March 29, 2024, 07:09:11 AM

Author Topic: No instant fixes in football says Jack  (Read 2155 times)

No instant fixes in football says Jack
« on: September 27, 2009, 08:20:37 AM »
No instant fixes in football says Jack
T&T Newsday

THE ENGLISH Football Association (FA), in collaboration with CONCACAF and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), launched a seven-day Youth Coaching Workshop at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence, Macoya, Tunapuna on September 17.

The workshop, which ran from September 18-24, was conducted by Richard Horner, a FA Regional Coach Development Manager from London, and Robert Udberg, a team leader of the FA Skills Programme in Kent.

The workshop targetted coaches wishing to extend their coaching knowledge as it relates to players between the ages of five and 11.

At the Opening Ceremony, CONCACAF president Jack Warner appealed to participants to use the knowledge acquired during the week to benefit football in the region.

“The power to great football lies in youth football,” he said. “The glitz and the glamour of being associated with the national team may attract many coaches, but many fail to realise that it is the youth coaches who possess the keys to unlock the potential of great players.

“Talent plays a great part in making an excellent player but harnessing a great player can only occur if the coach marries talent and technique,” Warner continued. “The technique of any great player is created during his young years in the sport.

“There are no instant fixes in football,” stated Warner. “Many of our Caribbean nations have never qualified for a World Cup but that does not mean that they never will.

“They all can, once we lay the right foundation. That foundation lies with the youth coaches. I make only one appeal to you today, take the knowledge and pass it on to others. It is only through co-operation and collaboration can we succeed.”

Horner, in his address, said, “This workshop is going to be different. We will break new ground over the next seven days. I want you to know it will be challenging but the rewards will be worth it.”

Organisers said the workshop would not only tackle training techniques on the field but they hoped to address a number of issues which affect a player’s performance off the field, including managing mistakes, self- esteem and dictating plays.

The course was expected to provide practical sessions and advice for coaching this age group and increase the candidate’s knowledge of how to develop their coaching to incorporate the FA 4 corner model.

The course was expected to cover technical development and in the physical corner it will offer fundamental ideas for the coach to use as well as suggested activities for the development of football’s specific movements.

The important social and psychological development of the young player was also to be examined.

Re: No instant fixes in football says Jack
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2009, 08:23:13 AM »
What sweet in d goat mouth does sour in d bam bam Jack

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2009, 08:43:47 AM »
Something bothers me here. We have had umpteen seminars, coaching courses and workshop at COE and various other venues in TT. Have we reap the benefits of these programs. A lot of these courses are coaching courses but I still hearing complains that the youths lack the basics. What are the participants of these courses doing with their acquired knowledge.

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2009, 09:27:10 AM »
if you say dead beat dad and you say ttff is the same thing is the same thing
if you say bernie madoff and you say jack warner is the same thing is the same thing
if you say enron and you say ttff is the same thing is the same thing
if you say mugabe and you say jack warner is the same thing is the same thing
if you say losers and you say ttff is the same thing is the same thing

« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 11:20:43 AM »
if you say bernie madoff and you say jack warner is the same thing is the same thing

« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2009, 12:11:22 PM »

 :applause:

« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2009, 12:28:21 PM »

Dis belong in memorable quotes.... :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2009, 12:32:51 PM »

COSIGN

« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2009, 12:53:19 PM »

As long as yuh doh put "COSIGN" in memorable quotes, is all good..  :devil:

« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2009, 01:17:51 PM »
Something bothers me here. We have had umpteen seminars, coaching courses and workshop at COE and various other venues in TT. Have we reap the benefits of these programs. A lot of these courses are coaching courses but I still hearing complains that the youths lack the basics. What are the participants of these courses doing with their acquired knowledge.

Deeks...it will take a generational change in the coaching stock of Trinidad and Tobago for us to see the manifestation of these programs.  The coaches in postions of influence are still out there, existing with the same bad habits, calling themselves big coaches.  Also, there has to be  a nationwide littering of coaches that undertake these courses, before we start seeing youths developing the proper technical foundation required for the next level of the game. 

« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2009, 01:22:20 PM »
Is the same set ah people going to all the courses. How come this does not be publicized? Who inform coaches about these courses?

« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2009, 01:45:01 PM »

Yeah, thanks allyuh, I kinda like it myself.

« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2009, 08:02:33 AM »
If yuh say Blaclist and why we aint make it to S/A is the same thing.
 If you say Corneals and Jack Warner - is the same thing.
 If you say T&T football and the same shit- Is the same thing

« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2009, 11:53:29 AM »
       Yes we does have umpteen seminars,coaching courses etc etc have you ever heard of how many Coaches failed or pass,everybody does pass these things,if they do go to a seminar is just to listen,our guys are just not serious,what equipment are Coaches provided with or how many of them have their own,the same way players struggle to buy boots etc etc is the same way Coaches can't afford equipment,Cones and thing expensive especially when you are not paid to do what you are doing,sometimes you have to ask yourself if it's worth it and that's why Coaches give up at home,all you hear is nobody helping the Youths but who helping you to help the Youths,i've heard so many good views/ideas here on how or what should be done for our Youths but never heard anyone interested in stepping forward and taking that responsibility. 

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #14 on: September 28, 2009, 01:10:37 PM »

is this ah kaiso? if not, then someone needs to put this to wax!  :D

« Reply #15 on: September 28, 2009, 02:49:47 PM »
Hey, Dey have ah U-10 WC? Meh daughter want tuh play for TNT. She is our future in the Defense.