March 28, 2024, 02:47:39 AM

Author Topic: My Last Day in Egypt  (Read 4241 times)

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
My Last Day in Egypt
« on: September 26, 2009, 12:37:56 PM »
Ladies and Gentleman...what can I say...this is my last night in Cairo Egypt and i'm getting ready to head over to the airport. flight leaves in 3 hrs back to New York. I had the time of my life over here..but nothing topped going to see the warriors represent in Alexandria......Yeah. I know we lost and lost by a lot, but even so ..everyone I spoke to over here was impressed by the Trinidad and Tobago team. 

Leh meh tell allyuh something.... if allyuh feel we in Trinidad does be accomodating to other fans in the Hasley Crawford Stadium, we have nothing on the Egyptian people we met over here.  It was just me and de wife, and we were suppose to have been seated in 1st class with other Trini supporters, but it did not happen that way.
Getting into the stadium was hell and we ended up sitting in the heart of the Egyptian madness. The stadium was loud and packed, but members off the Eygptian police ushered us to some available seats, real good seats I might add, but a bit uncomfortable as we were the only 2 there wearing we Trini Shirts and flags.  But in the end we had nothing to worry about, 3 police officers stayed with us.  The only uncomfortable moment for us really was when a woman wanted to tell my wife to hush after Trinidad score. When de goal score we started to jump up and carry on, wifey say she was jumpin up too and the woman wanted she to hush..nex ting ah turn around and big arguement going on while I still celebrating....The police run over by the woman tell she shut up and the Egyptian crowd start tuh pong she too....ah doh know what de ass they was saying to she, but the poor woman stay quiet for the rest of the night.  She chirren even came over to us after the game and say they want we tuh beat Italy bad!!!
From where we sat I only see about 3 other Trinis down below and around them was empty, my guess is that was where we where suppose to be. 

I have to run now, but will come back to give more details on the game and the players. Met a few of them and met some of the staff as well while in Alexandria and in Cairo. Have some good pics too.. 
All in all we lost, but from the atmosphere here the team don't have to feel that bad , they gave a good showing and missed some good opportunities to score but I for one, am very proud of them.  Heading to the airport now...will post some more info when I get back to New York.......lataz
« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 12:40:50 PM by CAPITANO »
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

Re: My Last Day in Egypt
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 12:43:04 PM »
Grazie, grazie..... :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 12:43:38 PM »
Safe flight.

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 01:07:41 PM »
Good report Capitano... and I'm not surprised by the reception the Egyptian fans gave you, they are very sophisticated people from all accounts and would want nothing but to put their best foot forward during the tournament.  Even so, I think that's how they genuinely are regardless.  Safe flight home.

« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2009, 01:21:20 PM »
I am so happy to hear that your accommodation was pleasant. I'm glad that Trini's aren't the only ones who "nice" (sometimes I think naive) with others.

Tell us more, when you get the time. Safe flight back home.

Offline Trini boi

« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2009, 01:29:55 PM »
is a red black and white ting going on  ;)

« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2009, 01:37:11 PM »
Good stuff....I'm sure it wasn't easy for you and your wife sitting in between those Egyptian fans and much yet celebrating when we scored. I might've held my wife's hand and tell her we better sit down in the people and dem place, if I was in your shoes  ;D Good to hear their fans were highly respectful and glad to hear you enjoyed the experience.

Bless

« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2009, 04:48:52 PM »

« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2009, 05:44:26 PM »
But wait nah, yuh eh reach home yet??....

« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2009, 06:09:21 PM »
post d picks when u get back

« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2009, 06:12:02 PM »

Yuh eh see de man say he have a wife!  :devil:

« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2009, 06:35:14 PM »

lol  ::)

« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2009, 07:06:51 PM »

chups.... ;D

« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2009, 08:38:26 PM »

« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2009, 09:45:08 PM »

Brownsugar practisin de pitch for she nex husband

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
Some Pics from Egypt
« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2009, 12:33:55 PM »
Alright allyuh...Ah reach back from Egypt safe..sorry for the delay, but here some pics from the opening game.

We saw no other Trini supporters while in Cairo and had to take a train to Alexandria for the opeining game.
We had a hard time getting to the stadium for this one, as the president of Egypt was making an appearance, and all entrances to the stadium was closed from 2pm.  Allyuh hear what ah say...2pm!!! Game to start @ 8pm.  Police blocked all entrances in a 15 km radius, no entry even if yuh had tickets.  Our driver tried everything, but them police over deh not playing with they president. is gun, dog, and barricade.  Ah say nah boy this cyah be happening.  We try for about an hr and a half and gave up at about 3:30pm.  The driver said all he can do now is take us to a nice restaurant or a bar and we could catch the game from there.  Wifey say nah!! drop we off we going and Walk!!!  Now ah know we was disappointed and everything...but WALK ...15 km in the Egyptian sun, by we self, both ah we dress like de TNT Coat of arms in what could be hostile neighborhoods. .......Now every married man on this board know we does have to put dong we foot sometimes...Fellas ah use one of my times at this moment.  Ah say nah nah nah nah!!!! we not walking...the driver didn't recommend it either. 
Oh Gosh what we go do!!!! ah done have de tickets in meh hand.. fuss ah excited!! and now we can't get in.

Now this is why ah love this site, while we in the taxi circling the area to try and get thru, ah remember seeing the Radisson, but I aint pay it no mind. Is only when I was about to tell the driver to take us back to the city to watch the game on tv.  Wifey said maybe we should go to the Radisson...BESS IDEA Ever...She redeemed herself from that Walking notion proposed earlier.  Now I remember while in the hotel in Cairo I was checking on this socawarroirs.net and an article stated the warriors checkd into the Radisson in Alexandria...hmmm ah wonder boy!!
Ah tell the driver take us to the Radisson...now I had to argue with the driver to take us there, he feel we should go and wtch the game on tv..jus give up.
After some heavy talk we finally pull up to the Radisson, it was like a breath of fresh air...when we pull up at the top of the hill by the entrance .....all I see over yonder was the Trinidad and Tobago flag flying in front the hotel.  People they had we flag flying over that hotel like we own it...it feel like we reach on Home soil..We drive up some more....big stinking bus in front the hotel mark Trinidad and Tobago u20...As far as getting into the game I didn't know what we was going to do from then on, but at least we could see some friendly Trini faces over here.

We walk straight to the lobby where 3 guys with tnt shirts were sitting. It looked like they were part of the technical staff/tnt media. We went over to them and tell them what the situation was.  Now we didn't expect them to go out of their way for us, at least if we can't see the game live we could at least see the team before they leave the hotel.  Now one of the guys. who said his name was Tony, i met him in Cairo also before Italy's game. lft us for a few minutes and came back. He said there is some supporters leaving the Radisson @ 6pm to go to the game, we could probably leave with them, as they might open back up the roads after they get the president in. Now if the roads were blocked frm 2pm.. wasn't too sure how they would get in, but at this point we have nothin to lose.  Up to now don't know if those people made it to the game.

We ordered another car to try again @ six. jus so happen when the team boarded the bus our car shwed up.  The team bus and our car lft the same time.  Our driver put his blinkers on and stated what his plan was.  He was going to fllw the bus straight to the stadium and act as part of the motorcade.  We followed and follwed to the first road block and as i guessed....no entry still at this time. For regular cars that is...
People.... we were escorted thru all the road blocks with the team bus by three police cars and an ambulance.  De driver plan work, it work so good...one of the police cars fell back and rode behind us.

hundreds of people with tickets could not get in to see this game and we got in  The stadium was jam packed. some people said they were there since 10am. It was maddness. Even though we lost, it was one of my best moments as a supporter ever!!! will never forget it.
All the Egyptians I spoke to thought Trinidad and Tobago is located in South America and they were espcially surprised when I gave them the size and population numbers.  They liked Rochford and Akeem Adams' hairstyle and was very respectful..but that could very well be because they drop 4 on we!!!  Don't know what would have happened if we won.
Lucky for us the same driver who took us to the stadium. took us out as welll. He said the police would not let him leave after he dropped us off, he had no choice but to sit and listen on the radio. 

Enjoy the pics

« Last Edit: October 03, 2009, 07:07:41 AM by CAPITANO »
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

Re: Some Pics from Egypt
« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2009, 12:48:13 PM »
Thanks bro...

« Reply #17 on: October 02, 2009, 02:13:32 PM »
This is one of the best match reports i read in a long time  :)

Thanks Cap....and ah know what yuh mean by putting down yuh foot. 
Men normally have a limited supply on putting-down-yuh-foots....and yeah...yuh have one less now.
If you use one anytime soon again, yuh thread will have the name of the hospital where we have to come and look for yuh.

« Reply #18 on: October 02, 2009, 02:39:24 PM »
Well Cap..have to give yuh some :applause: :applause: :applause:
allyuh well support dey, T&T style, if only we could play the football so..i.e. find somehow to win, even if is lucky or faith  :devil:

« Reply #19 on: October 02, 2009, 02:46:10 PM »
allyuh well support dey, T&T style, if only we could play the football so..i.e. find somehow to win, even if is lucky or faith  :devil:

We found a way to go Germany ent?  :devil:

« Reply #20 on: October 02, 2009, 02:55:09 PM »
Cap boy, dis was ah bess report..

ah know the stress though, when yuh plan out everything for months and then ting happen to have yuh wondering if even going and make it at all.. de emptyness in de belly feeling..

one ah these days ah must give the story how i loss all my tickets and passport on ah train in England on de eve of de sweden game, only to miraculously get it back the next day..

dem ting does make de memories last ah lifetime..

thanks again for de report..

« Reply #21 on: October 02, 2009, 03:33:27 PM »
Nice post dread. Boy TNT supporters will go to the ends of the earth to support the fellas and dem...well done!!!!! :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: October 02, 2009, 04:05:26 PM »
Thanks for that report and pics breds, good to hear you guys were safe and ejoyed the experience.....is either the people in Egypt are really nice or you were paying that taxi driver by the hour ;D

« Reply #23 on: October 02, 2009, 05:25:06 PM »
Cap boy, dis was ah bess report..

ah know the stress though, when yuh plan out everything for months and then ting happen to have yuh wondering if even going and make it at all.. de emptyness in de belly feeling..

one ah these days ah must give the story how i loss all my tickets and passport on ah train in England on de eve of de sweden game, only to miraculously get it back the next day..

dem ting does make de memories last ah lifetime..

thanks again for de report..

lucky bastard  ;D

« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2009, 05:35:54 PM »
This is one of the best match reports i read in a long time  :)

Thanks Cap....and ah know what yuh mean by putting down yuh foot. 
Men normally have a limited supply on putting-down-yuh-foots....and yeah...yuh have one less now.
If you use one anytime soon again, yuh thread will have the name of the hospital where we have to come and look for yuh.

COSIGN. Yes 1 less but yuh foot down avialable.

« Reply #25 on: October 02, 2009, 06:31:34 PM »
Nice.... Thanx

« Reply #26 on: October 02, 2009, 06:50:05 PM »
Thanks for the story and the pix. glad you and wifey were there.

« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2009, 08:01:44 PM »
Thank you Capitano....it was worth the wait.... :beermug:

« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2009, 08:49:30 PM »
Thank you Capitano....it was worth the wait.... :beermug:

Ah could jes imagine yuh sittin up & smokin yuh cigarette now  :devil:

« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2009, 12:38:13 PM »

We found a way to go Germany ent?  :devil:

Meant the World Cup, not a game  :P