports- Winning is not the most important thing it is the only thing,

« Reply #22 on: September 24, 2009, 09:29:33 PM »
the defenders were ball watching, i dont know whether thats a usual thing for all tt defenders to ball watch, bc they must have the worst reaction times bc they should react faster when a man takes a shot and its deflected off the keeper and you have a striker standing next to you in your first 3rd and outruns you for the rebound, thats bullshit, i dont know what these coaches are teaching these young men but whatever they are doing, its not working...

« Reply #23 on: September 24, 2009, 09:33:29 PM »
Not going to be critical of any one player. It is difficult  for players and easy for us because we look at games from above, so we see every angle, space, options and movement of numbers. 

Plus men here who bumping dey gum not being asked to make decisions on the fly, on such a big stage and under pressure from quality players.  I have no issue with men exercising their right to criticize but like some people never hear about moderation or constructive criticism.  Some of the abuse Da Silva getting is just ridiculous... and I not even talking about Mock De Dread outta timing comment.

« Reply #24 on: September 24, 2009, 09:39:50 PM »
This tread have plenty ungrateful trinis in it.........we should qualify for no world cup again cause all some ah allyuh does do is hate.

Our best teenaged footballers went up against a host country in a world cup in front of 75,000 people and held their own and were unfortunate to lose as bad as they did and people still have nutten good to say.

Horibble post by injunchile.........we are only 1.3 million with limited resources going up against world powers.......WTF allyuh want again!!  Some ah allyuh feel that we have some God given right to beat everybody in world football.....lol.

Ah see that Hyland have no composure and should of scored that shot cause he is a "pro"......lol.  So i guess Tevez aint have no composure last weekend against Manutd cause he hit the post when he should have scored for Mancity.

All i have to say is well done to the young warriors...........they did their best and that is all that we can ask for!!

nb: allyuh remind me of the people who say that richard thompson and marc burns are a waste of time cause they aint win a medal in the 100m final and the fact that we had two men in the world championships final meant nothing!!

« Reply #25 on: September 24, 2009, 09:47:58 PM »
This tread have plenty ungrateful trinis in it.........we should qualify for no world cup again cause all some ah allyuh does do is hate.

Our best teenaged footballers went up against a host country in a world cup in front of 75,000 people and held their own and were unfortunate to lose as bad as they did and people still have nutten good to say.

Horibble post by injunchile.........we are only 1.3 million with limited resources going up against world powers.......WTF allyuh want again!!  Some ah allyuh feel that we have some God given right to beat everybody in world football.....lol.

Ah see that Hyland have no composure and should of scored that shot cause he is a "pro"......lol.  So i guess Tevez aint have no composure last weekend against Manutd cause he hit the post when he should have scored for Mancity.

All i have to say is well done to the young warriors...........they did their best and that is all that we can ask for!!

nb: allyuh remind me of the people who say that richard thompson and marc burns are a waste of time cause they aint win a medal in the 100m final and the fact that we had two men in the world championships final meant nothing!!

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: ungratefulnrss is ah quality will nevva leave trinis, doh study it

« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2009, 10:55:04 PM »
Always luv visitin d board after a game when I eh c it.

« Reply #27 on: September 25, 2009, 05:29:21 AM »
Tough Loss

T&T started with Samuel in goal, Akeem Adams,  Robert Primus, Daneil Cyrus and Uriah Bentick at the back, Sean De Silva, Jake Thomson, Rochford and Paul in the middle with Khaleem Hyland playing  in front of striker Jamal Gay.

Is there a  reason a coach my play a defensive mid in front of a foward ...

« Reply #28 on: September 25, 2009, 05:51:13 AM »
Well Andre- We got six the last time we played them and now 4. I guess that shows improvement. The good is always the enemy of the best. Tolerance is sinister when it reflects indifference and Anger is good when it reflects concern. This team had a lot of preparation and exposure, they were with each other for three years.,some of us expected more and incidentally after the 1-1 half time score line, this game was ripe for the picking.

« Reply #29 on: September 25, 2009, 06:19:53 AM »
Well Andre- We got six the last time we played them and now 4. I guess that shows improvement. The good is always the enemy of the best. Tolerance is sinister when it reflects indifference and Anger is good when it reflects concern. This team had a lot of preparation and exposure, they were with each other for three years.,some of us expected more and incidentally after the 1-1 half time score line, this game was ripe for the picking.

Really??????  Come on man, I assume you are going on the comments and you didn't see the game?  Just so you  know, we scored against the run of play....

I thought the fellas played with heart and grit after they went down 3-1.  Prior to that, I felt like we were basically threading water....Gives me some solace knowing we finished strong so we have something to look forward to against Italy.....